Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I have in despair turned to the purchase of this product.
Now, please from my rather morbid title do not read that I have, or have ever had, any objection to the television series 'Not The Nine O'Clock News.' I believe it to be a fantastic work of comedy and believe that infant children should be bound by national curriculum to watch it from an early age- the introduction of such a policy would undoubtedly eliminate the growing...
Published on 8 Aug. 2011 by Petunia Poppleworth

versus
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice comedy, shame about the DVD
I've long been a fan of Not the Nine O'clock News, even though I recognise that it's pretty dated and I'm sure I'm too young to get half the references.
This DVD does contain many of the fantastic sketches - I was disappointed by the absence of one or two things but I think there is a vol 2 so I'll have to wait and see if they are included on it. As for the sketches...
Published on 28 Dec. 2004 by Ally


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth purchasing, 25 Nov. 2003
By 
Andrew Murray (Wimbledon Village, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Not the 9 O'Clock News - Volume 1 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
I have been waiting ages for the BBC to release a DVD of Not the Nine.... It says this is volume one so I hope more is to come!
This DVD is great. The teamwork of Smith, Jones, Atkinson and Stephenson is clearly apparent and makes for exciting and risque sketchs.
I love the sketch about the Life of Brian, which trys to make out that is blasphimic towards Monty Python: "We after-all a Python worshipping country"
Much of the comedy could not be played on British TV; If you are into political correctness this DVD is certainly not for you!
If you can laugh at yourself, and enjoy quick-fire comedy check it out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Not the 9 O'Clock News - Volume 1 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
A1 item fantastic fun too watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Not the 9 O'Clock News - Volume 1 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
As described, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Not the 9 O'Clock News - Volume 1 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
Classic 80s humour vol 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Not the 9 O'Clock News - Volume 1 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
Just what we wanted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Not the 9 O'Clock News - Volume 1 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
a good laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best ever, 17 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Not the 9 O'Clock News - Volume 1 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
yes, not the nine o'clock news is one of the best ever but why oh why do we have to have the "best of" - I loved NTNOCN and would like to see the whole series and not just the best of selected by the BBC...great comedy which even my kids enjoy (!!!which shows it isn't dated) - please please just release the lot!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of NTNON Vol 1, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Not the 9 O'Clock News - Volume 1 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
Terrific to be able to watch some of the old sketches once again: its brutal and very funny homour from the early 1980s - recommend getting volumes 1 and 2 together.
Its also an opportunity to see four great comedians in the early years of their respective careers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Not the 9 O'Clock News - Volume 1 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
Very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not stood the test of time, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. Gordon Mackenzie (Hampshire. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Not the 9 O'Clock News - Volume 1 [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
hasn't really lasted the test of time as well as the program it took over from. Still some absolute gems but too topical to be too funny any more. Only those of us with good memories remember how good it was in its day. A great reference DVD tho
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Not the 9 O'Clock News - Volume 1 [DVD] [1979]
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews