Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sunny, breezy and flipping delightful.
You hear the names John Ford and John Wayne and one automatically thinks of Westerns, sprawling landscapes and machismo in bunches. Odd then that their last collaboration should be a knock about comedy set on a paradise isle. Perhaps even odder is that it should turn out to be one of their most entertaining films. Donovan's Reef finds the two Johns in very relaxed mood,...
Published on 24 Aug. 2011 by Spike Owen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars John Ford + John Wayne + Lee Marvin + a tropical island = well... much, much less than could be expected...
I found this film watchable, but it was still a disappointment, as I expected much more from such a great director and two of my favourite actors. Honestly, I think that this is the only film that John Ford at least partially messed up. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

The story takes place on Haleakaloha (a fictitious island), part of...
Published 2 months ago by Darth Maciek


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sunny, breezy and flipping delightful., 24 Aug. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Donovan's Reef [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
You hear the names John Ford and John Wayne and one automatically thinks of Westerns, sprawling landscapes and machismo in bunches. Odd then that their last collaboration should be a knock about comedy set on a paradise isle. Perhaps even odder is that it should turn out to be one of their most entertaining films. Donovan's Reef finds the two Johns in very relaxed mood, as is the rest of the cast I might add. A cast that includes Lee Marvin, Mike Mazurki, Jack Warden, Cesar Romero, Dorothy Lamour and the lovely Elizabeth Allen.

Speaking personally, I found the film far more rewarding by not knowing much about it before hand, I really only ventured into it out of loyalty to the Johns and the Marv. So in that, this isn't much of a review as such, because I would simply urge people to give it a go. Why you ask?, well because it's one of those films that can brighten your day when things have gone dark, you got The Duke and The Marv slugging each other at regular intervals, not in the normal way associated with these guys, but jocular-with this biff bang machismo comes laughs a plenty. We have Romero and his beard on prime slime mode, Allen as delicious as she is prim and proper and the Kaua'i location work gorgeously realised by William H. Clothier's photography. It's not just a comedy either. Under the mirth we find Ford dealing in thematics such as anti-racism, anti preconceptions and one of his pet leanings of brotherhood.

Donovan's Reef is a smashing film, it's far from perfect, something the principals were aware of. But in the end it's obvious that all involved just said to hell with it, lets enjoy it and hope the audience buys into that attitude as well. One can only hope that you do buy into it, and thus get as much fun from it as yours truly most assuredly did. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars John Ford + John Wayne + Lee Marvin + a tropical island = well... much, much less than could be expected..., 3 Feb. 2015
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Donovan's Reef [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I found this film watchable, but it was still a disappointment, as I expected much more from such a great director and two of my favourite actors. Honestly, I think that this is the only film that John Ford at least partially messed up. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

The story takes place on Haleakaloha (a fictitious island), part of French Polynesia. Other than its native Polynesian population and some French immigrants (including the governor, local priest and some nuns) three Americans, veterans of US Navy, stayed there after WWII. The most eminent of them is William Dedham (Jack Warden), scion of a rich family from Boston, a greatly respected doctor in charge of local hospital. During the war "Doc" Dedham married Manulani, the queen of Haleakaloha and their marriage produced three children: teenage Leilani, young Sarah and little Luke. Tragically, when giving birth to the third child, Manulani died...

The other two American immigrants (and "Doc" Dedham best pals) are Michael "Guns" Donovan (John Wayne) and Thomas "Boats" Gilhooley (Lee Marvin). Those two men are a lot in common: they share the ownership of local most infamous watering hole for sailors ("Donovan's Reef"), they are both hardened bachelors and they also have the same birthday (7 December, of all dates...). Best friends since ever and forever, for some reason they always quarrelled on their common birthday. It lasted so long, that even if everybody, themselves included, forgot what all of that was about, they still have a traditional, highly ritualised and very public bare-fists fight every 7 December - to the greatest delight of local population, the lone constable ("gendarme") included...

Even if people still mourn Manulani, life is good on Haleakaloha, but suddenly "disaster" strikes, in the shape of Miss Amelia Dedham (Elisabeth Allen) from Boston - "Doc" Dedham's daughter... She was born after "Doc" left for war and as he never returned, she never actually saw him... Amelia is now a young lady, attractive albeit tending to hide it. She is also very rich and quite powerful, as the chairman of the board of the Dedham Shipping Company. Following a very serious development in the ownership of stock in the family company, she must - very reluctantly - make the trip to Haleakaloha to meet her estranged, reclusive father about whom she doesn't know much (to the point of ignoring the existence of her three mixed race half-siblings). This quite formidable and not very nice young lady has a secret agenda on this trip and her intentions are definitely not friendly... And then the film begins.

It was of course a very good project for a comedy to confront an arrogant, aggressive, authoritarian, prejudiced, repressed, humourless and very rich woman with a society peaceful, kind, informal, tolerant, joyful and in which people mostly don't aspire to great wealth. Including in this mix a lesson in racial tolerance was certainly not a bad idea either. Finally, describing a kind of slightly utopian society, poor but happy, many members of which are likeable slackers and screwballs (and in which even villains are just clueless and mostly harmless small time crooks) was another very promising move. But sadly, all those good ideas were in large part wasted by huge problems with the scenario.

WARNING! SPOILER ALERT! The biggest problem of this film is that Miss Amelia Dedham who leaves from Boston is not the same person who arrives on the island... The first one is a nightmarish, prickly, snotty, grim, bullying, ice-freezing cold, total-pain-in-the-@ss shrew (kind of not-nymphomaniac Ilsa She Wolf of the SS). The other one is the coolest gal in the world, gentle, humane, smiling, understanding, kids-loving, completely unprejudiced, brave, caring, champion of sea skiing, totally comfortable with being the butt of jokes and not averse to some flirtation. Such a transformation would be very OK - if it didn't occur in five minutes, at the very beginning of the film... Because of this humungous error in the scenario, Miss Amelia Dedham doesn't deliver. I almost could picture the director stocking a powerful explosive charge in this character and lighting the fuse - and all that went off was a wet firecracker...

WARNING! MORE SPOILERS! There are also many other weaker points in this film. I absolutely adore John Wayne, but in this film, at 57, he was clearly too old to play the love interest of a young woman. His "seduction" of Miss Dedham is a completely artificial and forced thing - it appears that she was destined to fall for Donovan from the first second she saw him, without him doing anything at all... I also absolutely adore Lee Marvin, but his character in this film was poorly conceived by the screenwriter and for once he played him even worse. Rather than an endearing alcoholised veteran sea wolf his Gilhooley seems rather to be a developmentally challenged, mentally unbalanced and borderline unpleasant guy... The complicated relation between Donovan and Gilhooley, rather than being a funny but touching oddity, is a freakishly weird nonsense, which seems to be forced on the reality by the scenarist who worked on a short deadline... "Doc" Dedham gets away really easily with the horrible betrayal he committed in his past - after all he abandoned his wife, as ruthlessly and carelessly as if she was old slippers and never bothered even to enquire about his new-born daughter, who also just lost her mother... Somehow, the moral implications of the fact that he is a really horrible deadbeat dad who ABANDONED his baby is completely eliminated from the scenario... Etc. etc.

One of previous reviewers said about this movie that making it was a kind of Hawaiian holiday for John Ford and his gang of old pals and I think that he was very right. This film was clearly not taken seriously by the director and the screenwriter - and the actors didn't care a whole lot about it either. As result, this film is a kind of pothole in John Ford's career, coming between two absolute masterpieces, "The man who killed Liberty Valance" made one year earlier and "Cheyenne's autumn" made one year later.

There is nothing wrong in taking a holiday by shooting a light-hearted comedy on a tropical island - but with just a minimum effort, it could have been done much better. If Ford and his team didn't want to make too much of an effort with the scenario, they had a great story ready to be picked up, "Terrible Solomons" by Jack London (you can read it online as part of Gutenberg project). This extremely funny story about a highly elaborated practical joke played on a young arrogant tourist Bertie Arkwright by an aged and very malicious tycoon was never turned into a movie - and I would give a lot to see a John Ford film made from this South Seas comedy. I can almost imagine John Ford himself appearing in a cameo as Captain Malu, John Wayne playing Mr Harriwell and Lee Marvin playing Captain Hansen... Well, it is not gonna happen and instead we got this thing... (sigh)

However, even if "Donovan's Reef" is disappointing, it is still a movie with John Wayne and Lee Marvin made by John Ford - therefore there is still enough here to make it watchable. There is the excellent character of the French priest, who started to receive generous donations to fix his half-ruined church already in 1945 - and the church is still half-ruined, because every single penny he received he gave away to the needy... There is a wonderful midnight mass on Christmas in a half-ruined church, with an absolutely splendid re-creation of the respects paid to Jesus by the Three Kings. There is some good humour, a surrealistic bar brawl, some good moments with secondary characters played by veterans Cesar Romero and Dorothy Lamour, THE bathing suit of Miss Amelia and then THE KISS, which, considering the age of John Wayne in this film, must be considered as the Grandfather of all the Kisses...))) And of course there are many charming moments with "Doc" Dedham's children: Leilani, Sarah and Luke.

So bottom line, this is a watchable film, but definitely not as good as it could and should have been. I consider it as a kind of weak spot in John Ford's amazing filmography. Even if I managed to watch it until the end, it was the first and ONLY time when I checked at the time counter on the DVD player when watching a John Ford/ John Wayne movie. A watchable thing, but it is definitely not a necessary purchase - renting it is probably preferable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ford's Vacation Location Shoot on Hawaii., 7 Nov. 2012
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Donovan's Reef [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
It's a pity that John Ford and John Wayne's last film together wasn't a western. It started with "Stagecoach" in 1939 and ended with "Donovan's Reef" in 1963. The two had made the elegiac western "The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance" just before, which would have been a far better note for them to end on. Instead they decided to have a Hawaiian 'vacation' location shoot, where the two gathered together friends, family and a few old cronies together and had a great time whilst making a movie along the way. Who can blame them I guess? They might argue it was the perfect way to end the collaboration! The hard drinking Wayne had a soul mate in Lee Marvin, so the alcohol flowed freely. Ford to his chagrin was a little past his own hard drinking days. It all adds up to a nice busmans holiday at the expense of Paramount pictures.

As for the film itself, it is a typical Ford Irish-American yarn set in French Polynesia, scripted by James Edward Grant and Ford's favourite writer Frank Nugent. Wayne plays bar owner Michael 'Guns' Donovan, and Marvin was cast as his rollicking friendly rival Boats Gilhooley. The two spend lots of time trying to knock each other senseless, like friends do! The story is pretty loosely woven and involves Wayne looking after a friends children when the friends grown up daughter arrives in the attractive form of Elizabeth Allen. Interspersed with some pretty crude Fordian Oirish humour Wayne and Allen become romantically involved, despite the fact Wayne drags her around in caveman style and is ......errr a bit advanced in years for her. Maureen O'Hara was usually at the receiving end of this sort of treatment from Wayne. He even gives poor Allen a good bottom spanking, which she seemed to enjoy! Good girl! Allen enjoyed it all so much she decided to stay on in Hawaii to make "Diamond Head" with Charlton Heston.

Ford wasn't too troubled about historical accuracy and geography. Wayne and Marvin had supposedly fought a guerilla style war against the Japanese on the island during World War Two, but French Polynesia was never invaded by the Japanese. The support cast included stalwarts like Jack Warden, Dorothy Lamour, Cesar Romero and Mike Mazurki. It is hard to dislike the films good natured slapstick attempts to make you laugh, but it does become tedious when it runs to 109 minutes. Ford must have missed the likes of his old deceased drinking buddies Ward Bond and Victor McLaglen on this shoot. This is not one of John Ford's better movies, to be sure, to be sure, but it passes the time pleasantly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You say it's your birthday, 5 July 2004
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Yes it is a John Wayne movie and has many of his standard cast. This is a Christmas movie and a birthday movie. And, And, And. John Wayne gets to say, "Swing your legs...limbs over" in his John Wane manner.
Cesar Romero (Marquis Andre de Lage) is always scheming to go to Hollywood and is the first to bring up the fact that the offspring of Jack Warden (Dr. William Dedham) are half-cast and may not meet Boston standards. This leads to situations that just keep snowballing. "Oh, what tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive."
Everyone gets an appropriate present for Christmas. But I think the best one is the one that Lee Marvin (Thomas Aloysius 'Boats' Gilhooley) receives. And he gets to play King of America at the pageant.
There is not a slow moment in this film and you have to keep up with all the subplots. And the scenery is breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i loved it., 14 Nov. 2013
By 
paula beckett (sutton surrey untied kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donovan's Reef [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I have been a fan of this person for many years than I can think of , but this film is one of my favourite films and there was nothing wrong with it when it got here and it okay as well. I am very happy with the film and the service I have reicved from theses people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Heart Warming Treasure, 10 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Donovan's Reef [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This is a true tresure of a film.
The relationship between Wayne and Marvin is a treat to watch. It is a very different vehicle for these two actors and the risk they take in staring in this film pays off.
If you are looking for a typical Wayne or Marvin film then this isn't the one for you but if you are looking for something that has beatuiful locations (Kuani Hawaii), a cast you will recognise and a story line with a touch of humor then this is the film to pass a pleasent Sunday afternoon with.
A gem for the whole family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy Island, 31 Jan. 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donovan's Reef [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
In the summer of 1962, John Ford, the greatest american director of all times took his usual crew, and together with John Wayne made his goodbye film to the enchanted islands of Haway. Over the years Ford, Wayne, Bond and a few others, had spent long vacations on the islands, drinking and fishing on bord of Ford's yatch the Arener.In 1962 Ford was an old man with health problems and he decided to return for the last time to Haway. In the process he made one of his last movies, "Donovans Reef", a gentle comedy about love and friendship, that represents Ford's cinemathic ideal of society.
The DVD presents a good print that alows us to aprecciate the work of the great cinematographer that was William Clothier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars John Wayne in a non western, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donovan's Reef [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
It made a pleasant change to see John Wayne in a non western or war film. It had a serious part to the storyline but was also played for laughs. The film provides a couple of hours of escapism and can be watched by all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donovan's Reef [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I bought this for my sister as she only has it on a tape from the television and it has all the advert breaks in it. So she is delighted to be able to watch the film now uninterrupted. Very good delivery from Speedyhen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Donovans Reef, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donovan's Reef [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
What a romp set in the south pacific with some emotional undertones what can you expect from john Wayne and his co stars
a good supplier goods arrived early I would use them again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Donovan's Reef [DVD] [1963]
Donovan's Reef [DVD] [1963] by John Ford (DVD - 2005)
£10.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews