Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It makes you think what really matters in life
After the movie has finished it still plays on in your head, and you start to ponder upon the big question that the film is all about, what if I had 7 days to live what would I do with my life?
Angelina Jolie once again proves that she can adapt to any role that she takes on, the character she plays could not be further from the Jolie we know and love. This is a...
Published on 5 Aug. 2003 by Cristina Slough

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "What would you do if you only had a week to live?"
Lanie Kerrigan (Angelina Jolie) is an ambitious Seattle newscaster who dreams of going national. One day she does an interview with a homeless man who claims to be a psychic; he predicts the score of a coming football game, calls for hail the next day, and then tells her she's going to be dead in a week. When the first two predictions come true, Lanie really starts to...
Published on 18 Nov. 2008 by Kona


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It makes you think what really matters in life, 5 Aug. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the movie has finished it still plays on in your head, and you start to ponder upon the big question that the film is all about, what if I had 7 days to live what would I do with my life?
Angelina Jolie once again proves that she can adapt to any role that she takes on, the character she plays could not be further from the Jolie we know and love. This is a must see film for movie goers who believe there is a higher being than just us, in places the film can be a bit depressing, but the warm ending makes up for any sadness you may encounter.
A must see thumbs up Angelina
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comedy or something like it, 21 Jan. 2006
By 
This review is from: Life Or Something Like It [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film is a must see for all fans of Angelina Jolie as this role is unusual for her and she plays it suprisingly well.
Jolie and Ed burns are an unlikely pairing but I believed the romance between them and the plot although a bit corny was sweet and easy to follow.
The perfect movie for feeling good and seeing Angelina Jolie sing....watch and see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly good with broad appeal, 13 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Life Or Something Like It [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I was pleasantly surprised at how good this film was. The mold might seem to be a bit cliched but I found all of the performances were very good, and there was good chemistry between the two leads. It was also in some ways quite a fresh approach to the themes of this film, mentioned by other reviewers, which made it quite compelling to watch. Despite the subject matter, the script and Jolie's warm performance made it a funny film with lots of charm; Jolie was excellent in the role and it certainly demonsrates her versatility as an actress. It's clever script successfully posed a number of questions about what's really important in life in a humourous, appealing way and it's certainly worth seeing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "What would you do if you only had a week to live?", 18 Nov. 2008
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Life Or Something Like It [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Lanie Kerrigan (Angelina Jolie) is an ambitious Seattle newscaster who dreams of going national. One day she does an interview with a homeless man who claims to be a psychic; he predicts the score of a coming football game, calls for hail the next day, and then tells her she's going to be dead in a week. When the first two predictions come true, Lanie really starts to worry.

This is a perfectly nice little movie, but it's instantly forgettable. Picture a Meg Ryan-type romantic comedy without at least one tear-inducing scene. Jolie is perky as the driven newscaster (despite a really hideous Pamela Anderson-hair do), but she's just not special enough to care about. Her costar Edward Burns plays a John Corbett-Everyman guy, very low-key, charming, and philosophical, but again, nothing special and there aren't any sparks between them.

The movie has a very fast-paced, urban feel and it's not a bad way to spend some time; it just isn't a movie that touches the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 7 days of wonderful, 14 Feb. 2009
By 
Shena "Shena" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Life Or Something Like It [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I wasn't expecting much from this considering all the criticism it's recieved.. but I disagree with it all! It was so refreshing, it really does make you think what would you do if you only had 7 days to live? There's crying moments, laughing, inspirational. Overall it's a fab movie for a night in & Angelina excells herself as usual :) and the lead male Edward Burns is a great co-star for her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good effort at a different sort of romcom, 26 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Life Or Something Like It [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Enjoyable film which has both a strong satirical edge and an introspective, philosophical tone. Jolie is fab as the shallower than shallow career journalist who has her life changed by a modern day soothsayer. Only quite briefly becomes treacly, and almost becomes preachy, but it holds together well enough to deliver a movie which summed up the mood of many Americans shortly after 9/11. A good effort and worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a jolie good film, 12 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Life Or Something Like It [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I think this film didn`t deserve the criticism it got as most of the reviews i read were very negative,but being a jolie fan i simply had to watch it.I wasn`t dissapointed as angelina goes to show what a versatile actor she is.The film is a comedy with a kind of romantic element to it and tells the story of Lanie kerrigan (Jolie) as a news reporter who has the perfect job,apartment,boyfriend etc until she interviews a homeless psychic who tells her that she will die in seven days.This makes her re-evaluate her life and try to live it to the fullest.The other main character is ed burns who plays lanie`s camera man Pete and the on screen chemistry between the two actors works well as i thought they were very funny together.I`d not seen much of ed burns before this but think i might take more notice of his forthcoming films as he impressed me in this film.One of the best scenes in the film is when lanie appears on camerea drunk and gets the whole crowd singing satisfaction by the rolling stones, very funny.Overall i think that this was a good film and for people who want a a decent story and a bit of a laugh at the same time,and a must buy for angelina fans as she is in practically every scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blondes have more fun, or do they?, 22 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Life Or Something Like It [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Always enjoy a Angeline Jolie movie and this whilst different was no exception.

Lovely romantic comedy with a twist. Ex geeky lanie has turned her life around and appears to have everything. A great job, designer clothes and engaged to a baseball star.

When suddenly she finds out she only has a week to live life takes an unexpected turn.

This is a movie about life, the price of success and the importance of being true to yourself.

I really enjoyed it, perhaps a little predictable at times but that only added to its charm.
Recommended viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and quirky rom com, 8 Jan. 2005
By 
G. Stephens "Blah, blah, blah" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life Or Something Like It [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I've given this film 4 stars as it is a pretty fun film for any Jolie fan- it's got a philosophical point to it and is good if you're up for a feel good romantic comedy- not oscar winning stuff but Jolie plays someone she's really never played before, showing her range etc and it's great to see her in a comedy- look out for her reporting song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Or Something Like It [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Pretty entertaining film. Solid acting from Jolie and Burns, although the brilliant Tony Shalhoub turns in a cameo as Prophet Jack and steals the film from both of them. I'd never seen Shalhoub before, but I'll watch out for him in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life Or Something Like It [DVD] [2003]
Life Or Something Like It [DVD] [2003] by Stephen Herek (DVD - 2003)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews