Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once it gets going - outstanding!
I recently moved house and was looking for something to entertain me whilst without tv coverage (long story). I have already quite a few tv series (including The Wire, Sopranos, 24, Firefly) and so was not too hopeful of finding something else as entertaining, thinking I'd already seen the good stuff.

I had read a lot of the reviews here, saying how great The...
Published on 10 July 2007 by Mr P

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Er, it isnt The Wire.
I was recommended this by a friend as I was a fan of the Wire. There are broad similarities but the acting is pretty poor and the story-lines are unrealistic. Not my cup of tea.
Published on 26 Feb 2009 by W. Ridout


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once it gets going - outstanding!, 10 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I recently moved house and was looking for something to entertain me whilst without tv coverage (long story). I have already quite a few tv series (including The Wire, Sopranos, 24, Firefly) and so was not too hopeful of finding something else as entertaining, thinking I'd already seen the good stuff.

I had read a lot of the reviews here, saying how great The Shield is, but I was under the impression that this was more of a CSI type show with one episode storylines, rather than a 'proper' series like The Wire, where the story advances through each episode. I am a big fan of The Wire by the way.

I was wrong to dismiss The Shield..

It is true that each episode deals with a different sub plot, eg a murder, but each episode also advances the overall story arc, and will go back to earlier stories and give further developments. Perhaps more importantly each episode also fleshes out the characters in the show.

In amongst all the action and gritty violence and dodgy dealings and stress and heroism that goes on in this cop show, you really start to learn about the characters, and care about them, to a degree that really surprised me. This is proper drama, with action. You won't get bored.....apart from perhaps in the first couple of episodes which seemed slow to me as they basically just set up the series.

Once it gets going, you won't want to stop watching. I have had a fair few late nights staying up..just to watch one more episode...and then another...

The end of the Series is great.

I am now into Series 2 and can attest to it being brilliant also, since I stayed up after midnight last night watching it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tension-filled action show, 9 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
When I first read about the Shield, I figured that the idea of a more gritty, violent police drama that "pushed the boundaries" was simply a way to get more sex and violence on tv. It's not exactly a massive leap, is it? Therefore, I didn't really bother with the show until I caught the start of the season 1 finale and decided to give it a chance.
I wasn't disappointed. The big wad of 'previously on' at the start was a good sign that this wasn't a cop show which liked to wrap everything up in 60 minutes a la CSI. In fact, at times it seems to go out of its way not to wrap everything up.
Anyway, back to the DVD. It contains all 13 episodes of season 1, which is a very good season. I can't really highlight any 'key' episodes because they're all of pretty much the same quality, and almost all contain character development. Obviously because of the nature of the show Vic Mackey is the central character, gets the most time on screen and is probably concentrated on in articles and reviews, but him being a 'bad cop' isn't what makes this show good. What makes this show good is the writing - all the characters are deep and fairly complex. For instance, Vic Mackey isn't a 'bad cop'. He breaks the rules and he does bad things, but it is all wrought from the desire to do good (and make money on top of that). Which is why Mackey's battle with Captain David Aceveda is so interesting throughout season one. Vic Mackey is doing the wrong things for the right reasons, while David Aceveda is doing the right things for the wrong reasons. He doesn't want to nail Mackey because he believes Mackey is a bad cop and wants him off the street, he wants to nail Mackey because it will help his political career. I really find the moral undertones of the show interesting - it doesn't judge anybody, instead leaving the viewer to analyze the situation. Perhaps the best character of the bunch is 'Dutch', a homicide detective who yearns for the respect of others. He is a very cerebral detective, using psychology to catch and interrogate criminals. In an early episode, he picks up on an attack on a prostitute and tries to prove that the attack was part of a serial killer on the loose. Flash forward a couple of episodes and it turns out he was right. Stories and guest characters are frequently brought back throughout the season.
The boxset really is very impressive. While elsewhere people might just be content to stick the episodes on DVD with a few extras, The Shield includes a commentary on every episode and plenty of deleted scenes. The commentaries are fairly varied, ranging from humourous banter to more in-depth discussion. The Shield's creator, Shawn Ryan, commentates on most of the episode and is usually joined by at least three other members of the crew. It really seems as though they got anyone who ever worked on the show to do a commentary - one of the episodes is commentated on by the cameramen and director of filmography, while another is commentated on purely by the team of writers. The cast members also put in their fair share of commentary.
At the risk of sounding like some cop show addict (yes, my two favourite shows of the moment are both cop dramas), this comes highly reccommended if you're a fan of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grant Mitchell...on a bad day... on steroids....with a badge, 20 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I will not argue with the other reviews here. This is a 5 star product from beginning to end. Everyone who sees it seems to love it- but why?
The first and main reason is Michael Chiklis who plays the anti-hero cop (Vic Mackey) who stars in the show. Resembling a squatter Grant Mitchell, this cop is unlike anything you have seen before. As head of the local "strike force" he likes to "bust the ass" of any criminal who gets in his way. This is not always so that the public are safe (unless children or police are threatened at which point he becomes very upset), but mainly so that he can continue to get rid of crime his own way- that is by what could be described as managing the risk. He decides who deals the drugs, which prostitutes can ply their trade etc. Anyone who does not fit in with his management plan pays the price.
Drug dealers/ rappers involved in a turf war? Vic grabs them, locks them in a container and sees who kills who first (why get his own hands dirty?)Drug dealer not lying low when ordered to do so by Vic? He gets rid of them, authorizing a rival to deal on that patch instead-"I am your boss" he tells a dealer.The dealer does not argue.Internal affairs probe by an undercover cop? Vic simply shoots him in the head- no longer a problem.
Whilst he is a psychopathic man of 2 characters (the bad cop, but loving father), he is a real anti- hero. You actually want him to carry on being successful in his dirty deeds. The character surprises you and it is not until episode four that you see he is sometimes a real man of principle("Vic Mackay cannot be bought" he says when a rap star offers him a large lump sum) in his own, slightly deluded way.
It is rare that you want the bad guy to win so much,but you do here, which is testament to the writing and acting.
A classic moment- when pursuing a criminal along an alley, the criminal reaches a wooden fence and scrambles up over it. Vic does not bother- he runs straight through it! Nothing stops him when on a rampage.
Aside from Vic, all performances are top notch and the gritty storylines are brilliant. With all those hookers, dealers and gang bangers this is more Boys in the Hood than Hill Street Blues so be prepared.
The box set contains all season 1 episodes, commentary on each by the main cast and half a disc of extras which are great for fans.
Buy, Buy , Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant., 7 May 2004
By 
F.Dawson (huddersfield,england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
i caught this on channel 5 as i had seen this programme being advertised in a magazine,so i thought i would look out for it and give it a watch.from day one i was completely hooked and could not wait for the next enthralling episode.at last a made for t.v. series that reflects real life,everything about this programme is class...exellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High octane entertainment, 2 July 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I must confess that I have not seen this DVD but have seen the entire first series on TV, and yes I have pre ordered the DVD. What can I say about the Shield other than it is one of the toughest, roughest and entertaining shows currently on TV. The first episode is excellent and throughout the series it is edge of the seat stuff. There are so many twists, turns and near escapes for the Strike Team, and each time you think to yourself "Man that is very cool". If I was a cop, then this is the kind of cop I would like to be. The characters have depth and each has their own demons which often cross the line between personal life and professional life. The stories are well written, well acted and even though each episode is a stand alone episode, there are stories that span the entire first series and no doubt will resurface in the next. If you like Homicide: Life on the Streets then this is a must buy and at under 30 for the entire first series, all I can say is ORDER IT NOW !!!! Long live the Strike Team !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Gripping TV Drama Ever, 18 May 2006
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I bought season 1 of The Shield based purely on the rave reviews I read online. I'm so glad I gave it a chance as it is probably the best drama to ever come out of the US. The Shield is set in the crime ridden streets of Farmington, Los Angeles from the point of view of cops working out of a satellite police station called 'the barn'. The main character, Vic Mackey is the head of an anti-gang unit, The Strike Team. Vic and his teams corrupt, amoral behaviour is contrasted niceley by Dutch and Claudette, two experienced detectives who prefer to go by the book. The whole Barn is under the command of Captain David Aceveda who has his own political agenda to worry about.

The Shield really absorbs the viewer as Vic and his team murder, steal and broker drug deals as a means to try and remove the scumbags from the streets of Farmington. Although Vics actions are shocking you still find yourself rooting for him as he juggles supporting a family he loves with avoiding being taken down by Aceveda and trying to stay alive on the streets.

The Shield has strong scripts, good direction and great characters and you will not be dissapointed after paying less than 15 for so much entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic DVD set to go with fantastic tv series., 24 April 2005
This review is from: The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
One word pretty much sums this show up, wow. It keeps you interested and gripped from the very first scene and takes you on a rollercoaster ride of both action and emotion from there. It was a very brave risk of the writers to take the kind of anti-heroes and make them into not only credable but very likeable characters yet it paid off, something which has not really beeen successfully pulled off since The Sopranos first appeared on our screens.
The commentaries on all 13 episodes give you a greater insight into the show and the minds of both the actors and the writers and creator. Another aspect of the show which I love is the ambivilence of it, meaning that it can work on so many levels and that you can view it as simply a cop show yet you can also view it as a way of showing the very fine line which many of us walk every day and how different people deal with it.
If you enjoyed the gritiness of films such as The French Connection then you will love The Shield. In short I greatly encourage you to buy this DVD set; as well as the following two seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ive seen every U.S series, 19 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is the best of all of them. Fast paced, funny and shocking it has everything and more. Micheal Chilkis as Vic Mackie puts in a brilliant performance from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed Reviews Below - In Summary:, 9 July 2008
By 
C. Perry "Flying Dutchman" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
1. Consistent high quality script.
2. Satisfyingly complex plot lines.
3. Great character definition.
4. Super duper acting.
5. Every episode gets you involved by making you think: "What would I do in that position?"
6. Like 24 did - this grips you like a page turning thriller.

GO BUY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST EVER ON TV, 20 Jun 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Nothing ever made - be it for TV or the big screen - is as intensive, realistic and brilliant as this cop show. Michael Chiklis's character even make Dirty Harry look like a whimp. Most of his actions are highly illegal - sometimes even just as bad as the criminals he tracks down. And still you can root for this character. Each episode contributes to the storyline, there are no "senseless" episodes as in other series. In fact every episode is crucial even for all the other seasons. All the characters can easily compete with Oscar-winning Hollywood stars. The stories are simply brilliant and well thought-through. There is so much happening, the Strike Team is targeted from all sides, giving the show a unique atmosphere and more suspense than anything I have seen before. THE BEST YOU CAN BUY ON DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003]
The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003] by Stephen Gyllenhaal (DVD - 2003)
9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews