Customer Reviews


313 Reviews
5 star:
 (223)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quest continues...
I impatiently counted the days until the release of part two in the trilogy, and having watched it, at first, had a problem with some bits of the film that differ from the book. The biggest change being, as people have said already, Faramir's desire for the Ring, which was unexpected and disappointing but I think required. To have Faramir not attempt to seize the Ring,...
Published on 20 Sep 2003

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new..
The 3 stars rating is for this edition rather than the movie.

For what concerns the movie.. It's GREAT! Worths 10 stars in its extended version, and I would reccomend this to anyone who still haven't seen it.

BUT

This new edition is not adding much to the previous ones. The ONLY difference is this documentary (that you can find elsewhere...
Published on 10 Oct 2006 by Charles Wolf


‹ Previous | 129 30 31 32 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, the book is not the film, 24 Dec 2003
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Special Extended DVD Edition) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
For the detractors, the film can NEVER be the book. Look at Shakespeare. The performance on stage is NEVER what the Shakespeare student had in mind when they read the play. Hamlet set in New York is NEVER LIKE THE ORIGINAL. It probably misses out the X, Y or Z scene. It probably missed out Ophelia drowning.
People who criticise the film for changing the plot direction of the book are missing the point. A masterpiece like LOTR can NEVER be brought to the Big Screen. What a masterpiece like David Jackon's LOTR can do is bring Big Screen Viewers to the Printed Page. If you EVER try to watch a movie of a book and expect the BOOK to unfold before your eyes, you will be FOREVER disappointed.
Reading books and watching cinema are two entirely different experiences - you cannot criticise one in terms of the other. Just as you cannot say Hamlet set in New York is betraying the orginal. Art gives way to Art, and on the evidence, any film adaptation, adoption or interpretation that ushers people into the printed page version of the work, to absorb and savour - whether it be Hamlet, Scrooge, or LOTR, is a process that enriches us as human beings, and can only serve to raise those printed works to the place where they are worthy of our continued reverence...
BTW, The Two Towers is a Damned Good Film!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BE WARNED, 16 Aug 2003
By A Customer
The Marketing people behind this product are clever.
The first Lord of the Rings DVD 2 disc set came out - great set. But a few months later, a special edition set came out with all the extra stuff. Arrrrhhhhh. You have to buy the whole thing again to see the extra features.
So, be warned - this disc set for the Two Towers could follow the same approach as the first. Be patient. In a few months a special set may come out and you will be glad you waited...
Of course, no need to mention the actual film is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lullaby, 12 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This film was way too long & boring. I got tired of it in the cinema and fell asleep while watching the DVD.
I'm a big fan of the books and all of Tolkien's works and for me the film here went too far in adding things. The first film left stuff out that's ok, but this had elves marching to helm's deep? If you read between the lines in the books they hardly have the numbers to defend themselves, nevermind marching off to help humans.
Also while it was nice to see Liv Tyler in the movie, Arwen is only occasionally referred to in the book.
The first film was lively and exciting throughout, this however was a total let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lothr, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD. POOR GRAPHICS, GAME IS NOT LONG ENOUGH, WAY TOO QUICK TO COMPLETE, ACTUAL GAME IS NOT ENJOYABLE, ENGAGING OR STIMULATING ENOUGH TO PLAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the two towers, 28 Aug 2003
By 
Ms. N. H. Grant (Louth, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a film this DVD is very good and I have Enjoyed watching it But as a pictorial representation of the actual story ,as in the papaer back version as bought over the counter it is a poor attemp.The film seems to pick bits from the book then represent them in any way they like.The attack by the wraggs on the king and his men never happened and Aragorn was not dragged over a clif into a river.The seens with tree beard was all wrong and most of it is missing.Frodo and Sam did not end up in Osgillath with the men from the white city.The last few chapters of the book are missing,the capture of smeagul is wrong and the journey of sam and frodo is only little snipets most of it is missing.I am very disapointed in both of the films so far and do not think that anyone is going to produce a good account of theese books on film.
yours sincerly Mr H W Grant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We loves it, we loves it alll!!!, 24 July 2004
Whats you gots in your boxs setses??!! We've all seen the film, great film it is too (and only a couple of problems with the content and the actual books, but to be honest Im amazed there wernt more problems). As for this box set though I would say it is only worth it if you are buying it for someone else or someone has bought it for you. In other words, dont buy it for yourself, its not worth it. I got mine for my birthday.
Is it? My precioussssss......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm not so impressed, 22 Aug 2003
By A Customer
After seeing the film at the cimena i was thoroughly disapointed. For any real Lord of the Rings fan who has actually read the books, the discrepances in the first were bad enough. Atleast the extended edition help to correct some of the major problems. But 'Two Towers' contains fundamental flaws, The Elves dont come to the reascue at helms deep, the orcs dont enter the keep they only break the first ditch, just to name two of many. I appreciate that not everything could be placed in to the films but if something is placed in it should atleast be accurate!? Especially after Peter Jackson saying how the he wanted to follow the work of Tolkien to the letter! I hope the extended edition of Two Towers is an improvement and corrects some of the missing and incorrect facts used in the film. (ps I did actually enjoy the film for what it was!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as The Fellowship., 8 Nov 2003
Nowhere as close to the book as the first installment but its still a good film.
Why have they made Gollum likeable and shown to have conflict between good and bad (when he argues with himself), in the book he is cunning, pathetic, evil, untrustworthy and by far the best character.
Faramir too is shown in a different light. He is shown to be like his brother which he is not, he should be shown to be stronger, wiser and more like Aragorn, after all Eowyn falls for him.
Why are the Ents not really that tall?
I feel the film trys to be too comical (Gimli falling of his horse much to the amusement of the others). There is too much hope that they will succeed when in the book its mainly a doomed, desperate mission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 Aug 2003
The film is very good and i would recomend it to anyone but i would suggest to watch the first Lord of the Rings first because it helps you to understand about the whole story of the film.To people who think that Lord of the Rings is not there type of film i say get it because i didn't really fancy it but it is a really good film, but,for some people who still don't fancy it then rent it out but i tell you, you will be suprised!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 121 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 13 Aug 2003
An absolutely abysmal film which bears little or no relation to the book.
If you're either:
a fool
10 years old
never read the book
never read any book
a fat arrogant New Zealander who thinks he can do a better job than Tolkien
..then you'll probably love it.
If not - steer clear.
He's done the hard bit (cinematography and scenery) extremely well. He's done the easy bit (storyline, casting) worse than my wildest, darkest nightmares.
He should be locked up for getting it so wrong. He's a menace to society. Tens of thousands of children are going to grow up thinking his version is the definitive one.
I'll never buy New Zealand lamb again. They must be punished. Steer clear of Lurpak as well - I'm sure that's from there too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 31 32 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews