Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's the tape all the bad guys want!
How I've waited for this release. I had such fond memories of watching Nimon when it was shown - and repeated viewings have not changed my mind at all. If anyone were to argue that this story is atrociously bad, I could not convincingly change their mind. But it is a lesser crime to be bad than dull, and this story is bad with relish. It features Tom at his most...
Published on 2 Jun 2003 by Satisfied Customer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trite
Not one of the best Tom Baker stories, Once more he is on his humor best, but the story does seem to limp a bit. However still a good intergalactic romp and worth watching
Published on 2 Aug 2003 by igwhyte


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's the tape all the bad guys want!, 2 Jun 2003
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Horns Of Nimon [VHS] (VHS Tape)
How I've waited for this release. I had such fond memories of watching Nimon when it was shown - and repeated viewings have not changed my mind at all. If anyone were to argue that this story is atrociously bad, I could not convincingly change their mind. But it is a lesser crime to be bad than dull, and this story is bad with relish. It features Tom at his most unfettered and indulgent, atrocious overacting, excrutiating dialogue - heck, it's just wonderful! The Plan 9 of Doctor Who. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horny, 28 April 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Horns Of Nimon [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Horns of Nimon is a sci-fi take on the legend of Theseus and the Minotaur, and Tom Baker's Doctor even uses his scarf in place of string to find his way out of the labyrinth. Baker and Lalla Ward are as great as ever, and even Graham Crowden's outrageously camp and hammy priest Soldeed can't ruin a fun story. Featuring Janet Ellis in an early TV role, this is a dark and claustrophobic tale that can be forgiven its excesses. The Nimon are actually pretty scary - I remember seeing one in Madame Tussaud's many years ago and hiding behind my Dad!
Forget the naysayers, this is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horns Of Nimon, 5 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. R. Brooks (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Horns Of Nimon [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is certainly one of the better Tom Baker episodes during his latter stages as Dr Who. The Horns of Nimon captures some of the atmosphere that his early episodes had. Though not up there with the best, a most watch for any Dr Who fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Actually a real cool story., 17 Aug 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Horns Of Nimon [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Every season with Tom Baker as the Doctor was great, to start with. Secondly, just because monsters arent terribly well designed doesnt mean that the stories arent good. And third, The Horns Of Nimon is a good laugh and a valuable addition to the dr who video range. For a start Graham Crowden is laughable as Soldeed, but in a good way! Tom Baker's run as the doctor was strong from the start to the end, and he is at his most confident and outspoken in this brill story. Doctor who always did have some comedic or comical moments, but they were never trashy moments, and heres a good story to prove this. anthony read is a good writer and this is a good take on the minotaur legend. and the nimons arent that bad, and they tower over everyone, much more tall than any cyberman! great stuff. and Lalla Ward really gets a decent chunk of this story as well, which is nice as shes brilliant as Romana. Total wacky cool and fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The horns of Nimon, 10 July 2003
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Horns Of Nimon [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The horns of Nimon is one of those few Dr. Who stories which is often frowned upon in the main by the fans because of it's panto- style production, and for it's costume design.
Having not seen the story for about four years, I took in the reviews that I had read, but when I came to watch it again, having bought the recently released Vhs, found it to be an exelent example of Tom Baker's later years. To me, it is up there with the keeper of Traken.
The ideas of Greek mythological villains is great, as many doctor who episodes are when looking at legendary monsters (such as Terror of the zygons), and the ending to episode two, with the walls moving around in the maze is simply classic.
The doctor and Romana are both on top form, whilst there is some excelent acting from the sinister, yet ruined character Soldeed.
If you can ignore the the panto feel of the spaceship scenes, and the cheesyness of the Nimon costumes, this is definately worth a watch. I'd recomend it to anyone!
And if you can't agree with any of this, it may be worth getting hold of a copy, as it's likely to be the last fourth doctor story to be released on VHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'll keep it for my love of the Doctor, 16 Aug 2004
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Horns Of Nimon [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I wish i could tell you this adventure in the pantheon of doctor who was beautiful, with Sir Thomas Baker in full swing, playing his character with great gusto, and adding great to an otherwise flimsy story.
Alas, i would be lying to you ,viciously.
HORNS OF NIMON is a good idea for a story , destroyed by a poor cast and the inclusion of many unnecessary children, and useless actors. This is not helped by a very bad script, it leaves me wondering that anything which has Douglas Adams as script editor in the titles means Parody.
I must add the poor acting of Romana( a saucy but-inept Lalla Ward , who is relied upon to be some reason for the Doctor even hanging around) , and the shameless reliance on K-9's ability to shoot laser beams at opponents(something which is heavily relied upon in this tired time.)
The actor playing ' Soldeed ' (or something like that) must have been delivering the most over the top
(and quite rubbish) piece of acting i have ever seen,and given the actor's long record of good programmes hereafter, i can only assume the director was weak enough to allow such rubbish.
The things i have mentioned above would be bad enough, but Tom Baker , a man who i have always respected, is in full comedic swing.
Almost as if the beautiful things he had done already with the character had become a complete joke.
This one is only for collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trite, 2 Aug 2003
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Horns Of Nimon [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Not one of the best Tom Baker stories, Once more he is on his humor best, but the story does seem to limp a bit. However still a good intergalactic romp and worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 1 Dec 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Horns Of Nimon [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I actually really enjoyed this. I remember being terrified of the nimons when I first saw this. I think they'd be well worth bringing back for the new series as they have the potential to be quite frightening. Just imagine if they invaded earth. Lalla Ward is great in this and I thought she was a fantastic companion, one of the best. Tom Baker gives a slightly more casual performance and doesn't seem to take the situation seriously, which diminishes the story a bit. Corridors with changing walls, terrible acting from the sacrifices, jellybabies, and Lalla Ward taking charge. What more could you ask for, apart from a dvd release? Honestly, there's no pleasing some people...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars typical Tom Baker rubbish, 18 May 2004
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Horns Of Nimon [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Tom Baker, like Pertwee before him, did some fine work in the first couple of seasons he was in the part, then churned out complacent, self indulgent tripe, like Horns of Nimon and many others, for the next few years. This tale of bull-headed Nimon parasites is just before the turning point when JNT tried to turn things around. (Davison would then improve/build up gradually and peak with Androzani). But this Nimon crap is kiddies hour, more than ever, with growling silly monsters, wild eyed boo-hiss villains, pantomime FX and a callous and silly Doctor who was screaming "I'm past my used-by date!" Romana's a crap smug companion too, who makes Adric look humble by comparison. Overall, BAD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Horns Of Nimon [VHS]
Doctor Who: The Horns Of Nimon [VHS] by Kenny McBain (VHS Tape - 2003)
Used & New from: 7.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews