Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Besson and Reno together again.......great
Brilliant, Reno is on top form as usual in this action police story / comedy. The acting is superb with the usual collection of entertaining charcters, the script well written and the humour had me in tears. If you've enjoyed other Reno/Besson collaberations such as Leon and the Big Blue(superb) and if you enjoyed the Taxi films then this will not disappoint, this is one...
Published on 30 Nov. 2003 by StiffySteve

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of nonsense - but fun nonetheless.
This is no more than a cliché film about a French Clint Eastwood going to Japan to bury his ex-wife and finding out he has unfinished business.
Jean Reno; who is a special branch type policeman carries the film through his excellent acting and wit. His `Kato' side kick; who at first I found infuriating, puts in a good performance as the movie progresses. The...
Published 19 months ago by Leo Fender was a genius says -


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Besson and Reno together again.......great, 30 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Wasabi [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Brilliant, Reno is on top form as usual in this action police story / comedy. The acting is superb with the usual collection of entertaining charcters, the script well written and the humour had me in tears. If you've enjoyed other Reno/Besson collaberations such as Leon and the Big Blue(superb) and if you enjoyed the Taxi films then this will not disappoint, this is one of the best films i've seen this year, what more can i say.....BRILLIANT ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining French Action film, 19 Mar. 2004
By 
Mr. Ed "edsheadsaid" (Japan) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wasabi [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Wasabi is a fun-filled 'Friday night' action film which I especially recommend to fans of Jean Reno who are looking for an alternative to Hollywood popcorn action films.
Luc Besson (of Leon, Fith Element, Big Blue fame) produces and Jean Reno (of Godzilla, Leon, Big Blue, Les Viseteur fame) stars, the two teaming up again in this film, set mostly in Japan.
I'm not going to give you a run-down of the plot because everyone else has, I just need to say that although this is not a great action film, it is certainly an enjoyable one, with a fine blend of comedy moments and action set pieces. Jean Reno is a fine actor and doesn't dissapoint. The editing in perticular deserves a mention as it is truly excellent - the way all action films should be edited.
Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun if you do not take things too seriously, 23 Oct. 2010
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wasabi [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The movie is an excellent piece of light entertainment, a classic Jean Reno / Luc Besson co-operation. In style it will be closer to something like Taxi [1999] [DVD] than Leon: Director's Cut [DVD] [1994], although Jean Reno has no less of a temper here than in Leon, and no less of a hankering after shooting and violence.

There is no real attempt to stick to realism (a French cop beating and shooting up half of Japan) but the combination of Reno and his sidekick, a character of a somewhat Clouseau-ish disposition (ala The Pink Panther Film Collection (6 Disc Box Set) [1976] [DVD]), and of Ryoko Hirosue - the Japanese daughter Reno just discovers, overplaying a Japanese teenager - works a treat and should have you laughing throughout.

Not all the acting is first rate and the story is a bit far fetched but if you are a Jean Reno fan, this is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Film!!, 18 Dec. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasabi [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I rented this film first thinking "another Jean Reno film that won't be as good as Leon". Boy was i wrong. What Leon lacks in humor, Wasabi more then makes up for. Jean Reno is hilarious as a french policeman going to Japan for his long lost loves funeral only to find out he has a daughter ( played by the beautiful Ryoko Hirosue) that the japanese mafia are after. An excelent soundtrack to boot and this should make nayones top ten list of films. Word of warning, don't try real wasabi, it is very hot! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Played For Laughs, 20 Sept. 2010
By 
Lochman (Lochearnhead, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasabi [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
There is now a long-standing tradition of action films being played for laughs. Look what happened to James Bond under Roger Moore or think of Lethal Weapon, Rush Hour or Mr & Mrs. This is a French version with action man Jean Reno proving that he is equally adept at comedy. The plot may be silly but is always entertaining and maintains a superb balance between dramatic tension and comic relief. For me, any film in which Luc Besson has been involved is always worth watching: it's more or less a guarantee that I will like it. I wouldn't rate this as one of his best but, for me at least, his mediocrity is way ahead of most other producer's so-called brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A ROLE MADE FOR RENO, 9 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasabi [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Wasabi has some very good things going for it, Reno as the leading man is almost typecast as the brooding, grumpy, testosterone loaded, arrogant Frenchman with a chip the size of a small "arrondisement" on his shoulder for who the only way to get results is through using somewhat violent means. Reno himself has a history of good/great action movies to his credit(depending on your viewpoint), such as Leon, Ronin, and Mission Impossible as does his director Besson who has directed a series of great movies, Fifth Element (Bruce Willis), Kiss of the Dragon (Jet Li), Transporter (Jason Statham) and Leon with Reno. Both of these combine with an amusing script to give a superb action film set in France and Japan. The premise is that Hubert, Reno's character is an ex-DGSE agent, now a cop whose Dirty Harry style methods, whilst effective are a constant irritation to his employers is whisked off to Japan as the executor of the estate of the only woman who he ever loved. During the meeting with the lawyer he is introduced to his lover's only daughter, the next bit is a little predictable. He puts two and two together and correctly makes four. For his daughter the penny does not drop, he becomes technically her guardian until her birthday in a few days time. On a trip to the bank to draw some spending money for the girl he discovers she is due to inherit millions, I daren't say any more other than this is when the Japanese mafia become involved (the money used to belong to them) and the film takes off with even more action alongside the comedy than there was to this point.
Note, if you have ever actually eaten Wasabi (a super hot Japanese horseradish sauce) the scene from which the film takes it's name is even funnier!!!
A great comedy action movie to enjoy again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of nonsense - but fun nonetheless., 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasabi [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is no more than a cliché film about a French Clint Eastwood going to Japan to bury his ex-wife and finding out he has unfinished business.
Jean Reno; who is a special branch type policeman carries the film through his excellent acting and wit. His `Kato' side kick; who at first I found infuriating, puts in a good performance as the movie progresses. The female lead is okay but I can never understand why film makers use a 27 year old to play a teenager, then have them run about as if their knees are tied together with feet flailing. It reminded me of the ridiculous teenage girl in the movie Taken.
This movie was a real surprise, I expected little as I found it through Amazon for a couple of quid. I would have given the movie 4 stars except that my copy would not permit me to play the `version originale'. I wanted the French version with English sub-titles. Instead I received poor dubbing and awful mid-Atlantic accents reminiscent of Euro-dubbed movies of the 1970's.
However, don't let that stop you buying this movie if you like Jean Reno. For the most part the movie is set in Tokyo and has some beautiful location shots. In short, I really enjoyed this movie and recommend it very much despite the 3 stars. I wanted a little escapism at the end of the week and this delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dubbing let it down, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasabi (DVD)
What a cracking film. I agree with all the positive reviews about the acting, direction and plot, so I won't bother repeating the praise this movie richly deserves. But ... I found the English dubbing on the disc I received did it no service whatsoever. The dialogue from the Japanese characters was often unintelligible.The rest of the dialogue was clear but lost the essential character of French people speaking, well, French. It just screamed "dubbing". As a comparison, the subtitled cinema trailer included on the disc made the film come alive. Facial expressions matched the French dialogue perfectly and I would have been happy to have put up with subtitling (although I speak French to some extent) in exchange for an experience closer to the one Besson and Krawczyk intended. I've recommend this movie to my friends but, please, would it not be possible to supply a French-language version with subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jean Reno doesn't disappoint, 6 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Wasabi [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Very entertaining movie, that is both an action movie and kind of a comedy as well as there are many funny scenes in it. Jean Reno carries the movie, which is set in a Japanese environment with Japanese gangsters and what not. Certainly preferable to any classical Hollowood movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unsuitable for English speakers., 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasabi (Blu-ray)
Needs to be made clearer on the product details that this disc does not contain any English language content, not even subtitles!!
Which is a shame as I realy love this movie which I have had on DVD (in English) for many years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wasabi [DVD] [2003]
Wasabi [DVD] [2003] by Gérard Krawczyk (DVD - 2003)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews