Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Ringers, Big Hit, 15 July 2003
By 
G White (Bedford, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Ringers - Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Impersonations can be a tricky part of comedy. Some people like to think they're great at them but sound awful and the others who make it big often get stuck doing the same people over and over. However, Dead Ringers shines as a perfect example of how to do this kind of comedy right. The cast mock a large number of celebrities and politicians, never making them catchphrase characters and coming up with hilarious sketches to put them. If you're a fan of satire, I highly suggest you buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best contemporary comedies on TV..., 15 Aug 2003
This review is from: Dead Ringers - Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
In my opinion dead ringers has something a lot of other impressionist comedies don't have - script. Alistair McGowan is an excellent impressionist, but I find the scenes in his show get repetitive, simply making fun of people's manurisms and speech impedements, where as Dead Ringers has a funny script to back up the characters, and keep the show fresh and funny.
The satirical aspect works well, and much of the script can be related to the news of the time, twisted hilariously to suit each character.
The impressions themselves are superb, and some are more like the real life people than they are themselves. Examples include Tom Baker (Doctor Who), David Dickinson, Michael Buerk, and Ann Robinson.
Dead Ringers is one of the best contemporary comedies on BBC, and in my opinion on TV altogether, and is a welcome return from watching repeats of the days when BBC comedy previously shined (which, sadly, it has not done for a long time).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Impression Comedy on Television, 16 Feb 2004
By 
S. HAYWARD (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Ringers - Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
What can I say? When I saw the DVD of Dead Ringers Series 1 on the shelf in WHS, I didn't even hesitate to buy it. It's quality has not dropped since it's radio series and it's sketches are getting better. Notable sketches include Anne Robinson presenting 'The Weakest Pet', The Weakest Disciple' and 'The Weakest Explorer'; Rolf Harris in 'Rolf on Art' and 'Animal Hospital'; Tom and Germaine as the panelists in 'Newsnight Review' and Hannah Gordon in 'Watercolour Challenge'.
I cannot wait until Series 2 is released and Series 3 arrives in May on BBC2.
A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Ringers... Dead Funny!, 27 Dec 2004
By 
Zoe Hutton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Ringers - Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is simply brilliant. On my first viewing, I almost passed out after being deprived of air (due to my fits of giggles, not a bout of strangulation) for the entire programme. If you are considering this DVD as a post-Christmas-blues lifter, you're right on track. A great, feel-good impression show that will snatch away that sadness lurking around and open your eyes to how funny the world is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Ringers, 14 July 2003
This review is from: Dead Ringers - Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is such a decent DVD! I think the actors are incredibly realistic, and I think the George Bush, Tony Blair and David Dickenson are the best. I think this is a must buy if you're into impersonations and general comedy, because it is so funny!
The Doctor Who is also very good, as he goes around shopping centres etc and just messes around with doctor who jargon.
If I could, I'd give this more than 5 stars, because it is just so funny and watchable.
PS: Greg Dyke is also very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dead ringers, dead funny, 12 July 2003
This review is from: Dead Ringers - Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
In one word this is fantastic, it is the quality comedy style you see rarely nowdays but which still brings a tear to your eye everytime. Stupid sketches with superb actor's working hard. Politicians, actors, directors they all get the works. star wars has never been better. tony blair sounds like he should and actors so riddikuled they should be on to their lawyers. If you need a good laugh then this is for you.
BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!.......YOU HAVE BEEEN WARNED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars impressionists at their best, 3 Jan 2004
This review is from: Dead Ringers - Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
when I watched the pilot episode of this i thought it was the funniest thing I had ever seen and was literally falling ont ehf loor in helpless laughter at the sight of Russell Crowe/Maximus endorsing a claims direct style company and darth vader making sandwiches. its a shame more people dont know about this programme because its one of the best things on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for fans of this type of comedy, 12 Jun 2014
By 
jacey (cardiff uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Ringers - Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I was unsure if I would like this as Alistair McGowan wasn't in this (first) series but it IS worth buying as it is VERY funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious impersonations-based sketch show, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Ringers - Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This 1-disc set contains the full first series (5 programs) + Pilot episode + Christmas Special (labeled as program 6 on the menu) with a total running time of nearly 2.5 hours.

I couldn't agree more with the Daily Mail credit cited on the box :"... a mastery mix of impersonations and top-notch writing."

With each episode containing dozens of excellent short sketches the LOL moments come in a hazardous pace.

The actors simply shine in their impersonations, and although based on some ten years or older events and TV-shows, it hasn't aged a bit thanks to the superb writing.

Here's just a fraction to be mentioned::

Dr. Who (mainly candid camera very funny outdoors sketches)
"- How much is it?
- 45p!
- Have you got change of a Galifrean Zonk?"
George Bush (with some of the funniest sketches I've ever seen) & Saddam Hussein
Tony Blair, the Queen, Michael Buerk, Ozzy Osbourne,So-called TV chefs Nigella Lawson, Delia Smith ,Jamie Oliver,
Darth Vader (warned about the use of Tabasco - "Don't underestimate the power of the sauce") & Obi Wan Kenobi,
Gandalf & Frodo Baggins ,Prof. Ryan (Silent Witness), Hyacinth Bucket,
Russell Crowe /Gladiator as John Nash (Sorry - Maximus Calculus Decimalus)
and many others.

My only quibble is the total lack of extras and the fact that the subtitles are far from being exact transcript, with large chunks missing and many changes, which for me made it almost useless and I had to turn them off.
The pilot episode is not subtitled at all.

Overall highly recommended. Such a pity later series aren't available on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: Dead Ringers - Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Ringers - Series 1 [DVD] [2002]
Dead Ringers - Series 1 [DVD] [2002] by Kevin Connelly (DVD - 2003)
£9.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews