Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fear of flying killers!
Most of us have considered the possibility of dying in a horrific flying accident; a thought chilling enough to bring anyone out in a cold sweat! In his film 'Pirana II - Flying Killers', the director, James Cameron, lends another dimension to our fears, as he depicts the very real possibility of fish evolving into flying killers! Throughout history, fisherman have...
Published on 10 Nov 2002 by dsj311

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching just to see the awful mess they made....
Well I will start with the positives of the film.

Well the first scene consists of an underwater sex scene. Female nudity within the first 60 seconds is starting to set off a warning in my mind that the film I am about to watch will be awful. While this has to be one of the most random sex/death scenes I have seen in the start of a film.

Now the film...
Published on 26 Jan 2009 by P. Passmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fear of flying killers!, 10 Nov 2002
Most of us have considered the possibility of dying in a horrific flying accident; a thought chilling enough to bring anyone out in a cold sweat! In his film 'Pirana II - Flying Killers', the director, James Cameron, lends another dimension to our fears, as he depicts the very real possibility of fish evolving into flying killers! Throughout history, fisherman have reported sightings of strange, 'fish like', flying creatures. Although these fish can only fly at around ten feet above sea level, for a distance of only a few yards, their intensions are obvious; the persuit of human flesh. Throughout the film, the director deals with this delicate issue in a very professional manner. The film is a thought provoking portrayal of the extremes
of human nature. Firstly the viewer is subjected to the realisation of human greed, coupled with the depiction of our tendancy to go 'into denial' over matters that we find to terrifying to face. This occurs 'Jaws style', as the autorities refuse to listen to the advise of people who have not had their priorities clouded by averice. Although the director shows the darker side of human nature, some brilliant acting from both: Tricia O'Niel, and Steve Marachuck, restores the viewers faith in mankind, as they battle to save the world from this terrible foe. The outcome? I recommend you find out for yourself, and, after watching this, I wonder if you'll ever feel safe to go near the water again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching just to see the awful mess they made...., 26 Jan 2009
This review is from: Piranha 2 the spawning (DVD)
Well I will start with the positives of the film.

Well the first scene consists of an underwater sex scene. Female nudity within the first 60 seconds is starting to set off a warning in my mind that the film I am about to watch will be awful. While this has to be one of the most random sex/death scenes I have seen in the start of a film.

Now the film does not get started until half way through it seems they buffed out the first half of the film with female nudity and a total lack of plot.

So you managed to watch through that? Well now the plot begins well what little there is. To be fair the killer fish create the small enjoyment there is in the film. For some reason the flying piranhas always go for the neck which allows you to laugh at actors holding plastic fish to their necks.

For some reason there is a scene of cannibalism by the fish yet they are not eating all the humans bodies and a few times only the tissue round the neck. So a major question has to be if they are so hungry they are eating each other why are they not eating the humans they kill?

One of the major positive things about this film has to be it at least has a connection to the first film not much but some. It comes in the form of a brief conversation which was nice considering how many sequels to films do not even do that, Troll 2 would be an excellent example.

Ok the negatives.

1. The lighting was too dark.
2. The acting.
3. Female nudity for no reason except to try to increase the film length.
4. The lack of a plot until about half way in.
5. No special features on DVD.

I recommend watching this if you are interested or enjoy B movies but apart from that I simply say avoid, could be worth picking up for under a £1 for a cheap laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Another let down, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: Piranha 2 the spawning (DVD)
Sadly the directors messed up big time! Nowhere near as good as the first piranha film made, I would give this a miss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it a bird ? Is it a bat ? Nope ..., 19 Mar 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Piranha 2 the spawning (DVD)
... it's a fish.
"Piranha" was borderline stuff , but this film totally goes over the top as mutant piranha fish return to terrorise a beach resort on a tropical island. This time however , they all appear to have interbred with flying fish , so restrain your disbelief as you watch bat-like ,carnivorous fish flying around the resort causing all kinds of mayhem. This is a crazy film and it is a pity that they never got round to filming "Piranha 3"; maybe if they had they might have had the fish grow little arms and legs as well and that really would have been the icing on the cake. Is there any chance of a Hollywood CGI based remake of "Piranha" in the near future ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Dec 2000
By A Customer
the best b movie type horror film ever. because if its cheap budget, this film is the funniest film in the world, well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertains., 27 Sep 2011
This review is from: Piranha 2 the spawning (DVD)
Before I begin I'd just like to point out that this is actually "Piranha 2: Flying Killers" (a sequal to the original version of "Piranha") with a different title.

Once again unsuspecting holiday-makers are threatened by flesh-chomping fish. But these piranha can fly around in the air due to humanity fooling with nature (or something). So there are more killings and mayhem. This is quite a fun film to watch. It's nothing spectucular, but it's nothing too demanding and it entertains. The ever-reliable Lance Henriksen is good in his role and the flying piranha are kind of amusing to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Back away from the DVD, there's nothing to see here., 16 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piranha 2 the spawning (DVD)
Well what can I say about this film? It's one of the most humorous/ridiculous/terrible films I have ever watched. It's hard to believe this is directed by the same man that brought us The Terminator and Aliens.

The plot, what little there is, could barely fill 30 minutes, much less 90 of them. The first half of the film is a complete waste of time and it's only when the titular flying Piranha appear that anything close to entertainment can be gleaned from this horrible mess. But oh what fun can be had, approximately 2 stars worth out of 5 for me.

All of the death scenes are hilarious, flying piranha have to be amongst the most absurd 'monsters' ever considered for this type of film. I can picture the discussion now as to the plot:

"So Piranha are scary, but what if nobody is in the water?" says Producer One.

"Well let's make them fly!" says Producer Two.

"That's amazing, now let's blow the budget on beer and sweets and try to make the whole thing for £5" says Producer Three.

My advice? Only watch this after consuming ridiculous amounts of beer with your friends and if you're able to obtain a copy either for free, or less than 30p. If not give the money to charity and use the 90 minutes of your life to do something beneficial for the human race.

Let's just be thankful that Cameron learnt from this and was allowed to move on to bigger and better things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piranha 2 the spawning (DVD)
very good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Piranha 2, 26 Jan 2012
By 
Thelma L. Workman (thelma workman) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piranha 2 the spawning (DVD)
It was OK, directed by James Cameron I expected more but then it was made some time ago, a mediocre film don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars passable, but no classic, 23 May 2010
By 
Neil B ""HINRG BOY"" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piranha 2 the spawning (DVD)
PIRAHNA TWO is a loose follow up to Joe Dante's cult classic from 1978. Directed bt James Cameron, this is a "by the numbers" monster film which adds nothing to the genre. Dotted with bits of humour and comedy, the fish effects are rather lame, and who ever heard of flying killer fish? This film is passable if you fancy a late night no brainer after an evening at the pub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Piranha 2 the spawning
Piranha 2 the spawning by James Cameron (DVD - 2003)
£3.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews