Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT COLLECTION OF ANARCHY!!!
How good is the young ones?! After all these years i can still watch and laugh at the antics of Rik, Vyv, Neil, Mike and a string of other wacky characters. This series takes me back to my extreme youth. And i love every single second of it!
My favorite episode has to be sick, it is so funny seeing how the students from hell cope with being ill. Watch out for Neil in...
Published on 18 Aug 2003 by shannon84

versus
52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One star withheld for meanness!
A review of two halves: skip the next bit if you dislike ranting reviewers. I tend to as well, but the slight afforded anyone buying this DVD needs to be aired:
As the previous reviewer mentioned, not only has the Beeb edited out Ken Bishop's Nice Twelve and their rendition of "Subterranean Homesick Blues" (if I recall correctly?) from CASH, but even Neil's classic...
Published on 5 Sep 2003 by P. A. Murphy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One star withheld for meanness!, 5 Sep 2003
By 
P. A. Murphy "Paulie" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 2 (1984) [DVD] (DVD)
A review of two halves: skip the next bit if you dislike ranting reviewers. I tend to as well, but the slight afforded anyone buying this DVD needs to be aired:
As the previous reviewer mentioned, not only has the Beeb edited out Ken Bishop's Nice Twelve and their rendition of "Subterranean Homesick Blues" (if I recall correctly?) from CASH, but even Neil's classic moment from NASTY, in the bathroom, in the bath, in the dark, with his guitar, strumming "Hello darkness my old friend..." was deemed too expensive for Auntie to pay Paul Simon his royalty. Where does this miserliness end, I wonder? Perhaps next we'll be getting Dr Who DVDs without the title music because it's cheaper not to pay Ron Grainer. Or The Onedin Line without Khatchaturian?
An open letter to the BBC: For God's sake: you sorely underestimate your consumers; they know your products much better than you think, so why don't you just swallow hard, flick the moths from your wallet and pay all the damn people their damn money all the damn time: you'll recoup it tenfold from DVD sales, rather than foisting stillborn releases like this on your public.
Grr!! Thank you.
And now my review:
The Young Ones is great (or graet, even!). You have to leave it a few months between viewings to keep it fresh (especially if you grew up on it like I did), but it still works on several levels: as an 80s period piece, it sums up all that was alternative in Alternative Comedy. Any student of comedy should appreciate that like Python before it, The Young Ones broke a lot of the rules about how to do sitcoms (if it was even one itself) and indeed what was funny most of the time, with its combination of surreal interludes, extreme violence, (now dated) political sideswipes and cheap-looking-but cosy traditional BBC TV production values. It also features an awesome cast of regulars, all of whom went on to greater success and each giving 101% of their energy throughout each pulsating episode, as well as a treasure trove of cameos from famous and soon-to-be-very-famous-indeed comic actors thoughout the series: Robbie Coltrane, Tony Robinson, Stephen Fry, Hugh Laurie, Emma Thompson and Ben Elton appear in the first episode of this DVD alone. But for the rest of you, who just enjoy comedy because it makes you laugh, The Young Ones manages to do just that, whether it be through witty observation of commonplace manners and mores, even in surreal situations ("Shut up, Vyvyan, that's my dad you're talking to" ), grotesque exaggeration (the almost apocalyptic proportions that Rick and Vyvyan's fight to establish Rick's virginity takes on) or plain, daft slapstick (ditto).
Buy it because it makes you laugh: keep it because it's a part of British comic mythology. Enjoy it for both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT COLLECTION OF ANARCHY!!!, 18 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 2 (1984) [DVD] (DVD)
How good is the young ones?! After all these years i can still watch and laugh at the antics of Rik, Vyv, Neil, Mike and a string of other wacky characters. This series takes me back to my extreme youth. And i love every single second of it!
My favorite episode has to be sick, it is so funny seeing how the students from hell cope with being ill. Watch out for Neil in this one!!! Second has to be Bambi, one of my favorites also, when i think f young ones this is the one that usually springs to mind. The best bit is when they are all travelling to be on University Challenge (watch out for some familiar faces in this one including Stephen Fry).
All in all a comic masterpiece, recommended to children of the eighties everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Can you like actually kill yourself with laxative pills?', 18 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 2 (1984) [DVD] (DVD)
From the witty satire to the foul-mouthed toilet humour and the nail-on-the-head social commentary to the randomness of the period spots thrown everywhere, the Young Ones has it all. While some of the episodes have undoubtedly aged somewhat, amy are still pure gold. From this series, Bambi, Summer Holiday and Nasty are the real standouts, while Cash and Sick are also superb, with only Time letting down the side a little (despite a brilliant intro). What would happen to a major oil corporation if Neil manged it? How did Mike help ruin one of Disney's greatest legends? What does Rick wear in his spare time? How does Harry the B****** manage to con the boys out of £500? And what does Vyvyan do when the money runs out? Watch in horror to find out!
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 11 Mar 2004
By A Customer
Well what can i say, i was not disappointed with this boxset. With Rik, Neil, Vyv and Mike i was watching these episode's for hours on end, with their hilarious jokes and stupidness i recommend this to everyone who likes english commedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless, 9 Dec 2004
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 2 (1984) [DVD] (DVD)
This is classic comedy. Rick mayall and Ade Edminson together is a winning formula you must agree. This DVD has all six episodes from the second series which i might add is far funnier and much better than the first series. The best episode is 'Bambi'. It's really funny and it featured Motorhead performing their classic 'The Ace Of Spades'. I must say though, 'Nasty'is also a cracking episode. It's really cool cuz it features punk legends, The Damned. Its cast is also really good. Fronted by Mayall, Edmondson, Nigel Planer, Christopher Ryan and Alexei Sayle it also features cameo appearences from the likes of Robbie Coltrane, Hugh laurie, Tony Robinson, Stephen Fry, Dawn French, Lenny Henry and even the infamous Terry Jones from Monty Python. It also features a performence by Maddness. what more could you ask for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT AGAIN FROM GEOFF POSNER AND THE STUDENTS FROM HELL, 1 July 2004
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 2 (1984) [DVD] (DVD)
The second installment of the 80's surreal but rather funny comedy is my personal favourite and most reviewers I think would agree except for the BBC's ridiculous decision on not including all the material. Even though the cut is very small just pay the money you TIGHTWADS! O.k enough of that these six episodes go from good to great as the four students assault you with the usual toilet humour and general bizarre british laughs.
My favourite episode "Bambi" with the exellcent rendition of university challenge and Vyv's head coming off is quickly followed up by "Cash", "Nasty", "time", "Sick" and the climax of "Summer holiday".
This era in comedy is unforgettable and must be bought by anyone who is up for a laugh. Would have been five out of five if it wasn't for the cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Young Ones, 16 Jun 2004
The Young Ones is a unique moment in low budget British comedy. Four mismatched students live in a filthy house surviving on lentils and seem unconcerned with their college work or everyday things like washing and concentrate on the unexpected plot developments happening all around them. None of the characters are supposed to be particularly likable, and this gives them plenty of excuses to have arguments over petty things and then hit each other over the head with chairs or frying pans.
Rick (Mayal) is the most stereotypical student of them all: an anarchist sociology student, who is a Cliff Richard fan and self styled "People's Poet" who frequently has a lot to say about Margaret Thatcher and the politics of the time. Vivian (Ade Edmondson) is a destructive punk who likes violence and breaking things (preferably over Rick's head). Neil is a domestic long haired hippy, who is constantly trying to find new ways to kill himself. Mike is the straight man, and apart from his height and obsession with being a "ladies man", is completely normal. Alexi Sayle appears once per episode often as their landlord Mr Bolowski, but occasionally as a bank robber, train driver or Transylvanian vampire. Said to be modelled after the 1980's nuclear family Mike is the Dad, Neil is the Mother, Viv is the Son and Rick is the screaming little girl complete with pigtails.
The Young Ones has a mixture of post modernism, slapstick violence, sketch humour, quotable dialogue and disgusting jokes. The utterly senseless intercut interludes such as talking fruit, headless ghosts, or disco dancing ants regularly appear and add to the fun and confusion. The plot developments of each episode are utterly ludicrous - the characters could start by going to the laundrette, and end by being squashed by a giant cream bun on university challenge. Once per episode we also get a performance from a popular band of the time (Madness, the Damned, Dexy's Midnight Runners) playing in the street or their front room. This was apparently so it could be billed as a light entertainment show rather than a sitcom and they could get more money. Adding guest appearances from a who's who line up of 1980's alternative comedy (Ben Elton, Stephen Fry, Tony Robinson, Dawn French, Jennifer Saunders) and regular political jabs at the Tory government shows how satirical the Young Ones could actually be. In the meantime here's Rick trying to commit suicide with laxative pills...
Sometimes the slapstick gags don't quite work, and some of the jokes have to be treated in context nowadays. Mentioning Felicity Kendels underwear or the singer of Echo and the Bunnymen will be meaningless to most young people nowadays. I have never particularly liked the character Mike (viewing him as having no real reason to be there), but none of the episodes revolve around him so that's OK. The sheer anarchic feel and influence of the show more than makes up for these shortcomings. This can be seen as the moment when underground comedy and postmoderism was first seen on mainsteam television. There has never been anything quite like the Young Ones, and it's one of the most unique and funniest British sitcoms ever made. I can't see the BBC making anything quite as odd ever again. Definitely not for everyone, but I've always loved it. I'd highly recommend if you like stupid slapstick comedy, with some more surreal undertones. This series two video contains the most memorable episodes "Cash", "Nasty", "Bambi" and "Sick". A riot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We have just been re watching after the sad and premature death of Rik Mayall, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 2 (1984) [DVD] (DVD)
We have just been re watching after the sad and premature death of Rik Mayall. Iconoclastic, ground breaking, anarchic, wacky, hilarious, like nothing else. In many ways it is beyond Monty Python - although probably owing a debt to them. The Young Ones is a humour that will never fade, that bears watching and re watching without ever going stale. My all time favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six More Classics Episodes Of THE YOUNG ONES, 25 Mar 2007
By 
D. W. Bissett "dave_bissett" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 2 (1984) [DVD] (DVD)
This second season is just as funny as the first, with guest appearances from some of Britain's finest comedians - Robbie Coltrane, Tony Robinson, Hugh Laurie, Stephen Fry, Emma Thompson, Mel Smith, Chris Barrie, Dawn French, Jennifer Saunders & Norman Lovett - as well as performances from the likes of Madness and Motorhead.

Undoubtedly my favourite episode of Season 2 is 'Bambi', in which the four students go on UNIVERSITY CHALLENGE. The scenes in the episode had me laughing so hard. In fact, this second season would win the BAFTA TV award for Best Comedy Series in 1985.

A must buy for every fan of TV comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect As Described, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 2 (1984) [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect As Described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Young Ones - Series 2 (1984) [DVD]
The Young Ones - Series 2 (1984) [DVD] by Geoff Posner (DVD - 2003)
10.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews