Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!
When Spineshank released their last album, The Height Of Callousness, they had something of a point to prove, having been written off as Fear Factory copyists. That album rammed the critics' words back down their throats, with its blend of aggression and melody, and is an industrial/nu-metal classic.
The immediate criticism of Self-Destructive Pattern is that the...
Published on 15 July 2003 by Ben Saunders

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spineshank make it radio friendly
The 3rd album by the Spineshank boys was going to be tough. 'The Height of Callousness' was hard, aggressive and extremely heavy. And we loved it. 'Self Destruct Pattern' starts in the same sort of way. 'Violent Moodswings' and 'Slavery' remind you of what you love about this band. Its a good album, but there are too many songs that are made to be played on radio...
Published on 20 July 2003 by Mr. P. D. Horner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 15 July 2003
By 
Ben Saunders (Stirling, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Self Destructive Pattern (Audio CD)
When Spineshank released their last album, The Height Of Callousness, they had something of a point to prove, having been written off as Fear Factory copyists. That album rammed the critics' words back down their throats, with its blend of aggression and melody, and is an industrial/nu-metal classic.
The immediate criticism of Self-Destructive Pattern is that the band have tried to repeat the same album - but then, if the formula works so well, why change it? Long time fans will be pleased that the band haven't strayed much from their roots in the name of 'maturity', but stuck to what they do best. Where there is progression is in the more melodic, commercial tracks, such as 'Beginning Of The End' and forthcoming single 'Smothered' (suitable for those graduating from Linkin Park).
The band can still unleash hefty doses of angst that dispel fears of them 'going soft'- most notably, album opener 'Violent Moodswings', which lives up to its name. Unlike before though, they don't rely on battering listeners into aural submission, but can combine the softer parts of their sound with the heavier, even in the same song. The album only clocks up at 40 minutes, but it doesn't let up at all - a masterful return from a band that should be leading the nu-metal pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the return of the shank, 14 July 2003
This review is from: Self Destructive Pattern (Audio CD)
Spineshank have returned with an amazing thrid album, i thought it was impossible to make a record better than 'the height of callousness' but they have proved me wrong. The album starts with the intense 'Violent mood swings'(which was the orignal name of the album) which starts off the album incredibly well with its stroming riffs and sing along chorus. slavery is also an amazing song, with its death metal style vocals and more melodic vocals preformed by Jonny Santos over mike and robs heavy riffs. the first chance to here the new material of this album was with the single 'smothered' is more of a melodic 'shank offering but still is very heavy and amazing to sing/shout along though it may never be in the same class as synthetic or new disease from H.O.C. but hey. Another stand out song is 'beginging of the end' which starts of slowly and quietly and soon speeds and becomes louder with its fast verses.
the other songs on the album are fantastic and are true to the blue print laided down by strictly diesel and height of callousness but also their sound has moved becoming more guitar based and losing some of the electronic elements with Jonny Santos and Tommy Deckers song writing ability maturing along with the bands playing ability and Jonny's vocals improving some what.So this record will def please old spineshank fans and hopefully will attract new fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 out of 5 what a suprise, 9 Aug 2005
This review is from: Self Destructive Pattern (Audio CD)
When I bought this album I was first dissapointed, cos i had heard ``Smothered'' song on TV and loved it, but realised the other songs were a bit different. But this is a grower, songs such as ``Forgotten'',``Fallback'' and ``Beginning of the end''
show the lighter and pleasant side of the band, yet ``Violent moodwings'' and ``Dead to me'' really kick your arse.
This is recommended on many levels and is even catchier than ``Linkin Park'' Screaming and Singing has never been so better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spineshank make it radio friendly, 20 July 2003
By 
This review is from: Self Destructive Pattern (Audio CD)
The 3rd album by the Spineshank boys was going to be tough. 'The Height of Callousness' was hard, aggressive and extremely heavy. And we loved it. 'Self Destruct Pattern' starts in the same sort of way. 'Violent Moodswings' and 'Slavery' remind you of what you love about this band. Its a good album, but there are too many songs that are made to be played on radio. 'Smothered' and 'Beginning Of The End' and 'Forgotten' sound like 'Linkin Park' covers. Its not what you want to hear from Spineshank. All the songs are decent but you feel a little let down that the band have sold-out a little just so they can get radio coverage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it'll blow you away, 15 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Self Destructive Pattern (Audio CD)
Spineshank are back with an album that really does live up to the wait. i have been a hugh spineshank fan for a number of years and was able to see them at the download festival. Unfortunatly the had to cancel there uk tour due to family problems.
Self destructive patern kicks off with Violent Mood Swings, letting everyone no they are back and heavier than ever. songs such as Slavery and Self Destructive pattern are quite possible the most brutal tracks on the record.
For any one that thought the last record (The Height Of Callousness) was good, this you will find outstanding.
This album is for fans of Fear Factory and Static X, and also anyone who is into heavy music.
Many of you will have probilly seen the video for smothered on scuzz, showing there more meolodramatic side as well.
Spineshank are a band who mix heavy guitar's with melodramatic singing. I recomend this album emensly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad., 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self Destructive Pattern (Audio CD)
Not a bad album with a couple of really good songs although I did much prefer and play regular the height of callousness. buy the height of callousness first if your thinking of getting a spineshank album its a classic! this one in my opinion isn't quite as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent improvement on the last album, 6 Oct 2007
By 
M. McManus - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Self Destructive Pattern (Audio CD)
This album is definitely an improvement on the last album, and for some reason seems to sound "cleaner" than their previous one. That is to say, the screaming, roaring vocals in the last album are still loud and angry, but seem clearer and more distinct and thus are more powerful. The instrumental is as explosive as ever, and they can get the blood moving like few other bands. The best track on the album is "Beginning of the End", and some of the other tracks seem to have a mysterious resemblance to the tracks on the previous album, especially the intro sections of the tracks. This suggests the band have seen the flaws in the previous album, and used them as a spine from which to improve them. This band's sound is very much an acquired taste, so unless you are a genuine fan of very angry lyrics and ear drum shattering instrumentals, give this a miss. But if you like these things, then this is definitely for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nu metal that still sounds fresh, 20 April 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Self Destructive Pattern (Audio CD)
nu metal is more or less dead and that is something of a relief,like most i was drawn in by it somewhat and i am left with a good few nu metal albums that just dont sound as cracking anymore although i wouldnt part with them.spineshank have released three fine albums and this is their latest one albeit its a few years old now but it still sounds pretty fresh and its filled with nu metal beats and poppy enough chorus' to keep us all happy.

self destructive pattern starts off with the cracking violent moodswings which is as heavy a song as you may find in the nu metal family,it has the trademark heavy,light,heavy light formula and is a good album opener.songs like smothered and dead to me continue the strong riffs and melodic chorus,there are some very laid back songs on here which again was the nu metal formula,songs such as beginning of the end demonstrate what i mean,all in all its an album you can throw on and still enjoy,it can bring a smile to your face as you remember the good old nu metal days,well only if you want to remember them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 6 July 2004
This review is from: Self Destructive Pattern (Audio CD)
I have been a Spineshank fan for a good while, I loved the Height of Callousness in particular. Self-Destructive Pattern is much heavier than it I would say overall, but it retains the mix of melody and heaviness. There are also very few samples, which I think is only a good thing. Songs such as Slavery and Forgotten are typical of the album. Slavery is the best on the album in my opinion, it starts of with a very heavy and shouty bit, then goes into a very melodic chorus. To sum up, Self-Destructive Pattern builds on The Height of Callousness, if you liked it, you will love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars unexpected, 18 May 2004
By 
Lee (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Self Destructive Pattern (Audio CD)
If, like me, you had only heard songs by Spineshank like 'Smothered' and 'New Disease' then you're in for a shock. Although these are both great songs, people who are new to Spineshank albums will realise these songs are not at all similar to their true material. The album opens with 'Violent Moodswings,' a song with a great introduction, but then your eardrums are blasted with screaming vocals. The songs usually follow a common trend of screaming verses and the choruses are sung, this makes the songs very contrasted and enjoyable. However, some tracks are like 'New disease'etc. and are completely sung, but this doesn't make them boring, in fact 'Fallback' is personally my favourite song. If you are new to this type of music then by no means cast this album aside because Spineshank's style will rapidly grow on you. Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Self Destructive Pattern
Self Destructive Pattern by Spineshank (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews