Customer Reviews


313 Reviews
5 star:
 (223)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quest continues...
I impatiently counted the days until the release of part two in the trilogy, and having watched it, at first, had a problem with some bits of the film that differ from the book. The biggest change being, as people have said already, Faramir's desire for the Ring, which was unexpected and disappointing but I think required. To have Faramir not attempt to seize the Ring,...
Published on 20 Sep 2003

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new..
The 3 stars rating is for this edition rather than the movie.

For what concerns the movie.. It's GREAT! Worths 10 stars in its extended version, and I would reccomend this to anyone who still haven't seen it.

BUT

This new edition is not adding much to the previous ones. The ONLY difference is this documentary (that you can find elsewhere...
Published on 10 Oct 2006 by Charles Wolf


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 432 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord Of The Rings : The Two Towers, 25 July 2003
This film was even more amazing than the previous lord of the rings film. Easily the best film for 2002 and 2003. I watched several of the other so called top films like the matrix reloaded , and they didnt even come close to the high level of excitement and emotions you recieve from watching the two towers.
Like the first film it sends the hairs on the back of your neck up every couple of minutes with intense battle sequences and plot building moments and the film has one of the best battle sequences I have ever seen simply mind blowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new.., 10 Oct 2006
The 3 stars rating is for this edition rather than the movie.

For what concerns the movie.. It's GREAT! Worths 10 stars in its extended version, and I would reccomend this to anyone who still haven't seen it.

BUT

This new edition is not adding much to the previous ones. The ONLY difference is this documentary (that you can find elsewhere without the movie) which in my opinion is quite boring and way too long.

Honestly, I am a fan of LOTR but this goes beyond and shows you the people involved in the project more than the project itself.. So, if you're interested, walk on, but I wouldn't reccomend it, unless you still don't have the movie in any of the previuos editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Towers Triumph, 6 Jun 2003
Having waited for what seemed an eternity to see the second installment of Peter Jackson's epic trilogy, the Two Towers finally hit the big screen in December 02.
The opening few minutes grab you by the scruff of the neck and drag you kicking and screaming on a stomach churning descent into the heart of the mines of Moria and out the other side, as Gandalf battles with, and finally defeats the Balrog. This sets the scene as the rest of the film rarely lets up on the non-stop action, which takes you from the plains of Rohan to the final dramatic battle of Helms Deep where you actually come out of the theatre feeling totally exhausted.
Having read the book several times, I suppose like lots of fans I wanted everything, every chapter, paragraph and piece of dialogue faithfully transposed onto the screen. I remember going over the litery version of TT before seeing it on the big screen and thinking, 'this is a lot to fit into 3hrs'. Peter Jackson manages to do this, just.
Whereas the book was able to concentrate on the developing relationships between the Fellowship, the film tends to feel slightly rushed as it hops from scene to scene as we follow the fortunes of Frodo, Sam and the superbly crafted Gollum, Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli in their pursuit of Merry and Pippin and King Theoden in his mission to save his people from the hordes of Saruman.
I can't help feeling that when the extended version of the film is released in November, with the additional 43mins the film will be seen as it was intended to be. This was the same with the extended version of the Fellowship of the Ring. The additional 20 odd minutes extra, really rounded things off nicely, for example, the giving of gifts by the Lady Galadriel.
This is not to say that this is a thoroughly enjoyable, superbly acted film to rival, and possible better the first installment, but like all Tolkien fans, I always want more. Roll on the Return of the King!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the 2-disc set, this is the one to buy!, 3 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Special Extended DVD Edition) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The Two Towers is a remarkable film and while I take issue with some of the changes made to the story, this DVD is an essential purchase for fans of this film.
This 4-disc set showcases the DVD format at its very best. A whopping 40 minutes extra has been integrated into the original theatrical version to give the complete story as Peter Jackson wanted it told. You wouldn't see that happen back in the prime of VHS! The same was done with the Fellowship of the Ring extended edition and it made an already fantastic film near flawless!
The two-disc DVD set released in August was just to satisfy those who couldn't wait to get their hands on the film. But in truth, it's wasted money, this is the version to own. Once the extended version comes out you won't want to go back to the theatrical version, believe me.
Then come the extras. If they're anything like what was included in the Fellowship of the Ring EE DVD, we're in for a treat. Two discs full of unique, original documentaries, not the rehashed TV promo documentaries found on the 2-disc version. The quality and depth of these documentaries is terrific and really make you appreciate the incredible amount of effort that went into producing these epic films.
Not to be overlooked are the 4 separate audio commentary tracks featuring the cast and crew. Beyond all the other features included in DVDs, audio commentaries are, for me, the best. They give a unique insight into the film from the people who created it and although it is easy to be distracted by the film itself while listening to the commentary, it is well worth sitting through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 152 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fending off the criticism, 18 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Special Extended DVD Edition) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is undoubtably a brilliant film, but I feel a few more words are needed to defend it against (unfair) attacks on the grounds that I strays too far from Tolkien. Firstly, as is always the case with adaptations from a book, this is a film, and a certain licence is both necessary and desirable. However, none of the extra pieces added by the film makers can be said to have been done so without due consideration to Tolkiens world and to cinematic integrity. To take a few examples: the presence of the elves at Helm's Deep does well to evoke the 'ages past' feel that is so intruinsic to Tolkien's writings, and it explores further (as Tolkien does not) the fragility of the elves' nature, complementing the Arwen story. This last part is necessarily extended to boost the female presence in the film and to counterbalance the Eowyn tale. Regarding the Arwen/Aragorn story, all has been lifted from Tolkien, just not from the actual 'Two Towers' book, the only exception being the 'Warg riders' bit. This borrows from passages and events in the first books of LotR and the appendices, and the whole episode contributes to our involvement and understanding of the other members of the fellowship and of Eowyn - without it, their relationships with each other would seem thinner and underdevelopped: Gimli, Legolas and Aragorn come into their own in the second film, not the first.
One could carry on like this forever. It seems that the Screenwriters and Directorial team have not left a stone unturned in their quest for a faithful rendering of Tolkien that can at the same time stand alone as a cinematic work. We have only to look forward to the extended version - lets hope it adds as much to this film as did the the re-release of the 'Fellowship'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, with some marvelous additions.., 18 Nov 2003
A first day review...
I won't spoil it discussing any of the extra cut scenes for anyone considering purchasing the extended version of the Two Towers, apart from it's a pleasure to watch in it's full format. The collectors edition comes highly recommended to anyone considering purchasing this movie.
The quality and presentation of this boxed set is second to none and you are getting 5 discs packed full of content for your viewing pleasure. Also the Gollum model has a real quality feel to it and the bonus CD is very interesting indeed. :)
Do not hesistate to buy this film if you are a Lord of the Rings fan and take it from me, for under 40 pounds you are getting a lot of entertainment for your money.
Superb, and congrats to Peter Jackson and his team for another quality film and of course Amazon for a ultra fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every second, 2 Jun 2004
By A Customer
I am a huge fan of Tolkien and after watching the original theatrical version of The Two Towers I couldn't help but feel a little disappointed in some of the changes that were madefrom the book. Obviously a book of such complexity could not be fitted in to 3 hours.
Then I saw the extended editions. WOW!
For fans of the books you have the satisfaction of seeing some of the books most imaginitive creations come to life. Such as the Huorns at Helms Deep, a personal favourite part of the book for me.
It also redeemed the character of Faramir, thankfully. Unless you read the book, where Faramir is portrayed as the nicest man on earth, you would find him to be a selfish old grump. A few extra scenes added redeem his character a little and make his actions more understandable.
The extra scenes link the film better together, add more to the characters so that they become more three dimentional and explain where on earth that horse came from who seemed to rescue Aragorn when he fell off a cliff!
For fans of the excellent Sean Bean you get more of him in this and for fans of action and battle Helms Deep is extended (so awesome!)and seems to fit together a bit better.
The extra features get a full five stars on their own just for being superb (watch the Gollum one with Andy Serkis' screen test, his expressions are amazing).
Overall it is much more satisfying and thrilling then the original edition.
Worth every second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but very very good, 21 Oct 2003
By 
Sally-Anne "mynameissally" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The Two Towers is a very enjoyable film. I suspect its greatest fans will be those who have not read and loved the book. Picking holes and making comparisons is almost irresistible if you know the book well and the thoughts, decisions and actions of Tolkien's characters are loaded with meaning for you. Peter Jackson has probably made /almost/ the best job possible given the limitations of time. Personally, I would have been very happy if he had made it into 6 films each lasting 3 hours (or more) and followed Tolkien's story to the letter. But that would have been a huge and expensive project, most unlikely to find funding. What he has accomplished is still impressive. As far as possible he has tried to convey the story and meaning as the author intended. It seems clear to me and many other lovers of the book, that he hasn't entirely succeeded.
This is the second part of the Lord of the Rings trilogy and continues the tale after "The Breaking of the Fellowship" chapter of the first book. It is necessarily more fragmented than the first film and follows the book less faithfully than the first film. The fellowship is now split into 3 groups: Frodo and Sam, on their way to Mordor to destroy the ring, Merry and Pippin being carried towards Isengard by orcs, Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli in pursuit of the hobbitnappers. Some of the departures from the book do seem unnecessary and change some of the subtle meaning the author (I believe) intended to convey. The most heinous of these liberties, change the personalities of the characters and the less bad just cause slight patches of nonsense in the story.
By some rather annoying jiggery-pokery, Arwen keeps popping onto the screen, mainly in dream sequences and also a scene in Rivendell where her father, Elrond, persuades her to leave Middle Earth and leave Aragorn. This is a fairly major departure from the original story and seems no more than a ploy to distort and over-inflate the romantic angle. It changes the personalities of 3 important characters and actually wastes rather than saves film time. Gollum, although a wonderfully well made character in the film, has been turned into something like a cute but naughty dog with a split personality. He seemed very much more sinister and dangerous in the book. Faramir has been changed from noble, strong-minded and wise to something more weak-minded and indecisive.
Where possible, Mr Jackson has used Tolkien's words although the speaker of the words may be different. For example, Treebeard says some of Tom Bombadil's lines. This is quite clever and difficult to spot. However, there are places where Tolkien's words are used, but because of alterations to the story, they don't make sense. There is an inserted scene in the film where Treebeard presents Merry and Pippin to Gandalf in Fangorn forest. Later Treebeard is telling the hobbits that he's going to keep them safe, as Gandalf instructed. So when Gandalf later meets Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli in the forest, you would expect him to have remembered that his name is Gandalf, but he has to dredge it up from the depths of his memory when they address him by that name, which makes him look senile. Tolkien's Gandalf was certainly not senile. Legolas is treated as though he were a youth. Gimli calls him "laddie". Tolkien's Legolas is actually many hundreds of years old. Fangorn (Treebeard) is the oldest creature walking Middle Earth, and Fangorn forest is so old that it almost makes Legolas feel young again.
Despite all the criticisms (and there are many more), it's still a great movie, especially if you come to it fresh - having watched The Fellowship of the Ring but never having read the Lord of the Rings. If you've read the book and particularly if you've read the book many times, you can best enjoy the film by taking a laid-back attitude to its relationship to the book. Accept that a lot of the subtle meaning is lost but it's still a gripping yarn. I thought the actors were all excellent and didn't mind at all that Legolas skate-boarded down the steps at Helm's Deep or that Gimli was a comedian. The orcs were very well done - a really revolting lot - the dark lord's GM elves. The ents were as I imagined them. I was pleased that the wargs didn't look anything like wolves (a departure from the book I fully approved of). The music was very good. I rate this film a five star because nothing's perfect and I would have thought this came very close if I hadn't been spoilt by reading the story it was based upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic package!, 17 Dec 2003
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Special Extended DVD Edition) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Fantastic addition to the series! So far I find myself awaiting the release of the definative four disc versions of The Lord Of The Rings epic. The extra little touches here there and everywhere will make the avid Tolkien fan moist with excitement. Extra scenes and extended sections such as a scene with Merry and Pippin drinking entish draft with a cameo from Old Man Willow (who was excluded from the Fellowship movie), Boromir makes a comeback in this movie showing the interaction between him, his brother Faramir and the rather cruel (where regarding the worth of Faramir) Dethanor, Steward of Gondor and their father. Those of you who have experienced the Fellowship 4 disc edition will know what to expect.
The real joy with this set, however, lies with the two DVDs CRAMMED full of extras. The documentaries that accompany the series give such a wonderful insight into the entire world of the film and everything it is based on. They are never boring either, as well put together as the film itself. From a biography on Tolkien himself and his friendship with fellow writers such as CS Lewis, to the detailed artistic vision behind the movie, creating the miniture models, the CGI, the people recording the sound of a cheese grater being swung around to simulate the sound of arrows flying through the air, the artificial intelligence programme Massive which can succesfully replicate a huge scale battle between two warring factions. You won't believe the effort that goes into the movie. Just about every element is covered, every crew member and department has something to chip into the documentary. Its endearing to see the human element behind the movie, the interaction between all the units that come together to make the epic. You'll find yourself smiling along as you find out about the wonderful character that is Viggo (who plays Aragorn). The little rituals of headbutting cast members. The scene where he kicks an orc's helmet away in anger at the apparent death of Merry and Pippin, letting out a heart feltagonising scream ... which you later find out is due to him breaking two toes as he kicks the helmet, using the pain to fuel his acting. The in depth breakdown of the creation of Gollum is fascinating, finding out that there is much more than just animating a CGI character. Also, on a personal note, its satisfying to see the writers of the screenplay justify their decisions in changes to the actual story. Why The Two Towers ends where it does (which is a few chapters earlier than where the book ends), why Faramir is more of a sinister character at first, why there is the decision not to split the story into two halves as it does in the book. Its compelling watching. Its also alarming to find out that Liv Tyler was almost scheduled to be a part of the Helms Deep battle, to help extend the Aragorn love story element (which I still say is a touch Hollywood for my liking), but was rapidly scrapped when details of it were leaked to the internet and there was utter uproar over the decision.
If you have ever sat there and wondered 'How the hell do they make something like this?', you HAVE to purchase this version and watch it, you'll be surprised at the sheer amount of detail and work that has gone into this movie. Don't just buy this movie for the extended scenes and dismiss the extra two DVDs as potentially monotonous, you'll be missing out of the charm of Middle Earth, and an experience that will make you love this film even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars stick to the dvd, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great movie average blu-ray transfer. If you have the extended version of this on dvd dont bother buying the blu-ray version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 432 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews