Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just goes to show....
Yep, this boxset, and the rest of Will Hay's films go to prove that the man was an absolute comic genius. Although these are probably his most famous films. I don't actually believe there is a bad film in this set, my personnal fave is 'Oh, Mr Porter', but the rest are close on it's heals. Well worth every penny. I notice now that this set has undergone a design change,...
Published on 5 Feb 2007 by mr_inferno

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few classics among this collection
My top three Will Hay films among this collection are 'Oh Mr Porter', Convict 99 and Windbag the sailor in that order. The picture quality is ok, and the sound, well you can hear it. The packaging is poor, especially the box the DVD collection sits inside. The DVD's are in proper DVD cases, but there is no booklet or print inside the cases, just plain white background...
Published on 10 Jun 2011 by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just goes to show...., 5 Feb 2007
This review is from: The Will Hay Collection [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
Yep, this boxset, and the rest of Will Hay's films go to prove that the man was an absolute comic genius. Although these are probably his most famous films. I don't actually believe there is a bad film in this set, my personnal fave is 'Oh, Mr Porter', but the rest are close on it's heals. Well worth every penny. I notice now that this set has undergone a design change, i.e all the films are now in a gatefold sleeve - no matter, this does not deter from the brilliant humour within, buy it and enjoy an afternoon of solid British humour, the Will Hay way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars aaaay aaaaay oaaayyy!, 24 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: The Will Hay Collection [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
Will Hay was without question one of the best music hall and film comedians of his time.
In these heady days of easycome-easygo humour, it is easy to forget that good comedy has been around for a long long time. I doubt your average 20+yrs old would come across, or wish to see, this sort of black and white film humour; but what a little gem they will be missing.
Look beyond the the black and white footage, the dated topics of converstion and you see a rich tapestry of wit and timeless humour.
Will Hay has the timing of a comic genious, and his two sidekicks
are equally brilliant.
Oh Mr Porter is considered a classic of it's time and I wouldn't argue with that. It does get a little slow towards the end but is more than madeup for by the beginning.
There is no swearing, no violence, no innuendo, just a brilliant script and great acting.
Will Hay made several great films; probabaly the best are Oh Mr Porter, Old Bones, Boys will be Boys, Good Morning Boys and Where's the fire. Some are a bit too long and loose a little on plot, but some idividual scenes are 'diamonds'. If you are not sure about buying the whole set, maybe buy one of the ones I recommend and see if you enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Will Hay Collection [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
Brought back memories of Saturday afternoons watching TV as a lad.

Will Hay still doesn't disappoint.

Ideal for watching on a long winters day in front of a roaring fire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Will Hey Masterpiece, 17 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This is one of Will Hay's finest films. Hay is excellent in his role as the station master, playing his usual incompetant role. Harbottle and Albert seen to get better in Will Hay films the older and fatter they get (respectively), and they're old and fat in this little beauty! Gun running, train crashes and a funny man with a squeeky voice - It's all here. Miles a head of it's time and all together a top film! Buy it, and all the rest of the Will Hay films right now, they will change your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars b&w nostalgia on tap, 14 Aug 2007
By 
Gary J. Clark "garyjclark" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Will Hay Collection [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
I first saw Will Hay films when I was about 10 (circa. 1980) when they used to show old B&W comedies on TV (the likes of George Formby, Mother Riley, Norman Wisdom, Abbott & Costello, etc). I saw them all again about ten years ago and pleased to find that the years hadn't made the trio of Hays, Marriott and Moffat any less amusing, have been watching them repeatedly ever since.

"Oh Mr. Porter" and "Ask a Policeman" are amongst the very best of British comedies, and must certainly be two of the best pre-war British films. Unfortunately, without Marriott/Moffat, Will Hay isn't half as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Hay pure genius..., 20 April 2004
This review is from: The Will Hay Collection [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
Timeless Comedy, much better than the modern dross that is constantlypumped down our Throats.
My 2 Daughters (aged 16 & 9) both find theseFilms excellent entertainment & would watch them over & over again..
Mynext purchases will be some Norman Wisdom & George Formby Films, got tokeep the spirit alive for the enjoyment of future generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Hay at his most bungling best!, 20 Dec 2000
By 
steve.holt@zoom.co.uk (Bury. Lancashire England.) - See all my reviews
Sit back and switch off your mobile phone and step back in time to the classic age of the 1930s. Will Hay and his two station hands set out to find the missing train carrying the Buggleskelly Wednesday football team. What happens next is a sheer delight and is ninety minutes of nostalgic fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh!Mr.Porter!What shall we do?.....WATCH THIS FILM!, 9 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Will Hay is the genius of his time..comedy at it's best shows how such a film can never be made again.Will Hay plays bumbling railway worker William Porter who is appointed as stationmaster at Buggleskelly station-in a remote part of Ireland!..Naturally things don't go well from the start.Moore Marriot and Graham Moffat play the incompetant staff Harbottle and Albert who steal goods from customers and from passing trains....as things get going,Porter meets the man they call one eyed Joe and after an excursion goes missing-Porter,Albert and Harbottle go on a wild goose chase to look for the missing train...along with their engine-Gladstone. With probably the most famous train scene ever the three bumbling fools embark on keeping the gun-runners onboard....will they succeed?Watch and Find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 15 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. N. Haynes "Stern" (Blighty) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Will Hay Collection [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant, and thanks to Carlton for transferring these classics onto DVD giving me the first chance to revisit them since watching them on telly in school holidays.
Hay, Marriott and Moffatt are three of the funniest character actors I've ever seen and amazingly these films haven't aged a bit. My only concern is why some of his other classics didn't make the list. Are there any plans for the Ghost of St Michael's to be released on DVD too?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic hilarious comedy with its cast on top form., 7 May 2002
Someone once said that there was hardly a dud scene in the whole film, and few would disagree. From the hilarious opening when we see Hay as a wheel tapper to the final chase, it never falters. Age has not diminished its quality and freshness and Hay, Marriott and Moffatt are on top form. The film has something for everyone. A gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Will Hay Collection [DVD] [1938]
The Will Hay Collection [DVD] [1938] by William Beaudine (DVD - 2003)
£34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews