Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FS 2004 brilliant game !!!
i brought this game 7 months ago, and i think its awesome!!
its got many planes on it, and if it hast got the plane you want you can get for absolutely free from a variety of websites. and if your computer isnt a very high performance gaming computer this works fine, you can adjust the game complexity to make it run fine on your comuter.

about the...
Published on 8 July 2007 by Sushila A. Joseph

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT WORKING
IT DOSENT WORK ON WINDOWS 7 LIKE IT SAYS ON THE DISCRIPTON WHEN YOU BUY IT I HAVE TRIED LOADS OF DIFFERENT WAYS BUT IT WILL NOT LOAD
Published on 27 Sep 2011 by john


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FS 2004 brilliant game !!!, 8 July 2007
By 
Sushila A. Joseph (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004: A Century of Flight (PC CD) (Video Game)
i brought this game 7 months ago, and i think its awesome!!
its got many planes on it, and if it hast got the plane you want you can get for absolutely free from a variety of websites. and if your computer isnt a very high performance gaming computer this works fine, you can adjust the game complexity to make it run fine on your comuter.

about the game

~ it has a fully controlable/clickable virtual cockpit/flight-deck.

~ has tutorials for beginners

~ gives very straight forward and clear flying lessons for different types of aircrafts.

~ gives flying tests.

~ has animated air traffic

~ it has so much more i dont know about.

about addons

~ there are millions of free aircraft/helicopters/space shuttles/concords/and fictional addons on the internet.

~ there are millions of free scenery and airport updates and addons.

~ there free plane repaint kits, so you can design your own planes.

~ free scenery design software.

you can get add ons from:

[...]

you can aso get addons to put moving cars and vechiles in your game ,

you can also drive different vechiles!!

i think this is probaly the best game out of microsoft FS
if you are thinking of getting fsx do not as it will only work good if you have a really really good computer as it will start to freeze when you enter places where there are alot buildings, and other things will also go wrong.

brilliant game!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simulator or training aid?, 13 Jan 2008
By 
John A. Stedman (Rye UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004: A Century of Flight (PC CD) (Video Game)
This is a serious simulator. I've used the whole history of MS Flight Simulators and each gets better. I've used this one for over 3 years now and still don't tire of it. Limitations yes - the principal one being that you're trying to fly an aircraft through a single window. Realistic yes - though I have to say that flying a real light aircraft in good conditions is actually easier than flying this sim! Add ons available - limitless including many free options. With full scenery optional extras (third party) you can fly over and recognise your own house. Alternatively you can plan and fly around the world in real time and weather. Up to you.

If you are already a real world pilot (as I am) you can use this to brush up on your nav skills. Navaid frequencies are real world and you can use real world charts. You can practice IFR without any risk and cost - can you navigate using VORs with a 500' cloudbase?

If you're looking for a game then look elsewhere as you'll be disappointed very quickly. FS does need to be learned and that takes time. You'll also need a good quality joystick (with twist stick to accommodate rudder input) or flight controls such as those from CH. Given that understanding you will get your value out of FS thousands of times over - it will probably be the best bit of simulation software you will ever find for a home PC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a game, a simulation., 2 Nov 2003
This review is from: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004: A Century of Flight (PC CD) (Video Game)
I earned a UK PPL at Stapleford airfield in 1995. Now 'real flight' costs around £100 per hour, to say nothing of the cost of buying and running an aircraft.
Let me say that this piece of software IS 'as real as it gets' and a little cheaper than the 'real thing'.
All the morse code idents are as in 'real life' and you could use the flight logs produced for 'real flight' though of course Microsoft add a disclaimer against doing this.
With realism settings on High your really close to reality...if you can land the simulated plane, you can land the real thing!
As usuall you will need a fairly high spec machine to get the full potential (but we already know that)
ATC is a slight improvement on FS 2002, but the only thing that bugs me here is as before all the ATC controllers speak with an American accent....and that need not be the case.!
Othherwise very similar to FS 2002, I think the new 'Dynamic Weather' is probably the biggest drain on resources (frame rates).
Worth it for the spectacular sunrise/sunset scenarious...don't let it distract you from flying the aircraft!!
For the aviation enthusiast its a MUST HAVE..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game, but not much of an upgrade from FS2002, 1 Jun 2005
This review is from: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004: A Century of Flight (PC CD) (Video Game)
I am a big fan on the Microsoft Flight Simulator series, and I thought that FS2002 was great. At first, I was unsure about whether FS2004 was worth buying, but I finally bought it.
The game consists of four CD-ROMs and the installation takes a long time. I encountered a few problems during the last part of the installation (certain scenery files were unable to be installed), but I just clicked 'ignore' and haven't had any problems with playing the game.
The fourth CD-ROM has to be in the disc drive while the game is being played. The game takes quite a long time to load, compared to other games, but once the game does load you can almost get straight into the game. There are a few more modes than FS2002, some being very helpful with information on how to control all the aspects of a particular aircraft, etc. There is lots of information to help you with the whole of the game.
Perhaps the most commonly used mode is 'create a flight', where you can set all aspects (ranging from weather to conditions and time to aircraft and airport) of a flight that you want to undertake. It works in a similar way to FS2002, but with a few more little touches - for instance, more weather scenarios.
However, I think that the graphics and detail during flight look exactly the same as they do in FS2002. This is disappointing, but there are other things that make the game better
The aircraft in the game are good and represent the first century of flight. As always, the Cessna aircraft are in there, along with the Boeings. These are popular aircraft in the game but they cannot be 'flown' straight away.
Like FS2002, there is a short clip on how to take off and how to operate the basic parts of the aircraft. After watching this, it is possible to create a flight and successfully fly some of the aircraft. This is great, because it is relatively easy to get to grips with the game.
It is completely up to you whether you stay at a basic level or advance to become a skilled player (the flying lessons will definitely come in handy, even though some are very difficult).
The general good points of game include:
- Lots of information to help you out.
- More aircraft.
- Easy to get into the game.
- Reflects the reality of flying.
- A fantastic addition to your FS collection, or at least a great game to own.
- A joystick can be used, configured to your needs.
And the general bad points include:
- Very much like FS2002: same detail of graphics, some of the modes, etc.
- Some of the advanced flying lessons are very difficult.
- Can often be confusing if you are a beginner.
So in general this is a great game. If you own FS2002, then I still think that it is worth buying FS2004. It is also a good game for beginners. This is one of the best games I own, and I can't wait until the next version of Microsoft Flight Simulator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just keeps getting better., 29 Sep 2004
This review is from: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004: A Century of Flight (PC CD) (Video Game)
After a long time debating about it I have taken the plunge and upgraded from my trusty Flight Simulator 2002. I purchased, received Flight Simulator 2004 Century of Flight with excitement and worry that I am leaving my trusty old friend 2002 that runs like a dream on my PC for a more advanced computer resources eating program. My computer being a Ath 1.3, Mem 512Mb, S B Audigy and 128Mb Nvidia Geforce should according to the min, specification for FS2004 be more than adequate. As soon as the package hit my doorstep I started to load it onto my PC all four disks. This took some time loading but after the final disk loaded I finally got to run FS2004. The Main page looking the same as FS2002 but with added links to well produced flight lessons and history with a refreshed colour change was home welcoming making me feal like I had been hear before. I could not wait to get into the cockpit a take a flight so clicking on the menus that seam to have been not altered from FS2002 I found myself sitting in the cockpit in a cesna on a runway. The blue sky with fluffy clouds was a refreshing change and the detail was amazing. I went into virtual cockpit and found I could use the controls as if I was in the real thing. This has put a new perspective into the world of flight simulations with download real wether patterns and a virtual cockpit you can actually use. I can wait to find out what other innovations Microsoft has put into it. Well done to Microsoft but I do believe that to avoid disappointment you ignore the minimum specifications on the box and don't go below what I am using. If you do you will have to set all performance sliders to a minimum distorting the enjoyment of the simulation.
Happy flying,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MS Flight Simulator 2004, 11 Aug 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004: A Century of Flight (PC CD) (Video Game)
This game is amazing.

The graphics have been vastly improved from the earlier 2002 version, and the ATC is much better too. I like the option where you can have your real time weather updated automatically, even when flying (probably best to have a "always-on-broadband-connection" for this). There are more planes, and the Learjet has at last been given a nice 3D cockpit.

Yes, you need a decent machine to see the graphics at their fullest, but there are many options that enable you to tweak the graphics up or down.

If you already have FS 2002 and you are wondering whether to go and buy this one - I say, go buy it. If you liked 2002, you'll love 2004
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best, 28 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004: A Century of Flight (PC CD) (Video Game)
Ignore all the reviews that tell you this is nothing special, or nothing much to add to previous versions - they are wrong. Quite simply, Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004: A Century of Flight is THE most detailed, comprehensive and graphically advanced simulator available on the PC.
If you buy this wanting a "game" you will be disappointed. But, if you are an armchair pilot prepared to spend time and learn then this is the closest thing to flying than actually being there (and, speaking as a real pilot, sometimes even harder to do than the real thing!).
From the revised interactive Air Traffic Control system, to the lucsious new graphics, 3D clouds, new weather system, perfect Garmin GPS computer and detailed 3D virtual cockpits for all the aircraft (and backwards compatibility with thousands of aircraft available for the last version), there is nothing better than this. I thought the 2002 version couldn't be improved on, but this is so much more!
The only gripe is, you need a kick-ass PC to get the most out of it, but if you are prepared to sacrifice some graphic quality it will still perform fine on earlier PC's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd give it more stars if I could...., 6 Feb 2005
By 
This review is from: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004: A Century of Flight (PC CD) (Video Game)
I was given this as a Christmas Present and was dubious about it at first - as I had previously tried FLight Simulator 98 - which was awful. FS 2004 is however really good..and I admit that I have become quite absorbed by it. After installation (4 CD's) you are guided to interactive tutorials that get you flying striaght away and talk you through the controls, navigating etc just like real flying lessons!! Brilliant - for a dubious novice like me, this gives you real encouragment to keep digging into the program, spending time learning more. And there is certainly more - a huge library of resources explain in further detail the physics and procedures in flying, navigating. There are plans and maps of airports etc. You can get into it an as much detail as you like - play it like a game at surface level - or get into the real nitty gritty of tuning in the radio to the right frequencies , doing pre-flight checks before take off etc. If you've got a decent spec of computer and graphics card (2.4Ghz PC and 128mb card) then the graphics are superb - clouds,rain - realtime weather and the radio controllers speaking to you from the tower, engine noises and etc really make you get into the flying zone - superb. I must admit I've gone from dubious to enthusiast in 2 months - even to buying extra packages to enhance the realism of the airports etc.
Well done Microsoft!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Addicted, 13 Oct 2003
By 
C. Norris "the ancient mariner" (bucks, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004: A Century of Flight (PC CD) (Video Game)
My last MS flight sim purchase was FS2000pro.
Now three years later I thought it was time to update - and what an update! Awesome scenery and weather patterns enhance a physics engine that's second to none.
Having actually flown a Cessna from my local airfield I thought I would try the same in the simulator - it was very close to the real thing apart from being cramped in a small cockpit with tight seatbelts!
My PC spec is 1Ghz Celeron, 256Mb ram, 200Gb HD and 32Mb Creative TNT2 - and the game runs just fine.
5 Stars it deserves and a well done to the MS development team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, a wonderful experience., 28 Aug 2006
By 
Matt J. (London, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004: A Century of Flight (PC CD) (Video Game)
Lets just get one thing straight, this is not a game! It is a piece of simulation software. For those who want a game go and buy over g fighters or something. FS2004 is great, although it seems really hard to do stuff right at the start, with ALOT of practice you will get better and you will learn about ILS Landings and how to intercept the localizer and so-forth. There are no levels as such, but there are pre made flights which you can take and brilliant flying lessons which are made by a real flying instructor. The graphics are great, however, to get the best graphics you need a very high-end computer. The aircraft models which come with the product are very shoddy and poorly designed, If you're going to buy this then I also recommend that you also buy some add-on aircraft such as the PMDG 747 or the A340 -500/-600. You can adjust the weather settings using 8 weather schemes or you can define your own weather.

BEFORE GETTING THIS GET A JOYSTICK. Fs2004 seriously sucks without a joystick or flight yoke, controlling it with the keyboard is very unrealistic and very hard to pull off.

Overall, FS2004 is a great simulation program, although the default aircraft lack realism so I recommend you buy some add-on aircraft or download some free ones from the web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004: A Century of Flight (PC CD)
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004: A Century of Flight (PC CD) by Microsoft (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / XP)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews