Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The West Wing rocks
The West Wing rocks with the 2nd set of DVD's climaxing the second season of this fine TV show. We continue to chart the fortunes of the Bartlet Whitehouse, as this series hurtles towards its shattering conclusion with the revelations of the Presidents Illness and the shocking departure of a much loved character.
There are fine episodes here from The Drop in,...
Published on 27 July 2003 by andyc1961

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I always know what im talking about
Well now my favourate little hippies where do i begin? I always loved Fraiser and Grayam Norton but this does not seal the envelope with me... Oh dearist NO!! I bought it but then I decided to leave town, but i went back. To get this lovely persian doo hicky for my mums friends cousins puppys sisters owners postmans boss's secretary. But she wanted a bear rug. Egh, I...
Published on 8 July 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars More top quality from TWW, 20 Jun 2003
By 
P. Ransom (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Descending into a slightly darker mood, the second half of season two maintains the excellent standards that The West Wing has set.
"17 People" may be among the best two or three pure drama episodes ever, with Toby putting the pieces together to discover about President Bartlet's MS. "18th & Potomac" is absolutely jaw-dropping shocking for its conclusion and may upset long-term viewers on first viewing, but the season finale more than makes up for it with an outstanding look back on a younger Bartlet and his announcement that he has MS.
Other highlights are the welcome return of Lord Marbury in "The Drop In", another of Leo's big block of cheese days in "Somebody's Going To Emergency..." and an entertaining filibuster by Senator Stackhouse that includes the ingredients for a Banana Chantillier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Yet, 24 July 2003
This review is from: The West Wing - Season 2 Part 2 (Episodes 12 To 22) [DVD] (DVD)
The second half of the this second season contains some of the best writing and acting seen so far in this remarkable drama. The pick of the episodes is the season finale. Whilst it lacks some of the adrenaline pumping action that the first season ended with it more than makes up for it in emotional speeches and flashbacks. It is easily Aaron Sorkin's best writing, and in that I include previous episodes of The West Wing and his other film works. Of course the rest of the episodes continue to display the high level of political interest, drama and witty situations that we have come to expect and love. Whilst long running stories will only make sense to regular viewers, I strongly urge anyone who likes intelligent and funny drama to buy this dvd, and while your at it buy the rest as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as ever, 2 Jun 2003
This review is from: The West Wing - Season 2 Part 2 (Episodes 12 To 22) [DVD] (DVD)
this excellent second half to the second series of The West Wing carries on from its previous segments and continues the witty, paced happenings of the White House. Bartlett dealing with ill health and having to face the prospect of not running for president again (under his wifes guidlines) makes for some heated viewing as the team also hav to deal with the stresses that began in the first half such as Josh's stress and CJ's mounting hostility towards the presidents ways. they also have to deal with foreign affairs - drug companies, kidnappings. Then the inevitable accident that will always pop-up. Arin Sorkin's excellent screenplay looses none of its original wit and humour or serious tones that blend together to make this the best piece of fiction about The White House.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Episodes so Far, 20 July 2003
This review is from: The West Wing - Season 2 Part 2 (Episodes 12 To 22) [DVD] (DVD)
All the episodes in this second half of the second season are aimed towards an intense finale. Whilst it may not be packed with the same adrenaline pumping action as the first season's finale it does portray another more emotional aspect, one which is sure to affect the show from this point onwards. Containing the usual clever, witty and educational scenes as we have come to expect it also manages to reach new levels of depth. It is easily the best piece of writing by Aaron Sorkin, including not only The West Wing but all of his other works as well. Fans of the show won't want to miss this, nor will others who enjoy brilliant acting, writing and drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WEST WING 2:2, 16 July 2003
This review is from: The West Wing - Season 2 Part 2 (Episodes 12 To 22) [DVD] (DVD)
The West Wing once agian proves itself to be one of the most powerful and thought provoking series to be produced in recent year.
This particular series builds on the comedy and drama that made the first series so compelling to watch. Series two shows the characters in much more depth than before, it shows the personal and professional costs of being involved with the President of the United States.
The West Wing is enjoyable and challenging without being hard work and you need have no great knowledge of politics in order to watch and understand it.
It is quite easy to pick up the story - even if you have not watched the first series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just amazing!, 25 Aug 2003
This review is from: The West Wing - Season 2 Part 2 (Episodes 12 To 22) [DVD] (DVD)
It may sound dull and repetative, but this series is even better than the last ones. The last episode stands above the rest as one of the best pieces of TV to come out of America. Even the cold hearted viewer will feel the tears welling up! Make no mistake though, once you order the box set, you might as well write-off the next day, take the phone off the hook and call in sick....you won't leave the TV until you have seen them all...at least twice! In the words of Lord John, 'Thank God you called for me!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, I love it, I love it! Just can't get enough!, 31 July 2003
This review is from: The West Wing - Season 2 Part 2 (Episodes 12 To 22) [DVD] (DVD)
These three DVDs are, quite simply, brilliant. In my opinion they represent the best episodes of The West Wing in all of the first three series: Sorkin seems to have found the right balance between humour, sentiment, analysis of (frequently complex) policy and the authentic level of detail of the running of the White House.
I'd like to single out two episode especially: "Somebody's Going to Emergency, Somebody's Going to Jail" and "Two Cathedrals" which both featured stunning and heart wrenching dramatisations so powerful that they'll bring tears to your eyes.
I wish I had the same verbal capacity as Sam, Toby or any of the senior White House staffers to do the DVD justice but I don't, so I shall just sum it up in one word - amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Magic Continues, 25 July 2003
By 
C. J. Schaps - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The West Wing - Season 2 Part 2 (Episodes 12 To 22) [DVD] (DVD)
Continuing the magic and momentum of the first season, the second season begins with an assasination attempt on the President and ends with his admission that he has MS. Perhaps the stand out episode is "The Stackhouse Filibuster" which shows that one brave man can still make a difference in American politics.
Brilliantly acted, "The West Wing" is about how politics should be. There is a reason it has won more than 20 Emmys in two seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great price, 12 Dec 2013
By 
G. Mogan (york) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The West Wing - Season 2 Part 2 (Episodes 12 To 22) [DVD] (DVD)
great price , don't know the show and this is an easy way to decide whether i like it or not - not in this case
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The "Best" Wing, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The West Wing - Season 2 Part 2 (Episodes 12 To 22) [DVD] (DVD)
Still by far he best American Drama Series ever written. I am watching the whole series (Complte) end to end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The West Wing - Season 2 Part 2 (Episodes 12 To 22) [DVD]
Used & New from: £0.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews