Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best ever Quo album???
For me?

Yes.

A heavy blues-influenced album that was the foundation for their legendary early seventies shows.

If you like the side of Quo reflected in singles such as Rockin' All Over The World, Whatever You Want and In The Army Now, this may not be for you. This is for crankin' up to eleven, and nodding the ol' head to.

Opener...
Published on 13 Jun 2007 by Col Price

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the start of something big?
A short leap from here to the likes of Piledriver, Hello and Quo (3 of my all-time favourite albums).
It is not Status Quo at their imperious best but it is worth a listen.
Published 14 months ago by I. I. L. Surridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best ever Quo album???, 13 Jun 2007
By 
Col Price "Col" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
For me?

Yes.

A heavy blues-influenced album that was the foundation for their legendary early seventies shows.

If you like the side of Quo reflected in singles such as Rockin' All Over The World, Whatever You Want and In The Army Now, this may not be for you. This is for crankin' up to eleven, and nodding the ol' head to.

Opener Umleitung clocks in at seven plus minutes, most of it mid-paced blues influenced boogie, until after about five-and-a-half minutes, the first ever capture of the trademark Quo sound shows the shape of things to come.

Much of this album shows a twin-guitar sound, especially on tracks such as Someones Learning and Somethings Going On In My Head, along with classic Quo tracks such as Railroad, which finishes as a slow heavy blues, complete with harmonica solo and the (released two years later) hit single Mean Girl.

The album is not all about clearing your head of dandruff though, the use of Na Na Na to split a few tracks (it appears three times,increasing in length each time) and the unusual and folky sounding Gerdundula add colour and depth to this album.

This may not be the most immediate or commercial sounding Quo album, but one that reveals itself over repeated listening. It's an album I always return to.

Pure class and much underrated, if someone else had made this album it would be hailed as a classic, but a combination of prejudice and bias, along with the bigger selling albums in Quo's arsenal result in the album being ignored except by hard core Quo fans.

This is pure classic British rock of the highest echelon, and deserves a place alongside Led Zep IV, Purple's In Rock and Who's Next in your collection.

I cannot reccomend this album highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure classic Quo without the 3 chords!, 29 Nov 2000
This review is from: Dog of Two Head (Audio CD)
If there was ever an album by Status Quo that would prove to critics that there music was and always has been more than the traditional 12 bar/3 chord boogie this is it....Nanana a simple sounding acoustic song about writing songs that sound the same! - to Railroad a 8 minute masterpiece - the sound quality of this re-mastered album gives the album the added bonus of the live recorded sound. The extra tracks giving an example of the way songs are written (afterall Quo's Caroline started off as a slow song...)
A must for any Quo fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best ever Quo album?, 13 Jun 2007
By 
Col Price "Col" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dog Of Two Head (Audio CD)
For me?

Yes.

A heavy blues-influenced album that was the foundation for their legendary early seventies shows.

If you like the side of Quo reflected in singles such as Rockin' All Over The World, Whatever You Want and In The Army Now, this may not be for you. This is for crankin' up to eleven, and nodding the ol' head to.

Opener Umleitung clocks in at seven plus minutes, most of it mid-paced blues influenced boogie, until after about five-and-a-half minutes, the first ever capture of the trademark Quo sound shows the shape of things to come.

Much of this album shows a twin-guitar sound, especially on tracks such as Someones Learning and Somethings Going On In My Head, along with classic Quo tracks such as Railroad, which finishes as a slow heavy blues, complete with harmonica solo and the (released two years later) hit single Mean Girl.

The album is not all about clearing your head of dandruff though, the use of Na Na Na to split a few tracks (it appears three times,increasing in length each time) and the unusual and folky sounding Gerdundula add colour and depth to this album.

This may not be the most immediate or commercial sounding Quo album, but one that reveals itself over repeated listening. It's an album I always return to.

Pure class and much underrated, if someone else had made this album it would be hailed as a classic, but a combination of prejudice and bias, along with the bigger selling albums in Quo's arsenal result in the album being ignored except by hard core Quo fans.

This is pure classic British rock of the highest echelon, and deserves a place alongside Led Zep IV, Purple's In Rock and Who's Next in your collection.

I cannot recommend this album highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rediscovered classic, 20 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Dog Of Two Head (Audio CD)
I remember listening to this in a record store on the basis of the record cover, which I found to be kinda cool (that was the method I used when I wanted to find new music back then; cool cover = potentially cool music). It was around '74 I think (I was 14) and I had just began do discover the power of music about a year before.

I remember thinking that the music was kind of strange, but for some reason it was also uplifting and with some kind of soul and progressive touch to it (the blues was totally new to me at the time, and I was just beginning to develop a taste for prog rock). I bought it and dug it a lot.

I sold my LP's in the early '80's and just bought this remastered CD after all this years, and I must say: It still holds it's ground (me not beeing totally objective, of course)! It's still fresh, inventive and with a grove, melody, power and originality that doesn't come around much these days! ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DOGS B****CKS, 31 Jan 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dog Of Two Head (Audio CD)
Fantastic album now remastered,after the direction changed in the overlooked 'Ma Kelly' album this disc cemented the Quo's new style,heavy rock n boogie,how good is this? only Zep 4 and Master of Reality would top it in 1971.

Opening with another epic 'Umleitung' this along with another monster track 'Someones Learning' shows that the boys were getting the hang of this extended blues.Inbetween you get the perfect 'Mean Girl and Railroad' both of which encapsulate that early quo sound which would serve them well for the next decade or so.Only the reprise of Nanana a little unneccesary.The original version of 'Gerdundula' and 'Nanana' both show the softer side while 'Something's Going On in my Head' aims to the hard rock arena,really if any other major british band had done this it would be held up as a classic,buy now and discover a piece of lost british history.

BONUS TRACKS; again starts of with an unneccesary rough mix of mean girl before the excellent 'tune to the music',should have been a hit and the superb jam of 'Good Thinkin..'(originally on FRESH QUOTA from 1981 i believe).The bonus tracks finish with two ecellent bbc radio sessions of 'Mean Girl and Railroad',Cmon BBC/QUO it about time a double/triple disc of all your recordings of the Quo are issued,it would fly off the shelfs!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "From the makers of..." it started from here...., 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dog Of Two Head (Audio CD)
After the "raw" album release of "Ma Kelly's Greasy Spoon" the year before, 1971's "Dog of Two Head" was a little more polished and really marked the start of the golden era of classic Quo studio albums (albeit the last on the Pye label).

As you find with Quo, the earlier you go back, the more diverse and varied the albums are and this offering doesn't disappoint.

"Nanana" is a catchy tune that runs all the way through the album and pops up 3 times - the first two snippets are "extractions" before the full song appears at the end of the original album.

"Mean Girl" was a hint at the no nonsense pop/rock/boogie songs to come in future albums and was released as a single by Pye in 1973 following the success of the Vertigo album "Piledriver" in 1972.

"Railroad" and "Gerdundula" have become firm live favourites over the years and the bonus tracks on this release show the former in all its glory, as well as a live version of "Mean Girl" plus a few other rarities.

This album is a must for Quo fans if they want to know where the seeds were sowed for "Piledriver", "Hello" and beyond. Its diversity compared to later releases shows the underlying talents in the band and how the under-rated "3 chord wonders" really are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dog Of Two Head, 18 Feb 2008
By 
AJ "Alan" (Joburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Got this album remastered and can honestly say this is my favourite Status Quo album.This album to me was what the Quo were all about in those days, no nonsence head down meaty blues, sure its not the commercial Quo that people would associate with the group in general possibly with exception of Mean Girl that was a single that went down well in the charts.
If you like this band especially there 70s work please BUY this album if you dont have, for your collection you wont regret it. Also Check out the album Ma Kellys Greasy Spoon which is also available in remastered form, another classic album pre commercial.Cheers.
PS The remastering is excellent play loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What do you Want ?, 18 Jan 2008
By 
Neil (Buckingham) - See all my reviews
I saw the Quo at the Van Dike club in Plymouth when I was 15 (1972?) and they played this album. I was 4 ft from the speaker stack and couldn't hear properly for 3 days.
Anyway this is a great album by a band who had discovered where their strengths lay. Its less commercial (who says that these days?) than the stuff they really became famous for, but its a combination of great boogie tunes, rockers and some accoustic lead stuff. If you only know them by the hits, this will surprise you - Mean Girl (included here) is not typical. It is a fine well-balanced album by an emerging British band which you can enjoy in almost any mood, at any time. Excellent in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Classic Quo!, 13 Aug 2006
This review is from: Dog Of Two Head (Audio CD)
Status Quo have been my favourite band since I was a little kid and that doesn't seem likely to change. 'Dog Of Two Head' was the album I first heard (on vinyl) about 20 years ago and it's the one that got me into Quo for life. As many fans find, it is difficult to have a favourite among their string of amazing albums between 'Ma Kelly's Greasy Spoon' and 'Quo'. They are best treated as equally brilliant but superbly different to one another.

I'll cut to the chase - if you have never listened to this album you are missing out on one of the most under-rated and timeless recordings ever made. It is probably the most varied work they have done and would definitely surprise people who think of Status Quo as just a one trick pony.

'Dog Of Two Head' possesses quite a range of sounds, from the slow and stylish blues of opener 'Umleitung', to the frantic boogie of 'Mean Girl', to the folky acoustic number 'Nanana'. It has a more professional feel than the previous album 'Ma Kelly's Greasy Spoon' and shows the band really mastering their craft and becoming a tight unit.

I cannot fault this album. It has provided me with great pleasure for many, many years and I hope whoever hasn't discovered it will take the opportunity to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic quo, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dog Of Two Head (Audio CD)
i wish the would put extras off other albums on (gets a bit repetative ) but still a great early quo album . long live the frantic four
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dog Of Two Head
Dog Of Two Head by Status Quo (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews