Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
116
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 29 December 2007
I first watched this as a teenager nearly 20 years ago, I didn't expect it to move me so much as a rather more cynical 30 something, but it did. There's really not much to fault with this film. A simple tale of Rocky Dennis, tragically disfigured by a degenerative illness, and his attempts to overcome prejudice, fit in at his local All-American highschool and, of course, get a girl. In lesser hands, and with a celeb such as Cher heading the cast list, this could easily have turned into something sugar coated and schmalzy. Yet though the feel good moments come thick and fast, Rocky discovers that in this capricious world, courage and niceness do not guarantee a storybook ending. As the movie progresses, it becomes increasingly heartrending to watch. Eric Stolz, as the boy (based on a real life character) is so natural and engaging that within minutes you have forgotten the layers of makeup which turn him into someone horribly deformed, and consequently feel his pain as he encounters prejudice and cruelty outside of his 'family', the protective biker group, and of course, Cher, playing the mother in a very fine big screen debut.
In the genre of 'overcoming tragedy and the odds' movies, this is surely one of the best, yet also one of the most painful.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 July 2006
This is one of the few films which will stick in your mind even after years.

It gives a powerful message for tolerance, for looking beyond the facade and above all love, love that makes people strong and able to struggle against the odds of life.

Cher who seems to embody through her constant plastic surgery and showbiz lifestyle the Hollywood stereotypes and the facade things of life plays wonderfully the mother role, strong when it comes to her son, but otherwise weak and scarred depending much on the love of her son. I was impressed by her.

All other roles are well casted too and the role is a pleasure to watch and I got more and more drawn to it as the plot develops. One becomes quite but in a good way. There is much emotion but never in a kitsch type. The movie touches one deeply.

I can only echo the other reviews and highly recommended this movie. 5 stars!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2004
This story is one of true courage and hope. Cher as Rusty Dennis is so convincing I found myself forgetting about the "diva" she's known to be. And Eric Stoltz as Rocky, he can make you laugh and cry.
This is truly an uplifting and inspirational film, based on the true story and I recommend it to anyone.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2003
The story of a boy who has lived through a deformity unknown for its mercy in letting its victim live ... both Cher and Stoltz give great performances - Cher as an addict mother fighting to give up the drugs and help her son overcome the disease. And Stoltz in heavy prosthetics - a truly wonderful movie to watch!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
I loved this film when first watched it years ago and eric stoltz had just become a young and inspiring actor. The story and its highs and lows from cher who loves the high life and her cocaine habit to the biker gang who adopted rocky her son with a severe face disfigurement as one of there own gang. Everyone loves rocky and all he wants is to collect his fav football/hockey team cards and tour the world when leaves school. Rocky is clever and also plays the role which showed the sensitive side of looking after his mother when off the rails and how he helped others at a campus for others with disabilities to graduating from school until a seizure ended his life so young. Cher portrays her role as a mother who clearly loves her son despite her habits to the full..she fights education authorities for rocky to attend local school and graduate as his looks are judged on his ability to cope in a main stream school. If never seen this endearing film I recommend you buy it and sit back and enjoy this inspiring young man who takes life in his stride and never loses faith in what he dreams of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2006
This is a top film if you like biker based films. Sam Elliott is really hot in this one. You'd have to have a heart of stone to not be touched by this film. Best i've seen Cher in.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
I first saw this film in my teens and I don't think I've seen it once without crying! I haven't seen it for years so I watched it with my son who obviously takes after his mother as his eyes might have leaked quite a bit too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
This is a classic. I bought it for my wife as she likes cher but she never even knew about the film...
great price, arrived well within estimated delivery time and in perfect condition.
Well worth a watch. If you're emotional.... get a tissue box. My fine it and needed it! ha ha...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Perfect true story about Rocky Dennis starring Eric Stoltz,Cher. Stoltz plays a young man named Rocky Dennis, who is born with a difigured head.In spite of that, the movie shows us as well as gives a lesson of true humanity, love and that we should respect one another and don`t judge by look. The mvie is a real tear-jerker, one of my absolute favorite movies. Ther are English, Frensch and Spanish Subtitles included.

As an extra bonus to those who wonder about if they should buy the region director`s cut version or the other, the is the one to own if you have a region 1/ region-free dvd player. The Bruce Springsteen soundtrack is awesome and gives the movie an extra spark.

A perfect movie,nothing to fault here. Should have won an oscar. Out of Africa won that year, but this one should have won it. Honestly. If you haven`t seen it, you should. A must-see for any movie-lover and human being, actually
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
This is quite simply one of those films that you NEED to see before you die. Ever heard the phrase never judge a book by its cover? This true story embodies that phrase entirely. Easily one of the best films I've ever seen and it holds it's own to this day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)