Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous movie
Having been an Eastwood fan for many years, I was overjoyed to see this film finally released on DVD. It is without doubt one of his greatest films, although Jeff Bridges steals the show, and received an Oscar nomination - in his first appearance!
The story is of the friendship between two very different characters, the old and seasoned veteran Eastwood, and the...
Published on 7 Nov 2003 by The Happy Prince

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can we have a 16:9 version please?
This is a widescreen on 4;3 aspect DVD, which means you have to zoom in on a 16:9 display or you get a tiny image floating in the middle with black bars top bottom and each side.

I think it is about time DVD makers caught up with the fact that a lot of people have wide screen TVs now, and also that the description on Amazon should highlight the aspect...
Published 11 months ago by N. Kemp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Thunderbolt and Lightfoot (Clint Eastwood and Jeff Bridges), 11 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. D. WALTERS (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
A Classic early piece of work by Clint Eastwood and Jeff Bridges.
An all star cast showing us just whats lacking in a lot of modern day movies.
A Genuine down to Earth Film thats full of fun and Frolics,its a Classic Bank robber film thats entertaining all the way until the end.
Not to be missed 9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must see film, 30 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. D. J. Linnell "francophile" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Any fan of Eastwood must see this film. The story line is taut throughout and well done and the villains are as black as they come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bridges & Eastwood ey, 28 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
I really liked this film. Jeff Bridges definitely stole the show from Clint Eastwood. The film def def definitely caused some emotions and played on my mind for a while afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars big letdown, 2 Jun 2008
By 
James N. Boyce (BURY ST EDMUNDS,SUFFOLK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
I have to agree with one of the reviewers on here.The film is a fantastic buddy movie,and one of my favourite Clint films.But the film transfer is a 4.3 letterbox version and a complete waste of money for a great movie.
The info for the film didn't say whether it was a widescreen or not, so it was a surprise to see it's 4.3 letterbox.A great shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Eastwood viewing, 3 Oct 2010
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
This is a very good Clint Eastwood crime thriller with a unexpected twist and the very end .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good to see this again., 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
I do enjoy watching clint eastwood movies. I hadn't seen this for years and it was good to seeit aagain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars George Kennedy is brilliant as the bad, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Still as watchable as ever, George Kennedy is brilliant as the bad guy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Bang Thunderbolt, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Top notch.Clint and jeff bridges make a great team.Highly recomennded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Blu Ray Release, 15 April 2014
I imported this blu ray from the states, however it is getting released here in the UK on June 23rd 2014,I would imagine it will be the exact same print.This is a real gem of a Clint Eastwood movie that has suffered with mediocre releases on dvd,The blu ray is 16.9 and after a grainy start we get a really beautiful picture to behold, The church scenes and the cornfield chase look nice and vibrant and this continues throughout the movie, Sound is very serviceable English 1.0 DTS HD.
Features wise on this one there was an isolated score and trailer But I don't know if this will make it on the UK release.
Roll on Tightrope coming out on Blu ray UK in June And other Clint fans might like to know Coogan's bluff Blu ray is available to order from Amazon Germany, it's a very nice print too ,most of the grain has been cleaned up and it looks great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Really enjoyed it! Clint Eastwood and Jeff Bridges work well together, and this (to me) is one of the best Eastwood Films. Obtained it earlier on, and even though the film was made in1974, it doesn't bother me- I am old enough to remember Black and White TV, and we didn't have a colour until the late 70s! To see it in colour is an advantage in itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974]
Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] by Michael Cimino (DVD - 2003)
4.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews