Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE QUINTESSENTIAL DIANA ROSS CLASSIC JUST GOT BETTER!
Just as "Thriller" became the ultimate Michael Jackson album, the 1980 "Diana" album evolved as THE quintessential Diana Ross album. It also became the album that subsequent releases from the diva would be compared to.
I remember the occasion just like it was yesterday. It was the summer of 1980 and I was 10 years old (now I AM showing my age!). "Upside Down" could...
Published on 23 April 2005 by MT Edwards

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the first disc
While I'm elated to finally get to hear the 'original' Chic mix of such a seminal album, I don't know why it's been coupled to a second disc of tracks readily available elsewhere and painfully familiar to the most casual listener.

As for disc one - turns out I'm in the minority because I prefer the unreleased Chic mixes. I wondered whether I was simply enjoying...
Published on 4 May 2011 by S. D. Nunn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE QUINTESSENTIAL DIANA ROSS CLASSIC JUST GOT BETTER!, 23 April 2005
By 
MT Edwards "grenadines" (Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana (Audio CD)
Just as "Thriller" became the ultimate Michael Jackson album, the 1980 "Diana" album evolved as THE quintessential Diana Ross album. It also became the album that subsequent releases from the diva would be compared to.
I remember the occasion just like it was yesterday. It was the summer of 1980 and I was 10 years old (now I AM showing my age!). "Upside Down" could be heard virtually everywhere - and it was a song that was blasted from radios and stereos. It was the coolest record I'd heard and I was hooked. Even now, this slice of Ross/Chic perfection sounds fresh, youthful and vibrant.
If we go back to 1980, we know that Ms Ross was already a superstar in her own right. Some have written that she needed to bring her 'flagging' career up to date. It's true - she'd been absent from the Billboard pop top ten charts for a few years. However, it's worth remembering that "The Boss" album certified Gold in the US the year before.
It was left for Diana to team up with the hottest R&B producers of the day - Bernard Edwards and Nile Rogers. "I'm Coming Out" was a born out of conversations Diana had with Edwards and Rogers. It became Diana's personal declaration of desire and independence. Her vocal performance here was inspired, vivid and spot on. All those who harp on about Diana's lack of vocal prowess need to listen to both versions this track - they'll soon be silenced!
It was a few years later that I discovered that the released version of "Diana" was not the original Chic mix. Like many fans, my curiosity bubbled for years. Here's my take on which tracks are better - released version or Chic version:
UPSIDE DOWN - Released mix
TENDERNESS - Chic mix
FRIEND TO FRIEND - Released mix
I'M COMING OUT - Released mix
HAVE FUN - Chic mix
MY OLD PIANO - Released mix
NOW THAT YOU'RE GONE - Can't decide!
GIVE UP - Chic mix - what a gusty vocal performance!
Were Motown right to tamper with Bernard and Nile's handy work? That's not for me to say. They took all the elements of the original and produced a `radio-friendly' album. The main differences with the remix are that the overall production is smoother, slicker and more sophisticated - just what you'd expect from such a crucial Ross release. With the remix, you can virtually hear each instrument, and Diana's evocative soprano is the icing on the cake. The Chic mix, however, showcases a raw, spontaneous energy and Diana had never sounded stronger vocally. To me, it has an arty clubhouse feel to it, and I can see why Motown opted to play it safe.
Both versions make for fascinating listening - I found myself constantly flipping between the two versions!
As for the "Diana: Dance CD", it contains some truly RARE tracks that will delight any Ross fan, especially:
YOUR LOVE IS SO GOOD FOR ME - 12-inch version
TOP OF THE WORLD
WHAT YOU GAVE ME - get those flares out and boogie!
YOU WERE THE ONE - hey, someone at Motown ought to re-release this funky little ditty - it's awesome!
I think that this DELUXE edition is an essential purchase for Diana's fans - past and present. This gatefold, double CD is lavishly packaged, with candid essays from Nile Rogers, Russ Terrana (re-mixer) and Brian Chin. And of course, Diana looks breathtaking beautiful both on the front cover, and the glorious colour centrefold spread.
"DIANA" - that perennial classic - just got better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Album Made Even Better, 8 Jun. 2004
By 
Burjiz (Schaffhausen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diana (Audio CD)
Some would argue that Diana Ross' 1980 "diana" is really a Chic album with Ross singing lead vocals. Bernard Edwards and Nile Rogers of the influential 1970s group serve as producers, and the result is a non-stop party filled with groovilicious tunes that are just as stellar as anything by Chic. "diana" was a huge commercial hit upon release, and for a good reason: the album is excellent and may be the best of Diana's post-Supremes career. Who could forget the hit singles "Upside Down" and the uplifting "I'm Coming Out?" If any female singer kicked off the 1980s with a bang, it's definitely Ms. Ross, thanks to this classic of an album. "diana" has been remastered and is part of Universal's "Deluxe Edition" series. The first disc has not one but two versions of the album. One is the "diana" as released, and another is the "Chic Mix." I definitely prefer the latter version as it is more relaxed, free-flowing, and is somewhat less polished than the "diana" that was released in stores. I'm glad that we finally have the chance to hear this classic "as nature intended." In addition, a bonus disc of extended mixes and other jams is what makes this CD a must-own for Dianaphiles and casual listeners. We get, among others, a full-length 10 minute version of the classic "Love Hangover," a standout mix of the excellent "No One Gets the Prize/The Boss" and other previously unreleased tracks like "Fire Don't Burn," and "You Build Me Up to Tear Me Down." Sure, there's a single disc version of "diana" available, and like the deluxe edition, it's digitally remastered. But you're only selling yourself short by getting that version. The deluxe edition is a can't fail purchase; it's an example of what happens when you take a classic album and make it even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST!, 19 Aug. 2003
By 
Glen J. Russell "Glendude1" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diana (Audio CD)
When Chic's Nile Rodgers & Bernard Edwards produced the album they were horrified when Motown remixed it prior to release & now after a 23 year wait, we Chic/Diana Ross fans have a chance at last to hear it as it was originally intended. The original Chic mix gives the curious listener the chance to hear in some cases, different edits of now classic songs such as "I'm Coming Out" & "Upside Down", which has more guitar than on the original released version. In all, well worth the wait for this Chic fan! The second cd presents rare & unreleased tracks & versions of some of her legendary tunes. This package in all is a must have for the Diana Ross fan & the Chic completist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review of the released version (less authentic), 20 Jun. 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Diana (Audio CD)
This album has always been a bit of a favourite, but it now seems there are two versions, of which the original Chic mixes should really be seen as the real songs. However 23 years after the event, everyone is used to the album as released as well ... I only have the remastered version of the original which sounds very good in its own right. However the other version must surely be the one to get. It is a superb succession of songs with no weak links and a very bright, edgy sound, into which the featherlight voice of Diana Ross blends perfectly. The collaboration with Chic is a knockout success, and Upside Down is the absolute perfect dance track. I think her voice is best suited to this sort of material, as it was to the original Supremes hits, but then again I'm not so keen on the pop ballads she has tended towards. Friend To Friend is poignant but stops well short of syrupy. What Motown should do really is release the Chic mixes as a single album, not just as part of a bumper pack. Potential buyers may also want to check out the album Chic wrote and produced for Sheila and B. Devotion, without tampering, called King Of The World; it's an unknown classic from the same year as Diana, but only released in France at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The album that put Diana back on top!, 23 April 2009
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
'Diana' was Diana Ross's 'comeback' album, in that she hadn't had a hit (at least in the UK for three or four years prior to its release) This put her back on top when 'Upside Down. (the first single release from this album) peaked at Number Two in the charts -just missing the top spot. Other single releases each scoring top twenty hits.

'Chic' were behind this collection of songs, and they were extremely big at the time and were also writing and composing for other artists who were having difficulty reaching the charts in those days.

It would be true and not an exaggeration to say, that Ms. Ross never looked back after this, and owes much of her latter career to the success of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The album that put Diana back on top!, 23 April 2009
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Diana (Audio CD)
'Diana' was Diana Ross's 'comeback' album, in that she hadn't had a hit (at least in the UK for three or four years prior to its release) This put her back on top when 'Upside Down. (the first single release from this album) peaked at Number Two in the charts -just missing the top spot. Other single releases each scoring top twenty hits.

'Chic' were behind this collection of songs, and they were extremely big at the time and were also writing and composing for other artists who were having difficulty reaching the charts in those days.

It would be true and not an exaggeration to say, that Ms. Ross never looked back after this, and owes much of her latter career to the success of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diana's coming out!, 5 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: Diana (Audio CD)
Diana Ross had not had a big UK hit since 'Love Hangover' in 1976 when this album was recorded. I love it, because it's the album that introduced me to the music of Diana Ross and in time many other Motown legends.
This is not a typical Diana Ross album as there are no traditional ballads. Instead we get a succession of cool grooves from Chic's Edwards and Rogers with Diana's sumptious vocals over the top. Apart from the obvious charms of 'Upside Down' and 'I'm Coming Out' the outstanding tracks are 'Now That You're Gone' and 'Tenderness' (a minor hit in 1981).
This album is equally loved and loathed by Ross fans but whatever your opinion it shows Diana as a serious album artist rather than a singer of hit singles. The deluxe version allows you to compare Diana's remixes with the original Chic mixes. Diana's decision to have the album remixed with her voice further up in the mix was without a doubt the correct decision. A great album, but Diana was right not to commit to a second album. In 1989 Diana reunited with Nile Rogers to record 'Working Overtime', probably the worst album of her career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have always love the singing voice of Diana Ross, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana -Deluxe- (Audio CD)
I have always love the singing voice of Diana Ross, this 2 disc set is just awesome and a must have. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A LANDMARK IN HER CAREER!, 30 Sept. 2000
By 
ianphillips@uk.dreamcast.com (BOLTON, LANCASHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diana (Audio CD)
One of the soul divas' very best albums. Her delivery throughout is stunning with her impressive razor sharp vocals. This became an instant classic and is now one of the landmarks in Diana Ross' succesful, long standing career. with it producing three sultry, disco/soul classics: UPSIDE DOWn (a U.S NO.1 hit/U.K NO.2), I'M COMING OUT (U.S NO.5/ U.K NO.13) and MY OLD PIANO (U.K NO.5). Riotously funky throughout, the remainder of the albums tracks include the rythmically divine TENDERNESS, the aching FRIEND TO FRIEND, the catchy HAVE FUN (AGAIN), the beautiful sparse production of NOW THAT YOU'RE GONE and the very best cut of the entire album, GIVE UP to which Ross just lets her hair down and belts this out with all her heart. This undoubtedly would have been a mega hit if released as a single at the time. An all time classic! Highly recommended and certainly La Ross' funkiest output to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Diana Ross, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana -Deluxe- (Audio CD)
Love Diana Ross, she is one of the best female singers of out time, I am a 74 years old, and still enjoy the motown sound, she has always kept up with times and reinventing herself. I have a collection of most of her C/Ds and some DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diana
Diana by Supremes (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews