Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chisum, John Chisum
Although it's perhaps not in the same class as The Searchers or Rio Bravo, this is still one of the Duke's better westerns.

Most of the classic western ingredients are here: broody young gunslingers, stampedes, posses, brawls, wagon trains etc. It's good fun for all ages.

The picture has slight grain and a few speckles in a few scenes. But it...
Published on 19 Oct 2007 by Film Buff

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We've been along this trail before !
This Wayne western is easy to watch and easy to forget. We've been along this trail many a time. Enjoyable as it is - and Wayne is always worth a look whatever he's up to - there's not a lot here that we fans have'nt seen before. Here we have a regular theme, feuding between cattle barons. Not a lot thats new there ! What is new is that Wayne enlists the help of no...
Published on 31 May 2009 by DoDo Fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chisum, John Chisum, 19 Oct 2007
By 
Film Buff (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chisum [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Although it's perhaps not in the same class as The Searchers or Rio Bravo, this is still one of the Duke's better westerns.

Most of the classic western ingredients are here: broody young gunslingers, stampedes, posses, brawls, wagon trains etc. It's good fun for all ages.

The picture has slight grain and a few speckles in a few scenes. But it shouldn't spoil your enjoyment.

In fact, considering the age of the film, the picture quality is probably as good as can be expected with vivid colours and a sharp picture (I suspect a lot of effort went into cleaning it up)

The mono soundtrack is a slight disappointment. As the film's rousing score would have benefited from a 5.1 mix. But it is a good mono mix, with lots going on, clear speech and no hiss or crackles that I noticed.

The extras are minimal, but considering the low price of the DVD and the fact that most of the cast are dead, this is probably nit picking.

Overall, this is a worthwhile purchase for any John Wayne or western fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We've been along this trail before !, 31 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Chisum [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
This Wayne western is easy to watch and easy to forget. We've been along this trail many a time. Enjoyable as it is - and Wayne is always worth a look whatever he's up to - there's not a lot here that we fans have'nt seen before. Here we have a regular theme, feuding between cattle barons. Not a lot thats new there ! What is new is that Wayne enlists the help of no less that Pat Garrett and William Bonny (Billy the kid) to help straighten matters out! Always useful to be in touch with influential people! This is an easy on the eye movie in the the Ford manner, though this one is not directed by him. There's a decent cast too, including of course Ben Johnson whose attendance is almost mandatory in a Wayne western. A couple of the Mitchum boys (sons of Robert) are also credited with minor parts. 'Chisum' is a pleasant, colourful well produced movie that contains all the usual clichés. It's not one of Wayne's best efforts but it's certainly not one of his worst. The film is not in the same league as 'The Searchers' or 'Rio Bravo' and it's a tad on the long side but what the hec - it's the Duke !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars john wanye is super, 29 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Nicholas R. Muller (london england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chisum [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
GREAT FILM HAS MANY FUNNY BITS PLENTY OF /SHOOT UPS/ PUNCH UPS/ PRETTY LADIES/BILLY THE KID/ BASED ON A TRUE STOREY [IN PARTS] VERY GOOD EXTRAS IF YOU LIKE JOHN WAYNE OR A WESTERN LOVER THIS FILM IS FOR YOU TOP MARKS 10 OUT OF 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!!!!!!!!!! NO BAD LANGUAGE, 21 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Chisum [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
great easy watcing even if you are not a cowboy fan good scenery watched its at least 50 times over the past 10 years and will continue to do so its a favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worshipping at the Great Mans Feet!, 31 Aug 2014
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chisum [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
There are times when "Chisum", seems more of an exercise in mythologising John Wayne's place in American culture. The opening credits roll and there sits Wayne frozen like a statue on his horse with a lone pine in the background, the very embodiment of the phrase `providing a monolithic like presence'. Wayne was already assured of western immortality with films like "Stagecoach", "The Searchers", "Red River" and "Rio Bravo". Films that could hardly be bettered! This one doesn't even try, it simply perpetuates the myth! The macho soundtrack narration beats out triumphantly "he still keeps going on", and he sure does, as if immortality beckons, which it did or didn't, depending on whether or not celluloid can be considered a form of immortality. Yup pardner, the Duke rides again!

Loosely based on the Lincoln County War, the writer Andrew J Fenady takes a few liberties with history, but then as John Wayne used to say when told something was inaccurate "Damn it, we're not making a documentary, we're making a movie!" Good point, well made! Chisum, Billy the Kid, Henry Tunstall, Pat Garrett and L G Murphy were all involved in the Lincoln County War, so that is good enough! Wayne once again like Captain America fights tyranny, this time in the form of the very naughty and similarly proportioned Forrest Tucker, where diplomacy once again fails to win hearts and minds. There is gunplay and fisticuffs of course, where matters are sorted out mano a mano. If only the bad guys were so easy to spot in real life! The film ends with a generic western rave ending that will warm the heart of the old genre fan.

The film was made in Durango, Mexico, which Wayne owned most of, and where he was clearly comfortable and in his element. It also happened to look pretty good in William H Clothier's impressive cinematography! Wayne pulling power dragged in an impressive support cast, which gather around the great mans feet. Stalwarts like Ben Johnson, Ray Teal, Hank Worden, John Agar, Pedro Armendariz jr and Bruce Cabot help Wayne feel like it is a home from home experience. Newer faces like Christopher George, Andrew Prine and Geoffrey Deuel provide more lightweight and forgettable support! They simply circle around those two old sparring bulls Tucker and Wayne! The director Andrew V McLaglen knew how to handle the big man and his entourage, not necessarily getting the best from him, but getting the job done to a satisfactory work assured quality standard. Forget about any film of lasting substance, this is pure comfort fodder for western fans, that does to quote a phrase I hate "what it says on the box". There is colour, action, a rip roaring climax and Wayne flexing his ageing muscles. Are you not entertained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Billy the Kid in the Lincoln County War, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Owzat (Cyberspace) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chisum [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
While it was my dad who liked Westerns, and perhaps his over-enthusiasm for rubbish like Red River and even ones I quite like, made me dislike them, they kinda grow on you.

This one I watched again last night, and interested in the story of Billy the Kid read up on him to find out more about the legend. It turns out Chisum is essentially a story about Billy the Kid as much as John Wayne's character. If you read up on Billy the Kid you'll find John Tunstall, John Chisum, Alex McSween, Pat Garrett, Jess Evans and a whole list of characters that appear in Chisum.

It's the story of a rancher who wants to avoid trouble, but a rival called Murphy is trying to achieve a monopoly of properties and businesses in the area. Murphy employs dirty tactics against Chisum's horses and cattle, provoking action including Tunstall and Chisum setting up business.

William Bonney is under the employ of Tunstall, and so in comes the story of Billy the Kid, maybe not true to the real story, but certainly still entertaining. I won't divulge any more of it, just to say it is typical John Wayne and a shame in a way the title doesn't reflect what most of it covers.

So basically enjoyable John Wayne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chisum, John Chisum!, 25 Nov 2010
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chisum [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Chisum is directed by Andrew McLaglen, written & produced by Andrew J. Fenady, and stars John Wayne, Forrest Tucker, Ben Johnson, Geoffrey Deuel, Bruce Cabot, Andrew Prine & Richard Jaeckel. Primary location for the shoot was at Durango in Mexico; with William H. Clothier photographing, and Dominic Frontiere provides the musical score.

Film is very loosely based on events and characters from the Lincoln County War of 1878 in New Mexico Territory. Which involved such characters like Pat Garrett, Billy the Kid, John Tunstall, Alexander McSween and others.

Hollywoodisation of the Lincoln County War and Billy the Kid mythology, Chisum is a fun and colourful movie. Tho not necessarily a John Wayne movie. Wayne may be the draw card here, and sure enough the political leanings of the narrative and iconography of the lead character; point to it being a big Duke Wayne vehicle. Yet he's very much just an ensemble character, even on the periphery of things as the multi plot strands weave in and out of the story. But the film survives not over using the big man thanks to McLagen's brisk direction and Clothier's superb capturing of the Durango vistas. The cast have fun, and thankfully the big action pay off at the finale is well worth waiting for (cattle stampede-hooray!).

Big and brash for sure, even hokey into the bargain, but undeniably great entertainment for the undemanding Western fan. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome JW Western, 9 Aug 2000
This review is from: Chisum [VHS] [1970] (VHS Tape)
A must see! A truly classic western --A JW classic in every respect from the non stop action , a fine cast --check out the actors -wow , to the amazing Elmer Bernstein musical score. it aint a crime to be good to yourself --buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chisum [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Wayne/Johnson classic., 26 Jun 2014
By 
BarryRM18 (West Yorkshire/Philippines) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chisum [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
A bit of fuddled history, but a good story, with all the usual Wayne elements. Johnson's muttering character is a belter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chisum [DVD] [1970]
Chisum [DVD] [1970] by Andrew V. McLaglen (DVD - 2003)
5.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews