Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning
Well I don't especially like golf and I've never played Tiger Woods or any of the previous Mario golf sims but I love this game. I bought it on the strength of Mario Sunshine and the care and attention that has gone into this lovingly crafted game is obvious. The graphics are stunning and the control system is intuitive - not like some of the sports sims, where you seem...
Published on 11 July 2004 by Mrs. R. E. Chandler

versus
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not real mario
yeah gr8 it's cool with addictive mini games and great stages but it dosn't have that mario feeling it's not a game in where you do some thing good you will get hyped and go "yeah it'sa mario time" but still great for golfers with a gamecube
Published on 4 Mar. 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 11 July 2004
By 
Mrs. R. E. Chandler "rosie_c" (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour (Video Game)
Well I don't especially like golf and I've never played Tiger Woods or any of the previous Mario golf sims but I love this game. I bought it on the strength of Mario Sunshine and the care and attention that has gone into this lovingly crafted game is obvious. The graphics are stunning and the control system is intuitive - not like some of the sports sims, where you seem to have to mash a random combination of buttons to achieve a particular effect (Dave Mirra for example). There is an autoswing mechanism for the newbies or the younger players but there are also much more advanced swings that you can master to plant the ball exactly where you want. The courses range from the conventional to the wacky and there are some charming animations from the characters ranging from the despair after scoring a double bogey to the joyful leap after getting a birdie. Great fun - can highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Nintendo Gameplay, Fun And Easy To Play!, 3 Oct. 2006
By 
Mr. Garry Brown "Garry" (Norwich,England,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour (Video Game)
Ive got lots of games on my cube and toadstool tour is the one game that me and all my mates want to play again and again. This game is nothing like EA's tiger woods games; its more cartoon like graphics and arcade gameplay set this game in another league. The game has ALL the famous nintendo charecters: Mario, Boo, Bowser, Wario etc.. And is very easy to play, unlike ace golf and tiger woods and the stupid analogue flick backwards and forwards to take your shot control system- this game has the good old fashioned powerbar system which works well. The graphics are some of the best seen on the gamecube and when your opponent is taking his or her shot you can taunt them with insults or jokes by pressing your buttons- Great! The single player mode is fun and not rigged to play but multiplayer is where this game just sails ahead of the opposition. Plug a few pads in and play; because its golf you can have a few drinks with your mates and play this game without giving it your full undivided attention and still enjoy it! You can probably tell by now I like this game but I also own mario golf on the nintendo 64 and ace golf and tiger woods on the ps2 and toadstool tour just rules. It might not be cheap to buy but thats why... Buy it you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic single and multiplayer game, 13 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour (Video Game)
I bought an import copy of this game a week ago and absolutely love it! The game follows on from the earlier Mario Golf games on the Gameboy Colour and the N64. An intuitive control system allows experienced and novice players alike to play the game easily, with a choice of manual or automatic shots. Manual shots are obviously much better, and allow you to add topspin or backspin to the ball.
Graphically Mario Golf is a triumph, and it really shows off the graphical capabilities of the Gamecube, with great detail and texture effects. The depth of the game is excellent, with a large selection of mini-games and challenges, courses for tournaments and stroke play, and various character matches. As such the game should be long lasting and provide many hours of entertainment. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great once-in-a-while game, missing some depth, 10 Jan. 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour (Video Game)
I've been the Gameboy version of this game for sometime now and it therefore find it hard not to compare the two. The Gamecube version is fun, easy to learn and use by first-time users and provides some challenge for long term players. Unfortunately the gamecube game offers less depth when compared to the Gameboy version and it seems to bore quite fast as there is not really a story or progression in the game; not much can be unlocked and after awhile the game lacks to satisfy and feels slow. However at some point you will want to take it out of your closet again and challenge a friend who's coming over.

A nice 'different' kind of game to play once in a while, mainly to relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best Mario Golf of the series and works perfectly on ..., 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour (Video Game)
Best Mario Golf of the series and works perfectly on the GameCube with great controllers, multiplayer and characters. If you have one the Game Boy adapter with Game Boy Advance allows use as both a controller and can add extra characters provided you have the Mario Golf Advance game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golf isn't always tedious, 2 Aug. 2004
By 
O. Clanford "Olsta" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour (Video Game)
If you want to play what is baffling referred to as a 'realistic' golf game, then play Tiger Woods. Better still, actually go to a golf course and play the real thing.
If, however, you want to play an exceptionally fun, surprisingly deep and original golf game, then buy Mario Golf. It takes the sport which by all accounts is a dry, technical and not particularly exhilarating one, and makes it accessible and a complete laugh to play.
As you would expect from Nintendo, the graphics are colourful, crisp and fluid, the music is unbelievably catchy and the playability is of the highest quality.
Camelot, the developers behind the Nintendo 64 versions of Mario Golf and Mario Tennis, show once again that they have a very sound grasp of sports simulations: the technical aspects of gameplay are simple and easy to pick up, but ultimately tough to master. The difficulty level is spot on and when you get to the later courses, getting par seems like an achievement. This is a very strong and often overlooked strength of the game; making birdies on every hole can be tiresome and some of the later courses offer a genuine challenge to make a good score.
Whilst the game sticks with the A and B buttons to control the swing (as oppose to the analogue Tiger Woods system), that does not detract from the game. The player can choose an automatic shot by using just the A button and more experienced golfers can use the manual B option which can be used to apply topspin and backspin.
Gameplay mechanics aside, the usual wacky array of characters are present and playing certain challenges unlocks further characters. Also, a number of courses can be unlocked, including a couple of ingeniously designed Mario-themed courses. Playing these not only sets this game apart from other golf games, it also reminds you of how brilliant, creative and original Nintendo games can be.
The only weaknesses I can see is that golf purists will argue that this game is not as realistic and technically detailed as Tiger Woods for example. Whilst it may not be as technical, it certainly is more fun and the technical side is very well done. As for realism, I think I have already addressed that argument in my opening paragraph.
This game deserves 5 stars. I guarantee you will never have as much fun playing golf as when you play this. It is entertaining in single player, and vastly amusing in multiplayer when you can irritatingly taunt other players while they are lining up for a shot.
Tiger Woods is very good, but can you play golf using a giant monkey who holds a golf club with one hand and hit the ball down pipes that tranpsort it to anther part of the hole? I think not. Pure Nintendo: insane brilliance yet again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good!!!, 25 Sept. 2006
By 
Mark (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour (Video Game)
This is a great golf game, very very good infact! But it doesnt beat MARIO GOLF on the N64, as the mini golf included in that was fantastic! But this is a great golf game with some great courses and characters to choose from!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awsome game, 28 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour (Video Game)
Classic game fantastic well worth the money enjoyable even better two players .great courses layouts very addictive game love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant, 2 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. C. Sharp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour (Video Game)
For all you mario fans this is a cracker of a game
this is a fantasticly brilliant little game and it is worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best golf game ever, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour (Video Game)
The best golf Game i ever played !!!!
After ten years Is still fantastic !
Go yoshi make a hole in one For us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour
Mario Golf: Toadstool Tour by Nintendo (GameCube)
Used & New from: £5.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews