Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ryding High
Lets get the bad bad news out the way first, Its nowhere near as good as Black Grapes 'Its great when your Straight'. Now on to the good news, Shaun Ryder is still alive and hes made us a new album, and jolly good it is too. As per normal, hes had alot of outside help, but its all come together to produce a fine album. Its more Happy Mondays than Black grape, with alot of...
Published on 7 July 2003

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing
i brought this from amazon having been a big happy mondays fan and an even bigger black grape fan, but this is like neither, its dare i say very poor in places, and never really kicks in to any kind of rythm, all the songs are dull, long and very little actually ever seems to happen in them, i am very,very dissapointed by this album after expecting so much from the...
Published on 28 Jun 2004 by sheepshagger_69


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ryding High, 7 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Amateur Night In The Big Top (Audio CD)
Lets get the bad bad news out the way first, Its nowhere near as good as Black Grapes 'Its great when your Straight'. Now on to the good news, Shaun Ryder is still alive and hes made us a new album, and jolly good it is too. As per normal, hes had alot of outside help, but its all come together to produce a fine album. Its more Happy Mondays than Black grape, with alot of dance music mixed in with guitars. But most importantly, Mr Shaun William Ryder, as hes now called, is still a lyrical Genius. Telling surreal storys, which are more than likely true. At the moment my faviourite track is 'Clowns' were Shaun tells us 'I Don't want to be beaten to death by clowns, unless you give me pounds and pounds and pounds'.
What more do you want from an album???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utter genius, 29 Mar 2010
This review is from: Amateur Night In The Big Top (Audio CD)
Classic electro rambling genius. Much much better than you might expect. A worthy addition to the Happy Mondays / Black Grape canon. One of my favourite Shaun Ryder projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Top Top Top, 20 Jan 2008
By 
David Hilton "Ravy Gravy" (new york, ny usa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amateur Night In The Big Top (Audio CD)
I bought this when it was first released and instantly dismissed it after one listen. What a mistake!
I've spent the last year listening to this more than anything he has ever done. OK, it takes a few listens but when you're in you're well and truly IN. Death By Clowns is amazing.
One hell of an album to be picked up for next to nothing here. Go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underated album, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amateur Night In The Big Top (Audio CD)
Not many people know about this album or that it was even released if you like black grape and the happy mondays you will love it.I recommened this album for fans but the casual fan wont really enjoy it is nothing like black grape first album so if your expecting it to sound like that avoid you will be disappointed on a scale of ten id give this album a 8/10 i enyoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top Banana kiddo's, 19 Oct 2006
This review is from: Amateur Night In The Big Top (Audio CD)
An altogether top collection of chilled out funked up beats featuring the legendry Shaun Ryder telling various stories of times with mates, people he's met, times on the road and mad mashed up nights out. Shaun Ryder's a poet. Of that there's no doubt. And this project is important for a couple of reasons: First, it captures some of Ryder's clearly muddled and addled but altogether unique style on disk. Secondly, being recorded during one of Ryder's drying out periods in Australia, it helped him fight his legal battle with the producers of the final Monday's album 'Yes Please' which had been dogging him for years. The stand out track, for its nostalgic qualities as much as anything else, has got to be 'in 1987' when Shaun recites the now legendry story of how The Mondays allegedly introduced E to the British Military. Get in, preferably after a big night, sit back, relax, light one up, and turn down the lights and up the sounds. Don't compare, don't contrast. Just appreciate this for what it is and for what it could be, in time, a true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing, 28 Jun 2004
This review is from: Amateur Night In The Big Top (Audio CD)
i brought this from amazon having been a big happy mondays fan and an even bigger black grape fan, but this is like neither, its dare i say very poor in places, and never really kicks in to any kind of rythm, all the songs are dull, long and very little actually ever seems to happen in them, i am very,very dissapointed by this album after expecting so much from the ryder-tiger. ah well, hopefully he'll bounce back 2 form in a black grape-esque style like he did in 96 next time round. maybe other people like it, but for me shaun ryders always made upbeat music, or at least slightly dancy, this album fails to ever grasp me and i feel the more i listen 2 it the more i want 2 switch it off, which is the complete opposite to every other shaun ryder record i own, it gets the 2 stars simple because its him, if this was an unknown it would most certainly get a 1 star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Yeah!!!, 11 Aug 2004
By 
Mr Scott Bisio (FALKIRK, Stirlingshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Amateur Night In The Big Top (Audio CD)
I was never THAT much of a Mondays or Grape fan, but when I got hold of this little gem that has all changed!!! This album is sooooo kool. Shaun is obviously well on the road to recovery as this shows.I dont agree that near the end some tracks begin to sound a bit "samey" as one reviewer put it, but I found that listenint to it without concentrating on the lyrics, then giving it a "proper" listen with the right atmosphere and "smoking essentials" brings out a who new dimension to the experience! I don't give out 5 stars lightly, but this is DEFINATLEY worth every one of those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars steviedub knows nothing, 1 Jun 2005
This review is from: Amateur Night In The Big Top (Audio CD)
yeah not bad,obviously not as good as the classics, pillls n thrills,bummed and the superb YES PLEASE! but a hell of a lot better than squirrel and g man or whatever.only one real way to find out, listen to it!ignore steviedub he's a moron and obviously not a mondays fan as yes please is fudging excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 5 Sep 2003
This review is from: Amateur Night In The Big Top (Audio CD)
what can i say! absolutely excellent, one of the best albums i've heard recently. Favourite tracks are Scooter Girl, with its Happy Mondays sound, and Northern Soul Brother. Go buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RYDER IS BACK!!!!!, 9 July 2003
This review is from: Amateur Night In The Big Top (Audio CD)
AMATEUR NIGHT IN THE BIG TOP!!! WELL WHAT A SURPRISE
IF YOU THINK SHAUN RYDER IS A GENIUS THEN YOULL LOVE
THIS,ITS SHAUN AT HIS BEST.THE FIRST TRACK IS A LAUGH
ITS JUST RYDER TALKING OVER A BACKING TRACK,BUT IT WORKS
ITS A GREAT INTRO INTO WHATS COMMIN.FAVOURITE TRACK IS
MURDER,WHILE MONSTER IS A BIT GRIM LYRIC WISE
ALL IN ALL RYDER FANS WILL DEFINATELY NOT BE DISSAPOINTED.
I ONLY GAVE IT FOUR STARS AS IT GETS TO SOUND A BIT SAMEY
TOWARDS THE END...GREAT THOUGH GO BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amateur Night In The Big Top
Amateur Night In The Big Top by Shaun Ryder (Audio CD - 2003)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 9 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews