Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insane racing that keeps you hooked
The hype around this game was unreal, so much so that I just had to give it a try. The bare bones of this game is street racing at night in highly-modified cars. As you win you get cash to upgrade your car. Simple.

At the start of the game, pick your car from a choice of about 6. You don't have enough money to modify so it starts out as standard. Enter the...
Published on 15 Jan. 2004 by Mr. D. Haylett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars need for speed
For this review i have decided to delve into the back catalouge and take a trip down memory lane.
Need for speed had 6 incarnations before underground , but none of them ever caught my eye , NFS underground revamped the series by cashing in on the popularity of the fast and furious film and the growing popularity of car customisation. Developed by EA black box and...
Published on 19 Jun. 2010 by Luke Thrower


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insane racing that keeps you hooked, 15 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Need for Speed Underground (PS2) (Video Game)
The hype around this game was unreal, so much so that I just had to give it a try. The bare bones of this game is street racing at night in highly-modified cars. As you win you get cash to upgrade your car. Simple.

At the start of the game, pick your car from a choice of about 6. You don't have enough money to modify so it starts out as standard. Enter the Underground where you must race through approx. 111 different challanges to complete the game. These challanges range from: racing around a circuit over so many laps, race from A to B, drag racing (straight-line, short-shifting race a' la' Fast & Furious), drifting (basically points for sliding around a track sideways), knockouts (last one around each lap is out) and tournaments (points for positions).

The variety of race is definately there: circuits one minute, then drifting the next. As you get cash you purchase mods for your car. Ranging from performance: turbos, ECU, drivetrain, tyres, suspension, brakes, engine, nitrous and so on, to visual: spoilers, valances, alloys, paint jobs, vinyls, neons, exhausts, side skirts, etc. Or even trade in for a new car when you're fed up of this one.

There's plenty to keep you interested out-of-race, but what about when you're foot's on the pedal? The graphics are very good, colourful, and smooth (except right at the start of the race it tends to slow down a tad). The speeds you travel at are insane - so much so that sometimes you find yourself rounding a corner at about 100mph (usually necessary to avoid losing) and going straight into the front of a lorry that you had no chance of avoiding. This is why I rated the game 4/5 not 5/5. The frustration factor sometimes gets quite high - you find yourself doing the same race over and over again because one small crash puts you from first place to last place. Thankfully you have the option to choose the difficulty level (easy, medium, hard) at the start of each race, with your cash reward being adjusted accordingly.

All in all this game is fast-paced, looks good, sounds great, and has plenty to keep you hooked, even when you are losing your temper (like me!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly polished and goes like a rocket!, 4 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Need for Speed Underground (PS2) (Video Game)
The need for speed series has been progressively getting better and better. After last years hit NFS: hot pursuit 2 a completely different type of racing has been focused on.
Before it was flash high performance sports cars from the likes of ferrari and lamborghini. Now your task is to obtain an everyday car, for example a volkswagen golf and to win races on underground mode in order to obtain money so that visual or performance related upgrades can be purchased.
Eventually you unlock faster cars such as the toyota supra or mazda rx-7 by competeing in drift, circuit or sprint modes. The best however is drag racing due to the incredibly high sense of speed and choas as you change gears manually whilst avoiding hazards such as traffic or barriers.
I rate underground very highly due to the glitzy, highly polished graphics however the soundtrack isn't to everyone's tastes as it is mostly hip hop, also the main mode could have been longer. Overall i think its a great game and is well worthy of been bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need for speed underground, 26 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Need for Speed Underground (PS2) (Video Game)
In my opinion, Need for speed underground had a lot to live up to. I also own Midnight Club 2 and Burnout 2, and I didn't think this game would be able to stand up to them. IT DOES!!! It is graphically better, and it has licensed vehicles.
The thing that this game does brilliantly is the customisation of the cars. You can lower the suspension, put on bodykits, even add NOS. The scope for customisation on these cars is enormous. With network play, you could go online with your custom ride, and it is very unlikely that you'll see another one the same.
The comparison that everyone tries to make is with Gran Turismo, but its a totally different game. Underground isn't as realistic, but it is, importantly, more fun. When you hit the NOS, the screen goes blurred and shakes. The sense of speed is better than on any other game. In all, I am very impressed by this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NFS Goes Underground!, 29 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Need for Speed Underground (PS2) (Video Game)
First of all I shall point out the most obvious change between NFS Underground and the previous games in the series. Where as the previous NFS games where all about racing exotic supercars Underground is all about modified cars. Some NFS purists may be put off by this but they should not be. Underground remains true to its name and both NFS vetrens and newcomers should feel right at home. The gameplay remains much the same; take an officialy licensed car and tear around a track as quickly as possible avoiding traffic and police as you go. Underground builds on this format. You can now customise your car with thousands of officialy licensed aftermarket parts including; wheels, under-car neons, body kits, body styling, thousands of decals and vinyls, and a multitude of performance parts from tyres and suspension to turbo kits and nitrous oxide. This gives endless variation to the game and will keep you coming back to create faster and meaner street machines. There are also two more types of race than in previous games. As well as Circuit, Sprint, and Lap Knockout there are now Drag and Drift. In drift the idea is to slide as much as you can around a small circuit with constant twists and turns and this is a welcome change of pace after playing many races. In drag mode the idea is to race down a straight peice of road and cross the finish line first. This may seem boring but the way it is done is excellent; you have to use manual gears and there is a large rev counter on the lefthand side of the screen. To suceed (especially in later races) you need to be able to get 'Good' or 'Perfect' shifts and so timing is everything. Change too soon and you will lose speed but over rev and risk blowing your engine and breaking down. Coupled with hazards such as construction, traffic and train crossings this mode is amazingly addictive and will have you playing time after time to try and beat your quickest run. The handling of the cars is actually changed dramatically for each mode so that for instance, in drag mode you can tap a direction and just switch lane rather than sliding into a barrier. In the main story mode you play as an up and coming street racer trying to become the best in the city. Throughout the races you will unlock more parts, tracks and cars. During races you also gain style points which unlock more flash paintjobs, decals and so on. The more you modify your car the more reputation it gains and your reputation acts as a multiplier for your style points so if your car has a reputation of 3 then all of your style points are multiplied by 3. As your car becomes more well known you are also put on the covers of various modified car magazines. All the different race modes are included in the two player mode which is no end of fun. The graphics are incredibly smooth and polished to create an ever so slightly surreal neon lit city at night and the cars look fantastic. One of the best things about NFS Underground is the soundtrack. It complies of rock, rap and drum and bass by artists including; Mystikal, T.I, Rob Zombie, Lostprophets, Rancid, Asian Dub Foundation, Overseer, Fuel and more. Along with accurate engine noises that change as they are tuned this is one of the best sounding games avalible. With an excellent learning curve and a fabulous online play mode on top of all this NFS Underground is one of the best driving/racing games out at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Underground has never been so good!, 28 Nov. 2003
By 
Mr. N. Ibrahim (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Need for Speed Underground (PS2) (Video Game)
I saw this game coming put and though its either going to be a rip off of Fast and the Furious or its going to be great, i like my cars, into my modding but even if you arn't you will enjoy this game, anyone who plays GT3 or any of the gran tourismo's will love it, it has an edge on any other racing game i have played before, because when ur speeding along at 150mph dodging and wieving through cars and obstical whilst listeing to that highlt tuned engine scream you get really into it. The game play is good, no story really, just brilliant gameplay, when going fast they have made the game to seem like you really are travelling at very high speeds, 100's and 100's of custom parts to put on the 20 cars availible. Believe me when i say you like ur driving games, u wont be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, amazing, brilliant, superb....., 3 Jan. 2004
By 
RM (London Colney, HE UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Need for Speed Underground (PS2) (Video Game)
This is the No. 1 racing game for the PC, in my opinion and the best Need for Speed game in the entire series. There are so many different visual and performance upgrades to add to your car that its playability value is pretty much limitless.
The graphics are lovely and the game is obviously modelled on 2 Fast 2 Furious. However, this is a major plus! All racing is done at night (do not let this put you off because the atmosphere and exhilaration would not work if it was set during the day). The only minor (and I mean VERY minor) criticism is that I would have liked to see a few more non-Japanese cars in the game, since only 4 cars are not Japanese (Ford, Dodge, Peugeot and VW). Perhaps if they had added 10 European and American cars and 10 Japanese it would have been that little bit better. However, do not let this worry you, BUY the game as soon as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOS Baby, It's the only way to fly!!, 18 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Need for Speed Underground (PS2) (Video Game)
To put it bluntly, this game is great. before getting it, i'd read a number of reviews, with opinions varying from bad to good. i rented to see how good it was and just had to buy it, because its brilliant. i love the way everything blurs when using the nitrous oxide. if your a fan of the fast and the furious or 2 fast 2 furious, this is worth getting, because it seems to take so much from the films, down to jumping bridges, and racing over train lines as a train passes. i would lay odds that the game based around the movies is nowhere as good as this, so this is the best option. kicking sound, kicking graphics and cracking game play. buy it, now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY GOD!, 26 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Need for Speed Underground (PS2) (Video Game)
well from the title you can think what i think about it. The graphics are AMAZING and the cars are like you could just reach out and touch them. I must say i have a lot of driving games, and this took some time to complete (3 days) that last races are quite difficult but not too hard. You can also play online, this makes it 10x better. I would tell anyone to go get it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Facts, 11 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Need for Speed Underground (PS2) (Video Game)
For a start, this is no driving sim. It is about fun, not realistic handling. It is about feeling really cool when you dodge oncoming traffic at 130mph in a neon clad, souped up beauty. Honestly, even as a gamer who is into gt3 and footy management sims, i love it!
I agree that 113 races gets quite boring BUT, ea have taked countermeasures. The best of these is countless unlockables. Everyone enjoys unlocking stuff to make your pride and joy look that bit more classy. Another is multiplayer. Whether split screen against a mate or online in tournaments against other nationalities, racing others past in a car that YOU have tuned to YOUR preferences just feels so slick.
Graphically superb. A best buy with a network adapter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARP SPEED MR SULU! ...'Aye Cap'n', 14 Feb. 2004
By 
John Shonfield "Short Bloke" (English in Brussels) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Need for Speed Underground (PS2) (Video Game)
This is without question one of the best and most highly polished driving games i have ever played. A mate of mine Chaos was bangin on about it for ages so I decided to get it. WOW! The amount of things you can do to tart up your motor are amazin! (Should keep even the most devout yogurt knitter happy). Some driving games are just too difficult and you get bored of hittin stuff...but not this one. Even the crashes are cool and you can set the cameras to be as senstiive as you want. Even after a fair few scoops this game is still 'do-able' (but i have found vodka does seem to effect ones ability to get the short cuts.. i always miss em!!). Just when you think you cant possibly go any faster you get the nitro upgrade...then you become more of a pilot than a driver. The drag racin is top notch...but i've lost count of the amount of times i've been nudging in front.. 100m from the line.. just hit my nitro.. and a van comes out of nowhere and seriously ruins your day!! (picture hitting a delivery van in the side at 160mph under nitro) The only slight complaint is the music does get a bit repeditive but hey..no game is perfect.. but this one is close!! Me and my bro Large cant stop playing it. A great touch is the style bonuses and multiplyers.. you may not win a race but you get a wad of 'style' points just for turning up in a cool car! How cool is that!! If you like absolute mental in your face out and out racing games.. GET THIS!!! Alot of thought has gone into the making of this game and its most excellent! If I ever met one of the developers and I was wearing a hat at the time.. I would take it off to him!! Even the rubbish cars in this game can be made to look cooler than a polar bears instep. There are just soooooo many things you can do to your motor...pearlescent paints, decals, vinyls, window tints, spoilers, roof scoops, alloys... aahh i would be here all night. I bet no-one that buys this game will ever stop messing wiv da wheels!! Get this game, get a crate of beer and invite your mates round. Turn off your mobile and forget about the rest of the weekend!! This game is up in the same bracket as the SSX and Medal of Honor series.. a top draw game and no mistake. A contender to take GT's crown???? I think so..... It dont get much better than this speed freaks... short out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need for Speed Underground (PS2)
Need for Speed Underground (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
£19.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews