Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2001
After hearing the first single, the Macy Gray featured 'Request Line' I bought this album on a whim, I don't even like Macy Gray, but I am dawm happy that I did. To say this album is the best Hip Hop album of recent times maybe goes too far, but it is surely up there. As with all good Hip Hop records it features other artists, and with a list that includes De La Soul, Mos Def and Wyclef (as well as Miss Gray) one can hardly argue over its credentials. The best tracks probably come in the first half, such as, in my opinion, the best two tracks 'Hot' and 'Get Original', the latter featuring the godly vocal talents of Jurassic 5's Chali2na. As an overall album 'Bridging the gap' "does exactly what it says on the tin", it brings together the best aspects of modern Hip Hop with soulful tunes and killer eclectic production. Black Eyed Peas are surely one of the most underated Hip Hop bands on the planet, do yourself a favour- buy the album.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2004
This album is the sound of the peas before they, I hate to say it, sold out. Okay, they're not selling out now exactly, but they've hit mainstream pop head on. This was back when they still rapped about the life and alot can still be taken out from this record. It isnt the true definition of hip hop, but its still true to the cause. I have to say this is one of my old favourites. If you dont know how the peas used to sound think about losing the chick (except for backing vocals) and then a think tribe called quest. For anyone who likes their new stuff I would say if you want to move away from mainstream pop, this may be a good place to start, but if you prefer hip-Pop, go buy justin timberlake's album. For the cats who know they're hip-hop, this is a pretty decent album, though as I said, some times they do sound like a diluted version of Tribe.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2002
The album is the second of the group renowned for their calaboration with Macy Gray in 'Request Line'. (It's on this album). The album from the very start is packed with amazing choruses filled with good tunes. My favorites are Lil' Lil' and Weekends, not to mention Request Line. Their are only two songs on this album which i dislike.
This was the first album i bought of BEP but immediately i have purchased their first, Behind the Front. I hope it will be just as good but it will have a hard job!
This album is for people who love rap with excellent tune that they can sing to themselves. I couldn't recommend this cd anymore; buy it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2000
This is just a funky CD ! Nice to hear some hip hop that wasn't all aggressive and scary. Slick production and every tune was different and catchy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2000
If I could review this album using one word it would be...... SUPERB. Bridging the gaps is a must have album for any hip hop fan. The Black Eyed Pea's have managed to create a sound that's not only easy on the ears but also gets the head nodding & foot tapping to the beat.
With featured artist's including Macy Gray, De La Soul & Wyclef Jean you will not be disappointed with this fusion of hip hop, funk & soul. There is a definite likeness in sound to the classic albums from De La Soul and A Tribe Called Quest.
It makes a refreshing change to hear hip-hop without the lyrics being heavily loaded with the "gangster" element. No parental advice needed to listen to this album but that doesn't mean it's not worth buying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2001
Noooooo!!!! what has happened to the peas! Its still good, but no way is it anyway near as good as their debut album. There is not as much body to the tracks and they are not catchy enough. Yet still worth listening to if you are a 'peas' fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
This is an early album. I really like it. Black Eyed Peas haven't disappointed me yet. Looking forward to buying more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
it arrived on time and in good condition and is a really good album and now I have all of the Blackeyed peas albums
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2004
This is by far much better material than Elephunk. If you liked Elephunk you'll love this! Although Elephunk has some classics such as Anxiety, Let's Get Retarded and Where is the Love. All of the songs on Bridging the Gap are on a par if not better. Buy it, really...... you'd be stupid not to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
Good CD with a variety of good songs and a goog selection of guests
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.93
£3.47
£3.52

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)