Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally - series 3...
At last, they are releasing the final series of Spawn. Forget the films - this animated series is what it is all about. As true as possible to the comics, whilst working well as an animation, this series wraps up the story. If you enjoyed series one or two then this is a must buy.
Published on 8 Mar 2004

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spawn season 1 on dvd at last
Todd McFarlane’s wonderful haunting, brooding, hell born, soldier of the damned is fantastic on this dvd containing the complete first season of Spawn the animated series. The story is interesting and visually the thing looks great.
Unfortunately whereas the series is good this is not a great dvd. No special features to be seen, and possibly the biggest insult...
Published on 4 Feb 2004 by Crogers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spawn season 1 on dvd at last, 4 Feb 2004
This review is from: Spawn [DVD] (DVD)
Todd McFarlane’s wonderful haunting, brooding, hell born, soldier of the damned is fantastic on this dvd containing the complete first season of Spawn the animated series. The story is interesting and visually the thing looks great.
Unfortunately whereas the series is good this is not a great dvd. No special features to be seen, and possibly the biggest insult of all the gritty 18 rated programme has been edited and censored to bring it down to a 12, which sometimes limits the story.
3 stars for the series, the only thing keeping this from 5 is the below average dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally - series 3..., 8 Mar 2004
By A Customer
At last, they are releasing the final series of Spawn. Forget the films - this animated series is what it is all about. As true as possible to the comics, whilst working well as an animation, this series wraps up the story. If you enjoyed series one or two then this is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than The Film, 9 Dec 2000
By A Customer
I read the comics and have seen the film. It wasn't true to the comics in many ways. This is not so with the animated series, it is true to the comic books in most ways (of course it has been changed a bit but it's mostly the same). The style of animation perfectly suits the darkness of the comic as the animation is very dark. This does not hinder the viewing though because of the way it is shown, you can see all the details it is necessary for you to. Overall, this is a very good programme and having the first three episodes on DVD for such a cheap price is very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spawn is awesome!, 24 Feb 2005
This review is from: Spawn [DVD] (DVD)
i personally thought this was a realy good buy, i am yet to experience the grittyness of the 18 version, but i'm sure i will soon.
5 out of 5 for amazingness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant anime!, 23 May 2004
Spawn is a brilliant example of anime, featuring loads of cool characters and animation, and i think this particular Spawn DVD is the best one of the lot! Theres a few bloody scenes but nothing major, and the violence is at a minimum. However the script is marvellous and very original, and i just love how dark all the scens are, it's almost scarey! Spawn is obviously the best character, closley followed by Sam and Twitch, i think they're really funny!
On a whole, i think if you like cartoons with a darker and grittier side, then this is for you! And i epecially recommend this to manga fans everwhere! Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie for the anime-intrested., 10 Dec 2000
First of all i have to say that i was kind of disappointed when i saw the real movie....even with a great actor as Martin Sheen, the movie never came up to the expectation i had so it was with alot of negative attitude that i bought and watched this animated version and boy was i suprised! The animations are great to say at least and the story is just as it should be, fun and full of action. The animations are great and this movie just shows that Spawn is supposed to be animated and nothing else..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story begins.., 4 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story of Al Simmons is gripping and these first 3 episodes of series 1 are excellent.
The story is water tight. The animation is good, better in my opinion to many other anime that I have seen (Though I am no expert)
The animation progresses as time goes on, it gets a lot more crisp and darker.
Keith David plays the voice of Spawn and he really does steak the show with his dark and thrilling voice over work, I couldn't imagine these episodes doing so well without his charisma.

As another reviewer has stated, make sure for the correct theatrical un-cut series, get the 18 cert version.
I believe they released the first and part of series two watered down for a younger teen audience and graphic scenes are watered down dramaticaly.

Overall a brilliant start to a growing excellent series, its just a shame its ended completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spawn Again!, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spawn [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic movie from HBO, far superior to the poor live-action movie

I always loved the power count down towards the final end of Spawn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SPAWWWN, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spawn [DVD] (DVD)
CAME ON TIME AND REASONABLY PRICED. QUALITY WAS AMAZING FOR A 90'S DVD AND THE STORYLINE IS SO COMPELLING YOU FIND YOURSELF WATCHING IT TO THE END. ITS SO DARK ITS WHAT BATMAN WANTED TO BE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone who has read the comic books, 16 Nov 2000
By A Customer
I had only seen the film Spawn and glanced at my boyfriends Spawn comics, but I was willing to give this video a go when I brought it for him. For the moment it started to the moment it finished I was hooked. The animation is superb. It has a deliciously dark atmosphere to it that rivals Tim Burton's Batman film. A beautifully written storyline that (according to my boyfriend) stays true to the Spawn comics. A must for anyone who has read the comic books and a definate recomendation for those who haven't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spawn [DVD]
Spawn [DVD] by Thomas A. Nelson (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews