Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2007
This is a real must. It would be easy to pick out Ray Winstone as the star, but the whole cast are fantastic. Brilliantly written and directed, it may be in 4 episodes, but make sure you leave yourself the 3 1/2 hours needed because you won't be able to turn it off.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2001
If you missed this series when the BBC in their 'wisdom' decided to show it on BBC2, make sure you see this video. This is spellbinding stuff - superbly written and acted - with particularly strong performances in my opinion from Ray Winstone and Phil Davis. It will keep you hooked until the very end.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2004
Worth buying for this line alone, a superb series with Ray Winstone trying just a little too hard to be liked by his old mates. You end up feeling for sorry for him, even though you shouldn't
One of the best bits of recent UK telly that seemed to be overlooked at the time, Wonderful.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2001
One of the best TV dramas in a long time. It makes you both laugh and cry whilst having you on the edge of your seat at all times. Tony Grounds the writer is a name to watch out for!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2005
Superb stuff. A wonderful ensemble piece that ends in the manner of a classic tragedy (complete with costumes). However, the quality of the print takes a nose-dive towards the end of episode 3, when the picture goes haywire. Seriously annoying. Still, it's only a few quid, so I recommend you invest in a copy.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2008
A superb little-known drama about the lives of three friends. Not like most UK dramas on TV these days, BMADs is hard-hitting at times, but with a great sense of humour that makes all four episodes on this DVD well worth watching right to the brilliant end.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2000
Ray Winstone is superb in this brillant dark comedy & drama from the BBC. A excellant storyline has you absorbed until the end. All 200 Mins
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2008
Excellent performances from the three central characters, good script & a slightly oddball theme make this a hugely entertaining piece of viewing.

It's more a short story with 3 main constituent parts but they all blend easily together to make the whole thing work smoothly.

One of Ray Winstone's best parts & one that he tackles with relish - the story of his relationship with his wife is hilarious & sad in equal parts as it unfolds.

Well worth the money & then some!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
Love it, love it, love it. I had bought this from a charity shop originally but it would not play all the parts. I loved it that much I ordered it from Amazon and the difference in the viewing was amazing. Ray Winstone is fantastic in these mini stories about three guys who have grown up together and socialize together. It really is about how one single event can turn everyone's lives upside down. The stories of the three guys are very different and there are a lot of dark moments in the plot but it is very compelling viewing. I would recommend this DVD to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
I lost my copy many years ago and just bought it again here!

The theme that runs throughout this film is so funny where one of the thugs can't get an erection - You need to see the film to know what I mean, but the film is littered with great actors, it's comical, serious, a bit of violence, but not much, but then it is a gangster film after all...

A very, very funny film, lots of great one liners and with some serious undertones....

A brilliant watch and a bargain at this price - get the popcorn ready!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)