Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buddy unplugs for the memory of John Lee Hooker....
The first thing to know about this recording is that like all the "Silvertone" albums that I have heard (and that's not as many as I would like)the recording standard is just mind-boggling in it's high standard.

Normally "Buddy Guy" blows you away with his powerful electric guitar playing not so with this set of 12 songs, played in the "folk blues" tradition of...
Published on 11 Aug. 2003 by Milt M. R. Ingarfield

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as people have made out!!!!
This brand new release by Buddy Guy sees him getting Unplugged and back to basics and it has been savaged in certain places already as being a step back from Sweet Tea. Sweet Tea was an electrifying trip through modern Blues. Blues Singer is not that, it's a leisurely walk through some old Blues standards.
Okay, Buddy is playing safe on this album and yes, a lot of...
Published on 19 Jun. 2003 by Proudmomofagayson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buddy unplugs for the memory of John Lee Hooker...., 11 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
The first thing to know about this recording is that like all the "Silvertone" albums that I have heard (and that's not as many as I would like)the recording standard is just mind-boggling in it's high standard.

Normally "Buddy Guy" blows you away with his powerful electric guitar playing not so with this set of 12 songs, played in the "folk blues" tradition of acoustic guitar.
Like all great blues albums "Buddy" has involed some famous friends this one is no exception with the likes of "B.B.King" and "Eric Clapton" making guest appearances to great effect throughtout.
Great music played with passion and "FEEL" as my musician friends say,and on top of that done in memory of the late great John Lee Hooker...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buddy goes acoustic !, 18 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
This is a great album. Stripped down to acoustic guitar Buddy sounds amazing. You can really here his vocals and there is a lot of soul in that voice! If you love Buddys electric work this album takes a different avenue,but with Eric Clapton sitting in and B.B. king what more could you ask for. There are some great John Lee Hooker covers but its a great chill out album and the title says it all "Blues Singer". If you want acoustic blues with great vocals in a modern setting buy this album. Or if you have had a hard day at work sit back open a cold beer and let Buddy do his stuff !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acoustic Blues., 8 Feb. 2008
By 
Steven (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
It's nice to hear Buddy make an album which isn't drowning in backing orchestration for a change. Instead he returns to basics with just himself, an acoustic guitar, a few bass instruments and a selection of friends there to add a bit of their own guitar work - Eric Clapton and BB King for example.
This album contains excellent vocals from Buddy and great guitar playing too.
The style of a lot of these songs is similar to early 30s and 40s blues, so it's nice to hear that style again but without the scratchy recordings and with a modern twist (modern in a blues sense that is).
Admittedly some of the songs towards the end seem a bit samey but this is still a great album with some great songs; I would rank Lucy Mae Blues as one of my favourites. (It has great artwork on the CD and case too if that makes a difference).

If you are a Buddy Guy fan, or even just a blues fan, this is a refreshing album and my advice is buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accoustic Master Guitar Class, 19 Aug. 2007
I always believe that the measure of any electric guitarist is what they sound like with an accoustic. Buddy has been around for ages (he is 70), and is one of Chess Records finest.

This CD is my favourite. His playing is absolutely brilliant, backed up with a few lesser players including Clapton (and he will not mind being labelled as lesser).

Live the Life You Love stands out for me as the best track and the vocals throughout the album are his very best. There is so much feeling on this album it will bring tears to your eyes just like good blues should.

If I was to meet him again I'd kiss him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as people have made out!!!!, 19 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
This brand new release by Buddy Guy sees him getting Unplugged and back to basics and it has been savaged in certain places already as being a step back from Sweet Tea. Sweet Tea was an electrifying trip through modern Blues. Blues Singer is not that, it's a leisurely walk through some old Blues standards.
Okay, Buddy is playing safe on this album and yes, a lot of the songs could have been played with more fire and imagination but it is NOT a bad album. In fact, there are some quite simply wonderful inclusions, one of these being the classic "What Lucy May Do" which Buddy pulls off brilliantly.
My only issue with the album is that it is a little one-paced but if you want to hear another side of Buddy Guy and you don't mind slipping down a few notches in terms of speed and delivery then this is a very pleasing album. It's nice to hear Buddy Guy's voice singing sweetly. Sometimes, his voice gets overlooked in favour of his fretwork when in reality both are every bit as vital IMO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars IT SHOWS HOW GOOD HE IS, 7 Mar. 2015
By 
E. Kelly "keypad" (Didcot,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Singer (MP3 Download)
This is a nice album of acoustic material with Buddy doing a tasty stripped down Blues thing. Very good it is too. It's nice to hear him playing in a different way to that showman on stage that he usually needs to be in order to earn a dollar. This is more intimate than the brashness that he has to achieve in order to be heard at noisy gigs. I'm glad he released this album. I never liked all that acoustic, post-hippie, laid back, 'middle American' college youth, thing that used to be a musical fashion plague in the early 1970s. Then the 'Unplugged' series, in the 1980/90s, raised it's mock-wholesome head. This is better than all those pretentious things from back then. This is natural acoustic Blues playing from someone who can get it done very well without having to think too much about it.

Eamonn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If it touches you - something's gotta give, 23 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
Man this is good.

Great acoustic guitar, great upright bass.

This is so beautiful and easy to fall into.

Sublime.

Track list

Hard Time Killing Floor
Crawlin' Kingsnake
Lucy Mae Blues
Can't See Baby
I Love The Life I Live, I Live The Life I Love
Louise McGhee
Moanin' And Groanin'
Black Cat Blues
Bad Live Blues
Sally Mae
Anna Lee
Lonesome home Blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deserves a stereo to really enjoy...., 3 April 2009
By 
M. Jonathan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
... the perfomance ... The cd is really well recorded with a lot of presence as we say in audiophile term. Dynamic, details everything is here. And his voice is really involving ++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
Very pleased with the C.D and the service I received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 28 Mar. 2015
By 
Mrsjjmeadowcroft (Bedford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
It's a great album just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues Singer
Blues Singer by Buddy Guy (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews