Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pre-release review
The main story in Whiplash mainly consists of the main characters, Spanx the Weasel and Redmond the Rabbit, running around the animal testing company, Genron, and destroying everything in their path. At the beginning the unlikely pair end up getting chained together and being put on a conveyer belt that is heading towards the decombinator, an immensely complicated device...
Published on 27 Feb 2004

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The novelty soon wears off.....
I had high hopes for Whiplash and bought it after reading some excellentreviews. Yes, at first it's hilariously funny and the toungue in cheekattitude of the game's producers make the whole scenario enjoyable. Themain character's use of a live animal (fluffy white bunny) as a weapon andtool is unique and will appeal to some peoples darker sense of humour. Thegraphics and...
Published on 20 April 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pre-release review, 27 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Whiplash (PS2) (Video Game)
The main story in Whiplash mainly consists of the main characters, Spanx the Weasel and Redmond the Rabbit, running around the animal testing company, Genron, and destroying everything in their path. At the beginning the unlikely pair end up getting chained together and being put on a conveyer belt that is heading towards the decombinator, an immensely complicated device that will blend their DNA together, which will eventually create a Weasit or Weasel-Rabbit. However, the two escape and are given missions by a strange voice from within the company. Using the rabbit as a weapon you can destroy almost everything and create utter mayhem as animals are set lose, security men and scientists are knocked out by the force of the rabbit and practically everything is destroyed. Also, at certain points in the game, fusion chambers appear which you can shove Redmond in to cover him in radioactive goo, set him alight, freeze him or fill him with helium.
The overall quality of it is quite good, the only complaints that I have about it is that the graphics quality could be improved slightly and that the lip-sync is a little off during the animations. Apart from this the game is great and I would really recommend buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whiplash - Best platformer on the PS2, 6 Mar 2004
This review is from: Whiplash (PS2) (Video Game)
I play a lot of platform games, but this is particulary great! You are redmond, a weasel escaping from a animal testing lab run by the mean old humans, and you are chained to a bunny, Spanx. This isa great game, for all ages, as it isn't too challenging butnot too easy either. It isn't typical cutesy animals against mean men either, throw Spanx into electrical sockets and electricute him, and generally torture the poor little fellow to get through the game, as he is your main weapon. Easy to control and a great idea, it's also very funny to watch the clips in between missions and stuff, and to hear the character's phrases throughout the game. Although the character's speaking can get repetetive, it's remains amusing throughout. I would definitwely recom,mend this game to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING contains cruelty to irritating rabbitts., 29 Nov 2005
This review is from: Whiplash (PS2) (Video Game)
I wasnt a big fan of platform games-Crash Bandicoot and Ratchet and Clank passed me by, but after getting into the 3-D platform through Dreamcast's reworking of Sonic, I saw this game, and was instantly hooked. Mainly by the title, and by the expression on the rabbits face. This is Redmond, the voice of reason-a neurotic white rabbit, he is chained to Spanx, a mute, resourceful weasel with a mental issue, and they are about to be transformed into some hideous mutation by Genron, an animal testing lab. They escape (via some nifty Fly-On-The-Wall imagery, and funny slow-motion fight scenes) and this is where you begin.
You play Spanx-you run, leap, spazz out, and get the added bonus of using your cute, furry pal as a weapon. Yes, the bunny is quite useful in times of need: fill him with helium to form a fuzzy balloon, set fire to him to create a torch, use his ears as circuit breakers, freeze him to make a Rabbit Lollipop, or simply swing him round on the chain, smashing items, just to hear his reactions, 'Is that...burning?It smells like...me! Aaaargh! Stop drop and roll! Stop drop and roll!' Ironically, despite your mission (save the animals, destroy genron) your main entertainment will come from torturing new sayings and one-liners out of the little freak.
The game CAN get a bit repetitive-it takes a while for you to learn Rabbit Skills such as flying, helium, or double-jumps. Also some rooms are very difficult to view fully, and a door can go unnoticed for several frustrating hours. However, the video clips are side-splittingly hilarious, and some of the animals tests (Hamster Canon...Chicken Mortar) are straight from the imagination of some twisted gamer...probably one bitten by a rabbit as a child.
I give this game five starts (despite being stuck on a level involving lava and a robot) and hope theres more to come from Redmond and Co.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mayhem and Madness, 24 Feb 2004
This review is from: Whiplash (PS2) (Video Game)
I have had this game sent to me early as a special promotion from
Swapitshop.com and the Whiplash Street Team. I have not managed to progress to far into the game yet but I have found the game to be great fun and good fun to play. The gameplay itself is excellent and the graphics are excellent.
You start off in a animal experimenting factory with the two main characters Spanx and Redmond. The two characters are chained or hancuffed together and you control Spank who uses Redmond as their weapon to attack ememies and progress through the game. Not only do you have to escape the factory but you also have to set free other animals and smash up equipment in the centre.
The game will be great fun for all ages and is one of the best cartoon games to be released since Jax And Daxter. It also has good humour tied into the game as well which will keep the kids happy for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whiplash is by far the best platformer, 28 Feb 2004
This review is from: Whiplash (PS2) (Video Game)
In my eyes Whiplash is up there with the stars, it is a great game for all ages! It has humor both adults and kids will enjoy and a bizarre adictivness. Only a few minor glitches which is something special for a game with its possibilites. The controls are an easy pickupandpaly style. The whacky inventions seen around the lab are humerous. I put this game up in the top with ratchet and clank 2 and jak 2 renagade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 24 Oct 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Whiplash (PS2) (Video Game)
This is definatly one of my favourite games on the PS2, it follows the story of Spanx the weasel and Redmond the Rabbit who are chained together and attempting to escape the animal testing labrotory Genron, before they get captured and fused together into a freaky weasel-cross-rabbit mutation, a little extreme perhapse but great fun al the same.

With differant facilities and deparments such as medical, shipping, waste and, my personal favoutite, power, and the ability to scuttle along rails and hide in vents, this game is great fun, it is also very funny with what Redmond says when you use him as a weapon (oops, forgot to mention that) and what some of the scientists say when they see you, I always liked "I'm a white belt in marshal arts of some sort"

There are some power ups you can use that are activated when Redmond is dipped in them, like fire fusion which makes enemies flee, radiation, which mutates foes, liquid hydrogen, that shatters enemies into a thousand pieces when hit enough times, electricity which zaps all enemies in the room and destoys most things as well., and lastly helium, which alows you to float around the room. all of this plus great gameplay and an unpredictable storyline makes this one of the best games for PS2, in my opinion anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars whiplash review, 1 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: Whiplash (PS2) (Video Game)
I'm 8 years old and Ive just started playing whiplash and i'm really enjoying it, the graphics are good and it is really funny!
you have to go around freeing animals that are being tested on and on the way you have to smash and destroy all the equipment which is really fun. well worth buying!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whiplash lashes out!, 23 Feb 2004
This review is from: Whiplash (PS2) (Video Game)
A very Crazzzzzzy game with lots of mayhem as the bunny gets it!! Use the bunny to clog up machines and cover the bunny in chocolate to lure guards out of their security hidey holes. Whack lots of baddies using the bunny to get to the next level. Release all the animals from the MAD laboratory scientists and have lots of FUN playing a really GREAT game. Sure to give hours of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best new game, 26 Feb 2004
By 
RICHARD ALLEN (Kings Lynn, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whiplash (PS2) (Video Game)
This game has excellent graphics and a degree of educational value. You move around from scene to scene quite quicklt and it holds your interest.I would of liked to see more outside scenery with maybe the animals breaking out. A good thing was you don't have to pick up many items as you go.I am pleased I have the game and would recommend it to my freinds as good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool new game whiplash, 28 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Whiplash (PS2) (Video Game)
There's a new cool game comig out soon its called WHIPLASH!its a cool game about two animals escaping from a animal testing facility. its got cool graphics, very good gameplay, easy controls and a brilliant storyline.its not the same old boring platform game but something exstrodinary. it will keep u entertained for weeks. so get a copy of an amazing game!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whiplash (PS2)
Whiplash (PS2) by Eidos (PlayStation2)
30.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews