Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nail-biting thriller to keep all the family entertained!
This is the story of a catholic monsignor (Hugh O'Flaherty) who risks his life and jepordises the Vatican in his battle to hide escaped POWs in Nazi occupied Rome.
Based on a true story, this film shows the dedication and courage of one man to do what he believes is right - no matter what!
Gregory Peck gives a fantastic performance as the feisty Irish Monsignor,...
Published on 19 Aug. 2001 by linz1969@aol.com

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read the book
I guess a movie maker can only fit a certain amount into
2 hours of film.The movie solely focuses on O'Flaherty.
There is an awful lot of facts and characters
that were part of the escape line missing from this movie
Gregory peck plays the monsignor well,
but for a real insight into the exploits of Hugh O'Flaherty
the The vatican Pimpernal by...
Published on 22 Aug. 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars General chat, 16 Feb. 2010
By 
Bootsie (West Byfleet, Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
Knowing the TRUE story and KNOWING Hollywood - but still - all-in-all a very enjoyable film enacted by very good actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful film, 3 Dec. 2011
By 
A. E. Grissen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
I remeber seeing this film ages ago, when I was still a little girl. I recently watched it again, and there were some scenes I still remembered so well. It apparently made a huge impression on me.
It is the story of Monsignor Hugh O'Flaherty (played by Gregory Peck) and chief of the Gestapo in Rome colonel Kappler (played by Christopher Plummer). The monsignor helps all kinds of people who need a safe place to stay, allied soldiers, escaped prisoners of war etc. and colonel Kappler tries to capture them and later also the Monsignor. He even gives the order that the priest will be captured or even killed if he is seen outside the walls of the Vatican.
Although the film was made a couple of years ago (somewhere in the eighties, I think) it is still very beautiful and excitingThe battle of wits between the colonel and the Monsignor is funny, but it also keeps you on the edge of your seat. The end is moving and beautiful.
I am very glad to have this film in my collection now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War Story of the Vatican, 22 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
The story portrayed in this DVD is true tale of a brave Irish Catholic priest, Monsignor Hugh O'Flaherty who saved thousands of Jewish people and refugee Allied POW's during the occupation of Rome by the Nazi's. There are some fine actors, Gregory Peck as the Monsignor, Christopher Plummer as the SS Head of Police for Rome, Colonel Kappler, Sir John Gielgud as Pope Pius XII and many more. There is very little bloodshed shown, the cat and mouse game played between the Catholic priest and the Nazi Colonel is the prominent theme. The risks taken and bravery shown by Monsignor O'Flaherty was immense and was cheered on by me, the arrogance of Colonel Kappler (and of all the Nazi's) enough to make one want to throw the television remote at the screen. A good story of a sad time in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic tale of heroism and love, 3 May 2011
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
This story must rate amongst the greatest ever told. What possesses a man to continually put his life on the line for others, even though he risks bringing into disrepute everything he (seemingly) stands for. He sees his nearest friends murdered by a tyrant who then, when all is lost, asks him for the very thing which (seemingly) he cannot give.The ending of this film is as astonishing as the fact that everything portrayed really took place.
There is no greater love a man can have then to give his life to save another.
Outstanding performances all round but because of the subject matter it must be downgraded and forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long And Involving, 15 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
This movie runs for some 2hrs 15 mins, and draws the viewer steadily in. At first, it seems rather superficial, and the characters two-dimensional. It was actually made for TV and looks like it. But with time, it weaves a fascinating spell.

An ageing Gregory Peck plays the turbulent priest. Christopher Plummer embraces the nazism he sang himself into isolation from in `The Sound Of Music'. He's equally persuasive in this role. Angel-faced John Guilgud makes an excellent Pope Pius VII.

There are some fine, if somewhat gloomy location takes of Rome. It looks deliberate, as if to represent the threat of evil hanging over the grandest human endeavour. The tale is a cat-and-mouse thriller that becomes ever more taut. Script is adequate if not inspiring (it's no `Man For All Seasons'). Supporting cast is about the same. Editing occasionally seems a bit chopped, with some abrupt scene changes.

But for me, the real let-down is the music. With Ennio Morricone listed in the credits I was expecting a tour-de-force. Just listen to his work on `Fistful Of Dynamite', `The Thing', `Once Upon A Time In The West' and his magnum opus `The Mission' - also about the Catholic church. He is a composer who can both interpret the big picture as surely as the most intimate moments. But here - well... he scores a basic martial riff as simplistic as that of an ungifted child. It's tinny, repetitive and completely uninvolving. A huge opportunity was missed. This good movie could have been great. The poor score is mostly why I've docked a star.

The DVD is of decent quality with few extras. You get straight into the movie - which is what I like. You won't be disappointed at the price.

This is one of 2 movies purchased as a batch before Christmas. They went missing. To Amazon's credit they replaced them without the least hassle by first-class post. Full marks to them for trying to provide a top-drawer service. Though even the first-class post replacement took 10 days to arrive! So now all we need is a new postal service!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read the book, 22 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
I guess a movie maker can only fit a certain amount into
2 hours of film.The movie solely focuses on O'Flaherty.
There is an awful lot of facts and characters
that were part of the escape line missing from this movie
Gregory peck plays the monsignor well,
but for a real insight into the exploits of Hugh O'Flaherty
the The vatican Pimpernal by Brian Flemming is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life in Primary Colours!, 16 May 2012
By 
P. Worthington (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
A Vatican Monsignor is pitted against the Gestapo Chief of Rome.
Surely the 'Black' (Gestapo Officer) will win but the 'Scarlet' (Irish Priest)
is not afraid to take him on.

With rocklike determination Monsignor Hugh O'Flaherty shows the courage,
resourcefullness and compassion of a true hero and servant of
the Catholic Church.

Above all Hugh proves a defender not only of POWs but all who are
imprisoned by the chains of war.

This is a film you can count on to enlarge one's vision of the meaning of valour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monsignor Hugh O'Flaherty, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
A great film about a wonderful man of God who took huge risks to rescue 6,500? people in Rome during WW11.
The film captured the enormous energy and faith of this awesome man.
He was so inspirational and motivated so many other wonderful people and I have a very strong sense of him being the right man in the right place at the right time.
This is definitely one of the films which leave you with a sense that truth is very definitely stranger than fiction!
The book about Monsignor O'Flaherty by Brian Fleming is also a superb read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars redhandfan, 7 April 2011
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
Seen this film when I was a teenager and thought of it non stop this year. Decided to see if I could get it on dvd and yes I received it quickly from Amazon. although it was filmed in the 80' I still loved it as it a true story of Monsignor Hugh O'Flaherty who I would describe as a saint and I hope some day will be canonized for his good work in saving so many lives whether it was Jewish, English or French, American or any resistance fighters lives. It reminds me that good can overcome evil and how many of us would risk our lives to save others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fine performances based on a true story, 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
One man's singlehanded and bold success story at saving POWs in WW2. An Irish Priest in the Vatican in 1943 is almost thwarted by the Gestapo who occupy Rome. It becomes an edge of your seat performance of cat and mice tactics between Gregory Peck as Monsignor O'Flaherty and Christopher Plummer's Col. Kappler. If the Priest is spotted outside the Vatican walls he is ordered to be captured or killed. Based on a true story the plot is captivating and convincing and shows one man's courage and heroicism in the face of adversity and danger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Scarlet And The Black [DVD]
The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] by Jerry London (DVD - 2003)
£4.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews