Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete series - episodes listed in order
When I first started searching for the complete animated series of Spawn (18 rated), I found the volume numbers and series numbers very confusing, so, having finally figured it all out and then receiving my order, I thought it might help others if a full but simple list of all the episodes were available, it will help when placing your order. There are 3 series of Spawn,...
Published on 2 April 2010 by A. Feathered-Quill

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spawn season 1 on dvd at last
Todd McFarlane’s wonderful haunting, brooding, hell born, soldier of the damned is fantastic on this dvd containing the complete first season of Spawn the animated series. The story is interesting and visually the thing looks great.
Unfortunately whereas the series is good this is not a great dvd. No special features to be seen, and possibly the biggest insult...
Published on 4 Feb. 2004 by Crogers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete series - episodes listed in order, 2 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I first started searching for the complete animated series of Spawn (18 rated), I found the volume numbers and series numbers very confusing, so, having finally figured it all out and then receiving my order, I thought it might help others if a full but simple list of all the episodes were available, it will help when placing your order. There are 3 series of Spawn, each series has 6 episodes, split into 2 volumes, i.e. Season 1 (consists of volume 1.1 & 1.2) Season 2 (volume 2.1 & 2.2) Season 3 (volume 3.1 & 3.2)

The Episodes are as follows:-

Season 1 Volume 1.1 = BURNING VISIONS
EVIL INTENT
NO REST - NO PEACE

Volume 1.2 = DOMINOES
SOULS IN THE BALANCE
END GAME

Season 2 Volume 2.1 = HOME BITTER HOME
ACCESS DENIED
COLOURS OF BLOOD

Volume 2.2 = SEND IN THE KLOWNS
DEATHBLOW
HELZAPOPPIN

Season 3 Volume 3.1 = A MADE GUY
TWITCH IS DOWN
SEED OF THE HELLSPAWN

Season 3 Volume 3.2 = HUNTERS MOON
CHASING THE SERPENT
PROPHECY

I sincerely hope this helps anyone out there wanting to put this collection together. I would suggest that, once you have found the relevant spawn dvd you wish to order, just click on the enlarge image selection to be sure the copy you're ordering is in fact 18 rated. This was never made for children, it was always intended for the adult market, and to appreciate the brilliance of this manga work by Todd McFarlane, it really has to be the 18 rated version and not the much diluted and edited 12 rated version. It really is a brilliant, genius series. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spawn season 1 on dvd at last, 4 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Spawn [DVD] (DVD)
Todd McFarlane’s wonderful haunting, brooding, hell born, soldier of the damned is fantastic on this dvd containing the complete first season of Spawn the animated series. The story is interesting and visually the thing looks great.
Unfortunately whereas the series is good this is not a great dvd. No special features to be seen, and possibly the biggest insult of all the gritty 18 rated programme has been edited and censored to bring it down to a 12, which sometimes limits the story.
3 stars for the series, the only thing keeping this from 5 is the below average dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story Continues, 10 July 2001
By 
In season 1.2 contains the next 3 epsiodes to the Fantastic Spawn story where as the first spawn dvd pulled you into the story this dvd really expands and moves the story forward to great new hieghts again fantastic quailty on dvd a must have for anyone that has the first dvd or is intrested in watching spawn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good start., 12 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is a brillaint start to a anime drama that just keeps you watching and watching uintil the entire series ends, and these 3 episodes are the final 3 in season 1.

The menu's are basic, with a catch up section, there is no individual episode selection, just a scene selection menu and a play all. You get a intro with Todd McFarlane par every episode watched with his quips and thoughts on Al Simmons life.

Overall, this first season fully is rather dull in animation compared to season 2 and 3. Theres a scene slection called "Angela" - The scene is ok, but the animation looks different, the character is never ever heard of again, just a smidge confusing on where she went as a Hell Spawn Hunter for heaven - Unless I'm missing something here, then thats the only downer on this excellent dvd.

Well animated (And its gets better), gripping story, memorable characters, chilling scenes of death and violence. It has it all.

As stated with the first 3 episodes of season 1, make sure you get the 18 cert dvd for full uncut material. Theres a muddy watered version designed for early teens which have violence and naughty words cut out. Nothing too major to the plot, but in esscence, it does take away the feel with dubbing and scene cutting, so get the 18 cert and watch away.

Cheers for reading and hope you enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant anime!, 23 May 2004
Spawn is a brilliant example of anime, featuring loads of cool characters and animation, and i think this particular Spawn DVD is the best one of the lot! Theres a few bloody scenes but nothing major, and the violence is at a minimum. However the script is marvellous and very original, and i just love how dark all the scens are, it's almost scarey! Spawn is obviously the best character, closley followed by Sam and Twitch, i think they're really funny!
On a whole, i think if you like cartoons with a darker and grittier side, then this is for you! And i epecially recommend this to manga fans everwhere! Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally - series 3..., 8 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
At last, they are releasing the final series of Spawn. Forget the films - this animated series is what it is all about. As true as possible to the comics, whilst working well as an animation, this series wraps up the story. If you enjoyed series one or two then this is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spawn is awesome!, 24 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Spawn [DVD] (DVD)
i personally thought this was a realy good buy, i am yet to experience the grittyness of the 18 version, but i'm sure i will soon.
5 out of 5 for amazingness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone who has read the comic books, 16 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
I had only seen the film Spawn and glanced at my boyfriends Spawn comics, but I was willing to give this video a go when I brought it for him. For the moment it started to the moment it finished I was hooked. The animation is superb. It has a deliciously dark atmosphere to it that rivals Tim Burton's Batman film. A beautifully written storyline that (according to my boyfriend) stays true to the Spawn comics. A must for anyone who has read the comic books and a definate recomendation for those who haven't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SPAWWWN, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spawn [DVD] (DVD)
CAME ON TIME AND REASONABLY PRICED. QUALITY WAS AMAZING FOR A 90'S DVD AND THE STORYLINE IS SO COMPELLING YOU FIND YOURSELF WATCHING IT TO THE END. ITS SO DARK ITS WHAT BATMAN WANTED TO BE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spawn Again!, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spawn [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic movie from HBO, far superior to the poor live-action movie

I always loved the power count down towards the final end of Spawn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spawn [DVD]
Spawn [DVD] by Thomas A. Nelson (DVD - 2003)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews