Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Depends on the person!!
I may be the first to admit, but having played through the entireity of both Black + White games I found that although it has it's flaws BW2 really grew on me with time.

OK, so the actual gameplay was disappointingly short, but once you've completed it you can really appreciate the other things. The BEAUTIFULLY crafted landscapes. The sensual + brilliant...
Published on 16 Mar 2008 by Mr. C. D. Illsley

versus
107 of 112 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One step forwards, two steps back.
Black and White 2 is certainly a good deal more attractive than its predecessor but, by contrast, it feels like the underlying game has suffered a good deal as a result.
Let's start with the best part: the graphics. Black and White 2 is certainly pretty, with impressive landscapes that you can view both up close (complete with grass that you can brush aside with...
Published on 3 Mar 2006


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 112 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One step forwards, two steps back., 3 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Black & White 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Black and White 2 is certainly a good deal more attractive than its predecessor but, by contrast, it feels like the underlying game has suffered a good deal as a result.
Let's start with the best part: the graphics. Black and White 2 is certainly pretty, with impressive landscapes that you can view both up close (complete with grass that you can brush aside with your godly hand) and from a long, long way away. The creatures are all unique and quite loveable in their own way (I'm particularly fond of the cow), and will take on a more good or evil appearance depending on how you raise them. The various sparkles, miracle effects, buildings and such also look rather nice; in particular, the volcano miracle is certainly a joy to behold. On the whole, you really can't fault the game's looks.
So what went wrong? The biggest and easiest thing to point out is the distinct lack of play options. There is the single player campaign... and that's it. No multiplayer, no skirmish mode against AI gods, no sandbox mode and, just to rub salt into the wound, there isn't even a difficulty option for the campaign -- so, once you've beaten it (and it is incredibly easy to beat), there really isn't anything else to do. Six months after release and there's still no sign of any modding tools, which might have helped increase the longevity slightly. Not great value for money.
Black and White 2 makes a big deal out of letting you play as good or evil: "Be a god of war or a god of peace." The problem is that neither approach is particularly satisfying. When taking the "peace" approach, you build up your town in order to "impress" the nearby neutral villages. Sadly, this approach feels like a poor-man's version of SimCity. When taking the "war" approach, you take neutral villages by force and use your armies to overwhelm the enemy, and this approach makes the game feel like a particularly poor real-time strategy game, especially because there are so few unit types -- soldiers, archers and catapults, and that's it. The enemy AI doesn't help here either, being entirely predictable and extremely unchallenging as it is content to simply send wave after wave of its brainless troops to their deaths at the hands of your army/creature.
The creature also seems more "robotic" now, in that the activities it can perform are listed within one of the game's menus. It looks like a sequence of on/off switches; to flip a switch to "on" (i.e. to encourage it do perform that activity), you stroke the creature; to flip a switch to "off", you slap the creature. There doesn't seem to be any of the teaching by demonstration that there was in the first game, where you could get your creature to learn miracles or activities by performing them within its gaze. This feeling is compounded by the fact that you buy "upgrades" for the creatures to enable it to do things like water crops, throw fireballs, etc.
Despite negative feedback from the first game, the second game still features the same (unskippable, although the huge patches fix this) style of tutorial; namely, one which treats the player like a simpleton. "Well done, you've moved the camera to the right," the advisor notifies you, "...now let's move it to the left!" Meanwhile, a number of important game concepts that are considerably less obvious are completely ignored, both by the built-in tutorials and the game's manual.
The tutorial also introduces you to the somewhat inaccurate controls, whereby you'll try to click on something (either to pick up a particular object, or simply to move/rotate the camera around a given point), only to realise that the game thinks you've clicked in a different spot. This results in the tutorial becoming upset and treating you like even more of an idiot or, later in the game, the wrong objects ending up carried in your hand, which can become highly frustrating.
And, of course, the game's graphics come at a cost; you'll need a decent machine to play the game acceptably. In particular, ensure that your graphics card supports pixel shader 1.1, as the game won't run at all without it. A number of users have also complained of performance issues when using GeForce 6600/6800 cards, and to my knowledge these issues are still unresolved.
There are persistent rumours of an upcoming expansion for the game, and perhaps the best advice I can give is to wait for it to be released before deciding whether to purchase this title. At the moment it feels incomplete and underwhelming, and you'll probably end up wishing that you'd waited for the game and its expansion to be bundled together at a lower price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but far from great..., 24 Oct 2005
This review is from: Black & White 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I had great hopes that this would overcome some of the shortages in the original B&W. And in a lot of ways it does this, but at a great cost - we've actually lost a lot of the originality from the original game and we're left with a much more highly scripted game with a severely flawed AI.
The creature is still one of the main attractions to the game, but while we've gained the ability to tell what he's thinking at any point in the game (which prevents him picking up bad habits we didn't notice), we've lost any notion of creativity and surprise from the creature.
The largest flaw in the game in my opinion is the various AI. The enemies you face seem to be almost entirely scripted - they throw troops at you in the same, mindless way every time - if you then build a wall or something similar to prevent one of these scripted attacks, they just give up! You can then happily build up your city and basically ignore the enemy until you wish to attack, or win by influence (you can win a land by building a larger city).
Further, the troops your create and your creature seem entirely unable to navigate effectively - if there's a closed gate house in the way - they'll be unable to pass (which means you have to run around opening and closing doors for them) - and the number of times my creature got stuck in between some buildings had me tearing my hair out: "You're four times the size of the house, step over it!!". And at some point you'll watch your creature be killed by some archers while he stands there thinking about what to do with them while you scream "Throw a fireball!" and throw your mouse across the room.
All in all, the deficits in the AI and the monotonously scripted lands make this a disappointment. Although I still hope that Lionhead fix the problems and make what could be an astounding game rather than give up on the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Depends on the person!!, 16 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. C. D. Illsley "chris_illsley" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Black & White 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I may be the first to admit, but having played through the entireity of both Black + White games I found that although it has it's flaws BW2 really grew on me with time.

OK, so the actual gameplay was disappointingly short, but once you've completed it you can really appreciate the other things. The BEAUTIFULLY crafted landscapes. The sensual + brilliant soundtrack score. The pleasure of watching a villager progress from infant, to adult, to the retirement home.

Lionhead games have never really been about 'completing the game', they were about appreciating the little things along the way, but if you are the sought of person who blitzes through games just to get to the end then this isn't the sought of game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas but disappointing execution. Again., 13 Oct 2005
By 
DJ Timmins (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black & White 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
First thing you should do if you get this game is go to the Lionhead website and download the patch. Version 1.1 is NOT compatible with the out-of-the-box savegames so if you play before patching you will have to start over again if you ever patch the game. Hopefully later patches will be compatible with the boxed version of the game but no guarantees.
Graphics are fantastic! Unfortunately, gameplay is not. Controls are okay but you will be forced to sit through tutorials that are literally at the level of a four-year-old. You can't skip or fast-forward through the tutorials once they've started and there's no way of knowing the content of tutorials before you start them, so be prepared to be annoyed if you've played B&W1. The patch allows you to skip the movement tutorial but there are others throughout the game that you must play if you want the maximum amount of tribute.
Playing is good is boring - being nice to your people keeps them happy but doesn't progress you in the game any more. You can't throw trees around to impress them - they just don't care. To progress, you need to play a poorly implemented version of sim-city, building up the impressiveness of your city with pretty buildings and the good miracles are limited. Playing evil is a little better but this time you're playing a poorly implemented version of an RTS with difficult and limited army controls and poor AI. I had a troupe of archers lined up on my city wall. I told them to attack the ground troops on the other side of the wall and, instead of staying where they were and firing down, they climbed off the wall, stood behind it and fired arrows over the wall to hit the enemy.
The creature is slightly cooler in that you can see what he's thinking but he doesn't learn from demonstration. You can't show him to make breeders by having him copy you, you just prod him into thinking about the action you want to control and then cuddle or slap him to determine how often he does it. Boring but gets the job done.
Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 21 Jan 2007
By 
Alexander (Consett, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & White 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have never played Black and White, but kept looking at B&W2 with mixed feelings having read some rather off putting reviews. Nevertheless I ended up giving in and bought it, liking the idea of playing god as I really needed some time out from the Sims2.

I'm not mad keen on violent games but have played a number of violence/strategy and enjoyed the odd few, Ages of Empires II was one of my favourites, as well as Rome,Pharoah, Zeus. I am also an avid simmer, love the Sims2 and Simcity 4.

B&W2 seems to combine all the elements that I enjoy in gaming. Strategy, daftness, city building, etc.

I have lost several days with it.

The graphics are good, the creatures are funny. Generally a very enjoyable game. Don't know how the others have been playing it who have complained about it, I play 'good' and good has been coming my way!!!!

Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, thanks, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & White 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Great product and yes it is a great game, recommend it to anyone who likes a bit of strategy, logic and fun animals to play with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the original, 14 July 2011
By 
GratuitousViolets "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & White 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I bought this without having seen the trailers nor having really read indepth into the reviews about the gameplay. In part, I'm glad I did buy it, it's an okay game to play, however it is NOT a patch on the original version of Black and White. I'm going to break this into good and bad points, as there are several things I want to mention about the game here.

Tutorial:

* Cut scenes that once again you cannot escape, tutorials you have to put up with and repeats of events that you've already seen. They really need to make this stuff optional.

* The first Island (tutorial island) is a short part of the game and there isn't enough to do to really get you acquainted with the game. In actuality, your tutorial of the game keeps running through the next few Islands as well, so you find it hard to get into the game play when you constantly have to keep being forced to participate in non-skippable tutorials.

* One section of the tutorial is buggy and causes you to fail several times while trying to teach you how to use the "pitch" feature. Try as you like to use the hand on the highlighted area, you'll find "Good conscience" likes to chide your mistakes and make you re-do the whole thing again.

War & Peace:

* Basically instead of of "good and evil", this is promoting "war and peace". Essentially, you'll find the game to be a bit like the Civilisation franchise rather than it's predecessor.

* If you choose the peaceful route and want to be a "good" Deity, then you will find yourself doing nothing more than build, build and building again. Building is the ONLY way to expand your influence. Not miracles, not creature, not belief, but building.

* Choosing the way of "evil" means being a vengeful God, and sending out armies to take over villages and smack down all opposition the tough way. You can use your creature to do this too.

* Rather than getting people to believe in you, you'll find that basically this is a case of making your main city impressive enough to entice other villages to leave their homes and come to live in your wonderful city. (In my opinion this just completely nulls the requirement for miracles and the creature itself).

Creature:

* This time around you get FOUR creatures to pick from: an Ape, a Lion, a Wolf and a Cow.

* Unlike the previous game, you have a more direct connection with your creature, and you can always see exactly what he's thinking. He'll even give you prompts as to whether he should do something or not such as "should I take a dump on this villager's head", and if you don't punish him, he'll basically do just that...or reward him and he'll do it much more often.

* Creature is much easier to control and you can assign him specific roles to keep him occupied such as gathering resources, building, or using him as a soldier. If you don't give him free will, he'll become depressed and eventually become like a machine.

* Creature is NOT as entertaining as the creatures from the first game, he is neither funny nor as curious. He is easier to train. You don't have three types of leash this time around, so he is in a neutral mode until you teach him otherwise.

* You can see your creature's alignment and as with the first game, his alignment will determine his physical appearance.

Building:

* As I mentioned earlier, the game focuses heavily on building up your village into a metropolis. You take on the role of a Greek god essentially, and you start with a few basic structures such as villa, field, storehouse and creature pen. Each building finished expands your influence a little more, and you can use this to move closer to the resources you need (like ore and wood).

* The workshop from the first game has been discontinued, and you no longer need to keep building frames to make a foundation for a civic building. Now you just lay a foundation straight down and build from there. And to make things even easier, you can drag a blueprint foundation from a previously finished building/foundation and lay another for quicker building of duplicate structures.

* A new feature called 'God building' makes building a city quick as you can pick up a resource and use the action button to build the structres yourself rather than wait for your lazy disciples to build them for you. This is a good way to get your city up and running, but some quests later require you use your creature to do your building for you, so take note.

* A few new buildings have been thrown into this game that didn't appear in the first game. Namely, the Worship site. People who played Black and White will remember that painstaking task of having people run up the hill to the temple to worship at the alter only to eventually (in annoying voices) whine about 'must have food'. You don't have to feed your worshippers, they take care of this themselves as long as theres a storehouse and some fields.

* Other new buildings include a temple (no one seems to do anything at this as far as I can tell, it's just there to impress), a retirement home (your disciples eventually age where you get warned they're too old for any other purpose, so you can put them out to pasture at the retirement home) and a creature pen.

* You can gain other new structures by spending tribute points to buy them (incidentally you also gain miracles this way, and if you get in a bind and end up with a dying tribe, you can buy men and women here too).

Tribute:

* You earn tribute several ways but more often than not, you earn it by completing the objectives/quests. Some objectives require you to build certain structures to complete the game properly, so be aware and check objectives often before spending all your tribute.

* Miracles are bought by tribute and they will cost alot the futher up on the scale you get.

* You can earn tribute by accepting a tribe of nomads into your town.

Objectives:

* Rather than just beating the opponent, you have several objectives for each land that you have to complete to make the next land somewhat more tolerable. Objectives include silly things like making 6 disciple breeders from having creature build 30 houses.

* There are several different puzzles on each land that you have to complete. Most are quite obvious and easy and will give you tribute points.

* Objectives are vital to gaining tribute to get the best buildings and miracles to help you succeed, it's advisable not to move onto the next land after you win the current land at least until consulting the objectives tab.

Resources:

* As always, you have wood as a resource to build with. This time, wood is much easier to accumulate, and you'll find it overflows from your storage buildings.

* The addition of ore makes things a little more difficult to build if you are in short supply. You will find your opponents almost always have the monopoly on it. Most buildings need ore, and protective walls most definitely need it as do your armies for protection and defense.

* Food is simply crops here (in the game I feel it was cattle too but I haven't seen cattle here). Unfortunately food runs out more quickly in this game, as an Army marches on it's stomach, and they eat twice the normal rate. Your village will tend to fall into famine quite quickly if you're not miraculously watering and harvesting for them constantly.

Other mentions:

* The humour isn't here as much as it once was. Good conscience and evil conscience are still here, but they aren't as fiesty and funny.

* The graphics are much better but still quite simple.

* Saving the game is much more easier.

* Playability seems a little...basic at points, and you feel you have little choice in your actions. Even if you don't want to be a God of War, by level 4 and 5 you have NO choice in the matter.

* Weren't enough levels.

* The addition of being able to change the times of day is included.

* Your opponents aren't other Gods, but actually war lords and chieftens who for the most part you can hear their thoughts whenever you do anything significant. 7

Overall:

* Overall I'd say this is a good game to play but it doesn't hold a candle to to the original.

* For playability I'd say this lacks the re-playability that the first game had, and there aren't as many ways to complete the levels here as there were for the previous games.

* I can see why there are no future plans for Black & White III.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 Aug 2014
This review is from: Black & White 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I am a 10 year old girl who loves sims!
So when I saw this the first time I was like, "It looks OK, nothing special."
But as I saw it more and more it made me want it more and more so I got it!
That was a good choice!
at the start you choose a pet, you can choose a lion, a Wolf, a monkey or a cow! (I go for either the monkey or the cow!)
You play as god and there is a devil influencing you to be bad and an angel making you be good!
The tutorial can be annoying but building and stuff is very good fun!
I also like to be evil, My favourite part of being evil is dropping rocks on humans!
So I think this Is a fantastic game and it is worth buying!
Thank you for Reading my review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 93 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A severe letdown, 8 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: Black & White 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I had extremely high hopes for Black & White 2 and I can only say I was bitterly disappointed. I am condensing this review as I only have so much space...
The game is like a non-stop tutorial with the never-ending unfunny banter between the two conscience sides having lost all trace of humour. The pathing of the civilians is poor, the creature AI is simplistic but has had all learn-by-example removed.
To gain powers and new buildings you have to 'buy' them with 'tribute' earned throughout the game by achieving nonsensical tasks (gather 5000 wood, make 20 breeders (ie drop 20 people down together). The silver-scroll tasks are badly scripted and almost insulting in their simplicity and stupidity. (Throw a rock at the 3 rocks to move them - why not just pick up the 3 rocks? Oh, and several are still broken).
The creature skill systems SEEMS like a good idea with varying degrees of how much it should avoid or continue doing tasks but it quickly becomes a switch-on-or-off for various actions item, and they're too brainless. The combat AI is quite pathetic as well, with armies standing there staring at a wall rather than run around it to get to their opponents. The aspect of other gods has been removed and replaced with hearing a non-stop diatribe of the opposing human leaders opinions of EVERY action you take.
I felt when playing that it was a free-form version of Settlers with a creature with few trainable actions to do and no fun powers as a god coming along until you were deep into the 3rd level.
The game really is a miss. Its pretty, and had so much potential, and I wanted SO badly to like it and have been looking forward to it for over two years - but its let me down considerably. This is a great example of a game that has great graphics and nothing to do with them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW !, 26 July 2006
By 
Mrs. Beverley S. Jones "bev.jones" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Black & White 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
After over coming immense probles getting the game to work properly (eventually needing to contact ea games as well as ATI technologies) the game is awesome.

Yes, there are a few technical hitches and I needed to un-install the game 5 times whilst losing all of the saves, but giving me the opportunity to play it from start again.

This game is really unique and really does give you proper control over everyone, despite a few of the villagers who are supposed to be your followers, and do anything you say, doing what they want.

ATI and ea games have really let their imagination go and the graphics are really outstanding and the sound is so realistic.

This game is a definite for strategy lovers. The amount of time I actually 'lost' because I got so involved and engrossed must be possibly days.

I can't wait for the new bw3 to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black & White 2 (PC DVD)
Black & White 2 (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews