Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous movie
Having been an Eastwood fan for many years, I was overjoyed to see this film finally released on DVD. It is without doubt one of his greatest films, although Jeff Bridges steals the show, and received an Oscar nomination - in his first appearance!
The story is of the friendship between two very different characters, the old and seasoned veteran Eastwood, and the...
Published on 7 Nov 2003 by The Happy Prince

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can we have a 16:9 version please?
This is a widescreen on 4;3 aspect DVD, which means you have to zoom in on a 16:9 display or you get a tiny image floating in the middle with black bars top bottom and each side.

I think it is about time DVD makers caught up with the fact that a lot of people have wide screen TVs now, and also that the description on Amazon should highlight the aspect...
Published 10 months ago by N. Kemp


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous movie, 7 Nov 2003
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Having been an Eastwood fan for many years, I was overjoyed to see this film finally released on DVD. It is without doubt one of his greatest films, although Jeff Bridges steals the show, and received an Oscar nomination - in his first appearance!
The story is of the friendship between two very different characters, the old and seasoned veteran Eastwood, and the wild and irresponsable Bridges, who meet while Eastwood is escaping assasination by an old friend of Eastwood's, George Kennedy. Eventually they all get together to take on Montana Armoured Bank, with mixed results.
There's nothing new in the story or plot of this film, and admittedly it looks a little dated now, but the filmwork is outstanding, and Bridges shines. Coupled with a little action and a tragic ending, this film is truely wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Eastwood and Bridges..., 17 April 2010
By 
SE Timmins "Steve Timmins" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
I have always had this film in my collection, originally on VHS Video tape. I now have it on DVD, from Amazon.

IT IS A CLASSIC IN IT'S OWN RIGHT!

Jeff Bridges and Clint Eastwood play there roles perfectly. This will always be in my movies top-ten list.

Best Regards
Steve Timmins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good 70s fun n buddy film, 5 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
The film revolves around the relationship of an armed robber and a car thief.. who together with the robbers ex partners re rob a money dipositary with an anti aircraft gun....a good romp with familiar faces from 70s films even Gary Busey get a brief look in.. A rare Eastwood film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Blu-Ray, 30 Jun 2014
The GOOD:
For a film made in 1974, this has delivered pretty well in hi-definition. I was pleasantly surprised by the picture quality. Presented in 2.35:1 widescreen, and with a LPCM 2.0 Stereo soundtrack, this is well worth the upgrade from DVD.

The BAD:
No extras (apart from a chapter selection).

Region-B only.

Running time: 114m 39s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blu ray review, 15 April 2014
I imported this blu ray from the states, however it is getting released here in the UK on June 23rd 2014,This is a real gem of a Clint Eastwood movie that has suffered with mediocre releases on dvd,The blu ray is 16.9 and after a grainy start we get a really beautiful picture to behold, The church scenes and the cornfield chase look nice and vibrant and this continues throughout the movie, Sound is very serviceable English 1.0 DTS HD.
Features wise on this one there was an isolated score and trailer But I don't know if this will make it on the UK release.
Roll on Tightrope coming out on Blu ray UK soon And other Clint fans might like to know Coogan's bluff Blu ray is available to order from Amazon Germany, it's a very nice print too ,most of the grain has been cleaned up and it looks great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clint and Jeff at their best, 5 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Great, great movie. Has all the ingredients one expects of a Clint Eastwood movie. Jeff Bridges almost steals the show with his portrayal of the young drifter "Lightfoot" who meets up with an older drifter the "Thunderbolt" (name given him by a newspaper after a robbery where the money had never been recovered). Lots of action some amusing scenes - especially when Jeff dresses up as a sexy female and another where a family have all been bound and gagged, the parents manage to get to their daughters bedroom door and find her gagged and tied to a boy, both naked, there without their knowledge! Makes you chuckle at their predicament. Has a few quite violent interludes as well.
All I can say is buy it and enjoy repeated viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can we have a 16:9 version please?, 9 Sep 2013
By 
N. Kemp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
This is a widescreen on 4;3 aspect DVD, which means you have to zoom in on a 16:9 display or you get a tiny image floating in the middle with black bars top bottom and each side.

I think it is about time DVD makers caught up with the fact that a lot of people have wide screen TVs now, and also that the description on Amazon should highlight the aspect ratio.

Story is just as good as it ever was, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Non-anamorphic, 21 Feb 2008
By 
T. Bearne (Huddersfield United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
This 2003 DVD edition is letterbox/non-anamorphic. That means if you watch it on a widescreen TV, you get thick black bars left, right, top and bottom. Or use your TV remote to zoom in, but then you get a picture quality that's worse than VHS.

It's about time publishers took letterbox/non-anamorphic DVDs out of circulation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not anamorphic, it is letterbox despite confusing packaging, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
A thoroughly enjoyable early-70s crime thriller, the debut from writer-director Michael Cimino. Perhaps a sign of the times but the laughs do sit a little uneasily with the sometimes brutal violence. The picture quality is ok but the biggest annoyance is the product info on the back. It says the picture is presented in letterbox, but then is described as 4:3 full frame. (Sort of) thankfully it's letterboxed, preserving the 2:40:1 aspect ratio, but 16:9 anamorphic would've been much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film Buff Eddie., 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great pairing of main actors of Eastwood and Bridges. and a real horrible Baddie in George Kennedy.
one of my favorite films good Blu Ray purchase, if you have not seen this film go out and get it but i must say for the age of the film, it is well worth the extra money to purchase it in Blu Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974]
Thunderbolt And Lightfoot [DVD] [1974] by Michael Cimino (DVD - 2003)
4.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews