Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Hanks at his BEST
This is one of those films that you've heard of but never got round to watching. Well, that was me until I watched it one day as there was "nothing else on". What did I discover? One of the funniest films I've EVER seen. Story: Toms Hanks & wife buy lovely too-good-to-be-true mansion for pennies. They move in, it falls apart. As does their marriage. Watch out for the...
Published on 5 Nov 2003 by Ms. S. D. Bonner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, shame about the quality
The film is good as ever, very funny, one of Tom Hanks classics. The only complain I have is about the quality of the copy, which resembles those made somewhere in the garden shed in China sold on a street markets. It squeeks, creeks and, on one occasion, stopped on its own and went back to the beginning. I didn't know you can buy such a thing through a respectable source.
Published 1 month ago by Rafiki


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Hanks at his BEST, 5 Nov 2003
By 
Ms. S. D. Bonner "Formula 1 Girl" (Eastleigh, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Money Pit [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those films that you've heard of but never got round to watching. Well, that was me until I watched it one day as there was "nothing else on". What did I discover? One of the funniest films I've EVER seen. Story: Toms Hanks & wife buy lovely too-good-to-be-true mansion for pennies. They move in, it falls apart. As does their marriage. Watch out for the flying turkey and the BEST domino effect scene you'll ever see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They testing missiles here or what?, 12 May 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Money Pit [DVD] (DVD)
The Money Pit is directed by Richard Benjamin and written by David Giler. It stars Tom Hanks, Shelley Long, Alexander Godunov and Maureen Stapleton. Music is by Michael Colombier and cinematography by Gordon Willis. Plot finds Hanks and Long as a young couple who buy what they think is their dream house, only to find the house falling apart around them.

Mozart is dead, his troubles are over.

He went on to be a big mover in the acting world did Tom Hanks, so much so it's always a little weird revisiting his comedy output in the 1980s because he's a vastly different actor. Yet for many of us, that decade holds many treasures, where nostalgic fever takes a hold and a warm glow does come with watching the young Hanks bound about with comedic glee. The Money Pit doesn't have the cult worship of Splash or the internet respect of Big, yet it's a wonderfully funny picture that finds Hanks on optimum energised form. The plot might be thin and Long kind of gets pushed to one side, but this has much to enjoy with a bottle of vino and snacks. That is, of course, if you don't mind laughing at the misfortune of new home owners?!

I am sinking fast into the money pit.

A number of sequences are pure farce, but in the good way, stairs collapse, as does the chimney, doors, floors and a leaking roof bring the mirth, as does a laugh out loud bath moment. It sounds a little chaotic, and it is at times, but the screenplay allows Hanks & Long, and the wonderful Godunov, time to breath life into the characters. There's a lovely romance at the core of the story, one that inevitably will be tested by the chaos of the house renovations and Godunov's third party ex. They are a very likable couple and easy to root for. Helps that Hanks is full of effervescent boyishness and Long is so pretty, the latter of which I don't think has ever looked better than during a red dress sequence here.

If the foundation is OK? Then everything else can be fixed.

It doesn't have any surprises in store, it goes exactly where you expect it too, which naturally renders the final third as being all about the sentiment and the message. With the comedy gone, picture struggles a touch to put the final coat of paint on the project. But it's nicely underplayed by the actors and really this is about love triumphant against adversity. With the laughs that came previously more than making this a blues lifter for the nostalgic amongst us. 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Money Pit, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. A. Jude - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Money Pit [DVD] (DVD)
This must be the funniest film ever made in my opinion.- A young couple Tom Hanks and Shelley Long are very much in love with each other and want to buy the home of their dreams. They finally find a large house going cheap and move in; but it's not long before one hilarious disaster after another happens. The house is falling apart along with their bank account and they get deeper and deeper into debt and their relationship starts to fall apart. It is a great film and well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Money Pit - It Says It All!, 7 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Money Pit [DVD] (DVD)
Me and my brothers watched The Money Pit when we were kids and loved it. I bought it recently not really knowing if I'd feel the same way about it as an adult but was glad to find it as I remembered.
Shelly Long and a very young looking Tom Hanks are a couple in love who, in desperate need of somewhere to live, put all their money into buying a very large house for a bargain price - only to find it not quite up to their expectations.
How the pressure of their evaporating dreams coupled with Shelly's ever-present and over-bearing ex-husband effects their relationship is the basis of the movie - and it's very funny to watch. There are some really great, very colourful characters interspersed throughout, resulting in some great comedy. There's also a lot of slap-stick which even if it's not your usual cup-of-tea would be hard not to enjoy. We came away with a real urge to watch some Laurel and Hardy!
Enjoy this movie - and remember it's underlying lesson .... If it sounds too good to be true - it probably is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escapism, 14 Aug 2002
By 
Mr. T. Faithfull (Hastings, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I understand that in literary or cinematic terms, this is not exactly groundbreaking stuff, but as a light hearted, feel good comedy, you can't get better - it's intelligent, witty and free from the terrible sentimentality that marrs so many American flicks. Tom Hanks is excellent as an unassuming, harrassed and dishevelled house buyer who just wants to get away from it all for a bit of peace and quiet, only to find that things are only going to get worse from here....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tom Hanks film, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Money Pit [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my old favourite films, still as funny as ever and always makes me laugh out loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE MONEY PIT, 10 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Money Pit [DVD] (DVD)
The Money Pit is simply hillarious from start to finish.
It is based on the experiences of a young couples first house purchase, and the dreadful setbacks they encounter in pursuit of their dream home.
The builders are hell, the cost astrinomical and the couple in danger of divorce. Yet all the way throough youll'e be crying with laughter. The best comedy money can buy and definately one to watch if you think YOU are having a hard time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two words....BUY IT!!!, 22 April 2001
This has been my all time favourite film, EVER!! I've watched it 129 times and I still laugh out loud to certain bits ('specially the bath scene!). I recommend everyone between the ages of 16-116 buys it TODAY - you wont regret it, trust me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A truly brilliant movie fom my youth, 22 Sep 2000
By A Customer
I first watched this film when I was about nine or ten. Along with The Toy, it has stayed with me forever as one of my favourites.
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 31 July 2003
When I was told about the film it didn't sound too good but Tom Hanks has done it again and has made another amazing film (I think anyway). The film is funny but yet at the same time it shows how stressful moving house can be. The tone of the film is successfully kept light and does not become too romantic and slushy. I recommend that you buy this film as I guarantee you will be kept laughing throughout the film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa0b11bc)

This product

The Money Pit [DVD]
The Money Pit [DVD] by Richard Benjamin (DVD - 2010)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews