Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nail-biting thriller to keep all the family entertained!
This is the story of a catholic monsignor (Hugh O'Flaherty) who risks his life and jepordises the Vatican in his battle to hide escaped POWs in Nazi occupied Rome.
Based on a true story, this film shows the dedication and courage of one man to do what he believes is right - no matter what!
Gregory Peck gives a fantastic performance as the feisty Irish Monsignor,...
Published on 19 Aug 2001 by linz1969@aol.com

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read the book
I guess a movie maker can only fit a certain amount into
2 hours of film.The movie solely focuses on O'Flaherty.
There is an awful lot of facts and characters
that were part of the escape line missing from this movie
Gregory peck plays the monsignor well,
but for a real insight into the exploits of Hugh O'Flaherty
the The vatican Pimpernal by...
Published on 22 Aug 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watches, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
Watched and thoroughly enjoyed it. Will view again Pity the world is not always like this This is my sort of story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 22 Nov 2012
By 
J. Whitehead (Basingstoke, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
When I watched this film for the first time I had no idea this was based on a true story. It's a remarkable tale of a brave and honourable man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film., 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
Very happy with this. Very cheap & in my opinion it is one of the greatest films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awe-inspiring timeless classic, 25 May 2007
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
This is an awe-inspiring timeless classic. I love this movie in more ways than one. It is not only based on a true story, it is one that fills you with courage, hope and a sense of triumph. Set in Rome in 1943, during the German occupation , it tells the story of the courageous Irish priest - Monsignor Hugh O' Flaherty (played by Gregory Peck), who defied all threats (death, capture, imprisonment) by the Nazis especially the Chief Gestapo officer Col Herbert Kappler(played by Christopher Plummer) to save many allied POWs. He put in every resource at his disposal in hiding these escapees. The Vatican was diplomatically immune form the German occupation, because of this, Kappler and his men could not touch the monsignor, but when Kappler uncovers proof of O'Flaherty's involvement he orders that he be killed or arrested if seen outside the Vatican walls. O'Flaherty became more ingenious in devising ways to carry out his task - he wore many disguises, - a true reflection of the title - `The Scarlet pimpernel of the Vatican' (the book on which the movie is based). What I like best about this movie is that the good guys were always wining and outsmarting the bad guys and not just the triumph of good over evil in the end. The priest gave the Nazis a run for their money. Gregory Peck and Christopher Plummer are both screen legends and they gave life to these characters in a way that only such icons could. John Gielgud also stares as the Pope. Reflecting on the overall suffering and horror of the 2nd world war, this movie goes a long way in restoring hope and confidence in the power of goodness, courage and forgiveness. The Monsignor had all of this and more. His goodness knew no bounds, neither did he judge others. In the end even Kappler approached him for help and he gave it unreservedly. This movie is very inspiring and is one that you will watch over and over again. I am just glad that it is on DVD for all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read the book, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
I guess a movie maker can only fit a certain amount into
2 hours of film.The movie solely focuses on O'Flaherty.
There is an awful lot of facts and characters
that were part of the escape line missing from this movie
Gregory peck plays the monsignor well,
but for a real insight into the exploits of Hugh O'Flaherty
the The vatican Pimpernal by Brian Flemming is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
Everything was well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
quick delivery - a good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "To Serve And Protect", 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
The role of the Vatican during WWII remains even today somewhat controversial - despite all that has been said and the inevitable confusion caused by none of us actually having been present there during the events portrayed, this film is thankfully sure of foot and has deftly stepped between opposing factions to portry a true story in a credible light.

Gregory Peck plays an individual that obeys his conscience over the orders of his Church superiors and the occupying Germans, which at times exposes him to great personal dangers. Monsignor Hugh O'Flaherty is shown as a man of great integrity, courage and intelligence. You might not like the Vatican or it's members, the Third Reich, or even Gregory Peck, yet to observe a man of dignity conducting himself so calmly and even-handedly is to my mind precisely where religion was meant to lead us.

The ending is emotional and (dare I say it) an example of real love ? It brought to my mind the ending of the battle of Malta and the subsequent position of the Italian Navy. American Police cars used to have 'To Serve And Protect' emblazoned upon the bodywork, I couldn't put it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Scarlet and the Black DVD, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent true story set in World War 2 set in the Vatican. My 11 year old grandson thoroughly enjoyed it too. It has moments of amusement as well as tragedy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Scarlet and the Black, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] (DVD)
I chose this DVD because it's an outstanding film.
I have seen it many times and decided I had to own
it myself. I would reccomend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Scarlet And The Black [DVD]
The Scarlet And The Black [DVD] by Jerry London (DVD - 2003)
4.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews