Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
This compared to the more modern one with Eddy Issard, is by far the better of the two, the story does not get lost with technicalities It is straight forward and to the point. A classic and yet another movie that I remember from my own child hood.
Published 4 months ago by Peter White MA 2002

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning about DVD sound quality.
This is not a product review, I am writing to mention that the Cheezy Flicks 2010 DVD release of The Day of the Triffids does not have sound, on the final 4 chapters of the film. Beware, and shop around until you find a better-quality release. Picture quality was not great either.
Published on 8 Jan 2011 by Close Range.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning about DVD sound quality., 8 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a product review, I am writing to mention that the Cheezy Flicks 2010 DVD release of The Day of the Triffids does not have sound, on the final 4 chapters of the film. Beware, and shop around until you find a better-quality release. Picture quality was not great either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not What It Claims, 12 July 2011
By 
The Neon Weasel (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Theres no nice way to put this,so Ill be blunt,DONT BUY THIS DVD,it may be a cult classic,but the actual quality of the disc is terrible.It proudly boasts to have been Digitally Remastered,if this is the case I shudder to think just how bad the quality of the original print was.Infact Im surprise that Cheezy Flicks,who distribute it,havnt been sued under the Trades Description Act.If you want to know just how bad it is put on a pair of glasses,smear them in grease,that should give you a fair idea of the visual quality,as for the sound,put you head in a bucket.

A great film completely ruined,and a total rip off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 104 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ...Read this before you buy this dvd, 2 Dec 2001
By A Customer
I love Day Of The Triffids. I was excited to find this on dvd but was disappointed with the quality of the product.
The sound quality is very poor. Muffled and muddy, it's very hard to hear what is being said sometimes. The quite bits are too quiet and the loud bits are far too loud. You are constantly reaching for the volume control to try to balance this out.
There is a lot of noise on the soundtrack with very many audible clicks and pops, especially when the reels change. These are LOUD! Throughout the entire film, these loud noises interupt the flow of the film and become very irritating after a while. Rather than draw you in, this positively pushes you away.
The video quality is very poor also. The entire film looks out of focus and the colours are very faded and wishy-washy. The film looks like it was shot in black and white in places the colours are so bland. The dark shadows are very gray and lack detail. There is one scene where the quality is so poor, it looks like it's raining indoors!
Add to this the lack of extras on the dvd only the trailer being added,(chapter stops and interactive menus are not extras in my opinion) this is a poor release.
This is a great shame as this is a good film, maybe one of the best British sci-fi films ever. I can only warn you NOT to buy this. If you've never seen the film, try the vhs video version instead.
If you love the film as much as I do, you'll buy this dvd anyway, but you will be disappointed as I was.
I rate the film 5 stars.
I rate the Video quality 2 stars (it's in widescreen)
I rate the Sound quality 1 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY THIS DVD, 3 July 2003
I'm not going to discuss the film itself. It's a classic.
I do want to discuss this DVD though. I have almost 600 DVD's, from movies made on a shoestring to big budget. And they ALL look better than this DVD. VHS tape far outperforms what we have here. It's a disgrace this one was released. I don't know where they got the transfer from - but this does not even make a good coaster. Seriously, it's is unwatchable.
The guy who gave it three stars must not have seen this DVD. Screw the extras, I want to be able to se the film! You can't here. Forget this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'll get you and your little dog too, 20 Dec 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Day Of The Triffids [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
One day a comet came by and a meteorite left off a triffid. So we are familiar with the little cuties. They never bothered anyone.

Little did we know that the next comet would bring a hungry version of triffid. Looks like the new one likes snacking on cute girls and little dogs.

What do we care if a few slow moving plants are roaming around? No wait, the meteor shower has blinded most of the population. Now we have a problem as a plant that munches on people and propagates like rabbits can now feed without having to exercise.

This is more than just an eating story. There is also a lonely sailor that escaped being blinded while he was in the hospital. How he builds a family from acquaintances on his mission to regroup. Mean while back at the lighthouse on an island a burned out lush scientist has found a mission to bump off the triffids before he becomes triffid chow.

This is one of those movies that would have been more dramatic in Black and white.

The only draw back on this movie is the female in the lighthouse screams and screams and screams. Then she hears something and does not want to wake up her hubby so she walks right up to the poor triffid and screams at it. It looks like the poor thing lost its footing.

Again this is a pale reflection of an excellent book. Also to be politically correct the triffids that were genetically produced in Russia in the book now mysteriously come from a comet to let the Russians off the hook. However the movie captured the essence. And it is necessary to watch for cultural literacy. And it is just downright fun.

The Day of the Triffids (20th Century Rediscoveries)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Spit On Your Gourd!, 21 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Day Of The Triffids [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Sailor Bill Masen(Howard Keel) is recovering in hospital from an eye operation. The bandages are due off the following morning, so Masen is going to miss the much publicized meteorite storm that every body is talking about. The next morning, Masen awakes to find the hospital seemingly deserted. When he rings for assistance no-one answers. He soon finds out to his horror that following the meteorite storm most of the population have been rendered blind. Even worse, a large group of plants, called Triffids, that were first discovered following a previous meteor storm, have suddenly started to multiply and move around of their own accord. Not bad in itself, but the Triffids have aquired a taste for human flesh. As Masen frantically searches for other 'sighted' people he begins to understand the enormity of the situation. The day of the plants has arrived!
Taken on its own merits, this is quite an enjoyable little piece of pulp science fiction. However, my version of 'Day Of The Triffids', the 1981 BBC adaptation is so vastly superior in every way that I'm afraid unfavourable comparisons are going to be made. The problem is that this adaptation deviates in important ways from John Wyndham's source material. Not a big deal in itself, if the deviation goes in interesting and experimental directions. However, every change here is to the dtriment of the original story. The most glaring example is probably how the main character changes from someone with 'history' of the Triffids, who is in hospital because of them, to the character in the film who has no connection with the plants. Therefore the motivations of the lead character are totally different, as there is an element of revenge in the original story. Another big difference is that the Triffids origins have been changed from Earthbound experimental plants, cultivated for their oil, to a space-borne alien plant. Finally, in search of an ending that doesn't leave loose ends, this film finds a method to dispatch the Triffids, very poor when compared to the open ended ending in the book.
My second big gripe is the casting of Howard Keel in the lead role. His performance is charisma free and one gets the feeling he would rather be anywhere else, rather than making a film about giant carnivorous plants. A shame, as casting a different actor in the role might of lead to the film having a very different dynamic.
There are compensations. Certain scenes are very effective, such as the panicking passengers spewing from the derailed train and the last moments of the doomed planes' last flight. The meteorite shower too has a garish beauty. The Triffids are of a reasonable design though not a patch on the 1981 model.
So inferior to the 1981 television adaptation, but far better than the terrible recent BBC retread, this is an enjoyable enough film with many flaws. The picture quality on this release is quite faded in places, but the audio quality is fine. A guarded 3 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic English novel becomes American Schlock Horror, 24 July 2000
By A Customer
In 1963, Istvan Szekely directed this version of the John Wyndham novel "The Day of the Triffids" and turned an English science fiction classic into a Schlock Horror based in America. Apart from the Triffids themselves, there is hardly a single similarity to the original novel, except for the names and the explanation why the priciple cast did not turn blind like most of the rest of the population. So, if you are looking for something which is a good representation of the novel, forget it. However, if you are looking for a film reminiscent of "The Blob" or its contemporaries, it delivers. Howard Keel is definitely the all american hero you expect in this type of movie and Janette Scott plays the 'femme fatale' who has a strong mastery of silver screen scream, even in a lighthouse! The storyline is simplistic beyond measure - always useful on a late friday night after too many drinks! - and the ending is typical of this genre. Best described as a "late-night-curry-and-lager" movie, watch "Day of the Triffids" if you liked the film of "War of the Worlds" and you will not be upset...too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day Of The Triffids [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
This compared to the more modern one with Eddy Issard, is by far the better of the two, the story does not get lost with technicalities It is straight forward and to the point. A classic and yet another movie that I remember from my own child hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Day of the Triffids (1962) film, 11 Oct 2011
By 
S. Farley (Peasmarsh, Nr. Rye, East Sussex. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the subsequent British TV series made of 'the Day of the Triffids', and the more recent version, too, but there is something special about the original version on film. The movies in the 50's and 60's did not rely on special effects, they relied on atmosphere. This film does that, keeps you held by both the storyline and evoking the atmosphere. I would recommend this film on a wintry evening, dim the lights, sit in front of the fire drinking a hot chocolate. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day Of The Triffids [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Love this classic with Howard keel in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Day Of The Triffids [DVD] [1962]
The Day Of The Triffids [DVD] [1962] by Steve Sekely (DVD - 2003)
34.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews