Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great price.... must have for any collection., 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son / Steptoe & Son Ride Again [1973] [DVD] (DVD)
Quick delivery, great price & excellent quality. Brought as a christmas present so will be gratefully received. A great all rounder & very funny well acted between the two actors. Reliable supplier and pleased with item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steptoe & Son / Steptoe & Son Ride Again, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son / Steptoe & Son Ride Again [1973] [DVD] (DVD)
Comedy is very subjective to different people but I find these brilliant and have also the complete box set of every episode ever made as well so found these going and had to buy them. British comedy at its best I would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for..Steptoe & Son / Steptoe & Son Ride Again [1973] [DVD], 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son / Steptoe & Son Ride Again [1973] [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching these films many years ago. Forty years later and they still make me laugh. I was looking for some time for the 'Steptoe & Son Rides Again' after viewing it on a Television channel. so funny. Overjoyed to find it on Amazon. These films are unique, the quality is excellent, a reasonable price. I thoroughly recommend this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good old steptoe and son!, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son / Steptoe & Son Ride Again [1973] [DVD] (DVD)
British comedy at its best. Good to find both films in one package. A big thumbs up! A classic, get it while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss, but when it hits it hits REALLY WELL!, 14 May 2013
This review is from: Steptoe & Son / Steptoe & Son Ride Again [1973] [DVD] (DVD)
How many sitcoms can YOU think of that DIDN'T get a spin off movie or 2? I came up with Fawlty Towers and then could think of no more...anyway....moving on. I generally find these spin off movies to be, as the title of the review suggests, very hit or miss; but having never actually watched ANY of the Steptoe shows, I found the only appreciable way to approach these films was as films, and not as extensions of something I already knew.

The first film, if reviewed alone, would have got a pawltry 2 stars. It starts well, but then the main plot centres around Harold falling for a splendidly good-looking stripper. Yeah, a stripper. So, eyes duling rolling at the inevitability of the plotline, I proceeded to assume that she was "really a nice girl wot only took 'er clothes orf coz she needed the money but what she reeeely wanted was a nice man to love her for who she was", because, hey, this is the 70s, and stereotyping is not so much a norm as a constitutional right. Except.....that ISN'T the case.... she actually LIKES the exhibitionism of her work and enjoys the empowerment of her sexuality. Yippee. Happy days all round except it begs the question of WHY she wanted to go for the somewhat horse-faced Harold who is pretty classless, utterly penniless and emotionally stilted. But I'm reading too much into it because it's just a comedy, right? Well no. Because right from the moment the 2 meet you know the whole film is going to be set up to humiliate Harold. And it does. And you know how in comedy you find yourself laughing at people's ineptitude? Then you start to feel sorry for them and that makes the laughing at them seem ok, because now you care for them? Well Corbett plays the part TOO WELL so you bypass all that emotion and just end up really hating the other people in the film. I doubt that was the intention and it left me with a sour taste in my mouth.

However, the writers redeemed themselves immensely with the second film. It's rare to see a film that actually makes me laugh out loud, but that happened on this one many times. Without the troublesome third party, the plot can do what it needs to and centre around the two main characters. Their interaction and chemistry is joyous. Harold finds himself duped into buying a greyhound from a crook; not any old greyhound - one that can't see. There are chortles aplenty as the 2 attempt to recoup their losses, only to find themselves now in debt with a nasty London badboy and devoid of anything (apart from a myopic dog). The film saves its most clench your sides moments for the last half hour and not wishing to spoil it, I shall suffice to say it really is hilarious. There are also some pleasant additions of some well-loved actors in some scenes. Diana Dors shows up, all blonde hair and blue eyes, looking every bit the epitome of 70s chic; although her initial moments with Corbett were uncomfortably similar to the first blue film I saw - so much so in fact that I hastily fast forwarded to make sure that I wasn't going to see any of that nastiness again (I didn't - phew) - also Yootha Joyce, Bill Maynard and Olga Lowe to name but a few.

I'd recommend anybody to get this dvd double-pack, my strong suggestion is you watch the second film first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot beat the old ones, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son / Steptoe & Son Ride Again [1973] [DVD] (DVD)
Strill find these films funny-excellent condition-timeless classics.Have just added box set of all tv episodes to collection too.

Cannot beat the old ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strippers, Funerals, Greyhounds and endless bad luck!!!, 23 Oct 2012
This review is from: Steptoe & Son / Steptoe & Son Ride Again [1973] [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic to see these two films once again...anything to do with Steptoe is just fine by me.
Steptoe is very much inspired by the theatre of its time - Pinter & Beckett come to mind. The genius is that every episode has the same story line, Harold aspires to improve himself but is dragged back into the grinding mire of his totting roots. But that storyline is a universal one, just as relevant today!
Great humour all the way, but its the little bits of pathos that put the hook into you - like Beckett, Galton and Simpson always show compassion for their tormented characters.
Look out for the great Milo O'Shea in the second film playing a drunken Irish doctor, "I had a little problem parking the car!".
I remember the first film being screened as our School Christmas treat...a great reminder of life before our current po-faced age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Bleedin' fun, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son / Steptoe & Son Ride Again [1973] [DVD] (DVD)
Ha ha simply two classic films, steptoe and sonwere, and will always be one of the greatest comedies ever, and these two film versions provide some great classic steptoe moments, from the old man picking up horse muck and eatin his sandwiches, or gettin out of a coffin at his own funeral after falling asleep. Sadly nowadays there are very few comedies in this caliber, and as they say, they dont make em like they used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve, 17 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Steptoe & Son / Steptoe & Son Ride Again [1973] [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant DVD's, you would have to be a moron not to understand the quick fire humour, the gags come thick and fast. Maybe some of it is schoolboy humour but it's a great laugh. There are 10 good laughs in the first few minutes in the first one. It is classic comedy at it's best, coarse, bawdy and brilliantly funny, well written and well acted. Albert and Harold are great foils for each other. Never mind the politics, just enjoy the films for what they are, clever (although dated by todays politically correct prats) and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 23 Feb 2002
By A Customer
From the moment it starts,to the moment it ends, laughter is the key. Great performances from Albert and Harold (and the dog). The site of the "dirty old man" making Harolds sandwiches with a paint brush,had me heaving and laughing at the same time, what more can I say apart from brilliant.
They are sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steptoe & Son / Steptoe & Son Ride Again [1973] [DVD]
11.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews