Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Their Most Colourful
I remember Angus Young being interviewed on R1 when this came out. He said the main difference between this album and the last one was the colourful record sleeve. I think that he was right on the money on two counts. Firstly, of course the album is cartoon like and quite appealing to look at. However I think that Angus was suggesting that this album compared to Flick of...
Published on 4 Oct 2010 by M. G. Chisholm

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Danger!
Along with Flick of the Switch, Fly on the Wall is evidence of somewhat of a creative slump for the band in the mid 80s. They returned to the fore with Blow Up Your Video but Fly... just didn't have the same vibe or quality of songwriting.

The title track is possibly one of the laziest they have produced. It is almost incoherently average with a (non)chorus...
Published on 7 Mar 2012 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Their Most Colourful, 4 Oct 2010
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
I remember Angus Young being interviewed on R1 when this came out. He said the main difference between this album and the last one was the colourful record sleeve. I think that he was right on the money on two counts. Firstly, of course the album is cartoon like and quite appealing to look at. However I think that Angus was suggesting that this album compared to Flick of the Switch is far more varied and has much more appeal and accessibility. If you think about Flick of the Switch, it does come across as stark and hard, whereas this one is colourful and accessible, despite the fact that it is one of AC/DC's harder efforts. It optimise's the hard rock sound of the mid 80's perfectly. Loud, brash and fun.

All of the songs are good and some are excellent and can compete with AC/DC's best output post Bon Scott. Sink the Pink, Fly on the Wall and Danger are simply brilliant headbanging toe tapping songs. All the rest support perfectly.

I have every AC/DC record made, like many of their fans and I can honestly say that this has been one of the most played of them all. It is much derided by some and I don't understand why, because it really is a great piece of work. For me this is the last of the records made with Brian Johnson for a while that pull together like a collection. This belongs with that great period of time when their best was made and it easily slips into the group with Back in Black, For Those About to Rock and Flick of the Switch. After these we've had a series of less good albums generally until their return to form with Black Ice.

Overall without a doubt their most underrated album of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Classic ACDC, 9 Aug 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
ACDC: Fly On The Wall.
Digitally Remastered Edition.
1xCD

Track Listing.
1. Fly On The Wall
2. Shake Your Foundations
3. First Blood
4. Danger
5. Sink The Pink
6. Playing With Girls
7. Stand Up
8. Hell Or High Water
9. Back In Business
10. Send For The Man

Timelord Thoughts.
Fly On The Wall is one of ACDC's heaviest rock album to date yet while not one of the bands greatest albums it is a far better album than it's given credit & is stunningly remastered sounding far clearer & sharper than it's original CD release, the Album comes with a booklet inside a shiny cardboard gatefold sleeve.

Fly On The Wall is a good song rock track that kickstarts this album off brilliantly while Shake Your Foundations is a outstanding track & the best track on the album in my opinion, First blood isn't so good however while Danger is another epic rock track & on equal par with Shake Your Foundations.

Sink The Pink is a dirty rock number that delivers as is Playing With Girls while Stand Up delivers a wonderful catchy chorus & showcases the true power of Brian Johnsons vocals, Hell Or High Water is probably the albums weakest track on the album.

Back In Business is a decent track with great riffs & another brilliant chorus while the final track Send For The Man is a seemingly lacklustre effort & a disappointing final track to finish the album.

Overall a decent ACDC album but not quite on par with the bands earlier efforts, As ever good production values, great guitar riffs from Angus Young & powerful bluesy lead vocals by Brian Johnson delivers a good but not classic ACDC album.

Timelord Rating.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 25 Aug 2004
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
Okay, Fly On The Wall is not AC/DC's best album but I still think it's good and I am not a hardcore fan that likes every song of theirs. Their opener song, "Fly on the Wall" is very good, and so is "Hell on High Water."
But there are two songs that would go in their greatest hits collection, "Shake Your Foundations" is one of my favourite AC/DC songs ever and "Sink The Pink" is also very good.
There are a few other good tunes in this CD and should definately be worth buying despite being heavily criticised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So underrated!, 6 Nov 2007
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
Just like FLICK OF THE SWITCH, this has got to be one of the most underrated albums ever! AC/DC deserve a lot of credit for making a solid rock album like this, and there are some tracks on here that make you want to get up and go crazy!

Track picks include "Fly On The Wall", "Back In Business" and "Send For The Man". Don't listen to people who think this is a poor album. This album rocks!

However, on a minor note, I do think that this album could've done better with Brian's vocals. Brian Johnson is an awesome singer, but here his vocals are echoey and that's probably what turned a lot of people off. But this album, I think, is a hard rock classic like BACK IN BLACK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not one of there best, but still a good album, 10 Sep 2003
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
This album was the follow up to the hugely underrated flick of the switch, and whilst hair metal and mtv were dominating the world of music, ac/dc just stuck to there guns and produced quite possibly there heaviest album to date. The sound is poor on the original recording, so my advice would be to purchase the remastered version.
1. Fly on the wall - a great way to open the album, a very good song - 8/10
2. Shake your foundations - one of the best songs they ever recorded - 10/10
3. First blood - not one of there best songs - 6/10
4. Danger - this is my favourite on the album, reminds me of night prowler - 10/10
5. Sink the pink - shows just how dirty the boys can be, another classic song - 10/10
6. Playing with girls - a good song to keep the album ticking - 8/10
7. Stand up - I love the chorus to the song - 8/10
8. Hell or high water - probably the worst on the album - 6/10
9. Back in business - good riff, good chorus - 7/10
10. send for the man - not a good way to finish the album, they could have chose a better song from the cuts - 6/10
Fly on the wall is a good follow up to flick of the switch, although it is definately not better, i would recomend to any fan that they buy this album just for the pure raw sound, but for gods sake make sure you buy the remastered version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOOOOOOOOOOOOO UNNNNNNNDDDDERATTED., 4 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
RIFFTASTIC, POWERHOUSE, RAW, TONGUE IN CHEEK, BELTING - THIS HAS BEEN AC/DC'S MOST CONSISTENTLY UNDERRATED ALBUM AND THEREFORE ONE OF THE MOST UNDERAPPRECIATED HARD ROCK ALBUMS OF ALL TIME AND I'VE ALWAYS BEEN TOTALLY FLUMMUXED AS TO WHY, IT'S RIGHT UP THERE WITH THE VERY, VERY BEST STUFF THEY'VE DONE AND I'VE BEEN LISTENING TO EVERYTHING THEY'VE EVER DONE FOR A QUARTER OF A CENTURY. PLEASE DON'T LISTEN TO THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS, BUY, REJOICE AND TRY TO STOP YOUR HEAD MOVING!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, poor production and mix, 4 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
This album is misunderstood. Stylistically it is typical of their general 80's albums, but it sounds so different that some people tend to dismiss it almost without realising what the real problem is. The production is somewhat odd, and the mixing bizarre. The biggest issue is the bass, which is so badly recorded that it can't even be rescued by turning up the bass when listening - a quite astonishing oversight. The other issue is that the vocals are all drenched in a long room reverb; Angus' comments at the time hinted that they thought Brian Johnson's voice had become a bit harsh to be "up there all on his own" (daft, as many of their songs before and after feature songs where the vocals are often in-between the guitars). However, whilst Johnson's voice had lost a bit of its clarity and sustain since the awesome Flick of the Switch, he still sounded ideal for the music, with searing, shrill vocals which had a touch of wreckless abandon not so evident on the earlier 80's records. Check out the title track, Shake Your Foundations, or Playing With Girls - the man is singing like demon! The songs here aren't perhaps a match for those on Back In Black, but they're solid and powerful, with big choruses and great guitar sounds. Angus' lead sounds are superb and his incredible vibrato is as strong as ever, thought the solos are shorter than usual. Mal's guitar isn't as well defined as usual, it tends to blend more with Ang's, as with the previous record but unlike their usual recording ethic.
Simon Wright drummed well on here, solid and powerful, whereas by Blow Up Your Video he was trying to add a different element which was not the AC/DC style. In short, an album that some fans really like, but which some don't. My advice is give it a spin, loud, and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Nah Brilliant!, 8 May 2014
By 
Gill (Nottingham, Nottinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
Another brilliant one from AC/DC and another must for AC/DC fans. Excellent quality from an excellent band. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
Essentially my review for Flick Of The Switch could be copied here, so I won't repeat myself.
Not disappointing, just not one of their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An odd but entertaining release from the masters of the riff, 15 Feb 2014
By 
maccer (wolverhampton) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
This is an album that gets consigned to the scrap heap by many fans as their worst. I think this is due to the poor production, which is a shame as there are quality AC/DC moments here "Shake your foundation", "sink the pink" "playing with girls" and "hell or high water". As said what lets this album down is the production, Brians vocals are way down in the mix and unintelligible at times plus there is a horrible 80's reverb on the drums. Had they got the production right I do not think it would be so hated. Personally I really like it as I contains some balls out rocking that was missing from the Mutt Lange produced era. Overall not their best by any stretch but well worth a spin. Maccer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fly On The Wall
Fly On The Wall by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews