Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drift Wood?
Ever since his first movie role back in the 80s, Elijah Wood has graced the screens with his unique blend of charisma and damn good acting abilities! Although this movie is admittedly not one of the better, it is still well worth the money you spend on it. Paul Hogan lets the side slip a little, but apart from that, I'd say it was flawless. Elijah Wood is definitely...
Published on 5 Mar. 2000

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars florida, not australia.
this was worth the watch when i was 15 coz it had the grand combination of gorgeous elijah, a dolphin, and paul hogan. though i really dont know what paul hogan was doing in florida, but hey, i'm a kenyan in the uk!(yes, it was set in florida, not australia, hence only one person had an australian accent!)good acting from elijah wood, even when he had to contend with such...
Published on 14 Nov. 2004 by Lyndsay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drift Wood?, 5 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Flipper [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
Ever since his first movie role back in the 80s, Elijah Wood has graced the screens with his unique blend of charisma and damn good acting abilities! Although this movie is admittedly not one of the better, it is still well worth the money you spend on it. Paul Hogan lets the side slip a little, but apart from that, I'd say it was flawless. Elijah Wood is definitely not "drift wood" - he's here to stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars florida, not australia., 14 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Flipper [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
this was worth the watch when i was 15 coz it had the grand combination of gorgeous elijah, a dolphin, and paul hogan. though i really dont know what paul hogan was doing in florida, but hey, i'm a kenyan in the uk!(yes, it was set in florida, not australia, hence only one person had an australian accent!)good acting from elijah wood, even when he had to contend with such cheese as an evil guy who wanted to feed him to the sharks. cool dolphin. nice place to live!hey, i wouldnt buy it for myself but a 12 year old daughter would probably love you for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flipper! faster than lightning, but not as sharp!, 2 Jan. 2003
By 
This review is from: Flipper [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
when i saw this film i was instantly gripped by seeing Elijah Wood as the classic disfunctional kid. i have always known what flipper was but never got into the story. i suggest that all those with a bid love a happy-ending, angry-kid-turns-into-local-hero, then this film is for you. Little things did make me frown though, not only is the cheese level so strong in places that you want to cringe and throw something at the film, but the fact that the film is set on an austrailian island where almost everyone speeks with an American accent deos raise eyebrows to the most criticle.
if you're looking for flawless acting, this is not the best film to have. However, Elijah does give a beautiful performance which leads the cast onward and would otherwise leave the movie as a flop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A childhood classic, 12 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Flipper [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I gave this movie 4 stars simply because it is a childhood favourite for me and no matter whether it is technically a good film or not, I will always like watching it.

The movie itself was based on the tv show of the same name and the characters of Sandy and Porter Ricks are used again for the roles taken up by Paul Hogan and Elijah Wood. Many of the themes used in the tv show are re-used again, such as Flipper's ability to help solve mysteries which is touched upon in the movie when flipper disovers toxic waste being dumped in the ocean.

A lot of people didn't like this movie and put down the plot and the somewhat cheesy performance by Paul Hogan, but i loved it. Paul Hogan has always been funny to me and had great comic timing which worked really well with Elijah Wood's great performance as an angry, unresponsive teenager. The movie is one of growing up and both Hogan and Wood make positive developments and changes as the movie unfolds, helped of course by flipper.

If you like movies about animals or are a fan of Free Willy, then this movie is definately worth a watch! I was very glad to see it after so long and i still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 5 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Flipper [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
There's never really been a film like Flipper ever since, well apart from Dolphin Tale I suppose which was equally as inspiring. Flipper is a sweet story, about a young lad that comes from Chicago to stay with his uncle in the Florida Keys/Bahamas, and at first isn't all that happy about it, being that his Uncle lives quite a strange lifestyle and lives with a pet bird? Then of course he meets Flipper the Dolphin and an a whole new adventure unravels. We see a very young Elijah Wood, who did the fantastic job of Sandy! Paul Hogan is great as Porter too! If you felt the same way I did when watching this movie, you'll want to smack one of the fishermen around the face with a frying pan! One particular scene, I have to forward every time otherwise It would leave me in tears every time.

The Score to Flipper is gorgeous too! One of the best soundtracks to a film, by far! It's a fantastic remake of an old movie, if not better! It's a lovely film to sit down with the family and watch! It made me fall in love with Dolphins! This is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flipper [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
i was so pleased to see this on DVD at a reasonable price. this is one of my all time favorite films, Paul hogan plays a brilliant roll, and i just love dolphins, great all round family film you must buy it not only is it very funny in places there's also a bit of a love story thrown in, some amazing shots of the dolphins, fantastic film a must have too watch over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flipper, 5 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolutely brilliant film !! Not new but really entertaining. I love dolphins so was in my element. A great film for all ages !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC!, 16 Jun. 2011
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flipper [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
FLIPPER was amazing! It had brilliant acting, the plot was very believably and fun and i liked the way they mixed adult, scary scenes in with jolly, exciting and family fun! It is definately worth watching as a family but dont underestimate the PG rating! BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Free Willy you'll like this.., 6 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flipper [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
My daughter who's 8 loves animals and this DVDs was a big hit.. its along the same lines as Free Willy but with a friendly dolphin. A good family film for animal lovers.. thanks for reading :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flipper, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flipper [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Received in Excellent condition and just what was required to keep the grown ups entertained an excellent film with good entertainment all around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flipper [DVD] [1996]
Flipper [DVD] [1996] by Alan Shapiro (DVD - 2005)
£4.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews