Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'It's your SUNDAY FISH FINGER!', 23 Dec 2003
This review is from: Bottom: Series 1 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Finally Bottom Series One arrives on DVD! It contains all six smelly episodes and a fabulous out-take reel. The comedy is pure classic, the slapstick violence is a breath of glorious fresh air and the disgusting observations are totally unique and priceless. In my opinion Bottom Series One is up there with the greats, Blackadder, Alan Patridge and Father Ted.
The DVD shows the two performers are their revolting best - if you liked 'The Young Ones' you will adore Bottom, it's tem times funnier and ten times ruder! So sit back and enjoy the following six episodes!
SMELLS - The first ever episode of Bottom gives a superb introduction to the characters, Richard Richard and Eddie Elizabeth Hitler. This episode sees the pair desperately trying to improve their sex life, as a consequence they purchase a special spray which makes them irresistable to woman . . .and dogs! An episode which, in my opinion improves the more you watch it. 7/10
GAS - Completely fantastic! Rude, crude but totally hilarious! This episode sees Richie and Eddie almost murdering the gas man with a frying pan and breaking into their neighbours house. Once there they try to disconnect the gas supply but end up in far worse trouble. Brilliant episode, almost faultless. 10/10
CONTEST - I didn't like this episode at first but like 'Smells' it grows on you with each viewing. The slapstick violence is at it's best in this episode, seeing Richie and Eddie competing for control over the television. Watch out for Richie's cooking, pure genius. 8/10
ACOPOLYPSE - Another side splitting episode which sees an old fortune teller predicting that Richie is going to die! One of my favourites - 10/10
'S UP - This show sees Eddie and Richie keeping shop, obviously with disasterous consequences which involve falling of the roof, an Indian folk dance, Salad Cream sun tan lotion and a lovely pickled onion sandwich. 9/10
ACCIDENT - The final episode in the series' juzt manages to do the series justice! It introduces Eddies' ghastly mates, Spudgun and Hedgehog. It is Richie's birthday and he is hoping to throw a hugh party for all of his friends (?)but he breaks his legs. Taking the series out on a good note, I think this episode is creative and witty. 9/10
The out-take reel is amazingly funny and provides as many swear words as there are people on this planet. Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DISGUSTING BUT HILARIOUS!, 20 Feb 2003
I got this video for Christmas last year and frankly I didn't have a clue what to expect. So I put it on and find myself mildly interested by the first episode Smells which is where richie and Eddie gets this spray to help them get girls. Gas was what really got me into Bottom, it was brilliant, it's where Richie and Eddie pretend they don't use gas, nearly murder the gas man and get caught in their neighbours bed. This episode alone is worth the asking price! Contest was quite good however got a bit dull towards the end, Richie and Eddie stay in and argue over the television, Apocalipse is absolutely terrific, as good as Gas, Richie gets his fortune told and is told he only has 3 days to live, S' Up, Richie and Eddie look after a shop for the day, this one is also very funny especially the pranks on the roof and finally Accident, it's Richies birthday and he breaks his legs - again a very good episode.
Smells - 5/10
Gas 10/10
Contest 7/10
Apocalypse 10/10
S' Up 9/10
Accident 8/10
Great for anyone who likes a bit of a laugh and doesn't mind things getting a little digusting. Hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody genius, 11 Sep 2003
This review is from: Bottom: Series 1 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
At last - the best comedy series ever comes to DVD! It's a great transfer which makes for quite revolting viewing considering the state of the flat and ritchie's hair!
Two things for long-term fan tho: the word "gippos" from "Apocalypse" has been re-dubbed with "yobbos" with what sounds like Rik Mayall's voice. It makes the scene far less funny - the point was Ritchie changes his mind in a split second, with very offensive results. It would be interesting to know why it was changed as Bottom ends up insulting virtually every member of society!
On the plus side, the same episode has about an extra minute of footage where Eddie has to go to the window. It doesn't add anything to the episode but is quite funny.
A great package simply for the material - lets hope they bring out a special edition a la alan partridge - we need commentaries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British comedy at it best!, 29 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: Bottom: Series 1 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Well there are 6 episodes of the the most crude, rude & revolting british comedy you are ever likely to see and each episode will have you in stiches.
Smells
Eddie is desprate for sex and decides to place an ad in an lonely hearts page when he stumbles upon a sex spray that will attract you to females instinly.
Gas
Oh dear Eddie & Richie have nicked next doors gas supply and then the gas man turns up they have to go next door to disconnect it but will they ?
Contest
Eddie & Richie must survive two months living on 11.80 but Eddie blown it on a second hand porn mag.
Apocalypse
Richie's aunt dies and he recives 600 and to celebrate they go to the fair where richie get his wallet nicked and ends up get a gypos curse.
S'up
Eddie & Richie must look after the corner shop and on a Sunday of all days.
Accident
its Richie's birthday and he ends up dislocating his leg and celebrateing it with eddie's mates Spudgun & Dave Headgehog. But then he disolcates the other leg some birthday richie is having.
there is a bonus feature Bottom Fluff a collection of mess up's & Delited scenes very very funny!
I hope that the BBC put Series 2 & 3 on DVD as it would be easier to watch.

Buy this today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bottoms up!, 30 Dec 2000
This has to be one of the best box sets out there for real comedy fans. Ritchie and Eddie in six hilarious adventures with never a dull moment. Worth it just for 'Gas'. These guys are touched by genious. It deserves 10 stars out of 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comady legend, 14 July 2014
r.i.p Rik Mayall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars groudbreaking and excellent., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bottom: Series 1 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
First series of Bottom: groudbreaking and excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Class Comedy, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bottom: Series 1 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I have always been a fan of Rik Mayall & Ade so these shows did its justice classic violent comedy you shouldnt try at home.!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bottom: Series 1 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
what can I say!!!! this dvd is the most funniest thing I've seen but you have to be a fan to enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comedy at its best, 5 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bottom: Series 1 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I remember watching Bottom when I was younger and I loved it then. I recently watched a few episodes on sky and started to love them again, and now my son is into them too.
I like it because it has humor which isnt too over the top, the swearing is acceptable, no f words etc.

Richie and Eddie are probably the funniest characters from the 90s. They are always skint and cant get girlfriends

There are 6 episodes on the series 1 dvd :-

smells..this is where richie and eddie try a sex spray to try and 'pull' some birds

gas..they have a gas pipe connected to next door to avoid paying for it!

contest...eddie tells richie that he has spent 11.80 of his dole money on a porn mag and a bet on miss world!

apocalypse..richie inherits money from his aunt, but wnds up being visited by 'death'

s'up...richie and eddie are left in charge of a shop but decided the cricket is more important

accident...richie gets a lot of cards from lots of people including abba and general pinochet, but manages to break his leg and arrange is own party!

All six episodes provide great entertainment and i recommend this to everyone!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bottom: Series 1 [DVD] [1991]
Bottom: Series 1 [DVD] [1991] by Bob Spiers (DVD - 2003)
6.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews