Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality
Ilford is the best black and white film that normal people can afford. I bought this for my sister's wedding and the photos came out beautifully. There's a deep grain effect in some of the shots that makes them look really stylised. Highly recommended.
Published on 3 Mar 2011 by J. Livesey

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not even work
I put the film into my camera and it said i had 36 photographs to take, took one photograph and the whole film just threaded back into itself. Obviously a faulty film because I've used Ilford films in my camera previously.
Published 1 month ago by Julia Maunders


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality, 3 Mar 2011
By 
J. Livesey (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ilford HP5+ 400asa 35mm - 36 exp (Electronics)
Ilford is the best black and white film that normal people can afford. I bought this for my sister's wedding and the photos came out beautifully. There's a deep grain effect in some of the shots that makes them look really stylised. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic versatile high resolution BW Film suitable for people/reportage, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Ibraar 'Le Saracen' "le_saracen" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ilford HP5+ 400asa 35mm - 36 exp (Electronics)
Ilford HP5 + is one of the most popular asa 400 Films you can find.
It along with Kodak Tri X 400, Fuji Neopan 400 and Agfa APX 400 were the main choices in regards 400 speed Black and White traditional (rather than T grain such as Delta or Tmax) Film.

But now, alas, with the demise of Film, and dwindling of real photography and the rise of digital gimmicks, the rivals have ceased to be. Sure you can find stocks of these Films, and I believe Kodak is still producing Tri X, but Fuji Neopan 400 and Agfa APX 400 are long gone (though Rollei has released Rolle branded Agfa Film)

LOOK AND DEVELOPER

Now onto the Film. HP5+ is excellent, it can be shot at asa 400 for fine grain and high resolution.
Many photographers love it and for good reason.

The beauty of 400 speed Film is that it is so versatile, and can be used in different light and for a variety of subjects, it is the classic "Street" speed with the look people want for reportage.
It also has fine enough grain for portraiture, adding some grit.
I think it is fine for people, portraits and urban environments along with reportage.
The tonal range is excellent - giving good values from 0 to 10 holding good shadow detail (better than tri X) and highlight control.

I use it with Ilfords own Ilfotec DDX (easy to use One Shot developer - very fine grain, gorgeous tones but expensive) or Ilford ID11 which is slightly more difficult to mix, but keeps for longer and has similar characteristics to DDX with consistent results.

I've also used it with the classic Rodinal - which gives more sharpness but more grain - for a really classic look.

Developer is a creative decision and the film is versatile enough for everything.

It can also be pushed 2, 3 or more stops - I've pushed it up to asa 3200 and it gives nice grain, detail and tones with a distinctive look.
When pushing, I recommend Ilford's own Microphen developer - as it retails fine grain and high resolution and is specially formulated for pushing.

How does it compare to other asa 400 Films?

Personally? I prefer the look of Kodak Tri X and Neopan 400 over the Ilford - but that is just my preference. Tri X gives me the 'look' I am after. combines with darker shadows, sharper grain structure and gritty with Rodinal, and Neopan 400 tones are pleasing, and softer.

Lately I have been falling in love with Agfa Films, APX 400 with Rodinal is excellent, with more of a sharper, coarser yet darker look -
though I have been using slow Film, for sitting portraits and landscape/National Trust scapes (with Ilford Pan F 50 and Agfa/Rollei 25 being my Film of choice).

That's what I love about Film - so much choice, versatility and creativity.

OVERALL

I think HP5+ is the most versatile out of the lot, it has a combination of Tri X sharpness and grain with Neopan tones and higher resolution and slightly finer grain - overall, excellent versatile classic asa 400 Film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Grain, 21 Jan 2011
By 
Rebble (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ilford HP5+ 400asa 35mm - 36 exp (Electronics)
Ilford HP5+ is a good black & white fast film for all round use.

As it is ASA/ISO400 that means you will have prints with a lot of grain but for still life and similar it lends a pleasing texture to the image with a good level of contrast.

You probably might not want to use this for landscapes and prefer to use the lower grain but slower HP4 ISO125 or Ilford Delta ISO 100.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic film from Ilford, 26 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ilford HP5+ 400asa 35mm - 36 exp (Electronics)
This film is a staple for me as a photography student. I can't fault it. I've never had any issues with any of Ilfords products and this price is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its a film!, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ilford HP5+ 400asa 35mm - 36 exp (Electronics)
HP5 is well known and gives consistently high quality images, home or factory processed. Easy to recommend amateur or professional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always good, 17 Feb 2013
By 
G. Gauffre (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ilford HP5+ 400asa 35mm - 36 exp (Electronics)
A nice HP5 is always a pleasure. The best of british B&W film, really contrasty and easy to process. I recommend !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best black and white film, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ilford HP5+ 400asa 35mm - 36 exp (Electronics)
Great quality, used with an Olympus OM20 and printed on gloss. Excellent detail and versatility even in different light conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ilford HP5 Plus 400, 2 Dec 2012
By 
Ryan Flint (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ilford HP5+ 400asa 35mm - 36 exp (Electronics)
Came in perfect time. Packaging was good. Weight of overall packet was convenient for the post. Thanks and would recommend in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fab !, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ilford HP5+ 400asa 35mm - 36 exp (Electronics)
Great for something to take on holiday, and real good price, came very fast! Only problem was i have to send it away to develop, grrr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Photography, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ilford HP5+ 400asa 35mm - 36 exp (Electronics)
Product is as described by the seller, a fast film with excellent development properties, I have enjoyed using the product and am pleased with the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3bd14a4)

This product

Ilford HP5+ 400asa 35mm - 36 exp
4.99
In stock but may require up to 2 additional days to deliver
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews