Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly scripted, excellent game!
Being a Buffy fanatic, it's very easy to nitpick at the way a game based on the popular series is put together. I must say though that i was seriously impressed at this one!
You join Buffy in the Magic Box at the game's outset, a familiar location to those who watch the series. From here, you take control of various Buffy characters including Willow, Xander, Spike...
Published on 17 Mar 2004 by slayer78

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Laugh
Chaos Bleeds is a really good game to buy if you are a buffy fan. The stars have lent their voices and the game resembles the series with unnerring accuracy. Fighting is quality as you can put together complex combos with an hour's practice. Sometimes though you can get stuck as there are not enough hints to tell you where to go. This can be frustrating if you only want...
Published on 23 Dec 2003 by Gary


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly scripted, excellent game!, 17 Mar 2004
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds (PS2) (Video Game)
Being a Buffy fanatic, it's very easy to nitpick at the way a game based on the popular series is put together. I must say though that i was seriously impressed at this one!
You join Buffy in the Magic Box at the game's outset, a familiar location to those who watch the series. From here, you take control of various Buffy characters including Willow, Xander, Spike and the rogue Slayer Faith, in order to stop the First Evil from wreaking unholy havoc.
The game's storyline is well put together, having being co-written by Christopher Golden (the author of several successful Buffy spin off novels), and purists will be happy to know that cast voiceovers have been provided by Amber Benson, Nicholas Brendon, James Marsters, Eliza Dushku and Tony Head. Even the fact that Sarah Michelle Gellar did not lend her voice to the game can be overlooked given that her stand-in is indistinguishable from the Slayer herself!
Magically transported to the First Evil's own dimension care of Giles' power hungry former ally Ethan Rayne, who has turned his attention to worshipping chaos, you proceed through several familiar locations in order to gain access to the First's lair. These include Sunnydale High School, The Mall, Sunnydale Hospital and even the Zoo, with an instantly recognisable boss enemy to fight at each point.
Various weapons are at your disposal during the game - the all too familiar stake is a must, and well as shovels, axes, flamethrowers, holy water soakers and throwable hell fire!
The cast voiceovers are very amusing and will have you laughing out loud while you slay the undead. Which has to be said, is very satisfying!
In short, even if your not a fan of the series, the game itself is highly recommendable. A must for Slayer wannabes, and for those who just like to kill things. A lot. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stake your way throught the game!!!!, 9 Feb 2004
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds (PS2) (Video Game)
I am a HUGE fan of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and I love video games with a challenge!!!
Many of us when watching Buffy envisage ourselves being Buffy or one of the other characters, and with this simulation of the renowned series, it gives us the opportunity to do so. In the game you mainly assume the position of Buffy but do get the chance to interact with the other characters and play as Xander, Willow, Faith, Sid the dummy, and Spike.
The plot that the game pursues is to that of the series as you encounter Kakistos, Anyanka and many others including “the first”.
I felt that this game incorporated all the features of Buffy and was very true to the series, so a must have for all those Buffy fans!! The layout out of each scene complied to that of this series from the school to the magic box. However as well as being a Buffy fan I am a hardcore video gamer, and from this prospective found the game scarcely stimulating, not really challenging and also quite short. I did nevertheless find the feeling derived from slayering was a real buzz and also was content with the game’s added features, such as cast interviews and outtakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffy Kicks ass!!!!, 29 Oct 2003
By 
Mr Don (West Lothian, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds (PS2) (Video Game)
It's been a while since I've bought a PS2 game that has totally gripped me AND this has. The fighting sequences are excellent some of the moves are well cool.
The controls for this game are easily picked up and I was soon performing some pretty cool moves and staking at will :)
The locations and atmosphere of the game are just as good as the show. The game also keeps the humour and slickness of the show too, with Buffy making some pretty funny quips after slaying the undead.
This game is not just a beat-em-up, there is a good story and some thought needs to go into how you play it with some puzzles to solve and keys to find etc.
Buffy is simply one of the best and most gripping games I have ever played. The charactors are well done, the game play is AWESOME!!!! and the sound and graphics are really fantastic.
I would recommend Buffy to anyone, if you are already a fan, get it now, an if your not a fan, wll, emm , get it now cause you won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffy Review, 9 Dec 2003
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds (PS2) (Video Game)
There was a time when license games were guaranteed to be awful. The days when developers could stick the name of a TV or film series onto even the most damnably dire piece of gaming drivel are officially over however. Today's license games are generally really quite good. Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds is one such case in point.

Admittedly you're going to get a lot more out of the game if you're a fan of the TV series, but even if you're not it still has a lot to offer. The plot of the game is supposedly taken from a 'lost episode' but avid Buffy fans will notice distinct incongruities in the game that make it hard to place it at any particular point in the timeline of the series. To be fair, the story makes about as much sense as a lot of episodes of the TV series do, but it doesn't stop you enjoying it.

The single-player story mode of the game sees you taking on the role of several of your favourite characters in turn. Buffy, Faith, Willow, Xander, Spike, and Sid the Dummy are all fully playable. The character models themselves aren't bad, most of them look recognisably like the actors they represent, and the graphics generally are very pleasing. Not particularly distinctive, but certainly polished.

As with all 3D action games, there are camera angle difficulties at times. Most of the time they aren't too bad but sometimes you find yourself attacking or being attacked by monsters you can't see due to pieces of scenery blocking your view. Other times it can be difficult to see exactly where you're going, but these occasional glitches won't affect your enjoyment of the game too badly. There are a few too many sequences where you end up running around levels unsure of what exactly to do or where to go, but again this is only a minor annoyance.

Sonically, the title sequence kicks off with the Nerf Herder Buffy theme, but sadly the rest of the game seems to lack the TV show's knack for using musical pieces to complement or even comment on the action. Moments of tension are marked by suitably up-tempo musical scores, but nothing memorable.

It's a mark of how close the developers worked with the team behind the TV show though that all the main characters in game are voiced by original cast members. This, coupled with fairly reliable attention to the details and nuances of the Buffy universe render the game a must-buy for any fan.

My only gripe as far as the authenticity goes, is that although Sarah Michelle Gellar, Alyson Hannigan, Anthony Stewart Head and the rest all lend their voices to the game, some of them don't do it particularly well. Many of the voice-overs sound stilted and wooden, especially in the cut-scenes where again, the lack of a good musical score is a critical loss.

There are extras to unlock in the form of extra multiplayer characters and levels and also interviews with cast members and video clips from the game's production. Only the most intense of fans will find these interesting, but they're there all the same should you get bored of dusting vampires. As for the multiplayer side of the game, well it can't avoid being something of a let-down. Two-player cooperative missions would have been great but would have undoubtedly have presented near-insuperable problems with regards to camera angles. So what we get instead is four one-to-four player modes mostly involving fighting off wave after wave of demons. Combat in the multiplayer game is not as refined as in the single-player (where sometimes it looks just as professionally choreographed as on the TV show) and tends to get pretty boring pretty quickly. This is a shame, but the multiplayer mode feels more like a bonus than anything else anyway. Certainly the game could survive without it and it's the single player experience that should be your reason for buying it.

Chaos Bleeds is a large and skilfully executed game. It's enjoyable and challenging (with some great end-of-level baddies to square up against), imaginative and highly polished. Even when you complete it you'll find yourself coming back for more vampire-slaying action. The actual staking of the game's vampires, and the noise they make as they turn into dust, is probably the most satisfying part of the game. It's a joy. Death really is your gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow this game is awsome you can see all of sunnydale 1sthand, 1 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds (PS2) (Video Game)
Im a big fan of buffy this game is an essental for any fans of buffy or serious game players.the game has 13 long stages where you will play xander buffy spike willow or sid the dummy or faith.the levels end with difficult boses including evil giles and evil tara! The game also has multiplayer mode where you and your freinds can battle each other as many characters.
the storyline in slightly confusing at times but everything is resolved at the end.At the end of each level you are reworded with a cast interveiw or behinde the scenes look on the game which are unlocked in the extras section.the game is amazing with great graphics (xander looks as if he's been zaped into the game!!) and some cast voices including xanders anyas and giles and tara and faiths.
the other characters are doubles but this is unoticed.the game is a challenge for all and its levels are a mixture of combat and some challenging puzzles.this is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buffy is wicked, 2 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds (PS2) (Video Game)
I just got the new buffy game. I have been wanting to get it since I played it at the Playstation Experience. Then the first day it came out it came through my door. I sprinted to my PS2 and was glued to it for so long I came off with red eyes! It is so kool! Single player mode is really fun with different challenges and puzzles. You play as multiple characters including Buffy, Willow, Spike, Xander, Faith and Sid the Dummy. Personally I have always wanted to stake a vampire. It is so satisfying!!! In multiplayer mode you can play as good or evil with 4 different modes. This game also has extras like interviews, a photo gallery and voice overs. Some interviews include Joss Whedon and Amber Benson and many more..... This game totally roks so buy it now!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chaos Bleeds? Not when Buffy's around!, 6 Dec 2003
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is fantastic, authentic scenarios and settings, from the high school to the magic box they're great. I must admit walking around Sunnydale is a fairly new experience, but the school library was so much like in the tv show i got chills when i ran in there. The only downside to this game would be that certain characters do not do their own voice-overs, for instance, Buffy and Anya. You buy the game for Buffy, not some annoying bimbo who does the voices of both Buffy and Anya. Faith didn't do her voice either but the fake voice is very convincing. The fighting is unbelievable and you feel a real sense of power. I'd have to say though, that Kakistos is harder to kill than the First. The ending is rather unsatisfying, which probably leaves room for a sequel. The other fighting modes are cool along with the special features you unlock as you progress through the game. So, as long as you can press plenty of buttons simultaneously, you will unleash the awesome power of all 6 characters in this mind-blowing unique game! Buffy's definitely got a stake in my heart ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!, 1 Jan 2004
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds (PS2) (Video Game)
I really really love this game, if you are wanting an idea on what the game is like i would say its a must have for resident evil lovers, its basicaly the same apart from the fact that the graphics are better and so is the story line (which are almost as good as the episodes) i got this game for christmas and i am half way through it. It can get pretty hard thought and there are NO clues to what you have to do, so you would be quite good at it if you were clever (so i am naturaly good at it)I would definatly recommend the stratagy guide though as you could end up getting sooo stuck on the game you end up throwing it behind the couch and pretending you never bought it! But over all the game is pretty good, apart from a few slightly game features e.g. Top hats with bunny rabbits as a weapon and certain catch phrases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WICKED GAME, 27 July 2004
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is absolutely wicked although it is probably mostly for buffy fans.You start the game in the "magic shop" and then go to levels such as "the cemetery","the quarry","sunnydale zoo" and much much more(12 levels in total).Also you do not have to play as buffy all the time,you can play with willow,xander,spike,faith and sid the dummy but only at certain points.However,I must admit that i have not completed the game yet so do not no how it ends.I am stuck o the level you play faith and cannot defeat kakistos at the end!When you complete levels sometimes you unlock characters to play in multiplayer mode such as faith,sid the dummy,psyco patient and more.Also at the end of some levels you must defeat bosses such as Anyanka,Tara,Ripper,Kakistos,Ethan Rayne and so on.I recommend this game to anyone and everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 13 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds (PS2) (Video Game)
the game is a brill game. At the mo i am at kakistos and he is hard to defeat. the game features a varity of different weapons such as axes, shovals,baseball bats, steaks, and many more. U can play as a variaty of players as well such as buffy, xander, willow, spike,sid the dummy and more. The voices of the chrecters are all in the game accept buffys. The game features different levals (12 in all) and some of them are the hospital, sunnydale high school,cemetery and the magic box. U fight different such as vampires, warewolfs, demons. On the 7 leval (i think) u fight anyanka whos a venjance demon.
If u r a buffy fan this is the game 4 u! so buy it now!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Chaos Bleeds (PS2)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews