Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful for multiplayer, single players may get jealous!
Bizarrely, alot of people reviewing this seem to have had a problem with Square's first outing on a Nintendo for quite some time. Did these people not catch reviews of the game? A quick glance at the blurb on the back of the box? Or did seeing the words Final Fantasy splashed across the front of the box make their hands fly in an uncontrollable spasm to a greasy wad of...
Published on 12 Feb 2005 by Simon J. Whight

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard one this...
This is a very hard game to review for me, as it is a great game, but a bad Final Fantasy.
The gameplay is great with a simple menu system, handled using the shoulder buttons to flick through the moves on the "command list".
The character creation is good enough, if a little restricted, and the graphics are good. Dungeons are all a bit uninspired, and get...
Published on 14 Nov 2004 by Ciaran Martindale


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nintendo + Square on a turn-a-round?, 21 Nov 2004
By 
J. J. Hassan "Jj~" (UK, Durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles (GameCube) (Video Game)
I am a nintendo fan and proud, the first Final Fantasies were on the S/NES and they revolutionised the RPG gaming industry. Companies such as Camelot taking the system under there wing with masterpieces such as Golden Sun.
But then Square joined with Sony, and Final fantasy went with them. It was a dark time for Nintendo RPG fanatics, and the mourning went on.
Then suddenly Crystal Chronicles was announced, we got out our torches and went searching for new hope. But when we found it... it was too late, Final fantasies style had been beaten up on the journey to Nintendo. We blindly tried having fun, smiling when we wanted to turn it off, and trying to pretend the gameplay was amazing. But after a while i gave up, even in multiplayer it became repetitive and my views on CC became sadistic. I'd take it back to the shop, but the game must stay to keep my other final fantasy games company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not what you would expect, 13 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles (GameCube) (Video Game)
well first of all this game is nothing like usual final fantasy games its more of a hack and slash game. there are still a few things that resemble the series such as magic but thats about it. really before you buy this game you should rent it to see what its really like. i bought the game as soon as it came out then took it back the next day and could final fantasy x-2 which is in my opiniun much better.
hope this helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this game!!!, 11 May 2004
This review is from: Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles (GameCube) (Video Game)
If u've got three mates with game boy advances + link cables u must buy... my friend was a complete sceptic and sed that this game would "suck eggs" but nevertheless he is addicted to it now and is obssesed with its simplistic story line, action packed combat, and fun teamplay values... and evrything else as well ( i love the spell fusions!!!) JUST BUY THIS GAME!!! Trust me u will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not quite the crystal game., 14 Mar 2004
By 
Jon Bond (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles (GameCube) (Video Game)
A reasonable game with stunning graphics and powerful beginning storyline. However as the game furthurs on the storyline weakens and repeats to create an ultimately impressivly boring storyline.
The graphics and the beginning story line will greatly impress all however onto the second part of the world it shall repeat itself, and for the fourth, and for the fifth, until you fall asleep in the chair with a controller in your hands.
It does however come with a gamecube/ GBA link but offers only one, hardly useful when you want to play multiplayer. It may seem that player 1 can use a controller however all players including player 1 have to use a gameboy advance which is just a brilliant publicity stunt for the game boy advance.
GBA connectivity is terrible with no actual control over it no-matter what it says in the manual. It is definately not as changeable as the manual says and you can not control anything on the GBA. A compass may help on the maps however even that is not included on the GBA, but a moving map that you are always in the middle off. It may be easy if you could control your character through a GBA on single player but it does not work.
The multiplayer modes do get better but it is an unaffordable and timewasting way of playing. You can get mild fun out of this game but the repetitive storyline drags it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and Sweet, 6 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles (GameCube) (Video Game)
To all of you people out there that are against this game because of it's short play-time, and the fact that it has been simplified. Have you thought that gamecube owners are more likely to want short, sweet simplified games? You all say how it only plays for a short time, but i think that more people will actually appreciate the game that way. It's like nintendo's plan to keep games short - it's a great idea - people are more likely to search out every single little minigame and extra that they can find because of it's short lifespan, and the game would be appreciated a whole lot more than if it would take someone 70+ hrs to complete.
I'm not saying that nobody does take their time and complete huge games with masses of extras to seek out - im jsut saying that there are a lot of people - especially gamecube owners that would prefer a game that is short and can be appreciated for what it really has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This game is aimed at 7 year olds!!, 14 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles (GameCube) (Video Game)
What do you expect when you hear the words 'Final Fantasy'? A game that will provide days of enjoyment and stimulating storylines, in depth character plots and a vast array of extra options. This game delivers NONE of these things. Making the transition from PS2 to GC has robbed this epic series of all originality and fun. The realtime playing does nothing for any strategy involved with the fights and the whole inventory is designed to be toddler friendly. The only good points are the excellent graphics and the suprising ability to help insomniacs with their condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blasphemy! Disgrace! Once again Enix shames us all, 5 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles (GameCube) (Video Game)
Crystal Chronicles? Chronicled Crap! Yet another utterly disappointing game from Square-Enix to grace our shelves with its ominous presence. This truly deserves to stand amongst all the other Square-Enix products in the hall of shame.
Considering buying this? Consider throwing yourself off a cliff first. What kind of self-respecting RPG company puts multiplayer experience before gameplay and development? The entire game seems directed and focused only on multiplayer mode. "But what about the characters?" you ask, oh there are characters all right, mindless shells of characters with no personalities or background. Dialogue is severely limited and the battle system, like kingdom hearts does little justice. With no new abilities to learn the combat quickly gets repetetive and the only way to get armour upgrades is to have some blacksmith send them to you, which, believe me doesn't happen until much later on.
Along with a weak storyline and blatant advertising of the gameboy advance (you need 4 of these to even access multiplayer) this is just not worth the money. Multiplayer gaming is a stroke of genius in some aspects but did Enix and nintendo consider this: not all of us have friends at their beck and call that like gaming and have a gameboy advance and can come over whenever you wish to play the game with you!!!
Square could have made this an FF masterpiece but no, Enix just had to spew out yet another horror into the gaming world for us to waste our money on. Lets hope FF 11 and 12 can redeem them somewhat.
Do not, whatsoever, trust a Square-Enix game to be worth your time, one of the best companies of our time has failed miserably, stick with Squaresoft and Bioware, avoid this monstrosity at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's Final Fantasy...but not as we know it, 20 Feb 2004
By 
M.D. Smart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles (GameCube) (Video Game)
This game is mainly designed to be a multiplayer experience for 4 players, each with their own GBA and link cable. You can play it on your own, of course, but the single-player game is lacking in almost everything that made the other FF titles great. The only area in which this game excels is the graphics, which are beautiful. However, the art design has returned to the style of FFIX rather than the more realistic, adult characters as seen in FFVIII, FFX and FFX-2. The gameplay has been horribly simplified so it now resembles a weak clone of the Zelda games; it's really more of an action game with RPG elements, like the Zelda series (only nowhere near as good). But probably the worst fault is with the storyline, what there is of it. FF games are known for their complex, involving and emotive plots, but the story here would barely cover the back of a matchbox. Plus, if you are expecting a 60-hour marathon like the other games, you will once again be disappointed. I've nearly finished it and have been playing for just 17 hours, despite taking part in a number of side-quests. It's not an absolutely AWFUL game, but compared to the other FF games it's a real comedown. The complexity is gone, the story is gone, the characters are flimsy and childish, the whole thing is over fairly quickly...not what we were expecting or hoping for, I'm afraid. Worth trying if you have the requisite number of friends/GBAs handy, but otherwise I'd suggest sticking to The Wind Waker, or the Playstation/PS2 Final Fantasy games, which are all far superior to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back but for the best?, 4 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. Paul L. Gannon "Paul" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles (GameCube) (Video Game)
Although many of the gamecube owners across the world are exstatic to having final fantasy come back to nintendo it may not go so well as ffx2 as there are more people who own playstation 2's. I myself have every console so i dont mind but i dont know if square will continue the epic saga that all rpg players seem to love on the gamecube. I have heard some talks that this is a test to see how well it markets and if it does not succeed then it may well turn to the xbox so if you want this rpg on the gamecube for years to come i suggest u get your hands on it and show that there is a vast market in the gamecube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars total rubbish, 9 April 2004
This review is from: Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles (GameCube) (Video Game)
if you are a keen final fantasy player and hope this will be another deep story / gameplay experience..then stop and think again
this game is nothing more than a mediocre title with the brand of ff slapped onto it to sell it more
most of us fell for it and i must go and say this was the biggest waste of time and cash i have in my game collection
single player is a lonley trek through a story that is near enough none existent, no such thing really as levelling up, u just collect artifacts and can only pick one when leaving a dungeon ..which means mind numbingly reapeating the dungeon many times just to get the treasures to level up with
combat is boring which amounts to nothing more than hack and slash style ..(great in games like zelda ..but it just isnt interesting in here
spells are way to basic and offer no depth and no real compulsion to use them
and getting the designs for weapons and armour is just a matter of being in the right place at the right time
i wasted 40 hours trying to ignore these faults and press on and complete
in the end it was luck getting the items u needed to make the weapons and having to reapeat a dungeon in single player like 12 times to get it was just plain boring
multiplayer is no better and the chance u got 4 mates with gameboy advances is slim (unlike japans fondness for them) but no matter what anyone says it does not further the game experience in fact it slows it down more !
the music is basic and annoying
the only thing i have nice to say about this game is the graphics are beutifully rendered and effects are nicely done
think again before buying this ff title cause its nothing like the greatness of ff 3, 4 ,5 6 ,7 , 8,9 10 and x2
a total waste of time and money and only gets one star from me cause the gfx was nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles (GameCube)
£99.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews