Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb game
When the two towers came out, I bought it instantly and had been my favourite game for over a year. With the Return of the King film fast approaching, I knew to expect a new game soon. And EA did not disappoint.
It picks up exactly where the previous game left off at Helms Deep, where you take control of Gandalf in a final stand. As soon as you see the opening...
Published on 7 Dec 2003 by Karen Lury

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, but could have been great
The game starts off at the end of helms deep. You play gandalf in this section as you fight the hordes of sauramon. You start off with the basic moves. As you progress through the game new moves and upgrades become available. You can buy moves and upgrades through use of experience points which you gain from fighting enemies.
Graphics in this game are very nice. Orks...
Published on 5 Oct 2005 by David Sim


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb game, 7 Dec 2003
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) (Video Game)
When the two towers came out, I bought it instantly and had been my favourite game for over a year. With the Return of the King film fast approaching, I knew to expect a new game soon. And EA did not disappoint.
It picks up exactly where the previous game left off at Helms Deep, where you take control of Gandalf in a final stand. As soon as you see the opening cutscene, you can tell that the game is going to be a pleasure to play.
It improves on the two towers in just about every way. It keeps the same hack'n'slash style that the last game had but also combines it with a more subtle approach, as you play as hobbits and try to sneak past your enemies. This makes the game a lot more two sided, as there is fighting side hacking away with Aragorn, and putting on the ring as Frodo to escape from Shelob. The game has 15 levels (compared to 13 on the two towers) which are roughly split between all the characters, and 9!!! playable characters (compared to 4). The game is packed full of new combo's, many of them unique to a particular character.
The games graphic's are very sharp, down to the tiny cuts you might see on Aragorns face. The camera is overall very good, and follows you around well, but occasionally it zooms out more than you would like it to. One of the best things about the game is that all the characters voices are done by the real actors. It really makes it seem like your part of the action when you hear Viggo Mortenson (Aragorn) shouting accross the battlefield for help!
Just like the Two Towers game, it covers everything in the third film, however, this does mean that if you play the game before watching the film then it will spoiol the ending for you.
Overall, I think this is one of, if not the best game I have ever played. It's great whether your a fan of the films or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Game!, 24 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought Lord Of The Rings: The Return Of The King, and all I have to say about it is wow! Here is why...
GRAPHICS
First of all, the graphics are amazing. The faces look detailed, and the Orcs and Uruk-hai look absolutely amazing. As you move your characters head actually looks around. So realistic, and just amazing.
GAMEPLAY
The gameplay is pretty much the same, except a few new combos and characters have been added. The controls are the same, except a new Evade button has been added (L1). You can also power up your character and allow him to go into Perfect mode quicker. This can only be done once every 2 minutes, which doesn't sound long, but when your taking out hundreds of Orcs, it is! A 2 player Co-op mode has been added so you and a mate can go and kick ass together! Class!
SOUND
The sound is the same as in the Two Towers. The music is 100% authentic and is taken right from the films. Music is clear, and the sound effects as you swing your sword, or plunge your sword through an enemies heart, you think ow, that must have hurt!
LONGETIVITY
Does this game end? Well, yes, of course, but you have to play through 15 massive levels. After playing it with my mate for hours, I looked at my save file and I was only 50% through the game!! This will keep you going twice as long as the Two Towers did.
OVERALL
A huge improvement on an already incredible game, the Return Of The King is a fantastic experience that is authentic, and is great value for your money!
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars look at the rating......enough said!!!!, 20 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) (Video Game)
to review it quickly (if I can), the game has three seperate paths :
1)the path of the wizard (playable as Gandalf).
2) the path of the King (playable as Aragon, Legolas and Gimli) 3) the path of the hobbits (playable as Sam and Frodo).
Once the game is completed, you may play as any character in any level (including 3 hidden characters)

The game incudes many scenes from the movie aswell as ACTUAL VOICE OVERS FROM THE CAST OF THE MOVIE (which you can see them perform once you have completed the game). There is a co-op version for the option of a two player game.

In comparison to "the Two Towers" the game was designed to be and is much harder and EA are so convinced you won't complete the game in every way, they have put on an 'unlockable' feature?????
The graphics are similar as is the gameplay (which where both great).
The levels are more interactive and the majority are much larger with more check points.
There are more upgrades to be obtained and you can now share upgrade points with other characters or another player. And all charaters have a special ability.
The scenes from the movie blend into gaming graphics in a much smoother form.
The replay value of the game is up by 1000% due to the co-op game and number of available upgrades.
The game is really worth a buy and is sure to have you addicted after a very short amount of time, worth every penny!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very good game, 12 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This is the third and final game in the original Lord of the Rings game trilogy. The graphics are good and it is very true to the film. You get to play as the original Lord of the Rings characters and you get to fight the normal baddies. You play as only one character at a time unlike lord of the Rings the Third Age but this is good in lots of ways. One of those is the fact that you don’t need to keep worrying about lots of people dying you can just look after one person! The game play is quick and exiting which means there is always something that needs doing. All in all if you are a Lord of the Rings fan this is a game you must get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This game was amazing. Although it sometimes isn't challenging, it has excellent replay values.
The co-op mode was great. You could play virtually all the single-player levels but with someone else. The interveiws gave you an insight into the making of the game and the last levels (the palantirs) give you a real challenge. Also the graphics were a lot better than the two towers and you can now play nine characters form the film. All the fellowship but with Faramir instead of Boromir. Although you will need to complete the game to unlock some of the characters.
There are several differnt enemies, these include:
Shelob
Spiders
Orcs
Urak-hai
Trolls
Mumakil
Nazgul
All these are shown in great deal and add to authenticity of the film and, along with clips form the movie this is one of the best portrayals of the third book ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best, 17 Aug 2004
This game is by far the best of the LOTR series of games. It looks beautiful and the gameplay is stunning. You visit all the locations and get to play as all the lead characters from the film. The gameplay improves the more you play, and your character "levels up" allowing for character upgrades to be purchased. This, however, is where the game has a flaw.
Legolas is by far the best character and if you reach level 10 with him before the end of the game then you have spoilt it as he becomes near invincible and the game is no longer challenging. But it then becomes hard to play with anyone else because he is so damn good.
The two player co-operative element of the game is amazing. It's like playing Streets of Rage 2 on the Sega mega drive all over again - addictive and fun. It can cause problems though after beating the King of the Dead and needing to run back through the level. Only because the characters are so well designed i must point out. Each character has their own speed and if one runs faster than the other then you have to make sure not to trap your second player behind scenery as you storm ahead, as this will kill the both of you as the roof caves in.
All that aside though definitely worth buy, especially now it's platinum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The return of the king, 19 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) (Video Game)
This has to be by far the best game that i have ever played. The graphics are out of this world and the gameplasy is just fantastic. The game has a wider choice of players to choose from and it even has online play now. me and my friends Ollie Hunter and Tim Collins played this for hours and hours till our eyes were sore. You definately want to go down to your nearest store and get this game OUT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord of the rings: the return of the king, 28 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) (Video Game)
The Lord of the rings is a great game with many new features added to make it better than the last. There are character interviews and sneek prewiews of the film and an official soundtrack. There are more characters than before including Aragorn, Gandalf, Gimli, Legolas, Frodo and Sam. There are also 3 secret characters....not giving away anything!The levels are highly interactive with a new action button to throw war pikes, open doors, etc. The only bad thing is there are not enough levels to satisfy the devoted gamer, but it makes up for it as the levels are long and challenging. There are new enemys and creatures and it seems a very realistic and big enviroment. I would advise any lord of the rings fan or action game lover to buy it, as it is one of the best games I've ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Great this game is, 18 Dec 2006
By 
Tom "concorde" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This game is brilliant. It is quite hard to begin with but gets easier as get the technique. The only fault i have with this game is the gandalf missions they are all a bit samey and get on your nerves because you have to do them. The hobbit missions are the best you have to fight shelob and Grishnak in cirith ungol. I suggest doing the aragorn Gimli and legolas missions on 2 player otherwise it's bloody hard you have to fight mumakils and nazguls. Overall this game is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun but flawed, 18 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) (Video Game)
Here's the thing. I like this game, I love the films and I enjoyed the books. With this in mind I was almost tempted to give this five stars but I couldn't. But let's not dwell on the sloppy elements for now and concentrate on what's good in this game.
Once again the game throws you straight into the mix when you start your first game. In 'The Two Towers' you were placed in the role of Isildur as he battled Orcs on the slopes of Mount Doom. It was an exciting way to start and the blending of cut scene and in-game action was almost seamless. Thankfully the games creators have started in a similar fashion and here you are thrust into the shoes of Gandalf as he finishes off the Uruk-Hai at Helms Deep, picking up where the first game left off.
If you've played the first game, you'll notice differences, both good and bad, immediately. First the good. It looks incredible. From the accurate but slightley bleak arenas of the first game, you arrive in a sweeping, brightly lit hive of activity that, and I don't like to use hyperbole very often, is frankly mind blowing.
The fighting, by and large, is roughly the same, with a few minor differences. Firstly each character has a new special move which can be accessed by holding down all four shoulder buttons at once. In Gandalf's case this is a sphere of light wich surrounds him and causes damage to any unfriendly characters it touches. These take a while to charge up and should really be used sparringly as they leave you chracter vulnerable while they kick in. Pushing enemys away is now far less effective than the first game and this is the first of my gripes with the game. In 'The Two Towers' there was nothing more satisfying than finishing of an attacking Uruk and then kicking another away just before he could land a heavy blow. Here, the kicks are innacurate and do so little that you woner if they landed at all. The character who suffers the most here is Legolas, who relys on quick linked attacks to stand any chance of success when the fighting gets up close and personal.
On the subject of characters, this is another double edged sword for the game. On the one hand it greatly extends the life-span of the game, offering as it does three completely different roots through. These are split into Wizard (controlling Gandalf) King (Aragorn, legolas, Gimli) and the Hobbits (Sam and Frodo). This is an excellent way of plotting the story and also offer you an alternative should you get stuck (and you will get stuck). The downside is that the games creators have had to spread a lot of good ideas thinly across the paths. This leads to some severely dissapointing and rediculously difficult levels such as Shelob's Lair and the exceedingly poor Pelenor Fields (Kill elpephant, shoot Nazgul kill elephant, shoot Nazgul kill eleph....etc). This is sad because it detracts from some excellent moments such as Osgiliath, Cirith Ungol, the siege of Minis Tirith and so on...
As I mentioned rediculous difficulty is an issue but is thankfully limited to only a couple of levels, namely Shelob's Cave and the Minas Tirith courtyard. Although the difficulty here adds to the 'struggling against the odds' feel of the experience, there's only so many times you can be killed by a baby spider or jumped on simultaneously by seven Uruk-Hai before it starts to grate somewhat.
To summarise then, RotK is a very good game that falls short of the term 'classic' due to some slack level design, stupid difficulty and repetetive combat. If you like the book and/or films then I suggest you buy this now. If you just like sword fighting then get Soul Caliber instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2)
The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews