Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2007
I did not know anything about Larry Flynt prior to watching this film - I'm afriad the porn industry is not a special interest of mine!! However, this was a really good film and a very powerful interesting insight into a taboo area. The story of the man who founded Hustler, faced off christian organisations and survived assassination attempts is certainly entertaining and there are some stella performances from Courtney Love, Woody H. and Ed Norton tackling some incredibly relevant and difficult issues. The fact it is based on a true account of events makes it all the more interesting. This is definitely worth buying and I would recommend it to all serious film lovers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2011
This is the intriguing tale of Larry Flynt & Hustler magazine & how he pioneered porn & adult entertainment in a shocked & naive America, which at the time simply wasn't ready for it. A story filled with triumph & tragedy and how Flynt took on the system, and won.

The cinematography is spot on, the script brilliantly balances tragedy & humour, the dialogue is perfect and the cast is superb with Woody Harrelson putting in a top notch performance with strong support from Edward Norton, not to mention an astonishingly good performance from Courtney Love.

Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2007
Milos Forman's The People vs. Larry Flynt from 1996 tells the story of Larry Flynt, the creator of porn magazine Hustler.The magazine was too much for some people and Larry was an often seen guest in the court rooms.They made the free speech look like crime.In the late 70's some idiot shot Mr Flynt and he was paralyzed.Woody Harrelson is in one of his best roles playing the porn icon Larry Flynt.The rock lady Courtney Love does very strong role work as Larry's wife Althea Leasure.Edward Norton is brilliant playing Larry's lawyer Alan Isaacman.Larry Flynt himself can be seen in the movie as judge Morrissey.Everything works perfectly in this movie.The acting is superb and it is also very touching in some places.The movie doesn't fail in any point.It keeps your interest on till the very end.Use your freedom to watch The People vs. Larry Flynt.You don't have to like Larry Flynt to like this movie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Why settle for the bland mediocrity of boring mainstream films which, irrespective of setting or context, seem to follow a tired old formulaic process of predictable emotional endings? (-establish the characters; create affiliation; hint at a plot; build the tension; throw in some effects; build the tension a bit more; wait for it, wait for it; resolve the tension; roll the credits). Instead, go for real stories. Go for real people. And it doesn't get much more real than this story. A well made and superbly acted film which has some substance to it. Someone once said "if you risk nothing, you do nothing, you are nothing". This film, this real story, is something.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When i ,got this film for christmas i was expecting an up-beat, funny, laugh a minute, in-sensitive comedy. After all it is about an indecent pornographer. I was plesantley surprised with what i watched. For one it's more of a tounge-in-cheek, touching drama. The story of one man fighting for freedom of speach. All the acting in this is amazing. But it was Courtneys inspiring, touching and funny preformance that blew me away. She starts of a sleazy cluless stripper and turns into a millionares wife. you get to see the witty and sarcastic character go from a beautiful top form rich girl with a millionare husband to an extremly ill, spotty, trashy junkie. It's amazing to see Althea deterirate like this! slowly she changes and its amazing the way Courtney transforms her character. Her character made me laugh, it made me cry! It touched me! It was so so saddening to see what happens to Althea. For this role Milos could of picked any Hollywood big-shot actress, but the picked grungey Courtney. And believe me she does it better than ANY actress. Milos couldn't of picked a better person to play this role. Even if you are not a courtney fan, you have to watch this. if this film doesnt sound like you watch it anyway, just to see courtneys mind blowing preformance... she truly steels the show!!! Thumbs up Courtney! i believe it is the best and most moving preformance from any actress i have ever seen. And that will remain!
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2011
a great adult film , up there with Boogie nights and auto focus . Harrelson and Love are great together and their unconventional love story is particularly moving.Not a film for the pc crowd or the christian moral majority [hence some of the bad reviews posted here]. I loved the portayl of 70s america and the cameo role by Flynt himself playing the judge . Excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2000
Based on the true story of Larry Flynt played by Woody Harrelson the owner of Hustler magazine by Woody Harrelson. The film follows the trails and tribulations of running an adult magazine in the 70's. Great performance by all the cast along with a great story makes this film appealing. Flynt's colorful lifestyle and his notorious court room scenes are played out well by Harrelson.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Courtney love is fantastic in this one. Great story too...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
Excellent movie, very insight into censorship and porn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2011
I bought this movie (knowing little about Larry Flynt) becasue I'm a fan of Ed Norton. Despite good (if unchallenging) performances by Norton and Courtney Love - I omit Harrelson's deliberately, because I think he was distinctly pedestrian in it - I was really disturbed by the film's agenda. My curiosity was first piqued by the singularly one-dimensional portrayal of Jerry Falwell (of whom I'm no supporter) as a smug and sanctimonious party-pooper. The film certainly seems to continue where Flynt left off in heaping ridicule upon Falwell. In that regard, if it doesn't have a hidden agenda, it certainly seems to have one that's wearing a heavy disguise. Flynt himself said of Falwell, after the latter's death "My mother always told me that no matter how much you dislike a person, when you meet them face to face you will find characteristics about them that you like. Jerry Falwell was a perfect example of that. I hated everything he stood for, but after meeting him in person, years after the trial, Jerry Falwell and I became good friends. He would visit me in California and we would debate together on college campuses. I always appreciated his sincerity even though I knew what he was selling and he knew what I was selling." This picture of Falwell - and in particular, his sincerity - is entirely absent from the movie (apart from a brief clip in the "Special Features" where Falwell himself appears, to endorse the correct mimicking of his appearance and mannerisms in his portrayal - while, significantly, obviously not having seen the film.)

Yet more disturbing was the blame laid at the door of Gloria Steinem, again in the "Special Features" interviews, for upsetting the film's trajectory to financial success. Harrelson directly criticises her, saying that her observations were made without having seen the movie (despite the fact that articles she wrote about it describe scenes in detail.) I found this allegation so very unlikely that I went looking for what she'd written about the movie and was shocked, but much illuminated, by what I found.

I had been in danger of swallowing whole the film's lie of omission that Flynt's magazine "Hustler" was harmless titlllation. Not so. Steinem writes: "In this film, produced by Oliver Stone and directed by Milos Forman, Hustler is depicted as tacky at worst, and maybe even honest for showing full nudity. What's left out are the magazine's images of women being beaten, tortured and raped, women subject to degradations from bestiality to sexual slavery. Filmgoers don't see such Hustler features as "Dirty Pool," which in January 1983 depicted a woman being gang-raped on a pool table. A few months after those pictures were published, a woman was gang-raped on a pool table in New Bedford, Mass. Mr. Flynt's response to the crime was to publish a postcard of another nude woman on a pool table, this time with the inscription, "Greetings from New Bedford, Mass. The Portuguese Gang-Rape Capital of America." "

I looked further, and, sparing you the very ugly detail, the lady ain't lyin'. Even Flynt's (now disinherited and estranged) daughter, Tonya, was so alarmed by this film's dishonesty that she joined women who picketed its opening in San Francisco. She also publicly accused Mr. Flynt of having sexually abused her when she was a child (a charge he vehemently denies, and attributes to her "mental problems.") "I'm upset about this film because it supports my dad's argument that pornography does no harm," she said. "If you want to see a victim of pornography, just look at me."

For me, despite being mildly entertaining, this film falls into the category of films I most despise: the category entitled "Hollywood Re-writes History". I wish I'd known all THAT before I paid good money for this movie. But you live and learn, eh?
1010 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.90

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)