Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Mosquito lover's
This DVD really does paint a excellent picture of what was my favorite aircraft from WWII. This DVD clearly shows that the Mosquito was jack-of-all-trades and master of all.

It is the archive footage that really makes the DVD, clearly showing what an amazing plane it was and how skilled and brave the pilots were who flew it. Watching a squadron of Mossie's...
Published on 28 April 2005 by David L

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mosquito The War File DvD
I love the Mosquito, It's a beautiful aircraft with a rich history in every guise it took in combat.

So i bought this film on reading previous reviews, Expecting a plethora of details, How it was made, It's combat specs, Description of it's combat loadings and how it was used during the war, What the pilots thought of it, Possibly some mission specifics in it's...
Published on 11 Jun. 2011 by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Mosquito lover's, 28 April 2005
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD really does paint a excellent picture of what was my favorite aircraft from WWII. This DVD clearly shows that the Mosquito was jack-of-all-trades and master of all.

It is the archive footage that really makes the DVD, clearly showing what an amazing plane it was and how skilled and brave the pilots were who flew it. Watching a squadron of Mossie's flying at roof top height at approx. 400 mph is quite something.

Although the modern shots of the Mossie flying aren't brilliant, I know it was fast but serely the camera man could pan better than that!

The narration is good and the incredible statistics about the aircraft and its capabilities are fasinating.

It really is a good buy and a must for Mosquito lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic dvd, 13 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito [DVD] (DVD)
This in my opinion is the best "the war files" dvd. The sound quality is great and they let you hear the mosquito which makes a nice change from some of the other dvd's. This dvd really gives a complete picture of the plane from design to manufacture to combat. If you like Mosquito's you'll love this dvd I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mosquito The War File DvD, 11 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito [DVD] (DVD)
I love the Mosquito, It's a beautiful aircraft with a rich history in every guise it took in combat.

So i bought this film on reading previous reviews, Expecting a plethora of details, How it was made, It's combat specs, Description of it's combat loadings and how it was used during the war, What the pilots thought of it, Possibly some mission specifics in it's many roles ie Ammiens prison raid, The Gestapo headquarters raid in Holland etc, An excelent narration that complimented and guided you through the film.

What you actualy get is a mish mash of footage of various marks of aircraft, A lot of modern cockpit footage of a pilot fiddling with his map pocket on his boot sitting in a Mosquito cockpit. Some constructional footage of it being made in the factory and a few snippets of pre flight briefings. A few shots of an aircraft bombing a building, But not sure if it was a Mosquito actualy dropping the bombs. A quick over view of its Recon role which says it took a photo of a German V2 bunker from almost ground level, The photo was actualy taken by a PR Spitfire.

The narration is also very poor, In 47 minutes of footage, You get aproximately 17 minutes of narration, The rest of the time your left looking at footage of mosquito aircraft flying with no idea how it's linked to anything.
There are no tech details of the aircraft except being told, It has a wingspan of around 51 foot, Its about 17 foot high and about 42 foot long, Top speed above 400 mph and a service ceiling of about 3-4 miles with a Bomb load combat range of about 1500 miles and thats it ??????

This is a very poorly thought out film, It looks as if `I` had collected some old footage, Did a quick editing to stitch it together, Added some commentary as an after thought and have no idea what i am talking about.

If you just want to see pictures of a Mosquito in flight, This is ok, If you want to know it's History and its capabilities, Forget it, Find a mosquito book and read that instead.

I feel ripped off it's as simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De Haviland Mosquito, 9 July 2009
By 
D. P. Barker "Barking Mad" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito [DVD] (DVD)
This is a must for any fan of the beloved Mosquito! Especially the modern colour footage. To hear the 2 Merlins in perfect sincronisation is music to the ears. So for all you Spitfire and Mustang lovers, this is two Merlins side by side!
I fly a Radio Controlled model of the Mosquito and love it to bits. To see the excellent footage and the concise history of such a wonderful aircraft is awe inspiring. It has helped me fly the model just like the real one and it certainly compliments my various publications which I have also obtained from Amazon. War is horrible but war gave a few brave men & women the chance to fly a legend. Tally Ho Chaps and bring them on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good archive film with some modern flying shots, 1 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito [DVD] (DVD)
The archive that forms the bulk of this DVD also appears in "The De havilland Mosquito" (ASIN: B0002OI00G) and possibly other titles as well. This DVD also includes some cockpit shots in colour of a Mosquito being flown. I welcomed these additional shots as it was nice for me to see a pilot actually handling the machine. I would have liked to see more from inside the cockpit.
This is the best DVD I have so far on the Mosquito, but still waiting delivery of one more, which I have a horrible suspicion will also be 90% duplicate archive material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars value for money ( I paid only 3,50), just that, 18 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito [DVD] (DVD)
I found this documentary quite shallow though there is some good footage to it.
It does Indeed feature impressive sound every now and then as well but the narration sucks and at one point even mentions 27000 LB of bombs delivered to Germany up to the spring of 1945 by the Mosquito..
I would surely hope they hit that figure several times a week, or?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The aircraft deserves better., 20 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. A. M. Cawdron (norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito [DVD] (DVD)
Couldnt quite get into this DVD and why we haven't built a replica remains a mystery. I didnt much like the narration and believe there must be better footage. That aircraft was magnificent. So back to 633 squadron !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars De Havilland Mosquito, 3 Feb. 2014
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito [DVD] (DVD)
A very good DVD with some great flying sequences but I wish someone would produce an unromanticized documentary which quoted accurate statistics about this death trap. Yes the De Havilland DH98 was the fastest aircraft in the world in it's day. It was also the most versatile and adaptable, as well as an esthetically beautiful design so typical of De Havilland.

However, it had a very dark side indeed. Far more aircrews were killed in Mosquito accidents than in operational sorties. I recently read a report during my research into a Mosquito pilot and his navigator stating that OTU and MTU training were more dangerous than combat flying even for highly experienced crews, with landing and take off accounting for more Mosquito losses than any other tail dragger in service. Engine failures, particularly of the Packard Merlin variants and catastrophic air frame failures also figured highly in the loss statistics. I have a compilation of almost 2000 accidents involving Mosquito's in the UK mainland, the bulk of which caused fatalities and critical injuries.

We have good reason to feel nostalgic about these amazing aircraft but we should not over romanticize about them. They were "dangerous". The Americans didn't call them a hollowed out tree with a built in swing for nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never too old to learn, 16 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito [DVD] (DVD)
Having lived through the war as a child and remembering so many aspects, particularly in regard to the air war, it is so good to be able to learn the full story behind a particular aircraft. Although I am a sucker for all matters related to WW2 I have to say that I was totally unaware of the very short time from design to flight of this amazing machine. I shall be looking to add to this series in the coming months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent documentary., 4 Mar. 2011
By 
Geoffrey Foale "Crustacean" (S. Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito [DVD] (DVD)
The Mosquito has become something of a 'forgotten' aircraft but this excellent documentary puts the record straight and tells the whole story from conception to the final plane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

De Havilland Mosquito [DVD]
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews