Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buddy unplugs for the memory of John Lee Hooker....
The first thing to know about this recording is that like all the "Silvertone" albums that I have heard (and that's not as many as I would like)the recording standard is just mind-boggling in it's high standard.

Normally "Buddy Guy" blows you away with his powerful electric guitar playing not so with this set of 12 songs, played in the "folk blues" tradition of...
Published on 11 Aug 2003 by Milt Ingarfield

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as people have made out!!!!
This brand new release by Buddy Guy sees him getting Unplugged and back to basics and it has been savaged in certain places already as being a step back from Sweet Tea. Sweet Tea was an electrifying trip through modern Blues. Blues Singer is not that, it's a leisurely walk through some old Blues standards.
Okay, Buddy is playing safe on this album and yes, a lot of...
Published on 19 Jun 2003 by Proudmomofagayson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buddy unplugs for the memory of John Lee Hooker...., 11 Aug 2003
By 
Milt Ingarfield "milt_fm" (Arbroath, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
The first thing to know about this recording is that like all the "Silvertone" albums that I have heard (and that's not as many as I would like)the recording standard is just mind-boggling in it's high standard.

Normally "Buddy Guy" blows you away with his powerful electric guitar playing not so with this set of 12 songs, played in the "folk blues" tradition of acoustic guitar.
Like all great blues albums "Buddy" has involed some famous friends this one is no exception with the likes of "B.B.King" and "Eric Clapton" making guest appearances to great effect throughtout.
Great music played with passion and "FEEL" as my musician friends say,and on top of that done in memory of the late great John Lee Hooker...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buddy goes acoustic !, 18 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
This is a great album. Stripped down to acoustic guitar Buddy sounds amazing. You can really here his vocals and there is a lot of soul in that voice! If you love Buddys electric work this album takes a different avenue,but with Eric Clapton sitting in and B.B. king what more could you ask for. There are some great John Lee Hooker covers but its a great chill out album and the title says it all "Blues Singer". If you want acoustic blues with great vocals in a modern setting buy this album. Or if you have had a hard day at work sit back open a cold beer and let Buddy do his stuff !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acoustic Blues., 8 Feb 2008
By 
Steven (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
It's nice to hear Buddy make an album which isn't drowning in backing orchestration for a change. Instead he returns to basics with just himself, an acoustic guitar, a few bass instruments and a selection of friends there to add a bit of their own guitar work - Eric Clapton and BB King for example.
This album contains excellent vocals from Buddy and great guitar playing too.
The style of a lot of these songs is similar to early 30s and 40s blues, so it's nice to hear that style again but without the scratchy recordings and with a modern twist (modern in a blues sense that is).
Admittedly some of the songs towards the end seem a bit samey but this is still a great album with some great songs; I would rank Lucy Mae Blues as one of my favourites. (It has great artwork on the CD and case too if that makes a difference).

If you are a Buddy Guy fan, or even just a blues fan, this is a refreshing album and my advice is buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accoustic Master Guitar Class, 19 Aug 2007
I always believe that the measure of any electric guitarist is what they sound like with an accoustic. Buddy has been around for ages (he is 70), and is one of Chess Records finest.

This CD is my favourite. His playing is absolutely brilliant, backed up with a few lesser players including Clapton (and he will not mind being labelled as lesser).

Live the Life You Love stands out for me as the best track and the vocals throughout the album are his very best. There is so much feeling on this album it will bring tears to your eyes just like good blues should.

If I was to meet him again I'd kiss him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as people have made out!!!!, 19 Jun 2003
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
This brand new release by Buddy Guy sees him getting Unplugged and back to basics and it has been savaged in certain places already as being a step back from Sweet Tea. Sweet Tea was an electrifying trip through modern Blues. Blues Singer is not that, it's a leisurely walk through some old Blues standards.
Okay, Buddy is playing safe on this album and yes, a lot of the songs could have been played with more fire and imagination but it is NOT a bad album. In fact, there are some quite simply wonderful inclusions, one of these being the classic "What Lucy May Do" which Buddy pulls off brilliantly.
My only issue with the album is that it is a little one-paced but if you want to hear another side of Buddy Guy and you don't mind slipping down a few notches in terms of speed and delivery then this is a very pleasing album. It's nice to hear Buddy Guy's voice singing sweetly. Sometimes, his voice gets overlooked in favour of his fretwork when in reality both are every bit as vital IMO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deserves a stereo to really enjoy...., 3 April 2009
By 
M. Jonathan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
... the perfomance ... The cd is really well recorded with a lot of presence as we say in audiophile term. Dynamic, details everything is here. And his voice is really involving ++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If it touches you - something's gotta give, 23 Jan 2013
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
Man this is good.

Great acoustic guitar, great upright bass.

This is so beautiful and easy to fall into.

Sublime.

Track list

Hard Time Killing Floor
Crawlin' Kingsnake
Lucy Mae Blues
Can't See Baby
I Love The Life I Live, I Live The Life I Love
Louise McGhee
Moanin' And Groanin'
Black Cat Blues
Bad Live Blues
Sally Mae
Anna Lee
Lonesome home Blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahh Condor, 22 Nov 2005
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
This may seem an odd start to an album review, but bear with me, it’s worth it. To folks of a certain age, the concept of the Condor Moment has a special meaning. Following on from the series of adverts for pipe tobacco in the 70’s, the phrase “Ahh, Condor” evokes images of a moment of sublime satisfaction after a stressful, turbulent day. It’s an image I like. They may be quite rare, but when they happen, there’s no mistaking them.
The reason I mention this, is that I recently had one. Imagine the situation. It was a typical English summer’s day. After 2 days of blazing sunshine, it was hot, humid and muggy. The sky was darkening with storm clouds and you’re lounging about, sweating and praying for rain. I’d just put Buddy Guy’s Grammy winning album Blues Singer on the CD player when it arrived. A flash of lightening, a roll of thunder and the first splatter of giant raindrops on the window coincided with the opening bars of track 2, a fantastic acoustic version of the John Lee Hooker classic Crawlin’ King Snake. Close your eyes and there you are. Sat in a rockin’ chair and the veranda of your wooden shack in Mississippi, whittling on a piece of wood and enjoying the cool relief as the storm sweeps by. “Ahh Condor”.
The longer the rain went on, the more I enjoyed the music. The whole album is an entirely acoustic diversion from the raw, heavy, electric sound heard on his 2001 offering Sweet Tea (if you haven’t got it, buy it. It’s brilliant). But don’t think for one minute that the man is mellowing in his old age. OK, so the soaring, strangled, distorted solos from Sweet Tea are missing, but this ain’t no gentle MTV unplugged meandering. This is real blues, played by a master guitarist with a cutting edge that only comes with age and experience. It is seriously good.
The essence of this album lies in the switch from his trademark Polkadot Strat (copies retailing at $799 on Buddy’s website, incidentally), to a more traditional guitar, which significantly alters the mood of his music. This album moves him from a Chicago blues sound (with which Buddy is synonymous) to the more relaxed approach of the delta, but it’s a delta style packed with power and passion which belie the simplified instrumentation.
Of course, stripped of amplification, lesser musicians may struggle. But when you have some of the world’s greatest talent like Eric Clapton and BB King plucking the strings, then the lack of electrical diversions allow the skill and dexterity of these superb guitarists to stand out.
And the motivation for this acoustic offering? On the inside of the back cover is a simple dedication. To the memory of John Lee Hooker. Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars-Blues version of 'Sleeps with Angels'(Neil Young), 16 Aug 2005
By 
This review is from: Blues Singer (Audio CD)
In 1994 Kurt Cobain died and Neil Young made a good but very dreery album in memory of him, and in 2003 Buddy Guy did the same for John Lee Hooker. Now sorry to sound highly insensitive but why should musicians always tone down when someone dies??? JLH was the BOOGIE MAN, therefore why not make an album full of blistering boogie for him??
And, no my problems not that its accoustic, i was quite excited when i heard that it was, its just too gentle, i doubt in recording this Buddy went through many sets of strings for his guitar. I just love it when blues guuitarists go accoustic and really rip the sh*t out of their 6 strings.
BUT this is a very pleasent cd, making perfect 'dinner-time blues'. Buy it, just don't be fooled like i was; as i am quite sure if i realised what this disc was like before hearing it, ill probably be giving it at least 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues Singer
Blues Singer by Buddy Guy (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews