Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars touching
"What do you want for mother's day?" was the question that started it. My mum answered to try and get her The Color purple on DVD. I did and I think I'm a bigger fan than her and she loves it!
The film centres around a young woman named celie played by the fanatstic Whoopi Goldberg. Celie is bullied all her life, by her step father and husband...even her own kids...
Published on 16 July 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars watchable
Down to taste really. A continuing, unfolding plot so a steady paced film. Ending could have been better as was somewhat abrupt.
Published 15 months ago by cj 1875


‹ Previous | 114 15 1621 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Nov 2014
great purchase and delivery - perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a moving experance, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a wounderful story beautifully told
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Womanist triumph..., 27 Dec 2001
This is an extraordinary film, forward thinking and beautifully directed. The director has managed, while not particularly following every letter of the Alice Walker novel on which it is based, to re-create for a film audience many of the themes and images of the novel. The novel is a triumph because of its simple 'letters to God' format, and the film extends the accessibility of the novel to an even greater audience. It is a huge cliche to say that 'the book's better than the film'. In this case, the book is different, it is as simple as that. There are similarities, however the novel challenges and explores many themes and concepts not present in the film. This is not to say that the film is not a sensitive, real, and intense version of Walker's novel, it is, as far as the genre allows Speilberg to take it, an unmissable piece of cinema. However, I'm sure the actors and filmakers themselves would agree, that once you've enjoyed the film, treat yourself to the novel... and see much, much more... challenge your notions of the world around you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct 2014
Excellent service and quality x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sep 2014
Aww I love this movie so much!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Color Purple [1985] [DVD], 19 Mar 2012
I believe this DVD is possibly a Pirate copy for the following reasons:
1-The copyright warning and the Menu choice is at the end of the DVD
2-The DVD is double sided which makes the Menu option irrelevant and the copyright warning misplaced
3-The quality of recording is poor having glitches and gaps during playback in both vision and sound.
4-It is not of the quality I have come to expect from Amazon and I would hope that my suspicions can be tested accordingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Color Purple, 28 Aug 2003
By 
Mrs. C. Davies-Topping "tobytramengine" (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Color Purple [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Stars Whoopi Goldberg as the main character. She is just superb. She gives this role her best and bears her soul and takes it all on for real. She is totally believable in her role as an abused mistress who was abused by her own farther. She bore two children to her own blood father, one boy and one girl. She was told they died, but did they? Her 'Mister' or 'Boss' or 'Sir' is smitten with an old flame who left the community many years ago, she comes back and give them all something to think about before moving on. It is a movie to be watched and understood. Racism is the pits, we all breathe the same air so should live in harmony. Just a shame that will never be the case, eh! Watch and see for yourself, Whoopi at her best, and youngest I think!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely awesome movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST SEE, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing emotional film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the colour purple, 12 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Color Purple (Special Edition) [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
This is the best film ever made. It is touching and sad i would recommend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1621 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Color Purple (Special Edition) [DVD] [1986]
The Color Purple (Special Edition) [DVD] [1986] by Steven Spielberg (DVD - 2003)
£8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews