Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Their Most Colourful
I remember Angus Young being interviewed on R1 when this came out. He said the main difference between this album and the last one was the colourful record sleeve. I think that he was right on the money on two counts. Firstly, of course the album is cartoon like and quite appealing to look at. However I think that Angus was suggesting that this album compared to Flick of...
Published on 4 Oct. 2010 by M. G. Chisholm

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Danger!
Along with Flick of the Switch, Fly on the Wall is evidence of somewhat of a creative slump for the band in the mid 80s. They returned to the fore with Blow Up Your Video but Fly... just didn't have the same vibe or quality of songwriting.

The title track is possibly one of the laziest they have produced. It is almost incoherently average with a (non)chorus...
Published on 7 Mar. 2012 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Their Most Colourful, 4 Oct. 2010
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
I remember Angus Young being interviewed on R1 when this came out. He said the main difference between this album and the last one was the colourful record sleeve. I think that he was right on the money on two counts. Firstly, of course the album is cartoon like and quite appealing to look at. However I think that Angus was suggesting that this album compared to Flick of the Switch is far more varied and has much more appeal and accessibility. If you think about Flick of the Switch, it does come across as stark and hard, whereas this one is colourful and accessible, despite the fact that it is one of AC/DC's harder efforts. It optimise's the hard rock sound of the mid 80's perfectly. Loud, brash and fun.

All of the songs are good and some are excellent and can compete with AC/DC's best output post Bon Scott. Sink the Pink, Fly on the Wall and Danger are simply brilliant headbanging toe tapping songs. All the rest support perfectly.

I have every AC/DC record made, like many of their fans and I can honestly say that this has been one of the most played of them all. It is much derided by some and I don't understand why, because it really is a great piece of work. For me this is the last of the records made with Brian Johnson for a while that pull together like a collection. This belongs with that great period of time when their best was made and it easily slips into the group with Back in Black, For Those About to Rock and Flick of the Switch. After these we've had a series of less good albums generally until their return to form with Black Ice.

Overall without a doubt their most underrated album of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Classic ACDC, 9 Aug. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
ACDC: Fly On The Wall.
Digitally Remastered Edition.
1xCD

Track Listing.
1. Fly On The Wall
2. Shake Your Foundations
3. First Blood
4. Danger
5. Sink The Pink
6. Playing With Girls
7. Stand Up
8. Hell Or High Water
9. Back In Business
10. Send For The Man

Timelord Thoughts.
Fly On The Wall is one of ACDC's heaviest rock album to date yet while not one of the bands greatest albums it is a far better album than it's given credit & is stunningly remastered sounding far clearer & sharper than it's original CD release, the Album comes with a booklet inside a shiny cardboard gatefold sleeve.

Fly On The Wall is a good song rock track that kickstarts this album off brilliantly while Shake Your Foundations is a outstanding track & the best track on the album in my opinion, First blood isn't so good however while Danger is another epic rock track & on equal par with Shake Your Foundations.

Sink The Pink is a dirty rock number that delivers as is Playing With Girls while Stand Up delivers a wonderful catchy chorus & showcases the true power of Brian Johnsons vocals, Hell Or High Water is probably the albums weakest track on the album.

Back In Business is a decent track with great riffs & another brilliant chorus while the final track Send For The Man is a seemingly lacklustre effort & a disappointing final track to finish the album.

Overall a decent ACDC album but not quite on par with the bands earlier efforts, As ever good production values, great guitar riffs from Angus Young & powerful bluesy lead vocals by Brian Johnson delivers a good but not classic ACDC album.

Timelord Rating.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crank up the volume, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
For an album that was considered by many to be the worst they've ever done, its the one that gets the most airplay in mine and Im sure many other AC/DC fans collections.

For the purists of the AC/DC bluesy rock sound yes its fair to agree this album is awful as it couldn't be further away from bluesy rock if it tried, and yes its fair to admit the production is not the best and musically and lyrically its not up to the very high standards that were set before etc etc etc. So you have to ask what does this album have going for it?? Well the easy answer to this is its Heavy .... this is easily the heaviest album AC/DC have ever done and for that it kicks butt. Stick this on, crank up the volume, and if this doesn't get your fist air punching, head banging, feet stomping, then nothing will. The sound is raw, the tunes are catchy, but above all its loud and thats why us non purists love it.

So yes if you going to pick it to bits and compare it to everything that went before then you can probably find as many flaws as in a second hand jumper. But if you look beyond its faults, treat it as an individual album, and don't take it to seriously, then this album is great fun and its easy to see why many consider it not such a bad album after all and why it has a mystic charm for many AC/DC fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Danger!, 7 Mar. 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
Along with Flick of the Switch, Fly on the Wall is evidence of somewhat of a creative slump for the band in the mid 80s. They returned to the fore with Blow Up Your Video but Fly... just didn't have the same vibe or quality of songwriting.

The title track is possibly one of the laziest they have produced. It is almost incoherently average with a (non)chorus that is not indicative of AC/DC at all. Quite a poor opening. 'Shake Your Foundations' has the trademark chorus but it feels slightly overused and dated. 'First Blood' isn't bad but it isn't gold either. 'Danger' is however. It is the best track here by a mile. It sounds like AC/DC, it has the slow, sleazy crawl of 'The night Prowler' together with the underlying dread of 'Sin City'. Not so much a classic as by far the best track on the album, making it gleam that much brighter. 'Sink the Pink' seems to be somewhat of a fan favourite but I cannot see why. It's ok at best.

Basically the rest are all very humdrum and average except for 'Stand Up' which is the only other saving grace of the whole album.

A shame that this and Flick... were so forgettable when compared with the rest of their back catalogue. This is one for fans and completists only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An odd but entertaining release from the masters of the riff, 15 Feb. 2014
By 
maccer (wolverhampton) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
This is an album that gets consigned to the scrap heap by many fans as their worst. I think this is due to the poor production, which is a shame as there are quality AC/DC moments here "Shake your foundation", "sink the pink" "playing with girls" and "hell or high water". As said what lets this album down is the production, Brians vocals are way down in the mix and unintelligible at times plus there is a horrible 80's reverb on the drums. Had they got the production right I do not think it would be so hated. Personally I really like it as I contains some balls out rocking that was missing from the Mutt Lange produced era. Overall not their best by any stretch but well worth a spin. Maccer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 25 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
Okay, Fly On The Wall is not AC/DC's best album but I still think it's good and I am not a hardcore fan that likes every song of theirs. Their opener song, "Fly on the Wall" is very good, and so is "Hell on High Water."
But there are two songs that would go in their greatest hits collection, "Shake Your Foundations" is one of my favourite AC/DC songs ever and "Sink The Pink" is also very good.
There are a few other good tunes in this CD and should definately be worth buying despite being heavily criticised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good one that rocks., 5 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
It's good ac dc, with some great songs on here, I bought this one back then and enjoyed some of the songs as much as their older stuff. Sink the pink" was the standout track here. Some of the songs weren't the band at their best but they rocked , but then after their great run who could expect them to match those releases. this sold well enough but wasn't a monster hit for them. It should have done better and it wasn't a failure though with cert gold record status! I like it and if you like ac dc then this one is a good one to own. There's not a bad song on here but there isn't alot of great songs either. Just really good rock and roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So underrated!, 6 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
Just like FLICK OF THE SWITCH, this has got to be one of the most underrated albums ever! AC/DC deserve a lot of credit for making a solid rock album like this, and there are some tracks on here that make you want to get up and go crazy!

Track picks include "Fly On The Wall", "Back In Business" and "Send For The Man". Don't listen to people who think this is a poor album. This album rocks!

However, on a minor note, I do think that this album could've done better with Brian's vocals. Brian Johnson is an awesome singer, but here his vocals are echoey and that's probably what turned a lot of people off. But this album, I think, is a hard rock classic like BACK IN BLACK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not one of there best, but still a good album, 10 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
This album was the follow up to the hugely underrated flick of the switch, and whilst hair metal and mtv were dominating the world of music, ac/dc just stuck to there guns and produced quite possibly there heaviest album to date. The sound is poor on the original recording, so my advice would be to purchase the remastered version.
1. Fly on the wall - a great way to open the album, a very good song - 8/10
2. Shake your foundations - one of the best songs they ever recorded - 10/10
3. First blood - not one of there best songs - 6/10
4. Danger - this is my favourite on the album, reminds me of night prowler - 10/10
5. Sink the pink - shows just how dirty the boys can be, another classic song - 10/10
6. Playing with girls - a good song to keep the album ticking - 8/10
7. Stand up - I love the chorus to the song - 8/10
8. Hell or high water - probably the worst on the album - 6/10
9. Back in business - good riff, good chorus - 7/10
10. send for the man - not a good way to finish the album, they could have chose a better song from the cuts - 6/10
Fly on the wall is a good follow up to flick of the switch, although it is definately not better, i would recomend to any fan that they buy this album just for the pure raw sound, but for gods sake make sure you buy the remastered version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars vintage ac/dc, 28 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Fly On The Wall (Audio CD)
Fly on the wall is one of my most played ac/dc albums. Yes, growing up in the eighties had some advantages. Back in Black remains the ultimate ac/dc album, but to me Fly on the wall is their second best eighties album. It's raw, heavy, got some great riffs and the typical ac/dc style lyrics. It's AC/DC, you know what you'll get. No surprises, just plain old dirty rock and roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fly On The Wall
Fly On The Wall by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews