Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absoloutely Brilliant the best comedy great by far
monty python has always een one of my favourites and i would strongly reccomend this video to any fan. look out for wonders like the dirty fork sketch and classics like ,the upper class twit of the year.and the,dead parrott. a fantastic compilation of all the best sketches.
Published on 7 April 2001

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And now for something completely vintage...
Bought this on VHS years ago and just got round to upgrading to DVD.
Not quite how I remember it from years ago but still good quality fare from the pythons. You've read all the reviews about what sketches are included so I wont elaborate further. Seemed to be quite a lot more Animation in it than I remembered too and fairly sure some of the sketches have been...
Published on 9 July 2007 by Mr. Adam J. Burns


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absoloutely Brilliant the best comedy great by far, 7 April 2001
By A Customer
monty python has always een one of my favourites and i would strongly reccomend this video to any fan. look out for wonders like the dirty fork sketch and classics like ,the upper class twit of the year.and the,dead parrott. a fantastic compilation of all the best sketches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comedy at its very best, 16 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Monty Python has always been one of the comedy greats, so this video should come as no surprise as to the legendary wit and humour that all those involved had. Although a collection of sketches and skits from the series Monty Python's Flying Circus, 'And Now For Something Completely Different' still has areas in which you will laugh in. One of the best comedy compliations I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my nipples explode with delight !, 14 May 2004
This film consists of reworkings of sketches from Series 1 & 2 of Flying Circus. If you havnt seen the TV series then this sums it up really. It includes classic sketches such as The Hungarian Phrase Book, Dead Parrot Sketch and Self Defence Against Fresh Fruit. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The comedy greats, 3 July 2013
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python's And Now For Something Completely Different [1971] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This filmed version of some the best Monty Python sketches was made to promote them in the US, and although it didn't really work in that respect, its great that we have the Python team, on film in widescreen, in their prime. The sketches are amongst their very best: The Parrot Sketch, Dirty Fork, Upper Class Twit, Blackmail, Lumberjack, Accountant to Lion Tamer, Sir Edward Ross etc etc.

Its great entertainment, and not having seen any of the TV shows for a long time, I had forgotten the clever way some sketches linked to the next one. The Pythons always gave Spike Milligan credit as their inspiration for that idea.

A lot of the comedy on the DVD is worthy of 5 stars, but at only 85mins long with very little in the way of real extras, I've docked it a star (would have been 1/2 a star if possible). That said its pretty cheap to buy, and if you don't want to spend a lot more money on the TV series then this is still a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In this picture, there are forty-seven people. None of them can be seen....., 3 May 2011
This review is from: Monty Python's And Now For Something Completely Different [1971] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
As 'didi-5' (via IMDb website) said about this film:

"Monty Python used this collection of sketches from their first and second TV series (re-packaged and staged again) to break into the American market. A gamble, but a successful one.

All the greats are here - Parrot Sketch, Dirty Fork, Hell's Grannies, Fresh Fruit Self Defence, Marriage Guidance - and more besides. The animated links, specially created for the movie, are funny and well put-together: and new versions of Killer Cars and the story of the Spot are excellent. In many cases the film versions of the sketches outshine those in the TV series and are more memorable, particularly those which first appeared in series 1.

This is a very good introduction to the team and a strong reminder of their early work for the BBC."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python, you've done it again. Bravo!, 20 Feb 2004
This review is from: Monty Python's And Now For Something Completely Different [1971] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
My friend recently introduced me to monty python and I'm glad he did!
The first film I saw was 'Monty Python and the holy grail' followed the next day by 'Monty Python's Life of Brian' (By the way these are both classics, buy them ASAP!) but next in line was 'And now for something completly different.' What a great film!
I give it four stars as it doesn't make you laugh all the way through the film, but the bits that do make you laugh are very funny. Especially the dead parrot scene, which I feel is the best scene of the lot. Anyway, make your own mind up, and buy or rent this film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to their reputation, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python's And Now For Something Completely Different [1971] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The most famous sketch is that of the dead parrott ("just resting..."), but I preferred the planned expedition to Kilimandjaro, with a guy having to hide one of his eyes, so as to avoid seeing everything in double... Imagine his trouble when at the end he sees a
woman in swimming suit, with her two breasts... Also liked Ministry of strange walking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python's And Now For Something Completely Different [1971] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If you are into Python, then you will love this sketch based film, with some of the very bestest sketches shown here. Many of my personal favourites in fact! ( killing Joke, Blackmail, upper-class twit of the year, trouble at mill, etc ) plus some of Terry Gilliams superb animations ( killer cars, old lady at the bus stop ....) completely brilliant and never fails to have me in stitches!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still funny after all these years!!!, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Allan Y. Carey (Sunny Saltcoats, Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python's And Now For Something Completely Different [1971] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
1971 and Python release this movie at the cinema!!! I wish I had the chance to see it on the big screen and sharing a laugh with the rest of the cinema goers! Anyway, this is some of their good to best sketches from the televison series. I actually prefer these ones, there is more effort and polished feel to the sketches (especially the "dirty fork" and "wasn't smelly" clip just so much funnier). Yeah, ok, we've seen them all before on TV but it's Monty Python and the movie just about stands up today. Some sketches are ok, some are just as funny as when we first saw them. Most of the time I know what is about to happen and I still laugh, just a little gem of a movie. Also, if you are not familiar with Python then it's a great start to one of the best British comedy ensemble there ever was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars monty python, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python's And Now For Something Completely Different [1971] [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Just as I remembered it! Still funny all these years later.
Watching it with my grandson.
Arrived in 2 days to France!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb16a3dd4)

This product

Only search this product's reviews