Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars who really enjoyed it. He said it was very sad sometimes ...
I bought this as a present for my 9 year old grandson, who really enjoyed it. He said it was very sad sometimes but had a good ending. My son said it was an ideal present for a boy who loves animals, and also is good for family watching.
Published 8 months ago by Mrs. Roberta M. Carney

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Boy and His Dog Fight to Survive
Growing up in the Pacific Northwest, young Angus McCormick (Jesse Bradford) has learned many survival skills. He's just finishing up a nice canoe. And when he finds a stray dog, he adopts him and names him Yellow.

Taking a few days off from school to accompany his dad, John (Bruce Davison), on a supply run seems like a dream come true. But when they...
Published on 1 Oct. 2008 by Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars who really enjoyed it. He said it was very sad sometimes ..., 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far from Home: The Adventures of Yellow Dog [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a present for my 9 year old grandson, who really enjoyed it. He said it was very sad sometimes but had a good ending. My son said it was an ideal present for a boy who loves animals, and also is good for family watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Boy and His Dog Fight to Survive, 1 Oct. 2008
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Far from Home: The Adventures of Yellow Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Growing up in the Pacific Northwest, young Angus McCormick (Jesse Bradford) has learned many survival skills. He's just finishing up a nice canoe. And when he finds a stray dog, he adopts him and names him Yellow.

Taking a few days off from school to accompany his dad, John (Bruce Davison), on a supply run seems like a dream come true. But when they encounter a fierce storm, the boat they are in capsizes. John is quickly rescued, but the search and rescue teams can't find any trace of Angus or Yellow.

The two have survives and are trying to find their way back to civilization. Will they be able to survive and be reunited with their family?

This movie is fairly standard and innocuous family fare. It is a little slow at times, especially in the beginning while things are set up. It is fairly predictable. But it is entertaining. Kids will enjoy it more than their parents. My biggest complaint was actually the short scenes. Many things are introduced and resolved too quickly, never giving any plot point time to be fully developed. At the same time, I did eventually get caught up in the emotions and found the ending satisfying.

The film could have been much better but does grow on you. Don't rush out to see it, but there's no reason to avoid it either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alexs Review, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far from Home: The Adventures of Yellow Dog [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this movie was good. however I did get a bit bored if im being honest. I think it could of been a little bit better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far from Home: The Adventures of Yellow Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Very happy with the speedy delivery..this is a christmas pressie for my son who loved this so much he wants it on dvd..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brillliant, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far from Home: The Adventures of Yellow Dog [DVD] (DVD)
really enjoyed this film if you want a good dog film to watch order this one. good value for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ever lost a dog?, 17 May 2009
By 
R. J. Farrer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far from Home: The Adventures of Yellow Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Cat lovers will not enjoy this film.

But if you have ever lost a dog, or have the imagination to understand that condition, you should give this a chance.

'Far from Home' combines the awesome beauty of the Pacific northwest coast, a dog, a happy ordinary family as well as rescue aircraft and helicopters, so there's something for everyone.
Let's be frank, this is not Oscar material, the human actors are sound rather than superb, but 'Yellow' (the dog), plays himself with great authenticity and naturalism.

The story is contrived, no sailor who knows the Pacific coast would set sail without checking the local met. forecast first, but this provides the writers with the opportunity for a storm to separate Dad from son and his dog.

Everyone reacts with proper stoicism and the human characters are soon re-united but 'Yellow' cannot be picked-up by the helicopter so we are all set for much anxiety as the labrador must now fend for himself in the vast temperate Cedar forest of the Canadian coastal wilderness.

The ending is surprisingly touching and actually quite numinous. If you own tear ducts, prepare to use them.

Up there with any of the great 'dog films' and something for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far from Home: The Adventures of Yellow Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely loved this film. Just right for family viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far from Home: The Adventures of Yellow Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Great family entertainment for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 6 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Far from Home: The Adventures of Yellow Dog [DVD] (DVD)
I watched Far from Home: The Adventures of Yellow Dog last night it was not a bad film I gave it 6 out of 10.
The setting looks really nice to.
And if you like dogs then you should like this dvd to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far from Home: The Adventures of Yellow Dog [DVD] (DVD)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far from Home: The Adventures of Yellow Dog [DVD]
£3.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews