Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MOST TERRIFYING MOVIE
A family rents an isolated house for a summer vacation. Part of the deal is that they must look after the little old lady in the attic. Almost from the start, sinister thing start happening. One of the most effective techniques is the husband's flashbacks to his mother's funeral, in particular, a vision of a grinning hearse driver. Other memorable scenes include a...
Published on 25 Aug 2003 by Pieter Uys

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Burnt Offerings....dun dun dun...
I saw this at the cinema back in 1974 when it came out and bought it in 2001, I found it quite frightening in `74 but itis tamer compared to todays standards, However it is quite original, a few parts I remember to be quite frightening were the recollections of the funeral chauffer who Oliver Reed thought was coming for him and particularly the scene at the end...
Published on 30 Nov 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MOST TERRIFYING MOVIE, 25 Aug 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Burnt Offerings [DVD] (DVD)
A family rents an isolated house for a summer vacation. Part of the deal is that they must look after the little old lady in the attic. Almost from the start, sinister thing start happening. One of the most effective techniques is the husband's flashbacks to his mother's funeral, in particular, a vision of a grinning hearse driver. Other memorable scenes include a swimming pool that behaves like a storm at sea and the house renewing itself by replacing its tiles. This is one of the most disturbing movies I have ever seen and it sure beats most popular horror movies for drawn-out suspense and psychological terror. This one stays with you weeks after you've watched it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underated (Burnt) offering !, 18 Nov 2009
By 
christopher paul king (derby / uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burnt Offerings [DVD] [1976] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Always had a soft spot for this well made chiller from the underated Dan Curtis.....Nothing too original story wise and you may get the feeling you have seen some of the plot twists somewhere before.However considering this was made before Amityville Horror and The Shining {two films that certain scenes in particular remind one of )Its storyline holds up rather well.
Above all tho it is the atmosphere and slow building tension to as scary a climax as i have seen in many a horror movie...Still givesme the creeps now ! :O.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burnt Offerings!, 6 Dec 2010
By 
Goth Girl (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Burnt Offerings [DVD] (DVD)
A real all time classic horror!
Oliver Reed plays a fabulous roll as the tormented husband in a most outstanding way.An older film that still has what it takes to be exciting and watchable.A CLASSIC!!!
Alchemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Burnt Offerings....dun dun dun..., 30 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Burnt Offerings [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I saw this at the cinema back in 1974 when it came out and bought it in 2001, I found it quite frightening in `74 but itis tamer compared to todays standards, However it is quite original, a few parts I remember to be quite frightening were the recollections of the funeral chauffer who Oliver Reed thought was coming for him and particularly the scene at the end.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Abit of a disappointment, 6 July 2003
By 
This review is from: Burnt Offerings [DVD] (DVD)
The book of this is supposed to be really good, so watched with interest, but found the whole thing to be abit 'hammy'. Worth watching for the fabulous location and Karen Black and Bette Davis. Funny in places!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good horror, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burnt Offerings [DVD] [1976] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
It's dated, but is still a very good film.

When I forst saw the film in the eighties I thought it was quite scary, but now it doesn't seem particularly scary compared to more recent films.

Worth buying though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 70's horror, very creepy and mesmerizing!, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Burnt Offerings [DVD] [1976] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
When I picked up Burnt Offerings a few years ago, I had reason to think that I found a horror gem from the seventies and I was right. Burnt Offerings became one of my favorite horror movies of all time. It was a very memorable haunted house movie, and had some of the best and most intense scenes I've ever seen (the swimming pool was probably my favorite) and had some really creepy characters like the Chauffeur, the film was truly horrifying, had a mesmerizing plot, good acting, great direction by Dan Curtis and well portrayed emotions. Another incentive to check out this film was the fact that the late Oliver Reed (a favorite of mine) had a fine leading role. Unlike many of the modern horror movies, this is not a film dedicated to graphic sequences and meaningless scare tactics, rather this story concentrates on the more subtle and more sinister forms of horror. I also found it to be more disturbing and more realistic than many of the easily forget-able movies of today.

It all begins when the Rolf family rents an ancient house for the summer with the only conditions being that they must care for "dear mother", a disturbingly silent old woman who dwells in the attic. They happily anticipate having their dream vacation. Of course, they cannot see the dark clouds of doom piling on the horizon, ready to rain down their menacing poison. All too soon, inexplicable occurrences begin to transpire and the cheerful vacation soon becomes a living nightmare that seems to have no end. Will anyone be able to survive this house of pain or will it reek its murderous revenge? The emotions and despair of the characters was well portrayed through all of the actors. I was able to feel as they felt and to understand how circumstances appeared through their eyes. The acting of the mother (played brilliantly by Karen Black) and the way she portrayed her character's subtle possession by the malicious old woman in the attic was terrifying by her ominous silence and ancient appearance. Throughout the movie she slowly changed from a loving mother and wife as the malevolent spirit of the house began to posses her soul.

Also the unusual filming technique that was employed in this movie was amazing. The hazy quality made the film see more surrealistic, it's as if you were caught in this nightmare world with the characters. Consequentially, it helped to further draw me into the terrifying plot. Overall, I have to say that this was an excellent and enjoyable horror film. The plot is mesmerizing in its horrific simplicity and will forever haunt the viewer's mind. The acting is superbly done and causes the viewer to sympathize with the characters as they go through a horrible experience. If you are a fan of old horror films like The Innocents or the equally amazing Legend of Hell House, then you will greatly enjoy this film.

Some interesting facts about this movie are that the evil house that our unwitting characters rented for the summer was also the funeral house used by The Tall Man in Phantasm --- another one of my favorites, check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dated maybe, spooky definately!, 30 Aug 2010
This review is from: Burnt Offerings [DVD] (DVD)
The Rolf family view a large Victorian mansion in the California countryside which they plan to rent for the summer. The family consists of Marian (Karen Black), her husband Ben (Oliver Reed), their young son David (Lee Montgomery), and their elderly aunt Elizabeth (Bette Davis). The owners of the house are the eccentric Arnold Allardyce and his sister Roz, played by Burgess Meredith and Eileen Heckart. They inform the prospective tenants of the requirement for their rental: the Allardyce's elderly mother will continue living in her upstairs room during their stay and the Rolfs will provide her with food. The old woman is never seen. She does not like to be disturbed so the food is to be left outside her door. However the house is only $900 for the entire summer, a bargain even at 1970's prices! This in itself should set alarm bells ringing but the grateful Rolfs gladly accept.

The task of feeding the old woman falls to Marian who gradually becomes obsessed by her and the old house. Ben starts to become depressed and anxious with his wife's behaviour. Strange events unfold and it soon becomes clear the house is slowly exercising a malevolent force over the family. Slow to begin with the film builds up to its climactic if predictable conclusion of rejuvenation through death.

Directed by the underrated Dan Curtiss and based on the book by Robert Marasco, Burnt Offerings was released in 1976 and won the 1977 Saturn award for best horror film. Admirers of more recent gore-fest horror productions might find it tame if not dated. Admirers of Gothic Horror most certainly will not. There is, however, something for all tastes here. Don't let its release date put you off. See it and be prepared to be rejuvenated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars [3.5]--Fairly Creepy, 27 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Burnt Offerings [DVD] [1976] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I thought this movie was alright being that it was my first time watching it. It's not anything like the horror movies of today because it obviously relies on an interesting story and creepiness; something Hollywood often does with special effects. This is just a creepy film and runs a bit slow at the beginning but it builds up towards an alright ending. Burnt Offerings is your typical "family buys/rents dream house at bargain price only to regret it" film. Obvious examples being "The Shining" and the "Amityville Horror," both based on books as well. There is also a strange person hidden away upstairs (c.f. Jane Eyre, The Old Dark House, The Ghoul (1975) etc).

The film is a study of family dysfunction, which is exacerbated by the haunted house (see also the first two films mentioned above). Issues explored include child beating, marital stress and breakdown, the importance/impotence of the father figure, and estrangement between all family members.

The most visible manifestation of the "evil" is the ability of the house to clean and repair itself. Unfortunately this is more of a householders dream than nightmare. No more breakages, tidying, "cowboy" building firms, etc. When Ben Rolf appears in a wheelchair, thus emulating Arnold Allardyce at the start, I thought the house was trying to "keep" rather than kill its occupants. The house needed a specific family imprisoned from which to draw its power/feed off. Thus the Alladyces were victims of the house. Their behavior at the start and motivation was of fear and escape. There lays their need to find a replacement family and sudden departure. However, the ending shows the couple to be in league with the evil, my initial impression being wrong.

The conclusion was too open-ended, the origins and mysteries of the house were not fully explained. Perhaps the source novel is clearer. The title, Burnt Offerings, seems a misnomer, nothing is burnt per se. The house itself was the offering; the family had high expectations, only to be fatally disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burnt Offerings [DVD] [1976] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 8.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews