Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not underestimate this game, 14 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Tony Hawk's Underground (Xbox) (Video Game)
I am not a big fan of skating but this may have just changed my mind. Tony Hawks Underground is so damn cool. The minute you start you design your future pro and from there you enter and win comps as well as travelling to nine huge locations which are linked together by great videos which carry an involving plot. You also meet and skate with Chad Muska, bam Margera and of course Tony Hawk. All the missions are collected by talking to people. Plus there are no collect the letters challenges. As well as this you can design and test out your own tricks as well as build huge parks and design your own missions which sadly do have some limits you can also design your very own decks when you turn pro. The multiplayer levels are great including fireball (you launch fireballs at each other from your skateboard). The music on offer isnt great but since you can copy your music onto the Xbox you can then play this music in the game instead of the THUG playlist. The Tricks you pull of link so smoothly together and its very satisfying when you make the croud cheer after using a trick that you designed yourself. The caveman is also very handy way of linking combos together along with manuals and you will end up using it alot. So to summarise the story and multiplayer is great youll want to play them a few times over, the graphics are very impressive. The tricks look great( when you pull them off) and the sound, music and characters conversations are spot on. There are all sorts to unlock and keep you busy. Sadly it only took me a day to complete story mode but there are three different difficulty modes which when completed unlock new characters and various other secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The biggest and best Hawk game yet, 9 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Tony Hawk's Underground (Xbox) (Video Game)
the first thing I have to say about this game is that it is absolutely massive! Levels are up to twice the size of those in THPS4 and the interactivity with objects is near perfect.
Remember when you first played on THPS3? Remember how big the gap was between that and the psone version? Well, that's how you could measure the gap between 4 and underground. Bring able to make and name your own tricks is also pretty cool and although at first it may sound a little daughnting you will get the hang of it. The character physics have been completely overhauled, making them look almost photo-realistic, I'm not joking!
You really have to see the game in motion before you can judge it for yourself but believe me, you WILL NOT be dissapointed one bit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The peak of Tony Hawk's games..., 9 Dec. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tony Hawk's Underground (Xbox) (Video Game)
If you're a Tony Hawks fan and you haven't played this game then you really need to.

I remember when I first seen the advert. I was about 11ish years old. You could get off the skateboard, I was hooked, I simply had to play this game.

Everything about this game screams Perfection from a TH games point of view. The soundtrack, story, game play & characters were all spot on. They someone managed to create a brilliant villain in a Skateboarding Game!!!

Seriously this game has taken up a massive portion of my childhood and im still loving it to this day. I've had so much practice on this game literally nobody I've met has ever beaten me (and to be fair, im miles away from some of the combos and scores I've seen on this game) this game is easily the peak of Tony Hawk's games. It is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game - not great though, 12 July 2004
This review is from: Tony Hawk's Underground (Xbox) (Video Game)
Tony Hawk's Underground (THUG) is an excellent game:
The control system is as sleek and fluid as with other titles in the Tony Hawk's series, and the graphics, while not on a par with other extreme sports titles like 'Amped 2' are still very good.
The game is a new take on the well trodden Pro-Skater path where you don't just go around doing comps, but instead work your way up the world rankings.
However, in the game there are some very annoying bits, like the driving and walking: This ability to get off your board and explore holds the danger of turning THUG into a GTA type game, and is rather pointless.
The game doesn't have much replay value either, since the career mode is very linear, and the normal game modes (including 2player ones) are becoming very old-hat now they've been done 5 times.
The abscence of xbox live is annoying too, and could really have added an extra element to the game.
This game is still great fun though, but hopefully the developers will iron out the bad parts for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hawk's Underground (Xbox) (Video Game)
Used to play this game on Xbox and it works perfectly on 360! Game is in really good condition with original booklet inside and all instructions for controls. The item arrived very quickly, would definitely recommend the seller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 10 year old loved it, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hawk's Underground (Xbox) (Video Game)
My 10 year old son loves this game.....Think I'd pay carriage to get it sooner next time. But cant complain to much was foc carraige.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recieved, 10 July 2013
By 
Martin (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hawk's Underground (Xbox) (Video Game)
Game arrived with no damage not a scratch on the disk played well and enjoyed the game worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should get a 'best game' medal, 21 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Tony Hawk's Underground (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game shatters all other tony hawks games to pieces. It has ground breaking graphix and a brilliant amount of fun on story mode. The controlls are very easy to use and even on the chunky controller. Really adictive, once you complete story mode it can get a tiny bit boring but there are four different hardness levels so it will not let the fun be broken. I loved starting off as a classic skater chick/dude and then becoming a pro and getting the best of Eric. Multiplayer is really good too and there are all different tipes of multiplay games which is unusual for other skateboarding games. Just another good point. I skateboard and i would say the phisics are really realistic, exept from that you don't have to push off that much, your board just starts rolling. You really should get this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Tony Hawks game yet!, 8 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Tony Hawk's Underground (Xbox) (Video Game)
This installment of the great Tony Hawk series is the best so far. Create your own Tricks and name them, plus make your own skatepark featuring your own custom goals! The levels in T.H.U.G are even bigger this time round and theres a new revamped story mode that is like real life. You are a punk trying to make it big and trying to become the next Tony hawk. Great, but first you have to prove yourself to the real pro skaters. Steal cars, put away your skateboard, climb up lamposts, shimmy across drainpipes, the possibilities in Tony hawk Underground are greater than ever. This game is a must have especially if you enjoyed the previous Tony Hawks games. And with boatloads of goals to complete, it will keep the kids (and big kids) quite for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this Xbox version this game, and NOT the PS2 version, 26 Oct. 2013
By 
SCB92 (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hawk's Underground (Xbox) (Video Game)
This Xbox version of game has one important thing that the PS2 version doesn't: A 60Hz mode. The PS2 version only lets you play in 50Hz and doesn't give you the choice of 60Hz, while in contrast the Xbox version does. Multiplatform games like these make the PS2 an inferior console in the PAL region and made most multiplatform games better off to play on Xbox and GameCube rather than on PS2 (even though there are some mulitplatforms games on PS2 that have 60 Hz mode). Even Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 3 and 4 has a 60Hz mode on Xbox, but the PS2 versions don't for some reason.

What's so bad about 50Hz? Well it makes the gameplay 17% slower than the way it should be. It's a huge problem for fighting games and racing games. 60Hz is the way it's meant to be played. 60Hz is 60 fps, but 50Hz is 50 fps. Avoid the PS2 version. If you own a TV with a 60Hz signal, get the Xbox version. The only advantage of 50Hz is that the resolution is better than 60Hz. However, not all 50Hz games are like this. Only the unoptimised ones are. The optimised games (which are usually optimised if the game was made by a British developer) run as fast as the NTSC 60Hz versions.

The game itself is fantastic. It has a great soundtrack, including "The World is Yours" by Nas, and "White Riot" by The Clash. The controls are perfect. You can get off your board for the first time in the series, and go around climbing onto or over things. It's also the first in the series to feature a story in the main single player mode of the game, where you need to create a skater. The way to start missions is the same as THPS4. There are 4 difficulties to choose from. The graphics are great. The replay value isn't very good however, and the game is rather short, unless you play through all 4 difficulties. There's also local multiplayer mode if you want to play against a friend.

Overall, I highly recommend this game. It's my favourite game in the Tony Hawk series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tony Hawk's Underground (Xbox)
Tony Hawk's Underground (Xbox) by Activision (Xbox)
Used & New from: £0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews