Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SAINT Number 5, It's Alive!
Short Circuit is directed by John Badham and written by S.S. Wilson and Brent Maddock. It stars Ally Sheedy, Steve Guttenberg, Fisher Stevens, Austin Pendleton, G.W. Bailey and Brian MacNamara. Tim Blaney voices the robot, and the design is by Syd Mead.

Number 5, a prototype military robot, is hit by a power surge that causes a malfunction in its programming...
Published on 27 Aug. 2011 by Spike Owen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Life is not a malfunction.
Any movie where the main character learns life's important lessons from watching the Three Stooges has to be a winner. Number 5 is, in spite of his non human status, the kind of machine you'd like to pal around with. The dialog is clever, the plot interesting and the special effects low key and believeable. A very enjoyable film.
Published on 16 July 2012 by Lord Anon


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SAINT Number 5, It's Alive!, 27 Aug. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Short Circuit [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Short Circuit is directed by John Badham and written by S.S. Wilson and Brent Maddock. It stars Ally Sheedy, Steve Guttenberg, Fisher Stevens, Austin Pendleton, G.W. Bailey and Brian MacNamara. Tim Blaney voices the robot, and the design is by Syd Mead.

Number 5, a prototype military robot, is hit by a power surge that causes a malfunction in its programming. When an accident sees it leave the Nova Laboratories grounds, Number 5 finds his way to the home of Stephanie Speck (Sheedy). Here it displays signs of being alive, but the new found respect for life could soon be curtailed as the Nova security staff are seeking him out for disassembly.

On release it was met with mostly positive reviews, debuting at No.1 at the box office, film was undoubtedly a family winner. Also spawning a sequel due to its popularity, Short Circuit is by definition an enjoyable fantasy flick. Yet today there are film critics who give it a good kicking, lamenting how safe it is and decrying the sentimental aspects that come to the fore in the latter stages. That to me is like shooting Bambi! A refusal to let the child in all of us come out once in a while. Yeah it's schmaltzy at times, I'd personally be disappointed if a film about a robot finding a will to live wasn't! While in Sheedy and Guttenberg you couldn't ask for two more amiable bastions of Americana to star in such a movie. But the feel good factor is high and it's also full of funny sequences. Saturday Night Fever and The Three Stooges play a part, as does Fisher Stevens, who sends the PC brigade scurrying for their complaint pens. Lighten up folks, the World has moved on you'll be pleased to know.

Sometimes safe and amiable is all you need. I suggest it's all these grumpy modern day critics who need a good kicking, not Short Circuit. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For the sake of peter...., 29 Jan. 2014
Number 5, one of a group of experimental military robots, undergoes a sudden transformation after being struck by lightning.

He develops self-awareness, consciousness, and a fear of the disassemble that awaits him back at the factory.

With the help of a young woman, Number 5 tries to evade capture and convince his creator that he has truly become alive.....

This is one of those films that was released in the eighties which you really only appreciate it if you were a child at the time it was released.

Introducing it to my daughter, she loved it, but I feel that people my age, if they saw it now for the first time, they really wouldn't feel nostalgic toward it, a lot like me and Buckaroo Banzai.

Other than that, it's the epitome of eighties cheese, Sheedy was in her prime, and Guttenberg was riding so high from Police Academy he brought his friends from the franchise along for the ride.

And don't forget, it was acceptable in the eighties to darken someone skin to make them appear to be of a different race, and mock their race by making him say things in the wrong order.

Hey ho, it's a fun film though, and it's all down to Johnny 5 and some marvellous direction by Badham.

It's a simple homage of Frankenstein, but it's for he kids, so he just wants to learn, and he loves everyone and everybody.

I'm sure somewhere in the narrative there is some message about love or how war is bad, but I was nine when this came out and found the three stooges robots brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Johnny 5 Still Alive (Spoilers), 11 Aug. 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
It could be said for a hat-load of films around this era, but the chances are that if you've never heard of 'Short Circuit' outside the world of broken car stereos, then you're not an 80's kid. I somewhat find a loophole in this theory however, since the mum bought an ex-rental VHS (remember them?) of this film in the early 90's.

Never the less, I'm not alone in having fond memories of this creative and wickedly entertaining film that, like others of its time, uses the advances of technology to provide an inventive story.

Whilst I'd be the last person to rain over the somewhat naive attitudes that many older films display, 'Short Circuit' does appear some what dated in my grown up frame of mind. Disregarding the idea that a literal 'bolt of lightening' could literally make a computer circuit come alive, the film encounters more cheese than Wallace and Gromit's little home. To top things off, we have the typical 80's finale, which Tom Cat will now present to you in Layman's terms.

- The Resolution Stage (Protagonists realise that Johnny 5 IS alive. The theory behind this decision, however, is muffled over quickly as "Spontaneous emotional response!!")

Oh yeah.... 'course.

- The Conflict Stage (Bring everything back down a notch and put Johnny 5 in danger. Destroy Johnny 5. Follow up with tears and guilt).

- The Resolution Stage Part 2 (Johnny 5 IS safe and sound, because he created a counterpart of himself in less than one and a half minutes).

Of course, you really can't take such a film as 'Short Circuit' too literally, otherwise you'd feel like tearing apart every cuddly toy in the house and suffer a meltdown over the lunacy of it all. You have to disengage your 2012 brain and, ideally, become childlike with awe and intrigue. When done, this is a film so wonderful to watch that you can't help but question if someone out there is selling little Johnny 5 models!

And trust me, I was asking the same thing some 20-years ago.

If you've been searching for a Blu-ray version of this film on Amazon and only come across the Region A product (which I've tested), then don't be disappointed that a U.K release isn't available, because the transfer is average to say the least. Although the film is presented in its original aspect ratio of 2.40:1, the picture quality lacks any kind of consistency, which for a hi-def film is essential unless you want to be distracted. Dirt/blemishes and print damage are not visible, but the level of grain jumps up and down from scene-to-scene with no care or attention paid to how the film looks in its entirety. This also occurs for the contrast, and yet conversely primary colours look very nice - although that's probably because this is a Technicolor film.

My overall score at 4/5 stars reflects the film and not the Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The patron S.A.I.N.T. of robot movies, 17 Sept. 2008
By 
T. Taylor (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Short Circuit [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
I must have been eleven years old when I first saw this film, and right from its oddly quirky (and gorgeous) opening music I was hooked.

The idea is not new, nor original. An experimental military robot goes wrong and escapes the institute at which it was built. The institute must then send personell to capture it before it causes any harm. Except that it's not going to cause any harm.

Strategic Artificially Intelligent Nuclear Transport (SAINT) No. 5 is inquisitive, thoughtful and totally unaware that it is a weapon. It thirsts desperately for knowledge, or 'input', and has a penchant for television re-runs, soon befriending Stephanie, a struggling young woman with a rampant habit of taking in stray animals.

The simple turning on its head of the 'rogue robot' storyline in which the escaped mechanism is the hero, rather than the villain, is what makes Short Circuit such compulsive viewing. The film raises, with comedic subtlety a variety of difficult questions. Bringing into focus how we define life, how we define free will and meeting with the reality of death.

This is a film that kids love for its broad, exciting adventure and which adults will adore for its depth. Unfortunatley Tim Blaney's portrayal of No. 5 is often irritating and over the top. Far better would have been the use of the text-to-speech system that voices every other robot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute, 8 July 2004
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
While demonstrating the latest in automated warriors, one of them (number 5), gets arbitrarily struck by lightning, hence "Short Circuit."

He escapes the compound and is befriended by a ditzy mobile caterer (Ally Sheedy.)

Here is how it goes:
She mistakes the robot for an alien.
He learns what it is to be alive.
Security wants it dismantled before it takes their place.
However we know "it just runs programs" (yah right)

Will Ally discover her mistake?
Will the robot survive or be disassembled?
Can they recover it before it blows something up?

Careful you may find yourself rooting for Johnny Five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but the language lets it down., 20 Jun. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short Circuit [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
My kids love this. I loved it as a child but was a little surprised with some of the language, which is unnecessary. My children know which words are rude and not to be repeated. To be honest I think they sometimes hear worse in school anyway as there is always that 1 or 2 children who have been overly exposed to foul language. The words I heard were "sh.t" "son of a bit.h" "ar.e hole" If they did an edited version with dubbing like they have on the TV I would buy it. It also contains some violence (shooting etc and one of the main characters with her low life ex boyfriend)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Need Input!, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So far so good, I already posessed the DVD-version of the movie, which made me remembering my childhood, when the movie came out.
The Blu-ray version is as expected sharper than the DVD, but unfortunateley very noisy. I watched both movies with Powerdvd on my PC, maybe there are better results on TV.
You have a few extras more on the blu-ray like a "making of" of Nr.5 which I consider as very short and poorly made.
But the movie itself is from my POV thematically and with regards to content just simply unique.
Therefor 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill!, 18 Jan. 2013
Ok so it's an old film, my 4 year old loves it. Johnny five is definitely alive in our house now . I thoroughly enjoyed watching it with him too. Funny and innocent movie, sometimes the old ones are the best. Bought short circuit two as a result , which although entertaining did not come anywhere near this. Would recommend of you have young boys , the robot element keeps them fixed to the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent family film, 1 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember showing this film when I worked as a projectionist at the Odeon cinema Kensington London, it remained in my memory as a favourite and it still lives up to my expectations.
It is a lovely little film suitable for the whole family, and there aren't many films you can say that about these days.
I would definitely recommend this film to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..........no disasemble!", 27 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Short Circuit [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
This really is a very enjoyable and fun little film whcih i could watch over and over again and still enjoy it as much. I think Steve Guttenburg is much better in this than 'Police Academy'.
It is about a military robot who is struck by lightening and becomes 'alive'. After escaping from the top secret base, No 5 is found by Stephanie who protects him from the people that come to look for him.
Yes i would definatly recommend that you buy this film. It is really cool and well worth a few measly quid. BUY IT NOW and you will have hours of fun and entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Short Circuit [DVD] [1986]
Short Circuit [DVD] [1986] by John Badham (DVD - 2004)
£7.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews