Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb game
When the two towers came out, I bought it instantly and had been my favourite game for over a year. With the Return of the King film fast approaching, I knew to expect a new game soon. And EA did not disappoint.
It picks up exactly where the previous game left off at Helms Deep, where you take control of Gandalf in a final stand. As soon as you see the opening...
Published on 7 Dec. 2003 by Karen Lury

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, but could have been great
The game starts off at the end of helms deep. You play gandalf in this section as you fight the hordes of sauramon. You start off with the basic moves. As you progress through the game new moves and upgrades become available. You can buy moves and upgrades through use of experience points which you gain from fighting enemies.
Graphics in this game are very nice. Orks...
Published on 5 Oct. 2005 by David Sim


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST LORD OF THE RINGS GAME YET!!!, 4 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is absolutely stunning! You can play as all of the characters from the fellowship, and most of them have different styles of fighting. You play in levels from the movie, there are three paths you have to complete : The path of the wizard (Gandalf) the path of the King (Legolas,Aragorn,Gimli) and the path of the hobbits (Frodo & Sam). People who write bad reviews about this game often say it is just a hack and slash game. This is not true. Yes, there is a lot of fighting (which is fun!), but there is also strategy, and you can interact with the environment around you. The Graphics are absolutely stunning. The places you go in the game look just like the places you saw in the film! All of the levels are good, but some particular good ones are pelenor fields and the black gates, which have enormous battles with stunning graphics. If you play well, you can unlock upgrades to your attacks, which makes the game EVEN MORE interesting and improves your fighting style. This game is quite hard, even on easy mode, but if you practice at it, you become good and progress, making the game more fun. If you like Lord of the Rings or are just looking to have a fun time, BUY THIS GAME... NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord of the rings: the return of the king, 28 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) (Video Game)
The Lord of the rings is a great game with many new features added to make it better than the last. There are character interviews and sneek prewiews of the film and an official soundtrack. There are more characters than before including Aragorn, Gandalf, Gimli, Legolas, Frodo and Sam. There are also 3 secret characters....not giving away anything!The levels are highly interactive with a new action button to throw war pikes, open doors, etc. The only bad thing is there are not enough levels to satisfy the devoted gamer, but it makes up for it as the levels are long and challenging. There are new enemys and creatures and it seems a very realistic and big enviroment. I would advise any lord of the rings fan or action game lover to buy it, as it is one of the best games I've ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Great this game is, 18 Dec. 2006
By 
Tom "concorde" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This game is brilliant. It is quite hard to begin with but gets easier as get the technique. The only fault i have with this game is the gandalf missions they are all a bit samey and get on your nerves because you have to do them. The hobbit missions are the best you have to fight shelob and Grishnak in cirith ungol. I suggest doing the aragorn Gimli and legolas missions on 2 player otherwise it's bloody hard you have to fight mumakils and nazguls. Overall this game is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, but could have been great, 5 Oct. 2005
The game starts off at the end of helms deep. You play gandalf in this section as you fight the hordes of sauramon. You start off with the basic moves. As you progress through the game new moves and upgrades become available. You can buy moves and upgrades through use of experience points which you gain from fighting enemies.
Graphics in this game are very nice. Orks look very realistic and so do the playable characters. The cut scenes between each section are superb featuring videos from the movie and extras. Levels are well thought out look very authentic to the movie. The level Cirith Ungol, where Frodo must be saved is excellent. Return of the King, like the two towers, is predominantly a hack n slash adventure. However, gameplay has been improved drastically. Fight scenes beetween the player and orks works well. The only problems i have found is when you are fighting multiple enemies ie over 6. Things can get a little confusing.
The main problem i have with this game is that some parts of frustratingly hard. The main part of this game is hack n slash and fighting, which to be fair is easy once you have mastered combos. The hard part is beating each of the the games/levels mini targets. For example the level when you fight the dead king and have to escape the cave before it collapses is too hard. I also found the lack of checkpoints or save points really annoying. Having to replay sections 10 or 20 times because i died i found quite tiring.
Apart of a couple of insanly hard sections...even on easy level, there are afew glitches with the character structure. You cannot replay levels until the whole game is completed. This i found a bit odd. You can only buy new moves and upgrades once a level is completed. For example say you just started playing a saved game, you can't buy upgrades till you have completed a level which is not good either.
Don't get me wrong, this is a really enjoyable game. There are a couple of really good levels worth playing, especially Cirith Ungol level. If it weren't for the really really hard bits, this game would have got 5 stars. If your a big fan of LOTR, you should probably get this game. You are given more information about the movies. Due to the steep learning curve though, be prepared to put in the time. This is a hard game and not a simple hack n slash kill everyone.
This is a good game, however it could have been great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book is essential, the film a must, the game....., 31 Dec. 2003
By 
J. C. Eames "Winston" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) (Video Game)
I think anyone would have a job on trying to find one person who has not heard of the Lord of the Rings by now!
I finished reading the book early 2001 and have a deep love and respect for the story. When i was told that they were making a film i was excited yet fearful at the same time. However those fears however have now gone as the film has been done overall fairly well!
The book is essential, the film a must, the game.....
If your considering buying this game (which you must be to be looking on here!) you will not be disapointed with your purchase. The main reason i purchased the "Two Towers" game was for the extra footage of a film not yet released, yet a great game emerged. The Return of the King enhances on this.
Admittedly there is less footage but the film is out now and in the long run it's the game that counts!
The main aim of the game and storyline needs no explaining!
The gameplay is very good and is a joy to play taking on the role of either Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli as in the previous installment this time though including Gandalf and Sam!
With a host of nasties including Mordor Orcs (amongst other breeds), Uruk hai, Cave Trolls, Wraiths on wings and on foot!!
The game is worth buying for the fact alone that you get to fight in the battle of the Pelennor Fields and the second to last battle where Aragorn runs head on at 10,000 Orcs!!
As with all games I love unlockable features and characters, being rewarded for finishing levels and the game. There is nothing worse I'm sure you will agree to finishing a game and just watching the end credits roll!!
ROTK unleashes cheat codes ( for those that will ) extra characters including Faramir, Merry, Pippin and Frodo. There are many interviews and film stills e.t.c which unlock as you progress through the game that all add to the gaming experience.
The game is of a decent length and with all the other characters to play through with and upgrades and special moves to purchase for them the replay factor is pretty lengthy. Each character has a projectile weapon and a main weapon and the fighting is enthralling to say the least.
The game is well worth the money and will bring hours of enjoyment and one that I'm sure you will be coming back to time and again!!
( It will also hopefully inspire the younger generation to read the book and then maybe dare i say enjoy reading more !!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT GAME ADAPTATION OF AMAZING MOVIE...., 3 Jan. 2004
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) (Video Game)
This is the best game i have bought in 2003, it has levels where you get to play as different characters, Characters such as: GANDALF, FRODO, SAM, ARAGORN, LEGOLAS, GIMLI, each with their own special moves. When you complete the game there are 3 more characters for you to unlock( i wont tell you who). You can go 3 seperate ways: The Path of the wizard- where you get to do missions with gandalf, The Path of the king-where you do missions with aragorn, gimli and legolas, and the Path of the hobbits- where you do missions with sam and frodo.
All the missions are enjoyable and are fun to complete. Once you complete certain levels there extras you can watch:interviews etc.
So all in all this game is a must for all fans, and others who are looking for a game with so much action and thrills, well they have just found one... BEST MOVIE TO GAME EVER...BUY IT WITHOUT HESITATION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very good game, 12 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This is the third and final game in the original Lord of the Rings game trilogy. The graphics are good and it is very true to the film. You get to play as the original Lord of the Rings characters and you get to fight the normal baddies. You play as only one character at a time unlike lord of the Rings the Third Age but this is good in lots of ways. One of those is the fact that you don’t need to keep worrying about lots of people dying you can just look after one person! The game play is quick and exiting which means there is always something that needs doing. All in all if you are a Lord of the Rings fan this is a game you must get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as two towers, 2 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) (Video Game)
Its got better graphics, more characters and more levels, but the gameplay is no-where near as good as The Two Towers.
In the Return Of The King there are 3 paths to follow with different characters, all of which join up at the end. There are nine playable characters (you have to complete the game to unlock them all) and between them there are 3 special abilities.
There is an action button which can be used to pour boiling liquid on your enemies, pick up and throw projectiles, climp up ropes, control catapults and many more things throughout the game.
Despite all of these new and exciting features, ROTK is still not as good as The Two Towers. Because its too easy. A troll in 2 towers was a mighty foe, but in rotk you can kill them with one hit using a "red hot spear pole thingy" that is handily nearby.
Overall the game is just too easy and therefore becomes boring very quickly. Get 2 towers instead; its cheaper too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game but too short, 11 Jan. 2004
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game after playing and completing the previous one and thought it was fantastic.
The graphics are awesome, far better than the two towers, and the gameplay is immence. I thought after playing the second level on the path of the king that this was going to take absolutely ages. I did it in three days.
It is a great game with completely new characters and enemies, but even with all the combos you could dream of it is still a button basher and about a month on, my thumbs still have not recovered.
When I completed it, I thought that it was going to be fun, imagining playing an ent, or Theoden but all that I got was three characters that were identical to a similar one that I had played.
Don't get me wrong, it is absolutely fantastic watching orcs being slaughtered but if you are looking for a game that lasts, go somewhere else like Dynasty warriors. Either that or wait a few months more until it becomes cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if u love the film buy the game!!, 15 Feb. 2004
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) (Video Game)
a truly class game, if you liked the films you must just buy it the graphics and gameplay are classsss!!!! even if all the way through it it the same old Hack and Slash like the first game. if i find it so amazing why only 4 star? because for the non-commited gamers who just buy a game for an hours play it can become tedious and a little difficult but if like me you love the films, it truly is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2)
The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
£26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews